We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is very spacious and situated in a prominent position overlooking the seafront promenade and Atlantic Ocean. The 2 pools, heated during our stay, December 2012, are set in well maintained gardens with plenty of sun loungers. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and happy to assist with any enquires. Our room, on the 8th floor, had panoramic views of the mountains, resort, and sea, and was very clean. It had a good sized bathroom, air conditioning, drinks fridge, and television. There was a good selection of English TV channels, including BBC1 and ITV. In fairness, the freestanding furniture items were very tatty and in need of replacement and the tiles on the balcony must have been 30 years old, again well overdue for replacement. Towards the end of the holiday the room cleaning service got later and later and had still not been cleaned by 1500 hours one day. Some of the towels were in a shocking state, very tatty, partly black, frayed and holed, but the cleaning lady was very apologetic. The evening entertainment was at best very disappointing, the worst we have ever seen in a four star hotel, so we ended up going out every night. The bar service was excellent thou, and the drinks were well priced and of good quality. The car park is very small and a barrier is in place which was fully raised during our stay. Be warned, if you are not on the car park by around 1800 hours you will end up parking a very long way from the hotel. Throughout our stay we witnessed local people. some with dogs, small children and beach toys, using the car park which is an insult to paying guests. We reported the problem to a member of staff but said she was powerless to do anything. All things considered, we would recommend the hotel and compliment the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BudSulterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,258 - 2,264 of 3,830 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed twice, in 2009 and late 2011. The hotel is a huge facility.

Pro: The hotel location is optimal between the crowded center and outskirts. You can even come by bus and walk there, it is just 500 meters from the terminus. Good restaurants and other places of interest are close there. The hotel was clean, many rooms have ocean view. For the breakfast big choice of different foods.

Con: We used the early booking offer at reduced price. At the hotel we found ourselves in a noisy room just above the street. A change was only possible when we payed the difference between the early booking price and the regular fee. They said they had only 3 rooms reserved for early booking, all above the street. Not a friendly offer.

The lifts - as mentioned by several reviewer - are a disaster. At breakfast, lunch and dinner time it is always better to use the staircase, even if you are on the 6th floor. Old people need extreme patiency. This we observed in late autumn, guess how it happens in high season, when the hotel is full!

The hotel parking is small, if you rent a car, which is usual in Tenerife, you face a park hunting job every evening.

The personnel is not really friendly, with rare exceptions. When we wanted to pay with credit card the machine broke down after typing the PIN. The personnel became upset when I hesitated to type the PIN again, without checking if the first one already performed. They refused any collaboration and requested in a harsh manner to type the code again. They did not want to understand that this might mean paying twice! Fortunately after all they accounted only once.

Room Tip: Avoid early booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John_Brasss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear John,

We feel disappointed and we want to apologize because this time we were not able to make your experience into the perfect holiday we wish to offer to all our guests. Nevertheless, we are enchanted that you made the effort to write a review, which will certainly help us to do better on coming occasions.

Our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for, always attempts that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and welcome. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. Being this one of our main strengths, we are awfully sorry you could not enjoy their professionalism.

Regarding the room type, we would like to point out that we have different types at disposal and we feel sad about your disappointment. For coming occasions, we would like to offer you a very personal booking guidance through our call center or webpage, to make sure you become what you actually desire.

On the other hand, we are delighted to read that your overall experience was a good one, and you really enjoyed the stunning views and the good location with terraces and a shopping center nearby.

It fills us with joy that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs. In Iberostar Bouganville Playa we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests so that each and every dining experience proves sensational, offering the most delicious international and local dishes as well as tasty drinks.

Once again thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate all of your comments as they help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you another very enjoyable experience with Iberostar.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Travelled with Saga and stayed at this hotel 7 to 14 December 2012. Impressive reception area and check-in was fast and efficient. Porterage was included in our package and the cases arrived in our room shortly after we did. We were on the 4th Floor and had good views both towards Playa de las Americas and the sea. This hotel is in a perfect location with good access to buses that travel to many parts of the island. We were all inclusive and could not fault the choice and quality of the food and drinks that were available. It was amazing. Throughout the hotel the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, no miserable faces here. The only negatives are that the bedroom/bathroom and balcony would benefit from some renovation and new furniture and the long wait for a lift during busy times can be frustrating. Overall though a brilliant stay at a lovely hotel. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Linda,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers. We are glad to may learn from your experiences in order to take your vision into account and achieve maximum adaption to your needs.

It is a pleasure to inform you that as we speak a project is set up to study the possibilities of renewing some of the areas of our Iberostar Bouganville Playa. However, we are glad that you highlighted that despite being constructed and furnished a few years ago, you felt comfortable and found that the lobby is quiet impressive.

On the other hand, it is very pleasing to read that your all over experience, was such a good one. Our main strive is to offer fantastic accommodation and enjoyable holidays, it fills us with proud when you write that the location is very good, the staff outstanding, the culinary performance amazing and the views gorgeous.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked a separate flight and accommodation from November 25th for 1 week and could not have asked for a more relaxing enjoyable week. Booked flights for a party of 5 with Ryanair, extra legroom at the front to start the holiday off. Excellent flight, a brand new Renault scenic waiting for us from goldcar and it was off to the hotel. Within 15 minutes we were checking in. We had asked for high floor, sea view and near reception. We got everything ee asked for. Simply stunning views from our two rooms. Numbers 908 and 912.
The food in the buffet restaurant was superb. No waiting for a table. The staff always smiling and gracious. A credit to the hotel. This is not a long review as you should try this hotel for yourself. It is simply amazing. Excellent location. Very good staff. Not a chav in sight and we got on the plane wishing we had booked two weeks. We lived on the island for 15 years and drove past this hotel every day not realising what a jewel it is. Well done, we cannot wait to return again. The party was made up of a couple (75 and 79) and another couple (35 and 40).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin1603m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear guest,

In the first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Bouganville Playa and for your friendly comments. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is one of our most important features that our staff has a good contact to our guests and welcomes them with open arms. We try to fulfill and even surpass all the expectations of all our target groups as they range from families to golden agers of many different cultures and nationalities. Therefore, all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. This is why we can confirm that they provide a personalized service. When you write that you find our employees very welcoming it strengthens our determination to continue developing an authentic service culture that enchants each and every of our clients.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we allocated you in. It is our goal to provide comfortable and spotless accommodation in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

We pay the finest attention to detail when it comes to remarkably prepared food and unmatched service. We are very happy to see that you felt absolutely satisfied with the gastronomy that our kitchen staff prepares for our guests, we are sure that compliments like yours make their work worthwhile and we will certainly congratulate them for enriching your holiday with tasty culinary highlights.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable vacation and phrases like “Well done, we cannot wait to return again” indicate us that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because to us there is no better reward than the affirmation of our guests that they had a lovely stay.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went to the bouganville playa in November the hotel is lovely very clean the rooms are cleaned every day and are spotless. My only fault for the hotel was the food it was cold and not very appetising my little boy was sick every time we ate there so we decided to go out for dinner every night! The pool bar staff were great jose especially and the kids club was great. Monica was also brill who did the water gymastics everyday. Think the hotel is for the over 55's there werent many young people there. tenerife is great thou!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfiepops611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear guest,

We are very grateful that you took the time to post your comments. We have read them carefully. Your opinion is very important and valuable. We are convinced that this is the best way to gain your trust for Iberostar. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

Regarding our culinary offer we took good note of your remarks although we would like to point out that in Iberostar our chefs’ work in accordance to the demanding quality standards established by the company on a global level, therefore we only contract competent professionals who work with products of prime quality and we attempt to please all palates.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff, especially regarding the kids club, Jose and Monica. As all of them work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, we will definitely pass on your satisfaction with their services. They will surely celebrate that you wrote that they were very nice and did a good job.

We are also delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness in your room and felt that the installations are kept spotless, as this is an element of prime importance to Iberostar.

We would like to thank you once more for sharing your observations with us as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was a superb family holiday for us - loads of activities for all ages at the hotel, varied evening entertainment and a huge variety of lovely food. The staff are friendly, rooms are fine (clean and with air conditioning that worked), and I would definitely go back again.

.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyreguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in September for 3 weeks, hotel not bad, only problem we had was when you went for your evening meal you weren't allowed to take drinks in with you, even though when we checked in i ask at front desks and he said there would be no problem, so if you go half board you'll get a bill when your holiday finishes, and the hotel could do with having air con right through all of the hotel, but apart from that yes i would go back food was good.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view which faces the habour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jude1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#31 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 60 in Costa Adeje
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#23 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,033 reviews
1.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,745 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23 | San Eugenio Beach, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#31 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $123 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bouganville Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a pleasant atmosphere and excellent service, the IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel in Costa Adeje is a 4-star hotel that offers amazing accommodation for couples and families with children. At the Bouganville Playa hotel, fun goes without saying. Here children will make friends at the Miniclub where they'll have all kinds of adventures, games and activities under the supervision of our monitors. Plus, they'll also enjoy the children's playground, shows, pools... There's a bit of everything so they never stop having a good time. For their part, the adults have a special entertainment programme, delicious cuisine offered at two restaurants and three bars, a fitness room, a nearby golf course, free Wi-Fi and other services and facilities. Plus, the Bouganville Playa hotel also offers the Star Prestige service which includes access to the rooftop VIP zone, featuring a whirlpool bath and chill out terrace, sensations showers, an area with Balinese beds and sun loungers, daily press with coffee and snacks, late checkout and other services for distinguished guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Iberostar Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing