We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value holiday at Playa Olid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Playa Olid Apartments
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Came back from the Playa Olid Apartments on 6th February with my partner, we booked an 8 night deal through our local Going Places shop, around a week before hand.
Everything went very smoothly through Thomas Cook from arriving at Birmingham Airport, to pick up out tickets, to arriving at the apartments.
As other people have commented, the apartments are on a main road, and therefore is can not be said that the local scenery is breathtaking, but if you look beyond this, you have clear views of the mountains.

Upon arrival there were only a few of us checking in, so it didn’t take long. Passports handed back to us straight away. It was something around the 34 euro mark for the safe for the 8 days, but this did include the 15 euro deposit. Card key gains you entry to your apartment, if you wish to have more than one card, then you have to leave a deposit for this. Card key does not have any identifying marks on it, to state your room number or name of the apartments, so should you loose it its not such a worry.

Reception area: Typical white/cream marble looking reception, clean looking, always seemed to be someone on the reception desk. Couple of pool tables and sofas further round the corner too.

Pool area: we only sat by the main central pool twice, but on both occasions we didn’t have a problem getting a sunbed. The pool itself is freezing!!!!!!! But when you are so very hot, you don’t care!
They were doing some poolside offers on food and a drink, which seemed an ok price. But we ate lunch out a fair bit cheaper.

Our apartment: We were on the third floor, at the main road side of the complex. We always took the lift up to the apartment, and it was always working and well lit.
To light up the apartment, you need to use your key card in the little slot next to the door. Although we did find out that the light above the hob, and the socket for the toaster still work without the key card in.
Kitchen: Ample sized fridge, with small freezer compartment. Toaster. 2 Electric hob rings, Kettle and Coffee machine. Plenty of crockery, cutlery, pots and pans.
Dining area: small table, but big enough for a family of 4 to sit at, also out balcony had a table and 3 chairs around it.
Sitting area: Settee and chair, coffee table and a cabinet with TV on. You could hire out a TV card thing and remote if you wished to watch a few channels.
Balcony: A really good size, would have been nice to have maybe one sunlounger on here, but as there were only two of us, we made do with propping our feet up on the spare chair.
Bedroom: Two large single beds pushed together, cabinet, fitted wardrobes with clothes hangers in and a set of drawers. Plenty of spaces for holiday clothes. Bars at the windows, but windows at both sides that you could open. Black out curtains that needed re-hanging really.
Bathroom: Very clean, a really deep bath, and good shower over the bath too. Plenty of room round sink to place all toiletries.

As a summery, the apartment was basic, but clean enough. Dust on top of pictures and floor was only given a lick and a promise, but a lot of disinfectant was used in the bathroom on each occasion it was cleaned. Cleaners come every day apart from Sundays and Thursdays.

Downside at night – if you went to bed and left the key card in, you could hear a really loud buzzing noise, so we would just pull the card out enough to cut the power, but easy enough to push in, should be need the lights on. Also as we were next the to the road the traffic could be fairly loud, but to be fair, we did that much walking during the day, we slept right through it.
You could hear people arriving back early hrs of the morning, but this is to be expected. You are warned to keep it down and on the whole, people did. We only had a problem once, and we think they were only staying the weekend. The following morning, I was up having some orange juice, and suddenly this vomit came down onto out balcony. I was extremely shocked and unimpressed by this. My partner, washed it away, and went to report it. The receptionist did offer to clean it up, but were told it had already been done. The noise from this party lowered and they left that night thankfully. This was the only bad point though.

Position of the apartments: This was perfect for us; we were away from the pubs for noise, but close enough to walk to a group of say 6ish within easily 4 to 5 minutes.
We ate out at a different place each night, and never once had a bad or expensive meal. Drinks – we are not big drinkers, but due to the price of soft drinks, we tended to stick to the offers of one euro lagers.
Go further up the hill to get to the main supermarket the locals use. It has a wide range of items and not bad prices. Cinema there too, as well as other shops and eateries.

I would say this place is a really good base for anyone who has no problems walking up a very small hill.

We only have one regret, and that is catching the sickness bug that’s been going round Costa Adeje. We started to feel ill on the 2nd to last day of our holiday, and we’ve now been back 3 days and are just starting to feel that bit better. But this had nothing what so ever to do with Playa Olid. We did eat and drink in a place opposite a hotel that has had reports of this illness, and we think we may have caught it from someone there.

Upon departure – you have to vacate the room at noon. We were picked up at 3:10pm, as our flight was at 6:10pm, but Thomas Cook. We didn’t get to the airport till around 4:20pm and the line of people waiting to check in for our flight was huge! They hadn’t even opened yet, and we didn’t clear the check in desk until 5:05pm! We got through airport security, nipped to the loo (bug remember!), came out and they were calling our flight for boarding (at 5:20pm), by the time we had bought some water, and walked to our gate, they were making the last call for boarding!! This was the only part of our holiday that we thought was badly organised, and it didn’t help that we were feeling extremely unwell, and were trying to just get home to our beds.

We would go back to Costa Adeje, and we would also go back to Playa Olid. Great value holiday

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Crinklebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,890 - 1,896 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

Just back from a week in Playa Olid Apartments. Rooms were very spacious and clean, although the furniture was falling apart a bit. The pool area is small, so this might be a problem in the summer but there was plenty of space for this time of year.

The location was great with everything a short walk away. All the main buses stop outside the hotel at the bus stop.

Recommended if you're looking for a basic, clean apartment close to everything.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlasgowTraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

These apartments are 3 star so review is based on what you would expect for that level of rating, and in that case they are very good apartments. They are near the road although they were very quiet at night and not really all that noisey ( apart from the odd drunk brit at 3 in the morning!). The rooms are a good size and clean and basicly but reasonably furnished. There are two pools, one with music and one without which suited me. A short walk from some goood restaurants and pubs and the beach. They are not luxury but they are a good basic set of apartments with all the ingredients for a good holiday. BBC and ITV available for £20 week in your room. There is a good restaurant with varied menu just as you walkk out the hotel on the left down the hill a bit called el Classico. Good food and reasonable prices. There are obvioulsy loads in the resort but this was as good as any we came across. One slight negative which didnt bother us due to time of year was that there is no air conditioning - might be a problem in height of summer.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank woodykibworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Just back from my stay at Playa Olid. Absolutely perfect apartments for my week long trip with my mum. They have recently been refurbished and our large apartment contained a brand new bathroom suite and kitchen. It was lovely! Very very clean. We were thoroughly impressed.
I will however agree with previous mentions of traffic noise, although its mainly at night
the traffic can be heard, when you are relaxing by the pool you dont seem to hear any traffic. I would stay here again tho. Great location.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SangriaSunFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We booked with Cosmos, never again! Those guys cannot be trusted! They either don't know about or don't care what they're selling. By the end of the fortnight we stayed, we were counting the hours until the shuttle bus was coming to take us away. The reasons: No air conditioning, (27 degrees at night) 24/7 traffic, the fumes (it's 5 yards away from one of the busiest sliproads onto the motorway!!!), almost no facilities (eveything was closed and had been for ages according to the staff) Those photos must have been taken years ago when it opened, it doesn't look like that now.

Having said that, the staff are great. Very helpful, very friendly and they keep the place nice and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diarmuid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Just back from Playa Olid Apartments having had a fab holiday. Apartments were spotless and very friendly staff on reception. Quiet and relaxing environment. You wouldn't need to travel more than 150 yards if you didn't want to - Supermarket on site, and great eating places only 50-150 yards away including chinese food, pizza, canarian and full english menu. A few pubs also on the doorstep. All in all a great place to stay as well the fantastic weather.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Our stay in Playa Olid was pleasant, no

Location:
The hotel is located just under the highway, so the location is not beautiful by any stretch, but that goes for most budget hotels in Tenerife. The street is relatively busy, but road noise was minimal in our case (there are some appartments closer to the road, but I don't expect this to be an issue either).
A big beach is in walking distance (10 min), so are various (mostly english oriented) places to drink and eat.
I would recommend walking a bit further up along the coastline at least once, where there is a smaller but much nicer beach (at Plaza el Duque). This beach is a bit classier and the view is much nicer.

The room/stay:
The people are helpful but not too involved or overly friendly. It is a quiet place with a relaxed atmosphere. Most visitors during our stay were English (maybe a few Germans here and there), definitely not the party-kind, there were a lot of people in the 35-65 who came there to relax at the beach or pool. There are two pools which are not heated, but in november this was no issue for me. I would not recommend this hotel if you are planning on staying at the pools though, service is limited and the atmosphere is just no that special. With the beach so close I wouldn't really see a reason for that anyway.
We got upgraded from a studio to a "normal" appartment. The room was big and had a lot of storage space, also there was a balcony with a not so nice view, but it was still nice there to sit and eat or drink a bit. The furniture is very basic and the paint on the walls was coming off here and there, I could not say the atmosphere was very good - but it fit with my expectations. There is a bathroom with a reasonable bath (not big but big enough for smaller people). We did notice less warm water twice, but still we had a filled bath almost every day without any issue at all.
Cleanliness was good (although not perfect). My girlfriend is very picky and she would describe it as acceptable. The rooms were cleaned at least every two days, but maybe the skips had to do with us still being there at 10-11. I did notice cleaning was better and more thorough when I tipped the maid 2 euros. If you like your place tip-top I would suggest to do the same.
Nights were relatively quiet, but we did get woken up by small groups of drunk/tipsy people twice. The problem is the rooms don't have AC, so you want to keep your windows open. With the window closed we did not have any noise issues. Our room was situated very low in the complex, I think a room a bit higher would be cooler, and also quieter because the people on the street are further away.

If you get a rental car you can leave it pretty close to the hotel at night, but sometimes it can take a bit of time to find a parking place. Parking is free and our car was not damaged. Two buildings down the street there is a very nice small restaurant, the food was nice and cheap, and they also serve a few local dishes, of which the canarian chicken is a sure recommendation (especially for the price). If you want a lot of clubbing this is not the right place to go, Playa las Americas is a better and also cheaper option than Adeje for this.

All in all I can recommend Playa Olid. Don't expect too much and it will be a good stay for the price. Be sure to also get out of Adeje a bit, rental cars are cheap on Tenerife and the island is beautiful.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GeekMystique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.5 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laguna Park 1
Laguna Park 1
#47 of 60 in Costa Adeje
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#18 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regency Torviscas Apartments and Suites
2.1 mi away
Aparthotel Parque de la Paz
Aparthotel Parque de la Paz
#20 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Olid Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Olid Apartments

Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 18, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#38 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $146 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Olid Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playa Olid Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Olid Apartments Hotel Costa Adeje
Playa Olid Apartments Costa Adeje
Playa Olid Apartments Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing