We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Olid Apartments
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

It was a culture shock at the Playa Olid because we went straight from a cruise on Thomson Majesty round the Canaries and dining in a lovely restaurant with white tablecloths, being waited on and eating ‘posh’ food to dining in what I can only describe as a canteen with formica tables. However, even though it wasn’t the best buffet we have had in a hotel, the food was all eatable and nothing really wrong with it and there was always a choice. The positive was that we had stayed in an inside cabin on the cruise which was about half the size of just the lounge area in our very nice one bedroom apartment with a balcony overlooking the pool and the sea in the distance. We were on the 5th floor in room 502A.

The staff were all very friendly and service was good. We were all inclusive so we enjoyed having a drink whenever we wanted (Baileys in coffee – lovely!) and knowing it wouldn’t be going on our bill to pay at the end of the holiday. There wasn’t much happening in an evening, there was a mini disco at 8.30 pm but there weren’t many children in, then there was supposed to be crazy game show at 9 pm each evening but that didn’t happen. At 9.30 pm for about 45 minutes there was a show on the lines of belly dancing, flamenco dancing, juggling, singing etc. Activities were arranged during the day like stretching, table tennis, darts etc., but not many people took part.

You had to walk down to the promenade which meant, of course, you had to walk up to get back! However, unless you had walking difficulties it didn’t really take very long and we didn’t find it a problem, but there are always taxis available. There was also a bus stop outside to various places.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    853
    372
    118
    66
See reviews for
755
774
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hi
Just back from one week all inclusive at Playa Olid this is definately a 3 star hotel but what it lacks in stars in makes up for in first class customer service. I was in a ground level studio apartment that was more than adequate for my needs. Food was delicious, varied and served hot again by extremely friendly staff. Entertainment was as expected in a Spanish hotel but have to say the Abba tribute girls were very good. Very central to shops, bars and beach would definately return to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank roz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from 8 days at the Playa olid apartments for an all inclusive trip, the rooms were very well appointed , cleaned regularaly , the staff from the first meeting with reception to restaurant bar and cleaning staff was 1st class.

The food was good enough plentiful and always some thing that you can eat , always plenty of sun beds available , with 3 pools to choose from , entertainment at night was not always the best but there was plenty to do in the resort to keep you happy .

All in all an excellent holiday and I would recommend the Playa Olid , and I will return next year .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We returned from a week's stay at the Playa Olid on an all inclusive basis, last week.

The hotel is rated as a three stay and pretty well lives up to this. We were (eventually - please see below) allocated one of the older style one bedroom apartments. We had no issues with this - it was well equipped with a full kitchen, for those on self catering, which is part of the main living area, a good sized bedroom, TV featuring BBC1, BBC2 and ITV, a safe, plenty of electrical points as well as large balcony that caught the sun from 08.45 to 18.15 each day. There was no air conditioning but that was not a problem at this time of year.

There was lots of room for sun bathing and we preferred the "solarium area" overlooking the main pool. This was nice and quiet and there were lots of sunbeds, all featuring cushions on the sunbeds for added comfort.

As stated we were on all inclusive. This was effectively full board plus drinks as the food between the meals was limited to burger and chips at lunchtime and a few pastries in the afternoon. The restaurant food is of a decent standards with show cooking featuring two items at each meal plus other items brought from the kitchen. They tended to cook to order later on and as we preferred to eat quite late this meant that you could watch your meal being cooked there and then. The restaurant does have a canteen feel to it - likened to a British Home Stores cafe - but the staff work hard to keep it clean and are friendly and cheerful.

The drinks are fine and what you expect on an all inclusive stay. The pool bar is open from 10.30-18.00 and the lobby bar then opens with all inclusive served until 23.00. The restaurant has a range of soft drinks, juices, wines and beer.

However, our stay was somewhat tainted by a problem at check-in when it was claimed that a burst pipe had meant some rooms were not available and we were told that we were being moved to another three star hotel in the centre of Playa De Las Americas. We explained that this was not acceptable to us as we had carefully selected this hotel and area. After waiting for an hour, they decided we could stay after all. There was little evidence of rooms being "out of bounds" and we wondered if we were being asked to move to accommodate a large group who arrived a couple of days later. The whole episode was quite traumatic and, for this reason, we have down-graded our rating by one star.

The overall location suited us well. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the beach and there are lots of bars and restaurants nearby. There is a promenade to walk on which goes right through the centre of Playa De Las Americas round the coast Los Cristianos in one direction and La Caleta (about 2k) in the other direction. To go further afield, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel.

The weather during our stay was fantastic and this, no doubt, contributed to a great week's holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manx_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

just got back from 1 week all inc (fri 8th feb). VFM ?? - very good.rooms clean & presentable if a little dated as i was not in the updated block. usual spanish type of light varnished furnture & doors etc.food was ok for 3 star if a little germanic. salad ok - choice reasonable & meat & fish freshly cooked at counter.wine available at lunch and dinner - self service.drinks ok but spirits bit watered down for my alchofrolic tastes ! for minimul supplements genuine spirits available - €1.70 for pernod which i would guess to be about a four /measure shot - mmmmmn :-) .2 pools one quiet & the other with music during the day - take ya pick. entertainment bit naff - flamenco etc not for me but maybe for you ?? bus stops outside reception to anywhere. 5 mins to beach -20 to p/americas- 30 to los c. nearly forgot - staff extremly friendly & helpful - always remember a smile works both ways - enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

our apartment was well appointed and very clean as,indeed , was the whole hotel and the room was serviced 8 out of the 10 day stay.

The staff were very friendly and helpfull,so much so it gave us problem as to who one should give a gratuity to.

The restaurant was clean, albeit a bit like a cafeteria and whilst it was typical hotel food it was served fresh with something to suit all tastes

There werer plenty of sun loungers but very few umberellas to go with them

we were on all inclusive and thought that its was value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIDCOT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great place to stay in, apartments are large food is good and varied.staff are very helpful and always have a smile for you .nice and clean we hope to be back next year if not sooner.a good location as there is a local bus stop right outside so you can jump on a local bus and see the sights if thats what you want to do and it does not cost the earth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DidcotWally7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
#29 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,678 reviews
0.4 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#16 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laguna Park 1
Laguna Park 1
#43 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Bay Club
Sunset Bay Club
#32 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Olid Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Olid Apartments

Property: Playa Olid Apartments
Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 18, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#38 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Olid Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Olid Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Olid Apartments Hotel Costa Adeje
Playa Olid Apartments Costa Adeje
Playa Olid Apartments Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing