We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,396)
Filter reviews
2,396 results
Traveler rating
817
901
441
133
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
817
901
441
133
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board private apartment pool area self catering irish bar air con evening meal bed apartment great holiday bars and restaurants slight hill bbq night reception staff sea view bed and breakfast tennis courts family holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,396 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got back from this hotel a month ago and are still missing the place. We love this hotel for so many reasons. We are a family of 5 so we had a 2 bed apartment with a pool view and it did not disappoint. There was plenty of room and the bedrooms were a big size. The reception staff do all they can to help with any queries and are very friendly. Our personal favourite for the second year running is the lovely Carlos who is the PR guy he is so warm and friendly and will go out of his way to put a smile on your face. He and my husband have a special bond! The animation team do a fantastic job especially with the addition of Claire to help Dundy (the legend). Claire was brilliant this year as was Dundy. They are amazing with the kids and so funny! The entertainment this year was so much better than last year too with a variety of different acts including Blue party, Magicians etc. We were half board and the food was of a good standard. I am a vegetarian and had to advise the restaurant of this. If you do this they will let you see the menu in the morning for that night and if there is not enough on there they will happily make you a vegetarian option so have a word if you are. The hotel is in a great location and everything is accessible via a short walk. The bar staff in the Irish bar attached to the hotel namely Alberto and Michael were so lovely during our whole stay. They have a great energy and are fantastic with the children too. We love this hotel and have stayed in many places in Tenerife but this is the only one we keep coming back to. Its not just the staff at this hotel, many holiday makers are repeat customers and we have made quite a few friends staying here as everyone is so friendly its just a lovely vibe. We will soon be booking our 3rd trip here and it can't come soon enough! Thank you Santa Maria!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank laura5948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOVIMAHotels, Public Relations Manager at Hovima Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

My dear friend Laura,
Thank you very much for sharing your HOVIMA experience with the rest of TRIPADVISOR users, thank you also for the wonderful rating you gave us.
We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed one more year of your holidays with us.
Thank you for your precious words to our staff, they are the soul of our hotel.
You are already part of the family of HOVIMA Santa Maria.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
You know that I am at your disposal for anything you need in your next vacation.
All the staff send you a big hug and I send you millions of kisses.
Carlos del Amo.
(Public relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

WOW! We have just come back from this hotel after staying for 9 nights. There is so much to say about the staff, the room and the overall experience!

We were welcomed with opened arms by reception on our late arrival and check in, the man on reception went over paperwork with us and any information that we needed know.

For breakfast it was basic with the traditional English breakfast buffet style, cereal, pancakes, breads and fruit which we were very happy about. We went half board so we cannot really comment on the lunch buffet. The evening dinner was different every night, as my partner is a vegetarian there was not many options for her available on the buffet. We had raised this with Zaf (Jet2 rep) who was super helpful and took us to Carlos (Public Relations) who was very happy to help us in every way possible! We had spoken to Carlos about vegetarian options which he sorted straight away (they note down what my partner wanted to have at evening dinner and passed this through to the chefs - we was then told to inform the restaurant host after breakfast every day what my partner wanted for evening dinner; they would make sure this was done for her then brought out by a waiter) Carlos was very lovely and we saw him throughout the days as he was at the hotel most days and always happy to help, he was very bubbly and easy going which made our stay at the hotel enjoyable! Whenever we passed him, we would always have a conversation and he always made us feel welcome, he would also make sure that everything was okay with our stay. For this we was very grateful! At evening dinner Juan Carlos (waiter) in the restaurant would spot us and go straight to the kitchen to bring out the vegetarian food, my partner had requested, he was very polite and spoke good English, he was also very helpful and asked my partner if she wanted anymore of the vegetarian food once she had finished which was very nice of him! There is also a variety of desserts that are available such as ice creams (sprinkles and syrup available), fruits, cakes and mousses. Overall, the food was very good and had a wide variety every night, there was fresh salads, pizza, paella, pork chops, chicken, chips, fish, pasta, soup and many more options. They cater for all needs such as vegans, vegetarians and any more dietary requirements they are happy to help, and you just have to raise this with either Carlos (Public Relations) or reception.

Our Jet2 rep Zaf was at the hotel most days and if we ever had an issue or needed to know something, he was more than happy to help. He had also pinpointed where the best entertainment places were and where we had to get the bus and where we would have to get off. He was very polite and easy to get along with.

The hotel was very clean and tidy! Our room was cleaned 5 days a week as there was no cleaning service on Thursdays and Sundays, the maids worked extremely hard to ensure the rooms were nice and clean for us which was very noticeable and appreciated. We had stayed in room 570 which was a studio, this was very spacious and came with utensils such as; kettle, toaster, hob and microwave this was great for us as we went half board. The balcony was spacious and had an okay view of the tennis court, other hotels/apartments and a brief view of the sea to the right. We also had a nice view of the moon coming up on the nights. We also had a safe within the room which was very handy for our valuables.

There were 3 pools, 1 small pool which was for younger children another shallow pool and a big main pool which was a good size and enjoyable for all ages. The pool bar was very good priced (if you go self-catering or half board you have to pay for what you have at reception as the staff do not take money at the pool bar however they accept cards).

The location of the hotel was very good, there were bars next to the hotel and it was less than a 5-minute walk to the beach where there were also bars, restaurants and shops along the coast. There is better entertainment as you turn right out of the hotel either along the street or carry on down along the coast keeping to your right which brings you out to a lot of bars where there is entertainment throughout the night this includes sport bars. There is also a supermarket that is located straight in front of the hotel as you go down the little hill.

There is good entertainment at the hotel for all ages such as; archery, activities within the pool for all ages, face painting for children and many more that we believe would be enjoyed by everyone.

We would also like to mention Dundy who was an entertainer at the Hotel! He had made our stay at the hotel extra special with all he done for us and with how caring and funny he was. He went above and beyond to make sure our stay at the hotel was as fun as possible. Not only this but he does his own shows at local bars around the area and also at the hotel, let’s just say it’s a MUST! He does Stand-up comedy, DJ, Sings and even does karaoke! He was that amazing that we had to go and see him perform at all of his shows that he had on whilst we were there, and it was certainly worth it! He was so grateful to us as we went out of our way (15 minutes’ walk) to go and see him and we loved every minute. Dundy was full of laughter and energy which certainly made our stay at the hotel memorable especially with this being our first couple holiday. He was very helpful, and we had some amazing conversations with him he had also mentioned places where are good to go. For everything you done thank you so much, your hard work does not go unnoticed!
We loved every minute of our holiday and the memories we have is amazing and that is down to everyone at the hotel for being amazing and for making us as comfortable as possible and giving us the best experience! A massive thank you to everyone especially those who we have mentioned.

Overall, this hotel was amazing and with the service we had received and those who have made this holiday one to remember, we are definitely returning back to this hotel in the near future, we have already started to look at this hotel for next year (even though we have only been home for 24 hours).

Thank-you so much to everyone at this hotel and we hope to be back again soon :)

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MattJHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOVIMAHotels, Public Relations Manager at Hovima Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear friend Matt,
We are overwhelmed to receive your wonderful comment about your recent stay at HOVIMA Santa Maria. Thank you for sharing it with us on TripAdvisor.
For me it was a real pleasure to meet you and put myself at your disposal and help you.
Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable vacation trying to meet their expectations and thus be able to return and be part of the large number of returning guests. Therefore, it is a great pleasure for us to know that you had a great time in our hotel, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the gastronomic selection and the entertainment. Our team, as you well know, tries to take care of every detail to avoid any inconvenience and offer you a service of the best quality.
Do not hesitate to contact me for anything you need, for me it will be an honor and a pleasure to put me at your disposal.
All the staff send you a very strong hug and millions of kisses.
Carlos del Amo.
(Public relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came to Santa Maria for 8 nights as a family of three and had an amazing time, hotel in an amazing spot 5 min from beach and shops at your door step.Claire from the animation tea was fantastic made my little boys holiday 100 times better she was great. I would highly recommend this hotel had the best time.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beca1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOVIMAHotels, Public Relations Manager at Hovima Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Beca,
Thank you for sharing your HOVIMA experience with us and thank you for the fantastic rating you have given us.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays.
We hope to see you again soon.
Don't hesitate to contact me the next time you come back, for me it will be a pleasure to be at your disposal.
All the staff send you a very strong hug and we wish you the best.
Carlos del Amo.
(Public relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Come to Santa Maria for 10 nights and loved it Claire from the animation team was fantastic and made our holiday 100 times better, rooms could have air con and a more selection of food could be put out, overall had the best time at Santa Maria

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jess I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOVIMAHotels, Public Relations Manager at Hovima Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jess,
We are very pleased to read that you had such a pleasant time in our hospitality. The fact that we were able to offer you a great holiday experience is extremely pleasing and we work hard every day to achieve this. We try to think about everything to provide our guests with a perfect holiday.
Again we thank you for sharing this wonderful review of our hotel and we hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future and wish you all the best.
Carlos del Amo.
(Public relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is lovely..... the staff are exceptional especially Claire from animationteam and the girls behind the bar
I would highly recommend this hotel
And the area around
The food is good and we enjoy the night time entertainment

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOVIMAHotels, Public Relations Manager at Hovima Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Paula,
Thank you very much for your time in sharing your HOVIMA experience and thank you very much for the fabulous rating you have given us.
We would like first of all for you to know that we are really pleased that you had such an excellent holiday with us at our hotel. Every area and every service of our hotel is designed to provide a quality holiday experience, and whenever we receive confirmation this has been achieved we consider it a success story.
Do not hesitate to contact me for anything you need, for me it will be a pleasure to put me at your disposal.
We would like to thank you once again for your appreciation and hope to welcome you back again soon.
All the staff send you a very strong hug.
Carlos del Amo.
(Public relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews