We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does this hotel”
Review of HOVIMA Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HOVIMA Santa Maria
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Does this hotel”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I've just came back from the Santa Maria hotel well we was very disappointed when we first got there we got a basement room what was not very good but after a while we got moved to a slitley better room with a night club under us so very noisy so don't except rooms over 1010 !! I stayed in b&b the breakfast had lots of choice .the pool was FREEZING!!!! But it was in the perfect spot just down the hill to the beach ! Alex the entertainer was very good always happy ! Staff was friendly, all in all lovely holiday and very near to aqua land

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie16679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello, thank you very much for your comments, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    601
    319
    87
    75
See reviews for
531
618
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connahs Quay, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We booked this hotel at a bargain price and I have to say it was a brilliant holiday. We stayed b&b and there was plenty of choice at breakfast but cant comment on evening meal as we always ate out......so many nice eating places close by. Our room 1011 didn't have much of a view but was huge, clean, well equipt and we had a nice sunny balcony in the afternoon. The rooms below ours were facing a wall so for the price we paid I was happy not to be in one of them! The staff were always friendly and greeted us with a happy 'Ola'. The hotel had entertainment but we never stayed in to watch it but walked passed on our way out and it always looked empty and finished early. The pool was clean and the pool bar done a lovely cocktail for me cost 5 Euro but was yummy.
As other reviews mention the sunbeds around the pool were almost impossible to get. We got up early as going diving and the towels were already out at 7.30am! There is a policy of not reserving beds with towels but no staff enforced this.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for a brilliant, clean and comfortable base and I would be happy to return one day. Maybe not in high summer tho as no air con but in April that didn't matter the fan above the beds were enough :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyL0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello, Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My cousin and I stayed here from 5th-10th April 2014, B&B. Weather by day averaged at 22 degrees celcius and 15 by night. The airport you want is Tenerife SOUTH, 15-20mins max by cab costing 24/25 euro! (more pleasant than a transfer coach).

The hotel is clean, they have what you need in the rooms (towels, loo roll, hairdryer, equipped kitchen) and yes décor is a bit dated and that's not a complaint! We only slept and got ready in our room anyway. There isn't AC in this room, it was not necessary as we were in April but I think the summer travellers might think otherwise.
We had a studio room on the 7th floor (the roof) and it was so spacious! The roof area is shared with 5/6 rooms, with sun loungers. There are 3 pools all on the ground floor but they're quite small when compared to the amount of people staying at this hotel. We always went to the beach.

There have been complaints of cockroaches in other reviews and to clarify, they are outside and only come out after dark. If you leave your door open, then yes, of course they're going to go inside!

The breakfast was adequate - european bacon & sausage and beans, eggs, hams, cheeses, cereal, bread, cupcakes, croissants - quite a lot of choice and you get your monies worth!
You have to bear in mind that we only paid £122 each for the room!

The beach is very close to the hotel and there are good restaurants by the water. Our favourites were El Ferry, Bahia and Bombay Babu. You'll come across one of my favourite people on the beach, he'll be selling melon, bananas, pineapple, coconuts with a smile! Very juicy melons!
A huge downside is that the people selling sunglasses/jewellery won't leave you alone and we did find ourselves becoming quite angry with them because they're allowed to bother people while they're trying to enjoy a nice meal.

I couldn't have asked for a better five days away. We experienced happy waiters who made us feel like princesses and food that filled us to the rim! Definitely will be going back :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dipal U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just had a week here from 1-8/4/14. Apartments were clean and tidy, close to beach and shops. Would definitely return as fab location. We were fortunate to get a sunbed every day, nice and comfy but it is true as said in other reviews that people do get up early, put their towels on the beds and never return for hours. Beer was expensive at 3.30 euros and wifi in reception was poor, so slow. I would still return to this complex in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adnilancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel was great, very clean thanks to excellent cleaning staff. The room was very clean and had good facilities, good selection of kitchenware and quite a good layout for a couple. My only grievance was the reception staff who were abrupt rude and unhelpful. I only say this about two of them and I'm sure they know who they are. Overall very pleased and would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_CR8721NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello, thank you for your comments that help us to improve day by day.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for the first time really nice clean and friendly staff we were hear by mistake as we booked the panorama the sister hotel but this was full and we transferred hear. We have just re booked fi this September 2014 can't wait to return we booked a studio apartment in 2013 and were upgraded on arrival to a massive 1 bedroom apartment with beautiful sea veiw and large balcony used to lay out on late afternoon catching the last rays of sunshine

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Polite staff Carlos fantastic very helpful checked in quickly room spotless and cleaned 5 days out of seven superb hotel stayed here many times never any issues good bars and restaurants nearby Peking palace Chinese food to die for

Room Tip: Not for those that struggle to walk as up a slight hill poolside rooms the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1964mandy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.3 mi away
HOVIMA Panorama
HOVIMA Panorama
#29 of 58 in Costa Adeje
907 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta
HOVIMA La Pinta
#35 of 58 in Costa Adeje
789 reviews
1.8 mi away
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
#1 of 2 in La Caleta
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
#22 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pueblo Torviscas
Pueblo Torviscas
#9 of 58 in Costa Adeje
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Santa Maria

Property: HOVIMA Santa Maria
Address: Avenida Espana s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Santa Maria Aparthotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HOVIMA Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
deal for couples and family vacations in Tenerife. The HOVIMA Santa María in Costa Adeje , is situated in a special place of the Island of Tenerife, in a leisure and commercial area. From 300m of the beach and 350m of the harbor Colón. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOVIMA Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Aparthotel Hotel Costa Adeje
Aparthotel Santa Maria Adeje
Santa Maria Tenerife
Aparthotel Santa Maria Hotel Adeje
HOVIMA Santa Maria Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing