We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it and will be back next year”
Review of HOVIMA Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HOVIMA Santa Maria
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“loved it and will be back next year”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

room was very spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. I saw no cockroaches in the hotel during my stay. so this is not a problem as i had worried myself after reading some of the reviews on here. Fresh towels daily ( not including cleaners days off of course )as well as linen change on beds as needed. The entertainment is not great in the hotel, but there is the option.Stayed self catering so didnt try restaurant, did use poolside bar for cones of fries and lots of slushes... reasonable prices. Hotel is in a handy location, close to shops, bars, restaurants and the beach just a 5 min walk away. Didnt have any problems with noise. and had a very relaxing week in the sun with my 11 year old who enjoyed using the pool tables available for 1 euro a game. and also the pc's with internet access.

The reception staff were always happy, smiling and polite. Never found any of them to be rude and speak very good english as well as other languages.

Wouldnt recommend paying to hire the box fan as it really makes no difference to the temp in room and after the first night we got used to the heat and after busy days had no problem falling asleep.

Will definatly visit again.. thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lees431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    614
    327
    91
    75
See reviews for
551
624
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

the only problem we had waqs no air con there is a fan and had to keep it on at night but when it came to shower time it was a case of having to dry yourself 5 times and that was after a cool shower . we were self catering and never had any problems at all would go back staff were helpful hotel was spotless and 5 min walk and your at the beach

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Web Secretary at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
hello,

Hovima Hotels wants to thank you for you kind opinion about Santa Maria Hotel. It will be very helpfull for us, as we are interested to maintain and improve our clients services. Kind regrads, Web secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Im 16 and just got back this morning from costa adeji, we stayed self catering for one week and honestly we didnt have a single thing to complain about, the rooms were clean and very spacious, the maids came everyday but sundays and thursdays. the hotel pool was very clean and refreshing. as we stayed self catering we got to experience the local town, the food was LOVELY, i would definatly reccomend the Bahia Beach resturant on the main strip on the seafront, the atmosphere was ver good and live music everynight. also the Blue Marlin resturant food was extreamly enjoyable and drink reletivly cheap. In the majority of the bars/ resturant have there local beer at 1 EURO a pint. during our stay we booked a katamaran boat trip which we booked form the english guys booth across form the DINO supermarket, the boat trip was amazing, so relaxing and free drinks (inluding alchohol) we had dolphin jumping either side of the boat and turtles swimming next to us. Overall i enjoyed the holiday very much and would recomend to anyone that want to enjoy a relaxing but also fun holiday. to end on a bad note i had one complaint and that was on the day of leaving our flight was at 21.45 and we was chucked out of our room at 12 and told at 5 O'CLOCK there will be a room wecould use to shower and do the usual bits and bobs, instead we were given crappy old towels and told to shower in the public showers by the pool, this was not calming when everyoneis already stressed about getting everythin ready for flying also the reception staff were not very friendly, but i would say do not let this put you off!

Room Tip: try to get a room on 1ST FLOOR and on the corners of the hotel as they are the largest roos with lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed for 8 nights at the middle of August, first impression of the hotel wasn't bad at all, it took a bit long to get a rooms (about 45min), but to compare with Spanish Airport check in's (1h45min) wasn't so bad:)). I was staying with my girlfriend and parents in first floor apartments, off side the pool area. If you prefer a quiet room, you need to make sure not to get the room next to the pool, because is quite noise from 9.00-19.00. The room was good size double bed with separate kitchen and fridge. There were no air-conditioning, just Fan, which was a bit a shame, because of hot weather all day and open balcony doors doesn't help. There were possibility to get stand air-con for 50 euros for a week, but it's extra I didn't want to pay. If you need a safe, there were charge of 15 euros for a week and 10 euros deposit. I took a half board for this trip, and would say the food was great in the hotel restaurant, the breakfast was more less the same every morning, but the dinner time, was something different everyday. The room cleaning needs improvements and the prices at pool bar a bit to high compering with the area average. If you need to use internet is very expensive at the hotel 1euro -10min, then just 2min walk from hotel you get 1hour for the same 1euro. Therefore, the hotel is not bad and is good value for money, but it's 3star's and I would rate it 3star hotel. The area around hotel is brilliant, lots of bars to have a drink and not so noisy. The beach is 5-10min walk. It says hotel is in las americas, but it's more near Adeja, las Americas is about 5miles away (if we talk about main shopping street in Las Americas). I had a great time in Tenerife, it's very beautiful place to go, and lots to do as well, Loro park, Tende volcano trip , and much much more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed late July-early August in a privately rented 2 bedroom apartment with A/C.

Unfortunately our apartment was located in the lower area of the complex (below the sunbathing area) and the wacky race for the sunbeds at 8-8.30 in the morning was noisy & annoying, so avoid these apartments if you want a lay in. If you want a giggle then get up early see them all standing on the steps or at the doors to the pool area, brits/french/scandinavians etc-etc, even after lots more (new) sunbeds were put out on our last week !!

Pool was quite small but had a decent bar attached (expensive, picture Benidorm - series) for drinks/snacks. A life-guard was on duty from 9-ish to 4.30pm each day, he mainly sat there eating and saying you can't do things or take inflatables into the water.

Complex seemed quite clean in the areas we saw, we didn't eat in the complex.

Supermarket across the road is ok but a little dear & limited stock/variety, try the underground one opposite the market which has a much better variety and better prices.

The Playa colon beach area restaurants are not much cop with the worst being Odissea (avoid at all costs). We found the best restaurants to be in Las America's opposite the Med palace area, although eating out each evening turned out to be quite expensive (average 90-120 per night for 2adults + 2kids). Hayleys was good for drinks/snack food.

Monky zoo/Jungle park were a good day out, remember to take some fresh cut up fruit to the monkey zoo and get there early (before feeding time - 10-11 ish).
Aqualand was much better value than Siam park, with much smaller queues for the rides and a decent dolphin show.
Go-karts were ok but don't think I'll be back anytime soon.

Lots & lots of Russkies around, as usual rude & ignorant of others mostly, the usual watch hawkers and Chinese flower/tac sellers although we didn't get bothered by them in the Las america's restaurants.

Weather great as usual and locals as friendly as ever.

Room Tip: If your S/C then shop at the bigger supermarkets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trubby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherwell
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

booked in for two weeks at end of July but only stayed for one week as we managed to get rooms elsewhere!! Rooms very basic and s bit scruffy! Pool area was swept on a daily basis but never washed down. The same pile of sick lay for 4 days and was eventually cleaned with a cloth on the end of a broom!! Entertainment quite poor! Don't know about the restuarant as we were self catering. On the plus side it is very central and a good location for the beach. Probably wouldnt return!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flmMotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Public Relations Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
We are very sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy your holiday.
We thank you for your comment. We will take this critic as an incentive to improve our service and hope that you will come back one more time, to give us the chance to prove our efforts.

Warm regards

Hovima Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Apart hotel very popular with good entertainment and nice position. But if you do like quiet places this is not for you. But never think about renting from Denise Hammonds who has some apartments here. She simply may forget the dates you book saying that you are wrong and after you send her e-mail confirmation back to her she say "Oh, I am sorry". You have stress staying with small kids on the street when she thinks what to do for several hours. Her apartments are dirty but she wants them back after your stay very clean)) Better find another owner or contact the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea side upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SrVlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.3 mi away
HOVIMA Panorama
HOVIMA Panorama
#29 of 58 in Costa Adeje
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta
HOVIMA La Pinta
#35 of 58 in Costa Adeje
789 reviews
1.8 mi away
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
#1 of 2 in La Caleta
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
#22 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laguna Park 1
Laguna Park 1
#45 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Santa Maria

Property: HOVIMA Santa Maria
Address: Avenida Espana s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Santa Maria Aparthotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HOVIMA Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
deal for couples and family vacations in Tenerife. The HOVIMA Santa María in Costa Adeje , is situated in a special place of the Island of Tenerife, in a leisure and commercial area. From 300m of the beach and 350m of the harbor Colón. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOVIMA Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Aparthotel Hotel Costa Adeje
Aparthotel Santa Maria Adeje
Santa Maria Tenerife
Aparthotel Santa Maria Hotel Adeje
HOVIMA Santa Maria Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing