We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoil yourself here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spoil yourself here!”
Reviewed February 22, 2011

What a lovely hotel. Beautiful atrium entrance and very elegant rooms.
The food was very good with a very varied menu.
The pool area was clean and not over-busy, so it was perfect for relaxing.
The hotel is in a nice part of Tenerife, and there are some great walks along the promenade just outside the hotel.
This is the third time we have been here and will book again next year!
Never disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferA91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Thanks for your nice words regarding us ;)

Do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit in case you would have any request.

With kind regards,

COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,798
    1,872
    619
    150
    67
See reviews for
1,653
2,833
52
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,589)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

A very large and impressive lobby and reception area as well as large bedrooms, bathrooms and beds. Lots of wardrobe space. BBC 1, BBC 2, ITV Sky news on TV, free Wi Fi in rooms and lobby. All staff very helpful and polite. Good selection at self service buffet meals and not a lot of queuing. Plenty of sun beds and several pools to chose from. 10-15 minute stroll to best beach but it is uphill on the way back. A few bars and shops nearby and well away from the tack of central Las Americas. Overall good value at £85/room HB and half the price of a lot of other hotels in the area. Would rate it 4.5 star as other 5 stars nearby are far superior, but cost twice as much.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earwigo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
We thank you for having taken the time to write this review.

We will be more than glad to host you once again at your earliest convenience,

With warm regards,

COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen (Scotland)
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

This was our fourth time to Tenerife and our second time to Costa Adeje all our trips have been in winter for some much needed sunshine. We chose Tenerife because it was the most convenient flights from Scotland that suited our requirements of 10-11 days. Also the south of Tenerife has its own micro climate being protected from much of the prevailing cloud and rain from the west by Mount Teide. We have always had nice weather and this time was no exception.
We stayed at the Costa Adeje Gran Hotel on a half board basis for 10 nights. WE booked it as a package online with First Choice (it was heavily discounted) and it was very easy and efficient. I had a look at booking a holiday independently but couldn’t get a price anywhere near that offered by First Choice. We ended up paying £570 each for the total package which from Scotland isn’t expensive for 10 days half board in a 5 star hotel.
On our previous holiday to Costa Adeje we had walked past the Gran Hotel and thought it had looked very impressive so were looking forward to our stay there. Our only concern was that there were quite a few very negative and scathing reviews on TA but that is the norm these days. On our arrival we were very impressed with the hotel lobby/bar area it really was massive and very well grand. The check in process was quick and painless with the check in staff being very efficient and friendly. We inquired about a safe in the room and were told it was available at a 1.5 euro per day charge which we paid although I would expect it to be free in a 5 star hotel. We were offered a bellboy service for our luggage but on this occasion we declined. We headed off to our room to unpack.
The room was very nice and spacious well kept and very clean. There was plenty of wardrobe space for all our (Mrs H’s) clothes. The bathroom was also spacious and well appointed. The bath had a glass shower screen thank god shower curtains are the work of the devil. The toilet and bidet were screened off and had a door so it was possible to use it while your other half was “getting Ready” in the bathroom One of the good points about the room was that once you came in the door there was a corridor past the bathroom and then another door to the bedroom this meant that you didn’t hear any noise from the hallway. We didn’t really hear any noise from the other rooms or the lobby. Our room was on the side of the hotel and we did hear a bit of road traffic noise once things picked up after about 8am. The room had air conditioning a telly dressing table a couple of easy chairs and a settee. There was also a fridge/mini-bar which was empty but you could fill in a form and the maid would stock it with your choice of drinks & snacks. We just used it as a normal fridge and filled it with bottled water and packs of local Dorada beer from the supermarket along the road (€2.35 for a 6 pack).
One of the most common complaints on TA about this hotel was the quality of the food. We were there on a half board basis and while we don’t find the buffet type of eating to be that enjoyable an experience we could not fault the quality or the variety of the food. Given that the hotel has about 400 rooms the dining room is very large and has three buffet bars to choose from. One is in a quieter part of the dining room which had more atmosphere but tended to fill up quite quickly and the other 2 were in the main dining room proper which had 2 terraced areas which again were quieter. Then you arrive you are shown to a table by a waiter and soon after another waiter arrives to take your drink order. We never had to wait for a table even at the busiest times. There were loads of staff in the dining room and you never had to wait for your table to be cleared of empty plates. The food itself was very good in variety and quality. There were always 2 soups on and a fantastic selection of different breads and rolls. There was a huge choice on the salad bars with cold meats and cheeses as well as all the vegetables and fruit. There was always a very good selection of hot main dishes to chose from, usually a couple of fish dishes, a pork dish, a chicken dish and either beef or lamb, to accompany the mains there was a decent selection of vegetables, boiled (canarian) potatoes, sautéed potatoes and of course unlimited numbers of chips. There was what was termed “show cooking station” where food was freshly cooked on a griddle, usually a choice of fish, chicken and either pork or beef. There was also a pizza oven there and a chef preparing fresh pizzas as and when needed and there was usually paella as well. AS well as all that there were always a couple of types of pasta with sauces available. For the younger ones there was a kiddie’s buffet with the usual suspects. The sweet counter was always very tempting as well with loads of choice. Always freshly made traditional hakes and fancies as well as trifles and different types of gateaux oh and 4 flavours of ice cream.
Breakfast was also of a very high standard with huge choice of cereals, dried fruits and nuts, fresh fruit cold meats and cheeses, sausages, eggs (cooked to order), boiled eggs scrambled eggs bacon beans omelettes (cooked to order) great selection of breads and rolls and a good selection of pastries, muffins, donuts, pancakes and croissants. If you wanted to indulge since you were on holiday cava was available at breakfast time so we had a couple on Mrs H’s Birthday. My only criticisms of the breakfast (and it is very common in Spanish hotels) the coffee was not great, you could ask for hot water and use sachets of coffee or the selection of teas but decent coffee was not available and the juices were of a diluted type and not fruit juices.
Now I cannot for the life of me understand how people can complain about the standard of the food. You may not always chose something you find to your taste but the quality of the food was amongst the best we have had while staying half board, only eaten by the H10 Costa Meloneras palace in Gran Canaria.
The hotel has a large pool at the front with loads of sun beds and the hotel operates a very strict no bed booking policy. It was refreshing to see as you went for breakfast no sun beds with towels on them. It was great to see people arriving any time of day and having a good choice of beds. The large pool was nice and warm not too much of a shock to the system. It never got too noisy bye the pool during the day either. For those looking for a bit more peace and quiet there was a roof terrace with swimming pool as well. It was much quieter up there with everyone looking for the same thing. There were a few secluded corners where you could get quite a lot of privacy but you had to be early to be able to get them. We did come across some bed hogging up there but not too bad just in the secluded areas but with about 120 beds up there it was never more than half full and quite often less than a third full. The pool however was not very warm, when I say not very warm read bleeding freezing.
There was a restaurant next to the pool for light daytime meals and drinks the prices were not too expensive with sandwiches served with salad and fries for € 4.50.
Drinks in the hotel were a bit on the expensive side with a pint of local Dorada at € 2.80 and a branded spirit at € 4.50 if you wanted a mixer it was another €2. There were happy hours from 4 until 6 and from 11pm until midnight with the normal half price being applied.

The hotel itself was very big and although it was almost full (was full over weekend) it never felt busy other than the dining room. There are so many large public areas to sit that it is easy to find a quiet corner if you want. There is a snooker pool room which is away from the main sitting areas as is the kids games room. There is a large bar on the ground floor with loads of seating inside and outside. The hotel had a full program of entertainment if that is your thing, with usually 3 acts per night. Usually a tribute band, some sort of magic, juggling, acrobatics, dancing act and some sort of crooner to finish up with. There was a woman and her snakes act one night (from Loro Park)
We quite often went out for a wander after dinner and headed back to the hotel after 11 for a few at the bar. The barmen were fantastic, because I always pay cash at the bar and there for they can see they are getting tips (not the case with the all inclusive customers) we got great service and had good banter with the guys. I reckon we had more back in free drinks than we gave in tips but it was a good mutual arrangement with winners on both sides.
All the staff we had dealings with were extremely friendly and helpful from the cleaners to the Reception staff.
I swithered for a while before I booked this hotel due to some of the negative reviews on TA but when I found it on First choice at the price it was it was too good to refuse. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and once again I cannot see where many very negative reviews come from. OK the hotel has been open for 10 or so years and is showing some signs of wear and tear but it is by no means shabby or run down. The hotel is spotlessly clean there are toilets all over the public areas all are immaculately kept. Our room was very well maintained as was the whole hotel, all the furnishings in the hotel were clean and in good condition and the food was certainly of a very acceptable standard. If you were to go looking for signs of wear and tear you would find them but it really is not noticeable to the average person. I think some people have very unreal expectations of what a 5 star hotel should be like. True there are better 5 star hotels in the area but they will cosy you virtually double what the Costa Adeje Gran Hotel will.
I think one of the reasons the price is so competitive is they are pushing all inclusive more and more and you just can’t charge too much for half board when you are offering good prices for all inclusive. A majority of the clients about 70% are now all inclusive mostly Germans strangely enough.

All in all this was a superb hotel and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone, We would definitely go back again (and probably will) It offers peace and quiet if you want it in very impressive spacious surroundings, you can get entertainment and have a dance if you want to, it’s in a nice quiet area yet only 5 minutes stroll from local bars and restaurants and 10 minutes to more lively entertainment if that is your thing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Hayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Massive entrance lobby with shops,bar,internet area and lots of comfy sofas for relaxing with floor to ceiling windows which is very good first impression.
I booked double sea-view room but allocated side sea-view overlooking road and other apartments. The room was very comfortable with modern furnishings,mini-bar,safe and huge bathroom with toiletries supplied and fluffy towelling bathrobes! The over the bath shower was useless, no water pressure and difficult to control water temperature. The showerhead was replaced within half-an-hour of reporting fault. I would have expected separate power shower cubicle in 5*star hotel. I had booked bed/breakfast and the breakfast was sumptious with every taste catered for but I suggest arriving at restaurant before 0830 as very busy after this time with staff trying to clear tables for incoming guests.

The hotel has 4 swimming pools and if you want a quiet relaxing spot I suggest the rooftop pool with comfortable loungers and incredible views to the mountains and sea.
It was so easy for me as my room was on the 5th (top floor) to access this pool area.
Guests are not allowed to reserve loungers and this works really well.

The location of hotel at top of hill was fine for me with just a short walk downhill to beach and restaurants which are better if you turn to right at bottom of hill.

My first holiday to Tenerife and I really enjoyed this hotel and will reurn in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ainslie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Thanks so much for your comments.

We are so glad to hear that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us!

We would be so happy to host you once again at our Hotel.

With kind regards,

COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Would probably rate as 4.5* rather than 5, but still represents very good value. The rooms are large and spacious The king bed was huge and very comfortable. We had clean bed linen every day. English channels(BBC/ITV) were available on the tv, and that was a nice bonus as well. The food in the restaurant was absolutely first class. I did hear a couple of people complaining, but it made me wonder what on earth they ate at home. Pool area is very good and lots of loungers available. Pool towels were free. In an upper level location, which could be a problem if you were thinking of going to the beach, or didn't like hills. Not a problem for us though. Evening entertainment was free and generally of a reasonable standard. All in all we had a great stay there and would fully reccomend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgianPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thanks so much for your comments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at your earliest convenience.

with kind regards,

COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel. Much has been written previously but here are our thoughts - hope they are helpful in making your own holidy decision.

The room was great, just what we expected. Large bed, nice bathroom, pool and sea view. The rooms facing outside will look over the hotels on either side so whilst probably cheaper can't be recommended. Spotlessly clean and perfectly serviced everyday by Bea.

Pools were great too. Only the heated ones could be tollerated at this time of the year though. The hotel operates a zero tolerance policy to reserving sunbeds before 10:00am and the "towel police" patrol each morning to make sure this is followed by all guests. This is a really good ideas and towels with no owners are removed so beware.

Food - well, mixed I would say. You have to remember that this is a foreign hotel catering for the needs of customers from various countries. We were on a half board basis and ended up swapping our evening meal for lunch on most days. Breakfasts were fine, plenty of fresh fruits and freshly cooked eggs and omelettes. Bacon and sausages were not the same as we have at home but still prefectly OK. The appearance of sprouts one morning was the cause of some hilarity amongst the Brits. Lunch was good with a nice choice of fruits and salads as well as freshly cooked fish and meat.

The restaurant is enormous and breakfasts and dinners were very busy and had the feeling of a school canteen. Lunchtime was much less hectic.

The pool bar was fine - watch out for the half price drinks offer between 4:30 and 6:30 each evening. Not well advertised.

Plenty of good restaurants in the local area within a 5 or 10 minute walk. Prices were generally less than you would expect to pay at home. We had a great Italian meal one night (at Little Italy Capri I think) for about Euro 40 including a nice bottle of Rioja.

In summary - thoroughly recommended by us. We will be back. If you expect porridge and Walls sausages every morning then you should probably stay in the UK.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desmofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thanks so much for your comments and for let us know how your stay was.

We hope to host you in the future.

With kind regards,

COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

As people have said, there is absolutely no way this should be classed as a 5 star hotel. We booked for our anniversary but when we arrived we found twin beds in the room - not made into a double like is sometimes the case in hotels, but two separately made beds pushed together. Unfortunately reception would not move us. Aside from this, reception were actually quite good. My bed on the first night was, without exaggeration, the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in. The springs literally dug into me. I complained and reception offered to, and did, change the mattress that day. Apparently the mattress was new - if so the hotel must be buying very cheap and substandard beds. Still very uncomfortable but eventually made bearable by the addition of some padding on top of the mattress.

The only other gripe was that the enamel in the bath was cracked and coming away.

Food was hit and miss - not great by any means but the supplement to get half board was nothing so can't complain.

The grounds were very nice, and the roof top pool was a little haven.

Go expecting 3 star and you won't be disappointed - luxury it ain't.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMajor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,561 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#26 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Property: GF Gran Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#14 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing