We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major disappointment.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Major disappointment.......”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We had booked into this so called 5* hotel for a week starting Boxing Day 2010. We actually checked ourselves out after 3 days and moved to a nearby 4 * which proved to be excellent. We had 8 people in our party and within 2 days 4 of us had come down with food poisioning. We were full board and had not eaten anywhere but the hotel so there was no doubt . The food was very basic and certainly not 5* standard by any means. The service was very poor and one night we had to wait 30 mins to be served when we wanted evening drinks. We complained to the hotel manager who wouldn't admit to the standard of the food being appalling. We were concerned about the 11 year old becoming ill next, so we settled our bill and moved to another hotel within 30 mins. We moved to The Riu Palace which was excellent. The food, service and entertainment all proved to be excellent and we would stay there again. If we hadn't moved hotels I dread to think what our holiday would have been like as the first 3 days were wasted completely. We felt so ill whilst we were there I feel strongly that this needs to be addressed and looked into. One family member ( a 52 yr male) who is normally fit and well was unable to get out of bed for 2 days, he felt weak and was sick. Our daughter (a doctor) was on the holiday with us and diagnosed food poisioning immediately although there never any doubt. There were many other issues with this hotel I could mention but the food was our main concern. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkheartsCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,823
    1,884
    621
    153
    68
See reviews for
1,678
2,844
52
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,598)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We have just returned from a one week all inclusive holiday at this hotel and am sorry to say that we will most definately not be returning. The hotel itself has a pleasant envirnoment with big spacious and comfortable rooms and the pool area is clean, quiet and relaxing. However, the food was terrible. After paying £3500 to stay in a supposedly 5 star hotel I lived mainly on bread and butter! For breakfast carrots and green beans? Obviously left over from the previous evening. We actually could not even face the look of the breakfast as it was so unappetising and hence stopped going in. The evening meals were not much better; very little choice and not very nice. To summarise, we will not be going back to this hotel because the food was that bad.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EBall_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My wife and myself stayed here from 23rd November 2010 to 7th December, on a half board basis with First Choice. We like the Costa Adeje area, having stayed in many of the surrounding hotels previously. This was our first time at the Costa Adeje Gran, and we were quite pleased with the results.
Before we arrived, we had emailed the hotel, requesting a high floor room with sunny balcony. We were very pleased to have a room on the 2nd floor, overlooking the main pool and with a sea view.
The room was spacious and very clean, with typical Canarian furnishings, and with a good size clean bathroom. The bed was large - and "springy" - perhaps the springs had popped out of their pockets!
Food was generally good, especially breakfast and the "puddings" at the evening meal. There was always a good variety of choice, the only criticiscm we have was that there were never many fresh vegetables available at evening time.
There was entertainment in the lobby during the evening - the best being an "Eagles" tribute band.

Overall, a good hotel in a great location - very handy for beach and shops.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobSylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex,uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

This was our second trip to this hotel,fantastic hotel and great service.
The standard of food is not very good and needs to be addressed because this has put us off returning.Food cooked in front of you is fine but the hot food on display is poor.
Coffee at breakfast is dreadful,if the management read these reviews then go and taste the coffee.Get some Lavazza and train staff to make coffee.coffee at the bar is dreadful as well.
i Cant fault the rest of the hotel though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagelbyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponteland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Our 3rd time at this hotel. The staff are friendly, rooms and facilities are very good. It is excellent value, however the food is not good and it's a case of putting together a mish mash and making do. It certainly is not 4 or 5 star food! We stayed on half board basis so tended to swap dinner for lunch and eat out at night in either La Calleta or adeje village. We have stayed in numerous 4 and 5 star hotels in Europe and although the food is genuinely very average the hotel itself is worth a stay

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Stayed at the Adeje Palace for a week, been to Tenerife many times so I know the hotels well. Good value for money, excellent location, good service and immaculately clean. Staff in the dining room work very hard especially the staff cooking the omlettes and fried eggs where there was always a demand. Food varied always something for everyone as there was lots of choice. As it was the week prior to Christmas the hotel decorations were fabulous and gave a real Christmas spirit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

l cannot understand the negative comments about this hotel. Just had a week at the Adeje Gran Hotel. Room as requested low level with pool view - perfect. The staff and management were excellent. We have stayed here twice now and have always been very well looked after. The hotel/rooms are kept emaculate and towels are changed every other day. Finding a table in the dinning room has never been an issue and none of the food has ever run out ? The pool area is kept very clean and not allowing to leave towels unattended on the sun loungers is an excellent idea. All in all an excellent hotel - well done ADEJE GRAN.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#31 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,616 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Property: GF Gran Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing