We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Adeje Gran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
westmidlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

We walked in to the lobby and inital thoughts are that you have picked the right place and the reception were very polite and baggage taken to our room.
The pool was great although busy the rooms are clean and very spacious and a very nice place to stay and mainly german, spainish staying here but all very nice and friendly.
All inclusive was fantastic value with really great food on tap all day although poolside food is basic you can have breakfast upto 10.30am lunch from 1.30pm and diner from 7pm so you will never starve trust me.
A 10 minute walk to the beach and in the heat a hard uphill walk back but most people just stay in the hotel as there is so much to do.
Diner time can be a little busy from 7 - 8.30pm and the staff although great can leave you unattended where I think they should show you to your table but thats just my only niggle.
Would go back anytime.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nupi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2010
Dear Sirs,

thanks for your comment.

We will be more than glad to host you once again in the near future ;)

With kind regards,

COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,659
    1,774
    593
    143
    60
See reviews for
1,549
2,693
50
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,530)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed in this wonderful hotel from August 17th til the 24th 2010. We had a spacious room on the 5th floor and the silence at night was great. The rooms had plenty of storage space, they were regularly cleaned and the air conditioning units were top quality.
We couldn't fault the food as it was all fresh and hot with plenty to choose from. In the morning we noticed that a staff member often directed us into the dining room on the left. This had no chefs cooking omelettes, fresh eggs etc so we just walked around that room once then went past the member of staff into the better room! Do look out for the smoked salmon and champagne available at breakfast time.
The staff are quite strict about sunbed reservations as this isn't allowed and they often removed all items and left a note on the sunbeds. This is a great idea as it stops those people reserving beds at 5.30 am and not turning up until lunchtime! Do try the rooftop pool it's a real gem, minimal sunbeds, superbly clean and quiet.
The current Thomson Platinum brochure states that there are two a la carte restaurants, one for executive guests. It does not say the other is chargeable to all guests (12.50 euro supplement per person) The food is lovely and tasty but we believed our platinum booking entitled us to use it free. So did other platinum guests. We did complain to our rep called Matt and he proved to be totally useless. It took him 5 days to admit the brochure was wrong but despite that he was unable to actually do anything about it. We took the issue up with the Gran Hotel's Customer Relations Officer. She was a true professional and resolved our problem within 24 hours.
The all inclusive drinks finish at 11 pm and it's a mad rush around the bar from about 10.45. The entertainment was good quality and we certainly had some fun during our stay.
We'd certainly recommend the hotel for it's quality, cleanliness and food. If you have a problem speak to the Customer Relations Officer. If you've booked Thomson Platinum do take the brochure with you as it proves to the Thomson Rep that you have valid issues regarding the a la carte description.
If we could go back tomorrow we would!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sassy20jfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

I was so disappointed with the service in this hotel. The majority of staff were very rude. The bedrooms were very nice and so was the pool. Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner was very repetitive and the food didn't change that often. Hot dog sausages for breakfast was not impressive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CH4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Dear Sirs,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your review and to let you know that we are very sorry to hear that you haven´t enjoy your stay as much as you expected.

From our and also other guests´ point of view, we offer a wide variety of menus. Its true that there are some items that need to be offered daily in our buffets.

However, and because of your comment, we will check again all our menus and try to detect any inappropriate repetition of any of them, so that we can avoid situations such the one you told us.

Once again, many thanks for your comment and for your help regarding our continuous improving plan.

With kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We are a well-travelled family but this was our first trip to Tenerife. Our week at the Gran Hotel was delightful: a clean, well-run hotel, set back from the road, with polite, pleasant and competent staff throughout. The grandeur of the ground floor lobby makes for a great initial impression: you immediately reckon you've chosen the right hotel.
Decent, well-behaved clientele - quite a lot of Spanish families. A nice family atmosphere everywhere with children made to feel welcome. Our nine-year-old daughter loved the place; as well as the swimming, she enjoyed playing pool during the hottest part of the day, and also filming a hoopoe in the garden from our balcony. And there were always the hotel's glass-sided lifts to enjoy as well! Much of the evening entertainment on the ground floor was suitable for her, eg the parrot show with an opportunity to be photographed with a parrot on her shoulder, and the music from "Grease" evening.
A huge choice of delicious food at the buffet meals, and with each meal stretching over an approx three-hour time slot there was never a crush of people in the dining room. Also, fortunately, no over-gushing head waiters as we have sometimes had to endure in Italy. The picnic lunch we opted for one day was a surprise: the picnic boxes were pretty huge, and each box was so heavy because it was crammed with so much food and drinks that you wouldn't have wanted to carry it round with you all morning.
The pools were lovely - and were quite uncrowded after 4.30pm which is when we used them.
The hotel seemed to be well placed for outings: the free bus to Jungle Park (which we enjoyed visiting) stops virtually outside the hotel, and there's a taxi rank nearby where one can get transport to Los Cristianos for whale watching. A couple of beaches can be reached quite easily on foot, though it's a little bit of a slog uphill coming back.
Altogether a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_from_Chiswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

On arrival the entrance is breath-taking, water falls and a grand piano - perfect. our room wasn't quite ready so we were sent to the cocktail bar for a complimentary drink, half an hour later our room was ready. Rooms are spacious, clean air-conditioned with fridge. We have a 2 year old and found the accomodation perfect for us. For the first week we found that sunbeds were available for most of the day, this we loved due to the fact we didn't have to rush around with our little girl, second week was a nightmare, beds being kept from 7.30 in the morning, the hotel staff will remove any towels without hesitation but come on people whats wrong with you !!!! Pool areas are great, our 2 yr old loved it.

We booked half board - food was lovely, plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meal. We have stayed at many 4* hotels in Spain and the food here is far superior, Looking around the hotel it does need some sprucing up here and there and not as good as many 5* in the Adeje area but on the whole is a lovely hotel.

Good 5 star hotel for Spannish standards.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhand123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time of writing a review.

Regarding to the need of some sprucing up, please note that we always have someone of our staff doing some maintenance and that is a dynamic task.

We really thank you for your comment and for your visit and hope to be able to host you once again with us at COSTA ADEJE GRAN!

with kind regards,

COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed at the Costa Adeje Gran for a week during July. This is supposed to be a 5* hotel but is more a 4* by UK standards. Very large hotel with impressive entrance and good facilities. Hotel is a pleasant 15 minute walk from the beach and is only a 5 minute walk from the Plaza del Duque centre which has a number of designer shops and good cocktail bar. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable with air-conditioning and satellite TV. There is always criticism towards hotel food particularly when its a self-service restaurant but as there are many tastes to cater for the overall choice of food at both lunchtime and in the evening is good although the main restaurant gets very busy. There are two pool bars and a main cocktail bar in the hotel (the second bar in the hotel wasn't open during our stay). The hotel has a large pool area which was not too overcrowded and very relaxing. The only negative comment would be that the staff weren't paricularly friendly or helpful. In some instances plain rude. We went fully inclusive although we did eat out at local restaurants on a few nights (don't eat at the Chinese restaurant next door to the hotel as despite being recommended by tour operators it's awful). As there were hotel guests who were fully inclusive and those who were paying "cash", the hotel staffs' interest and manners seem to be with those customers paying cash as there is clearly more tips to be had this way! Also, if you are going fully inclusive there is only a limited drinks selection available at the bars and in the restaurant until 11pm. Overall a good hotel in a good location but the staff and customer service is poor.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NAJ172010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
First of all, we would like to thank you for the review. As you probably know, it helps us to improve our services.

We also would like to make clear that we always want to treat everyone the same way; not doing any difference between All Inclusive and non All Inclusive guests. For us, all of you are very important. And we think that we are doing so; at least that is our intention.

Finally, we are so sorry to hear that you didn’t feel like we would wanted you to be, but please note that we will be more than glad to be able to host you once again at our facilities.

With kind regards,
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed at this hotel from 2nd august for 10 days on an all inclusive basis and was really impressed with the hotel as soon as we arrived. Entrance is stunning and looks every bit like a 5 star. Check in at reception was good, staff very friendly and explained the all inclusive to us. Rooms are big and very clean. Only downside was the balcony, we had paid for a side sea view, but because of how the balcony is designed you cant get the benefit of any view unless you standing looking over the balcony. Food is excellant plenty of choice and always hot. Hotel has a policy of not reserving sunbeds, although i never seen this be enforced as some guests still got up really early to reserve beds. We will be returning to this hotel next year and would recommend anybody thinking of booking to do so ypu won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elainey70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Many thanks for your comment and for your nice words!

it will be a big pleasure to welcoming you once again in the near future!

with kind regards,

COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.8 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#33 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#25 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Adeje Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel

Property: Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Costa Adeje Gran Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Costa Adeje Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing