We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“poor food”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just arrived back the only things good about this hotel were the rooms the staff and the cleanliness of hotel.

The cold meats were mostly processed and tasteless. The cooked meats were very poor quality tasteless and tough. Even the cheeses on the whole processed and tasteless. Most of the hot food was cold by the time you had queued to get vegetables or potatoes. All in all the worst food we have experienced in any hotel, and we travel a lot.

The hotel was 80% British guests, yet the only English channels were news channels.

The dining room had no ambiance at all it was like a large school hall very noisy and full of people queuing for food.Good tip when entering dining area turn left it is a smaller area, although food just as bad.

Pool area, sunbeds lined up touching one another no privacy no space around you, poor set up.

Would never return , be warned.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carol3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your attention and your comments.
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the cleaning service and all our staff.
We are so sorry that we have failed to fulfill your expectations in terms of our services which we offer at our restaurant. We are aware that the supply of TV can be undoubtedly improved and we will currently working on it and offer greater variety of channels.

Once again thank you for your attention.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,769
    1,848
    615
    148
    67
See reviews for
1,624
2,810
52
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,581)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The meals at this hotel are not five star standard often cold and over cooked there is a large choice but quality should be much better. The bedrooms were comfortable but only news channels in English when other nationalities had more choice of programmes.But the food was a big disappointment. Overall the hotel is a poor four star at best in my opinion

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bolts47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your time and all your comments.
We focus our attention on those aspects of food which you have not enjoyed a lot.
We regret to know also that our offer of TV channels has not been enough for you.
We will seek new alternatives in terms of television channels and we will be introducing them as soon as possible.
Once again thank you for your comments.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is a hotel that looks fantastic, masses of space in the reception area that also includes the bar and setting for evening entertainment, pretty much faultless from this aspect. Checking in was easy and a welcome drink a nice touch.

The room was spacious with his and her sinks, comfortable beds and air conditioning. However the walls are thin, very thin and could hear pretty much everything that was happening next door (make of that what you will!) It probably didnt help that we were in a room with an interconnecting door which was obviously locked but let a lot of sound through. Only news on TV though despite masses of channels.

The food was in all honesty quite average. They have show cooking and the pasta station was excellent however i tried a pork steak on the first night, cut into it and it was raw, so that put me off. I tried quite a lot of the food throughout my weeks stay but a lot was quite bland and in the end didnt look forward to eating there. However there was plenty of food to choose from.

The pool facilities were great, plenty of space for sunbeds and towels that you get from the lifeguard stand. (dont lose your towel though, there's a 20 euro charge). The pool on the roof though gets full quite quickly though but there wern't many sunbeds reserved with towels thanks to the hotels rules. Free mini golf was also excellent and the kids club also excellent.

The evening entertainment was on the whole very good. A different act each night which came on for 45 mins. The downfall whilst watching the acts was the drinks service, there were plenty of staff walking round taking drinks orders and delivering drinks however this was in our experiance slow, we waited 50 minutes for our drinks on one occasion and ended up either going to the bar ourselves or ordering double!! We stayed half board so would have dredded going all inclusive. One of the 3 tenors the man from venezuala was outstanding and sang much of the time, the english tenor who seemed to connect with the crowd between songs was poor, kareoke singers are better.

I've read a number of reviews that say this hotel is not of 5 star standard and i agree it's not. It tries to tick all boxes and fails but it's not half bad.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the mountain and see and one without an interconnecting door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just returned yesterday from our second visit to this hotel. Went last November and loved it so much we went back with family. but it was nowhere near as good this time. The food was not as good as last time. We had duck legs which were so solid we could not chew or cut them and the meat was often very tough and the curry did not have any taste at all. Last time we had lots of English channels on tv which was good but even though there are lots of English people staying this time there was only news channels. The hotel itself is starting to look shabby with the plaster in many areas needing to be repaired, especially in the corridors,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sah26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here for a week in March, although repairs to one of the pools still going on this didn,t matter to us as there was plenty of room around the other pools and there was no noise at all.
The choice of the food and the quality was excellent and all the staff were brilliant. We had a pool/sea view and it was lovely, the room and bathroom very spacious and we could not fault it at all. Will be booking again for next year

Room Tip: Get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackienAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

we have just returned from the hotel , this was our 7th visit. and we can only say that all the staff were magic , but some stuck out more so we would like to thank Casper ,and moses and Juan Carlos who were great guys to have in the bar at day / night

,Good to see all the pool furniture replaced . pity pool was still under repair , but we love this hotel yes 5 star but not 5 star but we still love it . Pity they don't have slim tonic water (so we bye our own ) looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: pay for a good view in the towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DAVYC317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here in march 2014 for my partners 30th birthday i picked this hotel as it said 5* and looked lovely
As it was quite pricey at £1400 just for the weeks al stay i aassumed it would be really plush and thought perfect for this being special ocassion
The hotel itself is lively all glass n marble and staff are lovely but what i didnt like was it wasnt totally all inc i understand that if u dont want local spirits then there will be suppliment but theres a suppliment on everything !!
I was really disapointed by this as there wasnt a lot to choose from u do get 40% discount but still al should be al in my eyes !
The food set up wasnt good either although food was nice n lots to choose from it was just a massive dinin room which was manic at most times staff were lovely n treated u like royalty with bottles of wine as u wished for your table but felt like the school canteen
During the day the pool snacks were the worst i had ever seen in all inc , i was in a 3* last year and we had burgers hot dogs pizzas toasties the lot but herd there was none only cheese biscuits meats n rolls very very poor ! If u wanted a toastie yeah u guessed it ... U had to pay , we found ourselves going out every day and most nights as there wasnt enough about hotel to keep u satified very very dissapointed and feel very ripped off on the money view of friends got a far supierer hotel for half the price which had 5 rest 5 pools n 4 different bars to choose from we visited this hotel and were blown away by the difference
Debi , glasgow

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your time and your comments.
we are really sorry to hear that our all inclusive offer wasn't satisfying.
We want to clarify that some of our products have a supplement which is always identified in all our menus, regardless of whether are the local or not, which doesn’t include any supplement.
Also a little disconcerting to us is your opinion about our snack bar nearby our swimming pool you cannot find the hamburgers, hot dogs which we offer during the week with others products as Spanish omelets, paella, burgers chicken and also assortment of salads, cheeses, fruits etc.
Also a little disconcerting to us to tell us that our pool snack bar found products such as hamburgers, hot dogs as these, the offer throughout the week, along with others such as Spanish omelets, paella, burgers chicken and an assortment of salads, cheeses, fruits etc.
However after reviews, we will check all our offer to introduce all improvements which are important for us as reviews of all our guests.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#33 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#19 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Property: GF Gran Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing