We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit, still a good hotel but decor/maintenance was poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We visited last Nov and there was some tatty decor issues and leaks which I understood from the management would be sorted out this year. Upon our return this year we found several leaks again in the main lobby as the hotel was still struggling to cope with the rain. However, the good news was as a repeat visitor we were advised we would be getting a 'nice' room. Unfortunately the room was one of the smallest rooms in the hotel pushed up in a corner. Infact, it would seem that only 3 other rooms are of this size. We were either unfortunate or my definition of 'nice' is something completely different. Reception fortunately located another room for us although they didn't seem keen us moving to that room.

The new room however was a vast improvement, however the general decor/plaster work in the corridors and outside of the building around our room was shocking. Large sections of plaster work had just deteriorated to such an extent that the wind was blowing flakes of plaster work and paint everywhere. The majority of hotel seems to of had a re-skim of bare finishing plaster which is of no surprise that the rain causes it to crack/split and then deteriorate.

The main dining area was in a bad decor state especially the alcove seating area to the left of the main restaurant where it just looks shabby. The good news is that scaffolding is up at the back of the hotel so looks like some sort of refurbishment has started but i'd say they are a year too late with this - Not good at all for a 5 star hotel and we won't be going back until the decor is back to a decent standard.

Food was fine and yes the restaurant can be hectic at peak time but if you stagger your visit there are much quieter times. Restaurant staff were very attentive and always accommodated us with a nice seat by the window. I do agree that the main eating area has lights that are far too bright and uninspiring to say the least.

The heated pool this year is definitely not as warm as last year. The water was running cold after about 11am from the waterfall so something is wrong with a thermostat / timer somewhere. It was bearable though. There was plenty of sunbeds available and the staff do all they can to ensure the early bed hoggers don't get away with it. The roof terrace was always nice and peaceful and is one of the best features of the hotel. The pool is freeeezzzing though up there. The crazy golf was good fun too.

The entertainment wasn't much better but then that tends to be an issue with alot of hotels. They have tried though with some new acts.

We caught a bus to Los Cristianos for 1.45 euros each and then walked along the front back to the hotel. Definitely a nice walk to do and shows the Los Cristianos and Playa Las Americas is not all about high rise 70's hotels. Cocktails on Fanabe beach was also very nice.

The Thomson taxi transfer was a nice touch from Thomson and yep it really was a whole minibus to ourselves. Mad I know sending all those minibuses out with only two people in but hey, who am I to complain :-)

So sad about the decor and maintenance issues as it is really a lovely hotel and friendly staff. Lets hope the management return the hotel back to its former glory.

Room Tip: A Room looking out to the main pool area with railings rather than a wall on the balcony
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your time and comments.
We regret that this occasion and after torrential rains you have observed some old problems again.
We would like to inform you that we have worked on some of those issues but in case during this recent storm and torrential rains some of the old issues just come back and we had to fixed those problems. We know and we are afraid about those problems and we are already working and solving all damages as soon as possible.
Thank you for the comment about the temperature of our heated swimming-pool. We confirm you that this winter we still have the same temperature which we had last year. However we will check our all installations. The swimming pool on the 6th floor is not heated. Please be sure that we working and we want to change it. Some of the technic problems make our work delaying. We would like to inform you that we can give you the solution about this in few next weeks and that before of one month everything will be fixed.
Once again thank you for your all comments and please be sure that we will continue our work to improve these aspects. We hope to see you soon in our Hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,634)
There are newer reviews for GF Gran Costa Adeje
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,999 - 3,005 of 5,637 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very large hotel with excellent facilities, good location and plenty to do within walking distance.

Positives:
Our room was large and spacious with a lovely balcony and was very clean.
Great variety of food for each day of your stay.
Brilliant staff, very accommodating.
Great showers rooms for use for late departures after you check-out.

Negitives:
Expensive drinks both in the bar and at dinner.
Happy hour is at 11PM to 12 midnight!

Room Tip: Pool/Sea view on 3rd or 4th foor with railings.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ugetwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is just ok. Nothing special and lots of issues around general maintenance and little problems that are not addressed as you would expect in a 5* property. There are issues with the grouting needing to be done around the bath and numerous areas in the hotel were the plastering has deteriorated through damp and not been rectified. The dinner is also a bit chaotic as on most nights we had to queue to be seated for some time, the dining room is noisy and just not what we expected of a hotel with this rating.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your time and your comments. We are so sorry to know that you haven´t enjoyd our restaurant. In case of ¨issues¨ which you could find in some aeras of the hotel, we just want to comment that we are acting in each and every one of them.
Once agian thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I am really not sure why this hotel is rated as 5 star, it is a good 4 star. The things that let it down.

1. Rooms are tired our sofa had a bleach stain on it
2. toiletries small sachets fiddly and not that good
3. towels in bathroom were worn (very)
4. Dinning room at Breakfast and Dinner
5. Leaks when it rained
6. Lack of bar areas, just one open in an evening even thought the hotel was meant to be full and even the entertainment room was not in use.
7. No bottle of water in room on arrival

Now to the good points.
1. Prior to arriving I had requested a quiet rooms with a nice outlook we were on the top floor with a lovely view of the mountains.
2. The staff all friendly and helpful
3. TV if you wanted English TV there was plenty of choice including BBC and ITV
4. Lobby area is impressive
5. Taxi transfer with Thomson from the airport

We did have a lovely holiday at the Costa Adeje Gran but it did not feel like a 5 star hotel and the little things were missing. The dining room at Breakfast was a joke if you were directed to the overflow area it was almost impossible to get coffee, one morning after 20 minutes I went to find the restaurant manager and even that was a struggle as she tried to walk off on me.......... the queue for the eggs and omelettes was confusing and with one person trying to do both some morning this also led to a long wait. The choice of breakfast was good and included plenty of fresh fruit and smoothies but the pancakes were just piled up on top of each other not very appealing. Lunch was a lot nicer and it felt relaxed and refined the house wine by the bottle on AI was drinkable and quite pleasant. The food choice was varied and there was always something to eat. The dessert station was also good in fact it often felt nicer at lunch than dinner.

Dinner the real let down it felt like a canteen, noisy, disorganised and over subscribed. Again the staff were friendly and did their best to take drinks orders, clear and reset tables but the volumes made their job really hard. The queue for the grill was often long and we will never understand on the first night beef burgers on the grill and steak just out under the hot lamps. The veg choice was nice and again plenty of fresh fruit. The meal always felt rushed, we did 2 nights in a week pay to eat at the a la carte (14 euro each) and this was completely different and wonderful, maybe including one night in the a la carte would take the load off the main restaurant.

The bar was the strangest arrangement of all only 4 cocktails on AI but you could have most of the ingredients of the others so tequila and orange juice included, tequila sunrise pay full price over 6 euro? The rules seemed petty and the purple band meant most nights you were ignored so we used to go to the bar and fetch our own.

Pool area great always sun beds, location at the top of the hill made an interesting walk back but it was good for the market and to wander out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanttogoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for your time and all your comments. We are so sorry to know that some aspects of our Hotel have not been complete satisfaction for you. Please be sure that we will check it all our stuff : towels, bathrobes etc.
On various occasions we have used our dance hall Garajonay for evening activities. We know that our guests enjoy better your time close to the bar hall. This place is bigger and has better view for the shows. Please be sure that your comments are very important for us. We will collect your suggestion in this regard and evaluate once again the possibility of offering some type of activity elsewhere, distinct and different from the place that we usually used.
In case of the leaks from the hard rains please be sure that we are working a lot for fix those problems. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed in our restaurant a la carte and please be sure that we will continue and work to improve buffet in restauarante La Finca. Once again thank you very much for your time and all your comments.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in Dec 13. The room was large and spacious with a lovely balcony and was very clean. There was a good selection of toilettries,robe and a welcome bottle of wine and fruit. The TV also had some english channels. There was a turn down service although it was very unpredictable as to when they would arrive meaning we only benefited from it once during our 4 nights.

The decor overall was good, some leaks in the foyer which they attributed to rain before we got there but given that there was no rain during our stay and the leaks were continuing it may be more likely that it was due to the two massive swimming pools which are located on floors above the lobby. Anyways these leaks were tiny and in no way impacted our stay.

The swimming pools were lovely and one certainly seemed heated in that it was much more pleasant than the other, both were huge and it was easy to find a lounger at the pool. There is also table tennis, squash and tennis at the hotel. The tennis court was good although the tennis rackets were in desperate need of a regrip. The table tennis was better as the bats were of a better quality. All in all though the facilities were excellent.

The breakfast was good - there was a large variety of food and something to suit everyone. The hot breakfast was not very good quality. Also the buffet restaurant tended to be somewhat chaotic and at busy periods was difficult to get a table. This was true also at dinner. The first night we went in the middle of service and the food cooked fresh was good however any of the food under the heat lamps was badly dried out. The next 2 nights we went at opening and found the general quality much better. Unfortunately their a la carte restarant was closed wed/thurs and therefore we were only able to use it one of our nights but the food quality was excellent as was the service and I only wish we had been able to use it on wed and thurs as well as the dining room in the main buffet restaurant again was chaotic and lacked a positive atmosphere. While quieter tables could be found there was still significant noise and quite a large number of breakages to add to the noisy atmosphere.

wi-fi was very good and worked well in our room (1111) This was a nice quiet room looking out on the pool/ocean. Quiet location and 5 minute walk from the main promenade/beach. There are also several shops nearby.

This hotel is probably not a 5 star but given the value for money I would probably stay again (but definitely not in peak times).

Room Tip: 1111 very good
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caro m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a 'good hotel' but do not understand the rating of 5. The hotel is in a quieter side of Adeje which is what we wanted, however the hotel itself is tired. There are lots of areas where plaster is falling of the walls in public areas, the rooms are spacious but tired especially the bathroom, the towels are particularly tired, in fact our 'dogs' towels at home are less worn. Staff are attentive and helpful, the resaurant was often busy and noisy, the salads were very good and an exceptional supply of fresh shellfish. Some of the other dishes were un - inspiring. We had heavy rain for two days, the hotel struggled with flooded corridors and leaky roofs in public areas, it was 'dodge the buckets' last night. As the hotel has been open several years now there has been time to rectify the areas that do not cope with heavy rain.

Room Tip: We up graded our room at booking but still it was 'tired' and because of the hotel layout lo...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cowbell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Gran from 22/11 until 3/12. The hotel is a 5 star package holiday hotel in a good location and excellent facilities.

From check in through to check out all the staff were helpful, obliging and courteous, nothing was too much trouble or an inconvenience. The reception staff were particularly helpful from giving help advice regarding anything to enhance our stay, ie bus time tables, local attractions and where to obtain postage stamps etc. During the last day of our holiday we experienced a terrific storm from 12.00 mid day until 6.00pm, this resulted in rain coming through the ceiling of our room. We were on the top with a flat roofed section, all other rooms has a tiled roof. On reporting the problem we were informed that we could move to the next room which was empty for the night. The new room key was delivered to us within 10 minutes. We in fact stayed in our original room as the leak stopped soon after the storm ended. This typified the level of standard and care that the Gran offers their guests.

Our room was large and spacious with a splendid view of the pools and sea including La Gomera. The shower was particularly good with high pressure and constant hot water. The Decoration was dated but was keep very clean and well maintained.

The food was of a high standard and quality, particularly the cooking stations. I agree with other reports regarding the large number of guests circulating at meal times but there were a number of sections where a more intimate table could be found. Drinks were reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel with a good choice of wines.

The entertainment was very professional with a range of acts, including tribute acts of the 3Tenors, Beatles and Eagles plus dance and acrobatic groups.

Would recommend for a good value hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank billy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,170 reviews
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,705 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#25 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#14 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $158 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing