We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, Tenerife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We're a family of 5 (three boys aged 10, 14 and 17) and have just returned from this lovely hotel. Everything was as expected and more....less than a 30 minute transfer on coach from airport. Friendly greeting on arrival at the hotel with sparkling wine (Cava) and apple juice for the children on check-in (nice touch). On giving our passports over to reception as is usual, I mentioned it was my husand's birthday the next day, so we booked a table for 5 in the A La Carte restaurant. We had a delicious meal, 14 euro supplement pp if on AI with a bottle of Cava and a large birthday cake (both complimentary - as it was my husband's birthday). We thought we'd be limited to what we could choose off the menu with the 14 euro supplement, but this wasn't the case. The hotel also gave my husband a small complimentary box of chocolates for his birthday. So its worth mentioning on check-in if you have a birthday whilst staying there!

We had two interconnecting rooms on the 2nd floor with side sea view overlooking the crazy golf. The room was quiet, airy, tastefully decorated, huge very comfortable beds with choice of pillows (firm or soft), English speaking TV channels (BBC+ITV+C4 etc). Bathroom was a good size with WC separated with sliding door. Good sized bath and two wash basins. The usual selection of toiletries was supplied - as were pool towels. You have to pay for the safe (about 2 euros a day) and can hire a kettle, DVD player, Ipad etc.. all at very reasonable rates.

There are 4 pools: 1 baby pool and 2 bigger pools on level 0 and another pool on level 6 - the roof. There's no problem getting a sun bed. The pool/towel assistants remove any towels left before 10am or any towels left until the afternoon with no-one using them. We had no trouble getting 5 sunbeds at any time. We're late risers and never got to breakfast before 10am. If there weren't 5 beds together, the pool/towel assistants would find us 5 and move the beds over to the a vacant area. If you want a place right next to the pools (to keep en eye on younger children) you may need to get a bed before 9am but with older children, we didn't have that problem. The rooftop pool was our favourite. Sunbeds do get taken up by 10am on busy days, but we always managed to find at least 3 after 10am. More become available as people leave at 12 midday. Its so peaceful up there with beautiful views of the sea and mountains. No ball games are allowed but children are allowed up there as long as they're quiet and are accompanied by an adult. Most use the other pools. There's no bar service up there. There is a place for a bar but its empty (for some reason). So take you're bottles of water etc, supplied from the pool bars on level 0. One of the pool bars has a good selection of ice creams, hot and cold food for self service for All Inclusive guests. We were AI but ate so much at meal times, we didn't use this bar for food. Only for the delicious ice cream and selection of both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and crisps etc..

The restaurant catered very well. Never had to wait for a table. Drinks are ordered at your table, then you serve your food yourself. Freshly made eggs (omelettes, scrambled, boiled and fried) made at breakfast, pancakes, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cooked breakfast, large selections of breads and conserves. Lunch and dinner has lovely fresh salads, soup, fresh fish, chicken, pork etc, pizza and pasta with a continuous change of country themes most nights. We felt we'd had enough of the food by day 8 but this wasn't because of the good quality of food, but because of the quantity eaten! The only thing I didn't like was at dinner if you asked for a class of wine (AI), you automatically got a bottle which although I love my wine, I wasted a good half bottle every day. I suppose this way, you don't need to keep asking the busy waiter for another glass. But there's only so much wine you can take back to your room to keep in the fridge(!) Otherwise its wasted. The entertainment was good with tribute acts (although my teenage boys cringed at these and played pool most evenings). The Chinese acrobats were the best - enjoyed by all 5 of us. The waiters work very hard so a tip now and then goes a long way. It must be disheartening for them going up and down with trays full of AI drinks and no cash payments means no tips. We thought they were very efficient and friendly and always remembered our long list of AI cocktails, coffees etc....

For sports there is a good tennis court, squash court, table tennis and crazy golf. All are well maintained and free. Just a deposit of 10 euros and 20 euros for tennis is needed. My boys played tennis every day in the evenings. Too hot during the day.

The nearest beach is Playa del Duque. A 15 min walk down hill. Go across the road then turn right and follow the road around to the left then down some steps for the quickest way. Or a taxi for 2/3 euros. We couldn't hire a parasol or sun bed (all taken by the time we got there but also quite expensive at 20 euros for 2 beds and 1 parasol) so bought a parasol for 14 euros. The beach has a life guard and belongs to another 5 star hotel but the public can use also.

We went to Siam Park - the best water park in Europe. We caught the first free bus that stops outside the hotel across the road at about 9.15. My boys had a great time while we relaxed on the beach they have there. We bought 3 fast track wrist bands for 15 euros each. No queues at all as these are limited to first come first served. Otherwise its a long wait in long queues. The queues have parasols along the way for shade. We bought our fast track wrist bands from the first shop you come to on entering the park on the way to the beach that sells food/icecream etc. and not from the locker queue which was huge. You can take in water but no food. The food sold is quite reasonably priced and a varied choice. We had a baguette each and soft drink for 4 euros or hot dog and soft drink for 5 euros from the Beach Bar. The beach has a wave machine that operates on the half hour every hour. Nearly as good as the real beach but without the stones and rocks!

We had a lovely time on holiday and would return again.

Room Tip: We had interconnecting rooms on the 2nd floor near the lifts to get out and about with crazy golf be...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank 38Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,634)
There are newer reviews for GF Gran Costa Adeje
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,165 - 3,171 of 5,637 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just arrived back from this lovely hotel, amazing lobby , on arrival offered champagne and also free drinks as our room wasn't quite ready. The staff from reception to the housekeeping staff are all very helpful and pleasant. The room was big and the bathroom was too. The rooftop pool is a godsend to people who don't like to hear screaming kids and the views of the mountains spectacular, the staff are vigilant on people bagging sunbeds and will remove your towels if you are not turning up till the afternoon. Breakfast has more than plenty of choice and fab pancake station!! We would defiantly return to this hotel as we had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor away from lifts for great views
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Allie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

As I said last year this is a great hotel. Just as good this year as last year. We only went B&B this year as we like to eat out and have a bottle of wine etc as our evening entertainment. The cleaning staff do an excellent job in the rooms, and throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My partner and I Stayed here Easter on all inclusive and loved it, our room was fantastic it was large and had all the conveniences you could wish for, a lovely big bed and very well appointed. The hotel is very spacious and well kept as are the hotel grounds. The all inclusive worked out very well the food was tasty and always plenty of choice I had read before we arrived about the queues at meal times and being realistic this is a large hotel with many guests and this is to be expected, but must add this was never a problem for us if we had to wait a couple of minutes so what we are on holiday whats the rush. The hotel had good entertainment at nights and we never had a problem getting drinks at the bar. All in all this is a good value hotel with great accommodation and facilities and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bear695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent two weeks 19 July to 2 August at this brilliant hotel. We had a ball ! Food great ,fresh well presented , the sea food and pasta excellent. We found the roof top pool ,very relaxing and beautiful views , would be nice if the bar was open or just a fridge with water , but no problem to stretch your legs ,get in the lift and DIY. Room 363 was lovely ,beds comfortable, plenty of wardrobe space and a large bathroom with a powerful shower. The room ,bed linen and bathroom spotless clean. The staff are brilliant ,don 't think we have ever experienced such genuinely friendly people , definitely go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Thanks to Cozmin, Daddy and Manuel , no waiting, excellent service ,no problem that we were all inclusive . All the staff in the outside bar ,restaurant and main lobby were extremely friendly . Possibly to good as if you ordered a glass of wine you get a bottle ! Well it would be rude to leave it ! Would not hesitate to return to this hotel ,don 't listen to the whiners, must live in mansions and be professional chef's ! Would not hesitate to return ,good location , turn left for a bit of a classy or right for a bit of down to earth both entertaining !

Room Tip: Room 363 was lovely ,3 rd floor sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank shakerstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Have just returned from 10 days at this fantastic hotel. The entrance and reception are jaw dropping. We were greeted by a bell boy who took our luggage and the next time we saw it was in our room. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly and all the staff that we came in contact with were very polite and friendly. Food was exceptional with an array of fresh meat and fish cooked on a griddle, pasta bar cooked to order, cheese board like we have never seen and my daughters favourite deserts of so many choices. We never had any problem with finding sunbeds - beware though do not reserve beds - towels are removed (a brilliant idea - shame more hotels don't do the same!!!!). Our room was very spacious and the bathroom huge - towels and linen changed whenever requested and room cleaned to a high standard. We found the whole hotel very well clean and well maintained. A fabulous holiday can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank englishrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My partner, myself and my 7 year old son have recently come back from a week half board at the Gran hotel and found it be pretty much on the average stakes. If you are expecting luxury then you wont get it here. Inside the hotel was reasonable but again does not fall into the 5 star category, as stated previously in several other reviews, the hotel is beginning to look slightly worn and needs some TLC in some areas that are visible to Joe Public.
Food was ok and the only thing that made this more enjoyable was the courteous and friendly staff, who made my young lad more than welcome. Eating times were extremely busy in the restaurant area and may have been made more enjoyable if it had been organised better to avoid crowding around serving areas. Something that did let this part down was that on the evenings', they insisted on men wearing trousers in the restaurant, only to allow tracksuits and flip flops to be the normal dress code. Not trying to sound like a snob but some people made the effort to dress up for their dinner and then found this to be the case.
Pools were more than adequate and met all the needs you would expect for this area.
Our bedroom was again pleasant and more than adequate, and were always maintained by friendly staff.
Reception area was very nice as were the staff, who were always friendly, courteous and helpful. One disappoint we found was that we could not extend our room to accommodate a late flight, we did not get told this until the last day which may have been handled better.
All in all, nice enough hotel, nice staff, food ok, unfortunately, room for improvement in my opinion.

Room Tip: if you do not ask for a room with a pool view, you won't get one, so if that is what your lookin...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,170 reviews
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,705 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#25 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#14 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $158 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing