We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Myself and my two children have no visited here 7 times, and yet again cannot fault it. Food is superb, service is top notch. Rooms are fantastic, and have plenty of space for us all. The lobby area is simply stunning.. The waterfall straight in front of you and then the piano bar to your left hand side is phenomenal. Certainly takes your breath away. Kids club is fantastic and certainly keeps them entertained during the day - Giving me some time to top up on my tan, and you know they're in safe hands. Not one bad thing I can say, Certainly is a Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,357 - 3,363 of 5,752 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just home from a week in the Costa Adeje Gran in Tenerife. Standard of hotel isn't quite 5 star, I would say 4 star is more fair, but the staff are wonderful on the whole-made a real fuss of our little daughter and were very helpful at all times. We stayed on a half board basis, and ate every night at the hotel. The food was ok to start, but quickly became repetitive. The real trouble started on the fourth night when i had food poisoning, pretty seriously. When i felt better, In went to reception to report, but the reception manager denied that it was possible, and said they had had no other reports of this. This despite my meeting another family who had exactly the same as me on the same night and reported it also!! This is why I'm writing the review, if the staff are going to deny the problem exists rather than try to fix it, other potential guests need to be aware of this!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George3667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for choosing Costa Adeje Gran Hotel for your last holidays. We appreciate all your comments, they will help us to improve our services.

We feel sorry to hear that you felt bad for a few days during the stay; we would like to clarify that as soon as we know guest are having any health problems , we offer the possibility to call a doctor, as we consider that a doctor will be the right person to assist guests and to find out what might be causing the problems

We do offer in our Buffet La Finca, a large and varied buffet, which includes themed nights and children’s buffet. In this buffet we cater every day for more than 900 guests : breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Health and Safety controls are very strict and they are present at any of our food process

Once again we must say we really appreciate all your comments.

With kind regards,

COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Have just returned from an 11 night all inclusive stay with my husband, 5 year old son and inlaws.
We arrived after a long day travelling and were checked in quickly and allocated rooms next door to each other. We proceeded to our rooms but were unable to gain access to one of the rooms as the door key refused to work. The bellboy was passing so he opened the room and we were horrified but what we were to find!! The room was either still occupied of had been vacated and not cleaned. The beds were unmade there were dirty towels lying on the floor in the bedroom and the bathroom and rubbish overflowing over in the bins. I went down to reception and the manageress on duty came to inspect the room. She was horrified and didn't know what to say!! We were allocated another room and were told to come to reception the next day to discuss the matter further with the day manager.
We returned in the morning and met with the manager who could not have been more apologetic. She said that it appeared to have been an error on their system which said that the room had been vacated and cleaned which obviously had not been. As a goodwill gesture she offered us and the rest of our party an upgrade to one of the Royal Suites. We took her up on the offer and were delighted by what awaited us. We were in room 2104 and this consisted of 2 separate bedrooms with there own bathrooms and balcony and a dining room with sitting area with 2 sets of patio doors and a huge wrap around balcony with sea and pool views and wooden sunloungers and a table and chairs.
There were 3 tvs in total, tea and coffee making facilities, fresh fruit/wine/water and chocolates and 2 stocked mini bars!! The ultimate in luxury.
After reading some of the negative reviews I was worried about the food but I the only thing I could fault was the food on offer for the all inclusive guests at the pool bar. A shocking offering of 3 star standard at best with pigeons flying all over the place. The other food in the main restaurant I found to be very good with a wide choice of offer. Not 5 star but certainly a good 4 star standard.
There were plenty of sunbeds to go around but a word of warning reservation of sunbeds is not allowed and any unattended towels will be removed (usually around 9.30am!!)
The staff were friendly and helpful.
I would certainly return to this hotel again and would pay extra to stay in a suite. I would agree that the hotel is not in the 5 star league but certainly a good 4 star.
A bad start but I cant thank the management enough for making our holiday a memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were recommended to the Gran Hotel by good friends, and would ourselves recommend it, if with some reservation. The first impression as you enter is - WOW ! - a very 'gran' lobby !! Indeed a very impressive building altogether, with some really interesting design features. Pool areas were lovely, the bedrooms large and airy with a/cond.and large balcony (we overlooked the pools (3) / garden but would not pay a supplement for this next time) Lobby and bar area was comfortable with mezzanine lounge areas and outside terrace. Dining room was large, busy but well laid out with 2 'indoor patio' areas Shame not to use the outdoor terrace for eating though - not sure why not ? The staff were very friendly and obliging, and attentive without being overbearing - always clean and well turned out. We went 'all inclusive' (never done that before) and found it good value as drinks were quite expensive. 'Free' drinks choice was adequate with good alternatives to branded spirits. We did a day trip and took a 'pic-nic' lunch which was a great disappointment. Should have missed that one and bought lunch out.
I would not, however, rate this hotel as a full 5* - it is looking a bit tired in places and needs some redecorating and maintenance.....this lets it down big time. The food was all buffet style and whereas this was a little monotonous, they did vary the selection every mealtime - really no complaints in this area. Overview? - good value for what we paid by booking through Monarch Holidays for a lazy week in the sun ! Would go back again happily but 7 - 10 days at a time is enough.
I booked through Monarch and they arranged transfers etc - well worth it. Others also do all inclusive deals so look around for the best price.

Room Tip: 2nd / 3rd floor with garden view very nice. Alternatively sea view 'over the bar end' of bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phib03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for five days at the end of May 2013. The reception area when you arrive at this hotel is pretty breathtaking. Amazing design with fountains and water features as you cross to reception. Once inside and heading to the room, you are not disappointed. I had a room on the 4th floor. Good sized bathroom, with extensive mirrored bedroom and comfortable seating areas. The balconies are a little disappointing as a result of the high walls, which means sitting looking on to a wall if you use your balcony table and chairs. Still, that doesn't retract from the well appointed rooms and common areas. The pool area is a good size with plenty of sun beds, a nice bar area, and a great view down towards the sea. Across from the pool is the restaurant, unfortunately this is where it all falls over. The restaurant is in dire need of a revamp. It has the air of a slightly glorified 1970s factory canteen. Dressing the staff smartly and having a maitre D to welcome you isn't disguising it I'm afraid. The food is just ok, nothing particularly special, and that went for breakfast, lunch and dinner. What makes the restaurant worse is the layout. Different courses are laid out on different islands at various locations in the restaurant. This results in an almost bad Benny Hill sketch each night, as diners are dodging about in different directions from their tables, attempting to get to the food they want. This seriously needs reviewed guys, it is bringing down what is a really nice hotel. We had one meal in the a la carte restaurant which is night and day compared with the buffet restaurant. Service levels are good generally, and some decent entertainment is offered each night in the lobby bar area. Overall, this is a really nice hotel, spoiled somewhat by the comedy buffet restaurant and so so food offered.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Mark1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for a week in february.The first time I had ever been all inclusive and never again. The most disgusting food I have ever had in a 5 star hotel I cannot understand it getting 5 star reviews. If you go out on a day trip and miss lunch don't expect anything to eat until the evening meal. The food they have left out all day for you is in edible. The all inclusive guests are treated like second class guests as soon as the waiters know you are all inclusive they stop coming to take your orders.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferryQ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Sirs,

First of all, thanks so much for sharing. We regret to hear that our AI service was not of your liking.

We would like to make clear that any guest who ask for a pack lunch for excursions, get it right away. That is why we don´t understand the reason why you say that we don´t provide any food when the guests go out of the Hotel. Every single guest who ask for that, will get it.

Regarding to the food, we would like to say that we offer three main services: breakfast, luch and dinner, all this in a wide Restaurant and with a timing well known by our guests.

We offer in our Pool Bar an area just for snacks (from 10 to 18hrs). The renewal of the product is according to the demand, and the maintenence temperature of it, both cold and warm is guaranteed and monitored continoustly to guarantee a quality product and always able to consumption.

Finally, just say that all our guests are welcome here, no matter the board they enjoy.

Once again, we are sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations. At the same time, we are at your disposal for any other issue you would like to make clear.

We appreciate your comments,

with kind regards,

COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having read previous reviews about the hotel before we went this year, I didn't know what to expect of the 5 star hotel but certainly were not dissapointed. We had private transfer to the hotel from the airport and were met by efficient friendly receptionist. The first impression of the reception area was wow! Lots of spotlessly clean marble and we noticed all our time how clean the windows were.
We were on half board and found the breakfasts were plentiful and very varied as were the evening meal. Food was replaced regularly, freshly cooked whilst you waited, fresh pasta cooked every night with whatever you fancied in/on it.
Great idea that no sunbeds could be reserved -wish that could be the case in every hotel we have stayed in. The 'towel police' were around before 10am and every towel on the sunbeds with no one there were swiftly taken away despite the fact that sun hats and books were on them. Keep up the good work.
The rooms were spotlessly clean lots of mirrors in the room and keps pristine at all times, and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. Only draw back I would say is the lack of drawer space in the room but we managed perfectly well. We did notice that some of the 'all inclusive' guests were very wasteful both with food and drink, got the impression 'we've paid for it so we will have it' syndrome.
Any problems we had were soon sorted with reception in a manner anyone would expect from the category of hotel. There are lots of newer 5 star hotels in the area but the Adeje Gran Hotel would be the one we would return to.
It is hilly in the area of the hotel, but we did find a more gentle way of getting back without having to walk up the steep hill.
There's a local bus service across the road to Los Cristianos via Las Amerias at €1.45 per person one way and we decided to walk back to Adeje, quite a hike but flat and interesting.
There's a market across from the hotel every Thursday and Saturday, worth a visit but not too big and a bar nearly next door to the hotel worth visiting with a good selection of first class wines and spirits - good measures too far cheaper than the hotel if you are not on an all inclusive basis.

Room Tip: We had a side sea facing room which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAPPYHOLIDAYMAKER20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $151 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing