We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 5 star more a 3”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for a week in february.The first time I had ever been all inclusive and never again. The most disgusting food I have ever had in a 5 star hotel I cannot understand it getting 5 star reviews. If you go out on a day trip and miss lunch don't expect anything to eat until the evening meal. The food they have left out all day for you is in edible. The all inclusive guests are treated like second class guests as soon as the waiters know you are all inclusive they stop coming to take your orders.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferryQ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Sirs,

First of all, thanks so much for sharing. We regret to hear that our AI service was not of your liking.

We would like to make clear that any guest who ask for a pack lunch for excursions, get it right away. That is why we don´t understand the reason why you say that we don´t provide any food when the guests go out of the Hotel. Every single guest who ask for that, will get it.

Regarding to the food, we would like to say that we offer three main services: breakfast, luch and dinner, all this in a wide Restaurant and with a timing well known by our guests.

We offer in our Pool Bar an area just for snacks (from 10 to 18hrs). The renewal of the product is according to the demand, and the maintenence temperature of it, both cold and warm is guaranteed and monitored continoustly to guarantee a quality product and always able to consumption.

Finally, just say that all our guests are welcome here, no matter the board they enjoy.

Once again, we are sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations. At the same time, we are at your disposal for any other issue you would like to make clear.

We appreciate your comments,

with kind regards,

COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,491 - 3,497 of 5,893 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having read previous reviews about the hotel before we went this year, I didn't know what to expect of the 5 star hotel but certainly were not dissapointed. We had private transfer to the hotel from the airport and were met by efficient friendly receptionist. The first impression of the reception area was wow! Lots of spotlessly clean marble and we noticed all our time how clean the windows were.
We were on half board and found the breakfasts were plentiful and very varied as were the evening meal. Food was replaced regularly, freshly cooked whilst you waited, fresh pasta cooked every night with whatever you fancied in/on it.
Great idea that no sunbeds could be reserved -wish that could be the case in every hotel we have stayed in. The 'towel police' were around before 10am and every towel on the sunbeds with no one there were swiftly taken away despite the fact that sun hats and books were on them. Keep up the good work.
The rooms were spotlessly clean lots of mirrors in the room and keps pristine at all times, and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. Only draw back I would say is the lack of drawer space in the room but we managed perfectly well. We did notice that some of the 'all inclusive' guests were very wasteful both with food and drink, got the impression 'we've paid for it so we will have it' syndrome.
Any problems we had were soon sorted with reception in a manner anyone would expect from the category of hotel. There are lots of newer 5 star hotels in the area but the Adeje Gran Hotel would be the one we would return to.
It is hilly in the area of the hotel, but we did find a more gentle way of getting back without having to walk up the steep hill.
There's a local bus service across the road to Los Cristianos via Las Amerias at €1.45 per person one way and we decided to walk back to Adeje, quite a hike but flat and interesting.
There's a market across from the hotel every Thursday and Saturday, worth a visit but not too big and a bar nearly next door to the hotel worth visiting with a good selection of first class wines and spirits - good measures too far cheaper than the hotel if you are not on an all inclusive basis.

Room Tip: We had a side sea facing room which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAPPYHOLIDAYMAKER20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. We did so because we had visited the previous year because we liked the location. Despite reservations about the hotel we returned but found this to be a very different establishment from the one twelve months previously. One thing we noticed was a proliferation of armbands which signified that they were all inclusive and usually not a good sign. When we arrived at the room we found the bathroom to be pretty grotty. It needed grouting and at the very least attacking with Mr Muscle. The taps were damaged on the washbasin and the shower curtain was discoloured, not a good start. More fun ensued when we tried to connect to Wi-Fi , well about 3 hours of fun to be honest. The help we received from the management was , quite frankly laughable. We must have heard every ridiculous excuse under the sun, nothing was sorted out needless to say . Next morning when we had breakfast another surprise was in store for us. The quality of the breakfast had dropped through the floor. The fresh fruit had been replaced with tinned and preserved rubbish. The sausages to name just one item were inferior to the ones offered previously. The air conditioning didn't work most of the time and it took them 4 attempts to repair the safe.
Whatever problem we had was too much trouble for the staff and they refused to bring the manager on any occasion. The pool area is excessively crowded and you have the usual sunbed baggers placing towels on sunbeds on the beds prior to breakfast so by the time you arrive by the pool all the best beds have gone but in most cases the occupants don't bother to use them until lunchtime. This behaviour wasn't prevalent last year so something has happened to the clientele and it appears to be frequented by individuals who only eat and drink inside the hotel because it is all inclusive. Entertainment is practically absent but when they do lay some on they don't bother telling you so most likely you will miss it anyway. In it's favour it is in a pretty good location and it is relatively cheap but do not expect a real 5 star hotel. This is not.

Room Tip: The front beach facing rooms are best because they get the sun and a good place to view the sun sett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Plain and simply one of the best hotels we have stayed in,Great food and lovely clean rooms.The staff are a credit to the GF hotel group as they made the stay very very good.Stunning grounds and always kept clean.

Most of the entertainment was good but the best was The Eagles tribute which I thought were superb,It was my wife's wife's birthday when were stayed at the hotel and hotel gave her chocolates and a bottle of Cava which I thought was a nice touch..

Good selection of drinks on all inclusive and the food was really good and the live cooking was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

have recently stayed at this hotel , which took about 20 mins on coach from airport , lovely grand entrance , to a large marble reception area and bar , greeted with happy reception staff and luggage sent to room , we had a first floor room which overlooked a side road , it was very quiet and we heard no noise from outside . room was spotless , with double sinks in bathroom with a good shower, beds very comfortable.
towels changed several times a day if required . we were all inclusive which is a must. food very good with plenty of it . the pasta station is awesome .
only comment i would make is when females go to the bar area to be served you become "invisible" and the staff tend to serve the males first !!!
also i did notice during breakfast times , the half boarders are taking food out to eat for lunch !! wrapped up in servettes.

otherwise a great hotel , would defo go their again .

Room Tip: first floor looking out into road are very quiet with very little noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Lovely week spent here. It had come well recommended. I took my 82 year old mother who isn't particularly mobile, i.e. struggles with steps, but she didn't have a problem in the hotel or surrounding area. We had a room on floor 1 which overlooked the road, peaceful other than normal street noise. We sunbathed around the roof pool which was lovely and peaceful. Can't say anything negative. Stayed all-inclusive. Will likely return to this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good hotel, food brilliant as was the pool, my main gripe is the lack of maintenance, rendering falling off, poor decoration, grouting missing etc etc.
I had a good time here but its far from 5* a 4* at best.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,979 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#25 of 61 in Costa Adeje
4,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $155 - $1,546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing