We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Third visit within 2,5 years.
We like loacation, rooms, rooftop terrace and especially no-reservation policy of sunbeds! But food was worse than the 1st time, Nov. 2010. In Nov. 2011 it had improved, but now…

Reception: friendly at arrival, but businesslike at departure when we asked for later checkout (only 2 hours more). It was offered to us ‘upon availability’ as Gold Friend. Finally we could stay until 13h00.
Room 363: good location, nice view; sun at balcony after about 16h30. A quite new bath tube. We still miss some drawers in the room.
Piscina (Snack)Bar: o.k. for what you pay for it. But do not understand the loads of ‘crisps’ with all the dishes: we’ve gotten them with sandwiches, Hamburgers a.s.o. Maybe English people like them? We would appreciate just a few French fries coming with it.
It opens at 10h00, but until 10h30 you have to get your drinks at the bar if you sit at a table at it’s terrace. For guests at the pool we can imagine that.
Bar Hall : had 3 times drinks at the terrace; it was too cold most of the time to sit there. Service always good. We do not mind much about the entertainment in the evening
Restaurant (buffet): do not really have the right words to describe it. It was kind of chaotic. We did not really like the food. We have been in 4* (!) hotels that serve better food, more variety better/nicer presentation, and more professional service. We also think food was very much meant for English guests.
Most of staff were friendly (some not all too ‘welcoming’ at breakfast). We want to mention Tamara and Sergio; they were kind and welcoming.
But we have never felt that we were in a 5* hotel’s restaurant. More in a ‘tourist, busy buffet’ restaurant.
A la carte ‘La Laja’: good, but we think cooks make the menu and dishes too complicated: all those peculiar flavours and combinations. Paying € 14,00 extra on your half board was okay (we did not have to pay because we ware ‘Gf Gold friend’).

In general: especially because of the buffet restaurant we would not rate the hotel 5*. But we do not find nice, good restaurants nearby.
The no-reservation policy for sun beds is great! This is one of the main reasons for booking this hotel… They really maintain this and there are always free beds from 9 - 17h00!
Weather this time in March was o.k. but has been better. About 21-24 degrees now, sometimes cloudy and windy and rather cold in the evening. Only one small shower in the evening.

Room Tip: Any pool view room at floor 2-3 in one ot the two wings or middle part of hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johanna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,644)
There are newer reviews for GF Gran Costa Adeje
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,436 - 3,442 of 5,644 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Whatever you talk of recession it's not be experienced here. The staff still stay happy and helpful. Food wastage is my only worry! Champagne and caviar and sushi and varied desserts will bring me back.the terrace swimming pool gives the best view of teneriffe. Early morning stretch exercises near the terrace pool could very refreshing!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rajeshwarkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

stayed here for a weeks winter sun in the Canaries. this is a large hotel with excellent facilities about 10 mins away from the sea front.
Location - its downhill to the promenade and shops - theres not much close to the hotel and as there s a steep climb up from the sea this may be problematic for people with limited mobility.
Friendly staff , good large bedrooms and the hotel was spotless throughout. Of particular mention are the 2 swimming pools - both large and clean. Dont know how they are cleaned but no taste of chlorine and one of the pools heated to an ideal 'tepid' temperature for a refreshing dip.
We were b and b - the breakfasts were good - excellent choice and good quality hot and cold food. However the restaurant is large and very busy and not particularly ambient.
Had lunch most days on the terrace by the pool - it did the trick - limited choice but good quality reasonable priced food and drink.
At night we wandered into the town for dinner - not particularly inspiring place and restaurants of only average quality. However we enjoyed returning to the hotel having a drink outside looking at the shows.
Overall this is a good hotel and god value for money - just be aware of its location away from the sea.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel on the left hand side would be ideal.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I am looking at other peoples reviews and see them raving about this hotel. I just don`t get it.
Yes its ok.The room was that far from the reception, by the time I got there, I thought I was in Los Christianos!!!
I do wish when you call the hotel before booking and ask the question, do you have wifi in the bedrooms, they would tell the whole truth, which is yes they do, but it doesn`t work. As I need it about four times a day, it is annoying to have to go walk all the way to the reception area to get a signal that works..
We just paid for bed and breakfast which I must say the room was of reasonably good four star quality. With regards to the food at breakfast,I didn`t know that a chef could work so hard to make such a large selection so tasteless.
The entertainment around the pool area was to say the least, annoying. Do these hotels not realise that when they are conducting arobics with only sixteen people in the pool, using music that was so loud that the other 150 people can`t talk, they are not exactly getting the job right. I also wish they had stopped bothering me to ask if I wanted to join in the other activities. If I had neede all that I would have gone to a holiday camp !!!.
I must say that by enlarge, the entertainment at night was good, although I do wonder why a lot of the acts, thought that the audience were all deaf and the guy who introduced all the acts. brought the word "patronising" to a new level. Every night we got the same boring introduction from him. Hello England, hello Ireland, hello Wales, Hello Scotland, Oh and occasionally, a hello Germany, just to balance things up.
Having said all this, I am sure a lot of people had a lovely time but I will be back at the Ibrostar Mirador next time, more expensive but well worth it,

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room near the elevators
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PETER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed January 04-11. Having been advised to move from this 'pit of a hotel', I chose to ignore those comments and go with it. We are a family of 5 not a couple of 2 looking for Romance!!! We have a daughter who is 17 and registered blind, that I have to add Thomson holidays couldn't care less!!
Each time we book with them I am made to feel that is my problem and not theirs as they will not guarantee rooms next to/interconnecting even if I offer to pay extra. However, I now bypass thomson/first choice and contact the hotel direct to request this type of room as previously mentioned our 17 year old is blind and we have 2 other younger children.
I emailed this hotel direct and had the most amazing response. The Receptionist on our arrival had the greatest sense of humour, telling us us we had two rooms on opposite sides of the hotel. Really!!!! No,,they had accommodated our family on the first floor with interconnecting rooms. What a relief!
Our holiday is often spoilt by the 5am rush for sun beds. Not here, I totally understand we were out of high season, but the signs were clear and we decided to put it to the test!!! We chose our beds at 8.30 went for breakfast, and our lad who is 11 was in a hurry so we said go lay on the beds at 9.10 am. He came back distraught!! No towels, no beds, no rubbish magazines. What an absolute breath of fresh air, that a hotel practices what it preaches. We stayed half board and enjoyed every minute of it. Great staff, great rooms, pools were cold, but what do you expect in January? Food was good, been AI over the last few years, decided that we know Tenerife well enough to eat out safely. Small snack for evening meal, few drinks, long walk and then great meals. Back to hotel for a few drinks before a long lay in, no bun fight at 5am.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel 100%. Staff were great, before we arrived and during our stay. Wouldn't hesitate recommending or returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aiupsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice Hotel, Food, Rooms, Pools and plenty of sun beds alll, is great except the discrimination against the "All Inclusive" guests. You have to wear a blue plastic bracelet to identify that you are "All Inclusive ". As far as the bar waiters are concerned you become invisible once you have this bracelet on.Preference is given to half board or B&B guests that have to pay extra for all drinks. It would seem that the hotel managment encourage the waiters to concentrate on the half board and b&b guests as this creates extra income and tips whereas "all inclusive" guests have paid up-front.The situation is made worse as there are many drinks excluded from the all incusive programme and decends into farce when you are told that you cannot have a bloody mary as part of the programme unlessyou order the vodka and tomato juice etc. seperatley and make it yourself.It is a big mistake for hotels to offer mixed board basis. If they want to offer "All Inclusive" they should do this 100% or stick to Half board and/or B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our sixth visit to this fantastic hotel and it's even better than ever.
Our last stay was three years ago and the only downsides then were the food and the entertainment.
Both however have improved leaps and bounds. We always found the meals to be tasty and hot with plenty of choice. Freshly prepared steaks, lamb and fish dishes as well as a variety of pasta provided something for all tastes and we certainly wouldn't describe the dining room 'disorganized' as other reviews state.
The entertainment too is much improved but as others have said, give the evening when the hotel team are on stage - embarrassing doesn't describe it!
Beautiful rooms kept clean and tidy and staff who can't do enough for you added up to a fantastic holiday.
Already planning visit number 7!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickeeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,172 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#25 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#14 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $158 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing