We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Met our expectations.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Returned for second visit after 3 years. Hotel just as good but greater percentage of AI guests. Had a room overlooking the road above the restaurant which was OK but should have paid for a pool view in advance (hotel was full and couldn't upgrade on arrival) as some traffic noise. Hotel is a little tired in some places but kept very clean by very efficient & friendly staff. Unusual these days not to see hand wash/gel around but didn't hear of anyone with tummy problems so perhaps it shows that "normal" hygiene is all that is required if food is well prepared and presented (and the guests behave themselves!) Good choice of food at all times with freshly prepared meat, fish & pasta, plus eggs/omelettes & pancakes for breakfast. Loads of sunbeds and good to see the "no reservation" policy being upheld by the staff. We tried the a la carte restaurant twice to break up the buffet. First time we had the indian set menu (OK) and the second we had the ordinary menu. Vegetarian prawns just about worked but the texture and taste of the vegetarian chicken didn't. Would be better to have a proper chicken dish and a proper vegetarian dish that didn't pretend to be meat.
Best feature is the pool bar with good view over the rooftops to the sea - great place for late afternoon cocktail. Entertainment was more than OK: seen better but also seen much worse and the audience seemed to like it every night. Animation team are enthusiastic but don't force themselves on you. Large heated pool was very relaxing. Unheated pool was a bit too refreshing in January, even in 22-24 deg C.
Location is good, short walk to the sea and there is always a taxi back to avoid the hill (well worth 4 euros for those with trouble walking back). Very handy for market and the relatively cheap and efficient local bus.
We were AI but didn't spot any difference in quality/friendliness of staff compared to non-AI guests.
Overall, it is billed as 5 star but more like 4 star with some 5 star touches but it was what we expect from this style/class/price of hotel.

Room Tip: Request (and probably pay for) pool or mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SailorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for reviewing Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor.

For us is priceless and absolutely helpful the l improvements you suggest to take into account, we'll work on it with our staff as we are always trying to improve .

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,825
    1,888
    623
    154
    68
See reviews for
1,684
2,847
52
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,601)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in January 2013 and I thought the hotel was lovely. Another reviewer had mentioned the cold reception/entertainment area. I too suffered a bit in the evening as I am a cold person. The problem is that there is not a roof over all the hotel. The corridors upstairs have rooms either side of the corridor but the roof to the corridor is open to the skies so when you come out of your room am and evening there is quite a dip in temperature. This cold air goes down the stairs into the main part of the hotel so keeps it chilly. Perhaps this is not a problem in summer but in January morning and evening it felt cold in the hotel. But many people were sitting around in shirtsleeves etc in the evening so obviously didn't find it cold! Just remember to bring something warm to wear for the evenings just in case.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suitcase99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor.


Our guest s' feedback is highly valued by all our team , so thank you for letting us know your personal opinion about the cold air in some areas. we'll work on it with our staff


Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stays here for one week Jan 26th. Had to ask for bedroom for cleaned first night, our feet were filthy. Breakfast was a nightmare, the food was awful and to spread out, totally disorganised. Waiters rushing around like headless chickens clearing & setting tables. The reception staff were friendly, one person in the pool bar not good. Animation team tried their best, but not 5 star entertainment on an evening by any means! We never realised how hilly the area was, my husband is recovering from a serious illness & that limited us to where we could walk too. A couple of good restaurants we found, Gordon Rojo & Martini, very good food, excellent staff. Walk past Fanabe hotel towards the beach, don't go right down, take the 2nd left, which leads you to a group of restaurants in the right hand side. Just a nice little walk down & back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erinisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor.

Our guest s' feedback is highly valued by all our team , so thank you for letting us know your personal opinion about the entertainment, Satff and breakfast to make improvements .


Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife so you can check our efforts


Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just come back from my first stay in Tenerife, and don't think I could have had a better hotel. It was picked by my boyfriend and I was certainly not disappointed. It's in an ideal location, no more than 5 minutes from the sea, but far enough from the main stretch.
There was a good choice of food at the breakfast buffet, and the evening choice was pretty decent (although we ate out most nights) there is an a la carte restaurant on site, but I didn't use it.
There are four pools, with entertainment and games for all if you wanted, or you could relax on the sun loungers.
There was plenty of evening entertainment, singers some nights (the Elton John tribute went down a storm!) and earlier on a sort of show and tell with animals for the younger kids.
The rooms were clean and comfy with air conditioning if needed, and a balcony (not sure whether all the rooms have one) I think we picked a good time of year to go, at the end of January - as the hotel was relatively quiet, I expect it would be manic around the pool nearer the summer.
I would recommend this hotel, and I hope to go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank master_midian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your great holiday at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel and for recommending it to others.

We are all very happy to know you are satisfied with the hotel staff, services and facilities. It's priceless for us to read our guests have had an enjoyable stay as it encourages our team to keep working to offer the highest quality posible.

Looking forward meeting you in the future at the hotel

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Geart hotel so clean, staff are all great. The no reserve policy on sunbeds is brill, and works a treat, never once struggled for a sun bed, and the hotel was busy.the food was superb, and entertainment was fine. Tho we did go to a bar called Devine in fanaby beach, great soul music song live in there, also had some great nites at the fun pub at same beach, dj on fridays is so funny, look out for the comedy elvis, as he is fantastic. Take a lovely walk to Porto Colon, lovely small harbour and old town fishing village, and if you like seafood, you will love it here.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for reviewing Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor

Our team is daily challenged by every single guest that books our hotel and we are focused in working hard to fullfill everybody's expectations, what is something difficult to achieve but is a permanent motivation as it helps us to pay attention on daily basis to personal likes and preferences.

We are all very happy to know you are satisfied with the hotel


Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiilofbeath
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

just returned on the 27 th January entertainment, food ,staff ,rooms first class ,only gripe would be hot food stations for the amount of people in restuarant. the waiting for the freshley made food was a bit long ,I would give it 4 stars .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor.

Thank you for reporting those matters we should improve as your feedback is priceless for us.

Our team is pleased to know you had a joyfull holidays

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a very good hotel, however it is in need of some maintenance in some areas.

Staff here are generally helpful and friendly. At check-in we were allocated a Double Room although we had booked a Twin, and the reception staff changed this immediately without any problem. The reception and (particularly) the bar area is somewhat dark and dingy owing to the design of the hotel.

Our room (103) was a reasonable size, with comfortable beds, but the bathroom walls had paint peeling from them, the safe (12EUR per week) was temperamental, and showering at any time of the day or night you would experience a myriad of different water temperatures from icy cold to boiling hot. The complimentary sachets of toiletries were worse than I have seen in some 2-star hotels.

The pool area is spacious and the complimentary towels each day are certainly a big plus. The Spa, Sauna and Steam Room are all at an additional charge of 10EUR per visit, which was a little disappointing. The squash court is usable but is in need of some repair work to the walls and flooring. A 20EUR deposit is required if you use the hotel racquets.

The choice of food was excellent, and the quality generally quite good. The restaurant does seem cramped though, and somewhat understaffed. Waiters are constantly busy and running about, which does not make for a relaxing dining experience.

Overall, we had a good stay at the hotel, however there are probably better alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sweetpotato84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,125 reviews
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Property: GF Gran Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing