We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in!”
Review of Iberostar Sabila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Sabila
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

When we got to our room we had 3 single beds when we had booked a double for me and my partner and a single for our son. The beds were like hospital beds you could raise them up in the air and down again. The room was horrid, old dirty carpet, cracked floor tiles in the bathroom, ripped wallpaper, broken hair dryer, dirt up the walls. When we complained Daniel on reception told us he couldn't help us as the manager was not available. He told us we needed to speak to reservations about moving and we should use their pay phones, we asked if he could call them and explain our situation and what we had told him and he refused and said if he had to call for everyone then he would spend forever on the phone! I was shocked as obviously he gets a lot of complaints like this then which I said to him and he quickly backtracked on his answer. We were forced to use their pay phones and the reservations lady was equally unhelpful and told us she could move us to a very expensive hotel at our cost otherwise there was nothing she could do and we should speak to the reception, by this point we were getting more and more angry and called Daniel over to speak to her who was happy to do so now as it was at our expense. He then got off the phone and said there was nothing they could do and the manager would be available at 21.30 so we went to our room to shower and get ready for dinner.

We finally got to speak to the manager at 7pm after arriving at 12 in the afternoon, I told him he was advertising as a 4* but it was definately not a 4* and he admitted it was a tired 4*. He then offered to upgrade us to half board but our reason for booking bed and breakfast was because we wanted to eat out and experience different foods so half board was not good for us. He said he had another room we could look at but as I thought it was equally as bad as ours. We had no choice but to spend the 5 nights we had booked here and to be fair the rest of the hotel wasn't too bad and the food was actually quite nice it was just a case of get drunk before bed time and enter your bedroom with the light off.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Kelly,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel for your holidays in Tenerife and for the time you took out of your day to share your impressions on your stay so we are made aware of the improvements we may make to ensure splendid holidays’ experiences to all our guests.

We sincerely regret reading your disappointment on the room we accommodated you in, however we would like to point out that we allocate the rooms in accordance with the booking confirmation we receive from direct bookings and travel agents and that all rooms are thoroughly revised by our Head of Housekeeping before our guests ‘arrival to ensure that everything is functional.

Moreover, we are sorry if we could not allow you to call the reservations service through our reception phone as it has to be used for incoming calls from clients and by our receptionists for any taxi, excursion or car hire bookings; Our hotel being fully booked the reservations department offered you to eventually move to a 5 star sister hotel nearby, however the supplement remains on extra charge as the room previously allocated was in accordance with the booking you made.

Our management finally offered you the possibility to upgrade to half board for the loss of time; it was a courtesy for you to enjoy your stay among us and we lament hearing that it was apparently not what you were looking for.

On the other hand, we highly appreciate your positive comments on our gastronomy offer because at IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a comfortable journey back home and that hopefully we can fulfill your expectations in the near future remaining at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations. It is our goal to make our guests enjoy of a splendid holiday, therefore we are always willing to guide you through our call center to make sure that you book an IBEROSTAR hotel that can make all your wishes come true.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,435 - 1,441 of 3,194 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Have just recently returned from a stay at the Torviscas Playa, I always consult tripadvisor before I travel anywhere however rarely contribute, I feel that this hotel really exceeded my expectations so thought I should review. The staff in this hotel were so friendly and helpful! An amazing location just a stone's throw away from beach, fantastic views and overall very well maintained hotel. Great choice in restaurant and lovely large gin and tonics ;-) Booked superior double which was fantastic . Looking forward to hopefully staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Louise,

We are sincerely grateful for the time and efforts you spent to share a review on your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa, we are very pleased to read that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations; this is a wonderful reward for our daily efforts.

Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation; we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them.

Moreover, we are glad to read your satisfaction with our extensive buffets and our prime location, as you well say “just a stone’s throw away from the beach and with a wide array of leisure and dining options on the doorstep.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from the torviscas playa, the star friends were brilliant dani and andi were fantastic with my 21 month year old son, they couldn't do more they were really friendly used to play with him even when he's not old enough to join in with the mini club.

Restaurant-was very nice and great food but does get repetitive after 2 weeks but it's the same everywhere

Reception- very rude, got the wrong room when we arrived but everyone makes mistakes so it didn't really bother us, but they couldn't be less helpful when wanting something off them throughout the holiday, terrible service.

Very clean and decorating being done everywhere so the hotel is looking very nice, great for kids and a brilliant location.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank deano9982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel and for the time you spent to share these comments on your stay, we are pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable time among us.

However, we took good note of your comments on our reception staff and sincerely regret reading that you did not feel well cared after during your stay among us and passed them to the head of department in order to revise and improve and ensure that any situation that does not meet excellence is corrected, on the other hand we would like to point out that we allocate the rooms in accordance with the booking confirmation we receive from direct bookings and tour operators; for future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our call center from where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you select the accommodation type that best meets your holiday’s needs and wishes.

Moreover, we are very pleased to read that our animation team took the time to play with your son; their great attitude and capacity to connect with our little guests is undoubtedly one of our main assets and we will not fail to congratulate them on your behalf.

At IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and are fully aware that meals are an aspect of primary importance for our guests to enjoy their holidays abroad, this is why our expert team of chefs strives to surprise our guests with high quality culinary delights both local and international, so as be able to savor many different flavors at every single meal and make it one of the best added values to their holiday among us

Thank you again for your visit and constructive critics; feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know where we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guests. We will certainly take your comments into our consideration and will do our utmost to improve the points you mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at our IBEROSTAR hotels and resorts in the most beautiful destinations worldwide, please receive our sincerest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I've chosen this hotel due to close distance to beach and bars/restaurants. It's quite big hotel and I was little concerned that it may be crowded (you know the queues in the restaurants during breakfast/dinner time or all swimming pools beds 'booked' with towels). It was positively surprised as none of such case were observed there. The service was professional and everything went smooth.
The hotel was good and clean, well located and properly equipped. I was really happy with the staying.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank maciejz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took out of your day to share your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel here on Tripadvisor; we are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed staying among us.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out the professionalism and genuine kindness of our staff as well as the cleanliness of our installations.

Last but not least we thank you for highlighting our great location right on the seafront and within a short walking distance to the lively Costa Adeje and its array of leisure and dining options available to its visitors.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Tenerife; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination within more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just returned after one weeks break at the Torviscas Playa.
Pluses
Staff are friendly and helpful! The service in the bar was excellent with Patricya and Nieves being very helpful!
Location is excellent and has good access to the beach!
Very impressive pool area.

Minuses
Bar was expensive. Mahou draft beer was often flat and not as nice as Dorada from draught.
After a very early morning flight(0400) with a six month old baby we had asked that a room would be provided for us. We had to wait until 1300. A bit of understanding would not have gone amiss!
Rooms are outdated- rim of beds were dirty and in need of repair.
The Wifi issue was disappointing. Many people complained about paying 20 euros for the week and having little or no connection? We used the wifi in the lobby and realised that you only had 30 mins. You can't use it again for 24 hrs.
The food issue - we were only room only so we couldn't comment. We had great breakfasts at the Wigan pier bar just up from the hotel?

Room Tip: Don't go anywhere near the front of the hotel! Buses and a busy road! Even a strip club to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griffref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel; we always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

We lament hearing your disappointment on the room not being ready at your arrival in the early morning, we understand that travelling with a baby can be complicated; however, even though we always do our utmost to satisfy our guests’ requests, unfortunately we cannot ensure the room to be ready before 13.00, our usual check in time, because our housekeeping service needs the time to thoroughly clean the room before assigning it to new guests, the check-in time is reported on the booking confirmation and the early check in can be guaranteed on extra charge only; moreover we apologize for the imperfections in your room and lament not being informed about those immediately as we would have been able to intervene in no time; for future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception to inform us of any shortage you may find in your room.

Moreover, we lament hearing that apparently you were not properly informed about our Wi Fi service and would like to point out that the information is reported both on our website and brochure, we encourage for future holidays planning to have a look at our webpage or contact our call center from where we can give you all the relevant information and help you choose the destination, hotel type and services that best meet your holiday needs and wishes.

On the other hand, we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team; their genuine kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Last but not least, we are grateful for your highlight on our prime location, a few steps away from the beach and wide array of dining and leisure possibilities on the doorstep.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel when visiting the lively Costa Adeje; we hope that you had a comfortable journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Spent two weeks.....had a lovely time. Could do with updating but food and staff is one reason why we return. Will be returning in September. Would like to see the wi-fi charge dropped, this is my only complaint.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank th0mas1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your recent visit to our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel, we are very pleased to read that you had a “lovely time” among us.

We forwarded your comment on the extra charges for the internet to our central office as this is a matter established on a global level, however we would like to point out that we do offer 30 minutes free connection to all guests on a daily basis.

On the other hand we are thrilled to read that the quality of our buffets and the genuine friendliness of our staff are the reasons why you choose us as your accommodation for your holidays in Tenerife and we will certainly congratulate our teams for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying at our hotel.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel and for your very kind review; we look forward to welcoming you back next September ensuring you in advance of our best intentions to offer you another enjoyable holiday experience among us.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Booked this hotel based on TR-reviews.
On the plus side:
-Common areas were in good condition, pool, restaurant, lobby etc. Nice, tidy and big.
-The location is also very nice, 2-3 minutes to the beach and lots of great restaurants nearby (We highly recommend Great Little Italy and Sebastians).
- The cooperation with Avis rental cars. Gives you a discount and free transport to the actual office in Playa de Americas, you can then leave the car in the hotel car park when you're done. Very smooth!
- Tour desk/organizer. A very nice and efficient British woman helped us book a scuba dive.

Neutral
- Food. We only ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and that consisted of a plethora of things. It quickly became obvious that they go for quantity before quality in a lot of aspects in this hotel, same goes for the food.
- Service. Nice staff but not very helpful. Asked front desk to help us find out information about taxis, buses, rental cars etc and they only gave us the telephone numbers.

Negative - Rooms. Well, they are habitable but nothing extraordinary. Noisy towards the hallway, same with the balcony door. Housekeeping are doing a great job making these rooms feel a lot nicer than they are. Pretty old and worn out. Beds are stiff! Air con was pretty efficient though.
- Showers. Could not keep a steady temperature for more than 5-7 seconds at a time. Pending between burning hot and freezing cold. Very frustrating.
- Internet. €4 per hour, 7 per day, 20 per week when Maccas down the street have free wifi that arent much slower.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Ours (405) was facing the front one way street and had a balcony with a decen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dyos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review on your overall holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel because it is only through feedbacks such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed if necessary improve upon the service we provide to our guests.

Unfortunately it is true that we experience a dysfunction in our water system during a few days, although we are glad to inform you that the problem is totally solved at this day and we apologize for the inconveniences caused.

Moreover, we regret reading your dissatisfaction with the service received by our reception desk, however we would like to point out that regarding information related to buses, we do have at disposal of our guests timetables and itineraries and of course are always willing to assist them if needed; for taxis, we do have a taxi stand 50 meters away from our hotel available 24/7, we can either call one or book one if it is for a precise moment or give their phone number so that guests can call when away from the hotel; for the car rentals, we have an exclusive partnership with Avis, this is why we cannot arrange a car hire with other companies and this is where, we assume, you felt not taken care of, unfortunately in this case we can only give you other companies phone numbers.


Furthermore, we took good note of your comment on our breakfast buffet and although we regret it didn’t meet your expectations, we would like to point out that we only work with products of prime quality and strive to offer a wide variety of options in order to cater for all tastes and nationalities; we invite you for future occasions to speak out your wishes to our Chefs or Management always available during the service; we will be enchanted to do our utmost to satisfy them.

On the other hand, we are grateful for your highlight on the efforts of our housekeepers doing their utmost to keep our installations and accommodations clean at all times in order to guarantee our high standards related to hygiene and cleanliness which is one of the most important aspects for IBEROSTAR.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out our great location, just a few steps away from the beach and the wide array of dining and shopping options of the lively Costa Adeje.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next trip to Tenerife ensuring you in advance of our best intentions to offer you a very enjoyable holiday experience with IBEROSTAR.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
0.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#24 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,109 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#31 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Sabila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Sabila

Address: Ernesto Sarti 5, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Torviscas Playa)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#20 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#26 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#28 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $161 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Sabila 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Sábila hotel in Costa Adeje, completely refurbished to offer a superior kind of accommodation, is now an adults only hotel with luxurious rooms, a VIP zone and hydrotherapy circuit, among other exclusive services. Located on the seafront in Torviscas, the Sábila hotel features 470 comfortable rooms with the best services. Among them you’ll find the Star Prestige rooms that grant access to special services, such as a pool area and rooftop sun loungers, the exclusive reception or a minibar upon arrival. The delicious cuisine at this hotel is composed of a buffet restaurant and a culinary market where you can choose among the creations offered by the eight food trucks and enjoy the views of the sea. What’s more, the Sábila has two bars and a nightclub. This comprehensive hotel for adults only offers an exclusive atmosphere, with services including an infinity pool, naturist solarium, a chill out zone with Balinese beds, free Wi-Fi, all inclusive, a golf course nearby, SPA Sensations with more than 600 m² of facilities, a fitness room and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Sabila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Torviscas Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Torviscas Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Sabila Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing