We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible rooms”
Review of Iberostar Sabila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Sabila
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed as a family of 6 across 3 rooms and firstly I want to point out that the staff here are brilliant, so polite and friendly, always smiling and saying hello, it really made a difference. The food is pretty good for buffet food, nobody could complain and a reasonable variety also. Now the negatives...

Shower - no matter how hot or cold you have the shower, the water will alternate from ice cold to scolding hot every 10-15 seconds. My father staying 4 floors lower experienced this also and you find yourself jumping in and out.

WIFI - 20e for the week and here's the kicker...its per device (scamming at its finest)

Deposits - Gone are the days of giving in you room number so make sure you always have cash on you.
10e per towel
10e for the iron
5e table tennis

Plug sockets - don't exist, wife got the occasional shock & when you use the socket next to the TV it turns it off

Pillows - really hard, good luck sleeping

The bed - rock hard and no such thing as a double just 2 singles pushed together.

General Decor - felt like something from a Pontin's brochure.

Please forgive what am sure reads as a good moan but the rooms really are poor. We had a wander in to the Anthelia down the road and the difference is night and day, if your budgets permits this flexibility I would strongly suggest you give it consideration. Would we return? I'm afraid not.




Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Simon,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel. We take our guests comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

As you well mention, unfortunately we had a problem with our water system during a few days and this made the temperature of the water fluctuating; the problem is completely solved as we speak and we send you our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.

Clearly a basic function in any hotel is to provide a comfortable and satisfying night sleep, we sincerely regret reading that you didn’t find your bed comfortable and not being informed about it immediately as we would have looked for a solution; for future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception for anything we may do for you to fully enjoy your stay among us.

On the other hand, we thank you for your praising words towards our staff, their great attitude and genuine kindness are undoubtedly one of our main strengths and we will certainly not fail to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Last but not least, we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback which gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service. We hope to see you again soon ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to offer you a very enjoyable holiday experience with IBEROSTAR.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,455 - 1,461 of 3,194 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

It was very clean Room with sea view,the only thing I would say it could do with a upgrade it will happen sooner than later.
The staff were great from maid to waiters and the entertaining team were very good at what they do
And got a lot of people involved good on them all.
The food was a high standard very night for the fourteen nights we were there.and a large selection
Something there for everyone for breakfast,lunch,and dinner.
A lot of people go here very year at this time some for more than ten years that speaks for its self.
We came back three days ago and have booked for next week already.three weeks next time

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank ALASTAIR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Alastair,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas hotel; we always appreciate feedback from guests and are enchanted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

We are glad to read that you appreciated the efforts of our talented Chefs and the good gastronomy offer throughout your stay; there is nothing more rewarding for a Chef to hear that guests have loved savoring the food and we will certainly not fail to congratulate our kitchen staff for their contribution to a successful holiday experience.

Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

As you well say, our hotel, as many others of our chain, has the honor to receive many repeating guests made to feel at home among us, this is clearly thanks to the genuine kindness of our staff and our passion for hospitality powered by our best intentions at all times.

Once again, thank you for your valuable time and heartwarming review; we are thrilled you decided to come back to visit us in the near future and look forward to welcoming you again ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to offer you another enjoyable holiday experience among us.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night break with two friends. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was superb. A few nice touches along the way, with welcoming soft drinks and folded towels with sweets thrown in, lying on top of one of the beds. We were on 5th floor with a side view, which at night was quite something. The fact that the balcony overlooked other hotel grounds only added to the holiday feel. Only one complaint - the beds. They were not very comfortable and the single pillow did not give your head any support. However, this wasn't noticed until the third night (probably due to the alcohol consumption). All in all, a great hotel and I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road appear to be quieter. The fifth floor had quite a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Donald,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel. We are pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable time among us.

We lament reading that you didn’t find your bed comfortable and not being informed about it immediately as we would have looked for a solution as guaranteeing comfortable and satisfying nights’ sleep is of course one of our main concerns; for future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception for anything you may need to fully enjoy your stay among us.

On the other hand, we are very grateful for your highlight on the friendliness of our staff and the quality of our gastronomy offer, we will certainly not fail to congratulate our Chefs and entire staff for their contribution to a successful holiday in Tenerife.

Once more, thank you for your visit and valuable time; we look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The positive: Close to the beach, generous buffet at breakfast, decent poolarea and bar.
The negative: HORRIBLE BEDS, hard as stone. No minibar, only one wall socket (in the bathroom), broken tiles and hangers in the bathroom. The eating area was very noisy and felt like a cruiseship.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank Sweden26yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel for your holidays in Tenerife and for the time you spent to write your impressions about your stay, as it is our best way to know where we can still improve in our daily services in order to deliver unforgettable vacation experiences to our guests.

We sincerely regret reading that you didn´t find your bed comfortable and lament not being informed about this during your visit, as we would have looked for a solution. Clearly a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights’ sleep therefore we have softer over mattresses to put on the main one for those guests who prefer sleeping on a softer bed; for future occasions please to not hesitate to contact our reception for anything you may need to fully enjoy your stay among us.

Moreover, we lament hearing that apparently you were not properly informed about the operation of the mini bar service and would like to take the opportunity to explain it here: our hotel giving the possibility to order drinks throughout the day in our different bars, the mini bar service in the room is provided on extra charge and bookable when reserving your holidays or anytime throughout your stay by contacting our reception; this information is duly reported both on our website and brochure as well as on the welcome letter handled to all guests upon arrival.

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the quality and wide variety of our buffets thoroughly prepared by our talented Chefs; our prime seafront location with a wide array of leisure and dining options on the doorstep and the beauty and comfort of our public grounds.

Thank you once again for your comments, it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed for two weeks from 10th of January and from the moment we arrived all the staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was at the back of the hotel with lovely views of the sea and the mountains BUT never got the sun on the balcony so if you want the winter sun request a room at the front of the hotel. The beds were on the hard side but we asked at reception and the following day had softer mattress toppers. Good size tvs with itv 1 and bbc1. Lovely large pool area more sun beds than Germans so never had a problem getting a bed. The dinning room is large and well organized tea and coffee brought to your table at breakfast and a wide variety of food options at all meals. The hotel is a no cash one you sign for everything and pay at the end of the holiday but the drinks are on the dear side so beware the bill soon adds up. No need to pack towels they can be hired for a refundable 10 euros and can be changed as often as you want a clean one. Close to bars, restaurants, shops, bus stop, taxis,and the beach. We have holidayed in Tenerife for over twenty years and this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in and have already booked for next January.

Room Tip: rooms at the front do not have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Brenda,

Thank you very much for choosing our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel and for the time you spent to share these wonderful comments on your stay.

We are glad to read your satisfaction with our services, gastronomy and kind attentions from our staff; At IBEROSTAR we strive to provide a truly personalized and caring service to our guests, and the best reward for us is to see our efforts recognized.

It is wonderful to read that over the twenty years you holidayed in Tenerife, our hotel is one of the nicest you have stayed at; this truly fills us with pride.

Thank you again for your valuable time; It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back next January and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Vlad checked us in upon arrival and was incredibly friendly, helpful, and generally full of smiles. We had opted for half-board (breakfast and dinner included in price). Our room was on the 5th floor, facing the Princess hotel next door. Our room was called an "ocean view" and kind of was. Our view was largely the road and hotels opposite, but you could certainly see the ocean.

The room was very basic, but clean. There were no electrical sockets to speak of. We had to unplug the TV to charge our phones, which wasn't a problem for us. The bed was very firm and not especially comfortable. There were spare blankets in the closet and a small fridge. The shower temperature fluctuated a lot, and every day - you've got to be quick to move out of the way! The walls are incredibly thin, and in the evening there are several locations with loud, wailing live music, which thankfully end around 23:00 or so. The room had AMAZING blackout blinds, though, which was great. The balcony was clean and had a table with two chairs, but didn't see any sun.

The breakfast was nice enough. There was an omelette station, and buffet that includes lots of fruit, cold meats and cheeses, pastries, scrambled eggs, croquettes, baked beans spanish omelettes, and more. It was nice, but got a bit boring after three days. The dinner was similar. Hugo was our server each night, and was always happy, friendly, and helpful. Trying to get an elevator from our floor to the dining room was sometimes a bit of a challenge because they were often full and in high demand.

The pool was nice and warm enough, although the sun beds were some of the most uncomfortable things we've ever laid on! It was also VERY annoying to go to the pool at 09:00, and not be able to find a seat because all the sun beds have towels on them, with their owners nowhere to be found! It's just rows and rows of towels and no people. The hot tub was colder than the pool, though. Brrr! The pool bar was great, the bartenders were quick and friendly. I drank my fair share of cava sangria, which was not expensive and VERY delicious! There were several activities you could take part in, and the staff were a lot of fun. They dressed up (one as a cop, the other superman) and entertained guests. And occasionally brought us chocolate!

We were very close to beach, and there were tons of beachfront bars and chairs to enjoy. The hotel didn't have many children, and the majority of the clientele were a much older crowd. All in all this was a very pleasant stay and would have no problems staying here again, although we might be tempted to explore elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JustJo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Jocelyn,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your feedback on you recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel; we are glad to read that overall you had a “very pleasant stay” among us.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out the cheerfulness and professionalism of our reception team, the genuine kindness and helpfulness of our restaurant staff and the energy and enthusiasm of our animation team in charge of the animation program; we will certainly not fail to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing during your stay at our hotel.

Furthermore , we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, we thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis.

Thank you again for your valuable time; It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Tenerife and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

had read the reviews, heard 1st hand accounts just how good this hotel is. was pleasantly surprised at how good it is.
Very warm welcome at a well staffed reception. check-in was swift. booked a sea view room. Well in fact it was side sea view room, directly in front of our balcony was the Bahia Princess hotel. balcony in total shade all day bar for 10 mins when the sun set. but then who sits on the balcony all day???????.
the rooms are a lot dated and need a make-over sooner rather than later. but the room is for sleeping and showering. the shower is clay cold one second then scalding hot the next, reported to reception, if it was fixed I don't know, but just had warm showers to be on safe side. towels changed every day, bed linen changed frequently. door lock failed us one morning, this was immediately fixed.
the food in the restaurant was ok, never went hungry, but I wish Spanish hotels would go away and learn how to cook the bacon. restaurant staff always very pleasant and smiling.
Bar staff equally so, relaxed atmosphere around bar, no jostling to get another drink before it closed. good quality beer, wine and spirits. surprised cocktails were included in AI.
Entertainment in the hotel theatre was excellent. good sound and lighting systems. some of the shows weren`t my cup of tea, but you have to be there early, there aren`t many full view seats, people from other hotels come in as well.
pool area very clean and tidy, plenty of sunbeds, even allowing for the people who needed more than 1 each. pool bar was very good.
Would I stay again? Yes I would. but wouldn`t pay for a sea view.

Room Tip: don't pay for a sea view, it`s not worth it. we had room 548 and it overlooked another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stimmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Sabila, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you took out of your day to share a review on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel; it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We first would like to apologize for the imperfections that you experienced in your room and thank you for having advised our reception for our maintenance department to intervene immediately.

On the other hand, we greatly appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

At IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we are glad to read that this was a pleasant part of your stay among us and will not fail to convey your very kind compliments to them.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel.

Once more, thank you for your visit and the courtesy of your time; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,858 reviews
0.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Sabila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Sabila

Address: Ernesto Sarti 5, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Torviscas Playa)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#24 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#26 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#28 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $155 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Sabila 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOTE: The hotel will be closed from 18 April 2017 to 20 January 2018 for refurbishment. The IBEROSTAR Sábila hotel in Costa Adeje, completely refurbished to offer a superior kind of accommodation, is now an adults only hotel with luxurious rooms, a VIP zone and hydrotherapy circuit, among other exclusive services. Located on the seafront in Torviscas, the Sábila hotel features 470 comfortable rooms with the best services. Among them you’ll find the Star Prestige rooms that grant access to special services, such as a pool area and rooftop sun loungers, the exclusive reception or a minibar upon arrival. The delicious cuisine at this hotel is composed of a buffet restaurant and a culinary market where you can choose among the creations offered by the eight food trucks and enjoy the views of the sea. What’s more, the Sábila has two bars and a nightclub. This comprehensive hotel for adults only offers an exclusive atmosphere, with services including an infinity pool, naturist solarium, a chill out zone with Balinese beds, free Wi-Fi, all inclusive, a golf course nearby, SPA Sensations with more than 600 m² of facilities, a fitness room and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Sabila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Torviscas Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Torviscas Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Sabila Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing