We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good All Inclusive Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good All Inclusive Hotel.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights all inclusive at beginning of May. Check in no problem, reception staff friendly and attentive plus nice glass of orange juice. Rooms are dated but spotlessly clean. TV even had 5 English channels including BBC1 and ITV1. Bathrooms are in need of TLC but are always cleaned to a high standard. Beds are on the hard side, but normal for holiday hotels, but request for mattress toppers was quickliy dealt with and did help. Pool area excellent with adaquate sunloungers to go around. True, some are 'booked' early but always enough to go around, never had a problem to find one. Food in restaurant excellent, my wife is a fussy eater but never had problem finding something to her liking. A pleasure to find that the food, for once, was not smothered in spices or garlic! All staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Drinks on all inclusive were also of a high standard and not of inferior quality. Evening entertainment was hit and miss, some good, some not so good and some awful. Animation staff worked hard without being too pushy to participate in activities. Only down side was the furniture in the public areas, the sofas and chairs were more exhausted than tired and in need of replacement. Final thoughts, would we return to this hotel or recommend to friend? most definitely.

Room Tip: If possible away from the road side of the hotel. Cafe and bars opposite can be noisy at night but m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fifersdownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    1,345
    434
    131
    65
See reviews for
1,124
1,506
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? .. Just returned from 3 nights at the Torviscas Playa and came away with mixed opinions.

Key points I can share are:

1) Wifi is only free for 20 minutes in the foyer - which I think is stupid in this modern age when many hotels offer free wifi in the room

2) Check the room before you pay. I had booked a superior double - priority location sea view on the 6th floor and was shocked to "initially be given a 5th floor, standard double with no sea view. I'm happy I complained and they realized they had mixed my booking with someone else's

3) The whole hotel looks like it was amazing in the 90's but now needs a coat of paint and some new white duvet covers in the standard rooms.

4) I don't think you should ever have to pay for "water" in a restaurant - especially when you're on half board - that just screams "money hungry" to me.

5) The staff in the restaurant are hawks - they'll clear your plates before your finished - beware, they'll even turn down your table whilst you're getting a new plate of food.

6) On a positive note - they surprised me with a birthday bottle of sparkling wine and some flowers on the table - a nice surprise that they must do for birthdays.

7) Must do! Upgrade to the 6th floor superior location rooms: It gives you access to a private pool away from all the kids and private sunlounges on the roof.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Torviscas Playa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,
We want to thank you for your preference in selecting our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel for your holidays as well as for taking the time to tell us about your stay as this will help us know how to improve our services and offer splendid holiday experiences to all our guests.

We are sorry to hear your comment on the wrong allocation of your room; we apologize for the inconvenience and hope that you were satisfied with your previously booked accommodation and the sea view.
Further, related to the half board service we would like to point out that both in our website and brochure the drinks not being included at dinner are reported as well as for the Wi-Fi, this is why we encourage you for any upcoming holiday planning to have a look at our website or contact our call center to have a check on the wide range of services you can choose from in order to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
On the other hand, we are glad to read that you appreciated our staff’s birthday surprise and we thank you for mentioning this point on your review.
Finally, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and that your stay in Tenerife was as pleasant as it could possibly be.
Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Myself and my partner travelled here in Jan 2013. Upon arriving we were given what is only to be described as the nicest drink ever!!! Wish we had asked what it was! Check in was quick and easy, and the staff even held our luggage in a secure room until our bedroom was ready, so we could explore.

Our bedroom was spacious and very comfortable. We paid for the internet and the safe in our room and it was well worth the money to be able to facetime family back in the UK whilst we were away and show them our lovely room.

We went all inclusive. The breakfasts were lovely, with a great choice of cooked and cold foods available. We ended up only having lunch once in the hotel, as we went out to siam park and loro parque, but the lunch we did have was lovely. Tea was really nice and there was such a wide variety of foods available that we ended up stuffing our faces and falling into bed at 9pm to sleep it off!

Pool area was lovely although the water was freezing, so we only went in once. The cocktails by the pool were very refreshing in the heat.

Overall, a lovely holiday. Close to the beach. Fantastic food.

If you're looking for something to do whilst you visit, be sure to go to siam park...we went twice as we enjoyed it so much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilyroseb1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel over the past few years and always enjoy ourselves, the staff (with the exception of some reception staff) are always very courteous. However this year we found the food was not up to usual standard, in fact on one occasion my husband was unable to eat his fish dinner. think hard about paying the 20 Euros Internet access, we paid but often we could not get a connection and at peak times the speed was very slow. If you do want Internet it's better in the morning or try the bar over the road, they have free wifi together with Happy Day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Torviscas Playa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your several visits to our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel as well as for taking the time to share your last experience as this will help us improve in our daily services in order to guarantee great holidays to all our guests.
We are sorry to read that our buffet didn’t meet your expectations and passed your comment to our head of department, however we would like to point out that our Chefs still work in accordance to our high quality standards related to food, using quality ingredients and preparing a wide variety of local and international dishes in order to please all palates, we are sorry to hear that we couldn’t conquer yours this time.
Related to the internet access, we apologize for the inconveniences due to the connection and will revise and check what went wrong during your stay to ensure a good quality connection in the future.
On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the kindness of our staff, in IBEROSTAR we lay high value on our personnel being welcoming and guest oriented, we will pass them your positive mention as we know that they will be happy to have contributed to your wellbeing during your stay in our hotel.
We hope that you had a nice journey back home and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, we booked a standard room with no specific preference as to views and ended up with a side sea view which was amazing by the time we checked in, the sun was just going down so perfect view of the sun going down in the sea to the left and to the right the mountain was glowing! The food was excellent we only wish we had gone half board as we only had B&B. The reception staff were very helpful especially Daniel who was always available to help, does that man have a day off? He deserves it! The cleaning staff seemed to be constantly on patrol in the rooms, round the pool. Unfortunately we didnt see any of the evening entertainent but when we did pop our heads in on the entertainmet room it was always a full house! The only other problem we had was the severe lack of parasols around the pool area. Despite signs specifically saying no reserving allowed, seats and parasols seemed to be reserved yet unused for large parts of the day and when all were in use there was still high demand, we gave ours up to a couple with a young child during one such occasion when during full sun, people had dissappeared inside yet left belongings on the parasols for later in the afternoon. The aqua aerobics was good fun, and my husband enjoyed the rifle shooting. Yes the rooms are dated but very clean (make sure you close the patio doors at night as it took us 4 nights of sweating to realise they had to be closed for the AC to work!) and my husband would have liked some free weights in the gym but we already knew through reviews prior to our booking that the issue is being dealt with. Although we came this time alone (a well earned break!), we are hoping to book again next year and bring along our 3 year old as the whole time we were there we saw things he would have loved such as the childrens play area, the organised activities and the girls looking after the children were very friendly and the children seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Room Tip: Despite the good views from the back of the hotel of the sea and the mountain, the noise during refu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Neathbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Initial impressions poor - Thomas Cook hadn't passed on our requests, hotel was full, so we got we could.
But rooms not as dated as we feared. The CORRIDORS are a mess, but our room was fine.
But facing onto the road is NOISY. Louts walking home do love to sing and shout and woke us a few times (and why are they always English?). Not helped by hard beds (get room service to fit mattress covers when you arrive)
But once we were settled in we loved it.
Food is very, very good. Something for everyone. Many evenings we would end up eating loads, yet still leaving things untasted.
The Spanish cheese & membrillo were excellent, and I maybe had too much. There's a bit of a queue for the omelettes and fried eggs in the morning, but well worth it.
Once you spot a sharp waitress, keep near them, as some are better than others.
The pool is busy, and plagued by people "reserving" sunloungers, but that's everywhere now (and again, English the worst). Drop your towel off on the way to breakfast and you'll be fine.
One pool heated, one not.
Nearby beach is excellent too. Towels are free (€10 deposit) and can be changed.
If you want a bit of peace & quiet, there's a small pool/sunbathing area on the roof. Not for the kids, but great for some peace.
Lots of great places to eat nearby (unless you're on AI in which case you shouldn't) - try the Blue Cactus.
The bus station by Park Siam is excellent - get a €15 ticket which lets you get to Santa Cruz and Adeje.
Beware - your kids need to be 140cm to go on everything at Park Siam - different to their website.
Starting to ramble. On this sort of holiday we'd normally have done more things, but with fine weather we stayed on site more often than usual, which has to be a recommendation.
Only problem for us was noise - the coaches NEVER stop coming - but we had a great time.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the road-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ant_jone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

my wife and myself booked this holiday in a week before we went. this is the first time in costa adeje and the second time in tenerife the hotel was first class staff and food was excellent less an five min walk to town and 10 min walk to the beach you must look it up on line

Room Tip: try to book early for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Selwyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,495 reviews
0.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#34 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,286 reviews
0.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.5 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Torviscas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Torviscas Playa

Property: Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Address: Ernesto Sarti 5, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#24 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#25 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#28 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Torviscas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOTE: The hotel will remain closed from 18 April 2017 to 20 January 2018. We will be improving the facilities so that you can enjoy your holiday at IBEROSTAR even more! We apologize for any inconvenience. The IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel is a 4-star All-Inclusive hotel in Costa Adeje, Tenerife situated next to the beach. It’s located on the Costa Adeje, in a beautiful area full with nature. Its spacious rooms designed to meet all the guests' needs; entertainment and leisure programmes, and activities specially designed for the very youngest make this hotel the ideal choice for a family holiday in Costa Adeje. Family sized rooms. The hotel’s range of rooms is quite varied. The construction and design of the rooms is based on the guests’ distinct needs. Those travelling with family can stay in spacious quadruple rooms; couples can stay in double rooms and there is also a room for guests with limited mobility. Children, very well cared for. The hotel offers an interesting array of options for children and teenagers at its Mini Club (4- to 7-year-olds), Maxi Club (8 to 12) and Teenie Club (13 to 17). Run by an efficient team of entertainment pros, they plan lots of activities to keep your little ones busy all day long. Fun for the whole family in our hotels, always. A la carte activities. Since leisure and entertainment are very important when choosing a holiday destination, the IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel strives to offer a superior programme for its guests: a centre with treatments and beauty care, a large variety of sports both inside and outside the hotel, cultural theme nights, various live music performances and shows for day and night time entertainment. Free premium Wi-Fi: Connect to the Internet with Iberostar. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to three devices – to use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Iberostar Torviscas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Torviscas Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Torviscas Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Torviscas Playa Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing