We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful weather - hotel needs upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful weather - hotel needs upgrade”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Staff excellent, special mention to Angelica in restaurant and also works at the bar, food very good and we lucky with the weather as it was fantastic, so good that ideally you needed a parasol by the pool, however, these can be few and far between and then you get people who have a parasol and dont use it all day! this was quite annoying but more so for families that needed some shade due to young children. This was our 3rd visit at the hotel and is really in need of a renovation as still the same decor since our first visit in 1997! I would come back to the hotel and this is purely due to location, food and the pool area, however, an upgrade would be required before I re-booked

Room Tip: High floor,ask for a mattress topper as the beds are really hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Torviscas Playa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Leanne,

As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest satisfaction, we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent writing this review. We are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services.

Further, we would like to point out that despite the fact that our hotel was built a few years ago, we do our utmost to take good care of it, maintaining all of the installations the best we can. Even so we took good note of your commentary and we commit to revise if we can renovate some of the areas.

On the other hand, we are very satisfied that you are so enthusiastic about all of our prime pillars to offer a splendid stay to all our guests. Service orientation and helpfulness of our staff, an enriching gastronomic experience and a perfect location are the three most important elements of our company and reading that you find all three marvelous, fills us with joy and proud. We thank you for high lighting these aspects of your holiday as they motivate and stimulate us to continue meeting our outstanding quality standards. We will certainly congratulate Angelica for supplying the close and personal service Iberostar is famous for.

It´s also fantastic to read that our lovely pool area contributed to your joy and you enjoyed the wonderful climatology of the Canaries Islands.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    1,346
    435
    131
    65
See reviews for
1,126
1,508
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for one week,rooms are a good size they are in need of a refit but it didn't bother us.Hotel in a good location.This is the first time in 18 years that we had half board,food was varied & plentiful really enjoyed breakfast.Evening meal wasn't quite so good as the food wasn't hot enough.We swapped dinner for lunch enabling us to eat out 3 times.Avoid the restaurant The Brassiere on the front as we didn't enjoy our meal & neither did people on the table near us.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Let me start by saying that usually i am extremely picky about hotels.
Not intending to sound arrogant, but having stayed at a quite a few 5 star hotels around the world we knew what we were getting when booking the Iberostar Torviscas Playa.

You might think this is going to be a massive list of complaints about the hotel, but it is far from it.
When you stay at places like this, particularly in Tenerife you know what you are in for. It is up to you to create your own holiday though and not to live everyone elses. At the end of the day if you look outside of the bubble then you will find some real gems that no where else in the world can offer.

The Iberostar Torviscas was booked directly through the hotel, we do not use tour operators but like to find our own way there on a half board basis. We found the hotel staff throughout our 2 week stay absolutely flawless. The reception staff are helpful and pleasant and the same goes for the staff in the dining area who work so hard. The 'animation' team (again something we would not normally pay attention to) managed to charm us throughout our stay and we went to a couple of their shows which were very entertaining.

The food here is honestly quite superb. It will obviously repeat eventually if you are there longer than a week, but you dont have to eat the same thing everyday if you choose not to, there is plenty of selection on the buffet. Those that complain about it on these reviews probably need a bit of a diet from sausage and egg every morning anyway. The breakfast was always busier than dinner, mainly due to the fact that all the guests have breakfast but not everyone has dinner. The juice at breakfast is from a machine (bit like squash) but this is standard in most of these hotels and it is not that bad.

Drinks at the table in the evening you will need to pay for, its about 2.50 euros for a cold bottle of water for 2 people.

The pool area was quite full and when we did use the main pool to cool down it was often a bit like chicken soup from all the sun lotion, so not that enjoyable. Im a keen swimmer and swim under the water. You probably do not want to know the things i saw at the bottom of the pools.
The staff do their best though with the bucket loads of families, oldies and young couples and the pool bar is very good for ice cream and drinks.

The location is near supermarkets, restaurants and shops. We had a room with a view of the road at the front of the hotel. We actually enjoyed this as it would have been boring late at night sitting on the balcony otherwise. We had a full view of the luabay over the road and their outside entertainment (which seems to rotate around all hotels such as beatles tribute bands and magic acts) They eventually made their way to the iberostar a few days later so we could test the goods so to speak.

Our room was absolutely fine and im comparing it to some top hotels. The beds were on the hard side and moved a bit but thats life.

The residents are an eclectic mix of brits, pleasant polish, rude russians and the occasional german. We even saw some spanish people which was an encouraging sign. It would be a shame to not have this mix, as if it was all brits i think it would go down hill rapidly.

We originally booked this hotel for the pool, but we gave up after the first day due to all the sad individuals that put towels out at 7am on sunbeds. This is where the rant starts...

The main issue we had was not with the hotel, that was perfect. The clients in the hotel on the other hand really need to learn what a holiday is. A holiday is not doing the same thing for 14 days. You cannot do the same routine of getting up, eating, going to the pool, eating, going to see entertainment and then sleeping for all your stay. You might as well go stay somewhere else because you are not really getting any benefit from being in Tenerife.

It seems like the tour operators insist on sending tin cans full of Manchester residents to these places, all doped up on smirnoff and dry chicken rolls from planes. We saw countless droves of them, some with scooters like madge from the tv show benidorm... not even venturing outside of the hotel walls. Don't get me wrong, they are lovely and we met some nice ones... But please if you go to this hotel GO TO THE BEACH!!! It is literally 3 min walk if that and once you get used to the black sand and people selling melons its quite serene.

The water is clear with fish, its calm, theres showers down there and theres the normal tacky bars (again to be expected) to water your thirst.

Please take not residents of Manchester, you are allowed outside the hotel grounds... It is not a prison.

We also bought a fantastic excursion on a small boat to go out and see the whales and Dolphins. You can get this from the hotel reception and costs about €45 each for 3 hours. The best money we have ever spent. They also let you dive off the boat in a small bay so you can swim with the resident turtles. Make sure you do the €45 one and not the €35 as that is like a party bus on the sea.

If you like a good steak, take a walk up the beach to the restaurants at the top and go to the grill place...just along from the italian food place. Amazing food and a view out to see for sunset.

We actually got engaged in Tenerife on our trip and would like to thank the hotel staff for making out stay so pleasant. We are not old as well, we are in our late 20's but wanted to write a review which just states some home truths!

Residents and Manchesterians in particular: do not get off that bus from the airport and then on it again in a week or two without going outside the hotel walls. You are missing out. Don't be a sheep please.

Well worth its 4 star status.

Thanks Iberostar.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jonnnyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

just returned from a weeks stay at the torviscas playa, on arrival we were told that the room which was being allocated to us was for one night only and we would have to change rooms the next day, but for this oversight on the hotels side, ( over booking) we would be upgraded to half board from bed and breakfast, this caused us the problem of not being able to unpack cases, following day we changed rooms at 1pm to an high floor room, food at this hotel is fantastic, waiters and staff are amazing and very polite, the decor at the hotel is a little tired with rooms needing an update our room balcony door would not lock (broken) beds are very hard, the pool area is large and tidy but you still get the early morning brigade up at the crack of dawn putting towels on beds (sad) would i stay again, maybe,

Room Tip: ask for a high floor away from the road , the lifts are a night mare at times ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Torviscas Playa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the Iberostar Torviscas Playa for your vacation, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We take in consideration all your comments because we are convinced that listening to our clients is the best way to achieve their satisfaction.

Overbooking is a highly exceptional situation for Iberostar. We work hard to prevent this uncomfortable situation and, in case it succeeds we do our utmost to be proactive and prepare the best possible solution. Due to the discomfort we know this causes we always try to make up with our guests, helping them the best we can, in order to minimize the impact of the inconvenience. We would also like to point out that despite the fact that our hotel was built and equipped a few years ago, we do our utmost to take good care of it, maintaining all of the installations the best we can. Even so we took good note of your commentary and we commit to study the viability of renewing some of the areas.

On the other hand, we are sad to hear that you found imperfections in the room as well as the fact you found your bed to hard. We lament not to have been informed about this during your stay. For our technical department, responsible for the maintenance and care of the installations it is an honor to may solvent any little failure that is produced at our Iberostar Torviscas Playa and we do dispose of some softer top mattresses for those clients that prefer to sleep on a soft bed. For coming occasions we recommend you to contact our reception if there is anything that we could do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Further, we are proud and happy to see that you enjoyed many of our other services and we will certainly congratulate all of our staff that contributed to delight you with the culinary highlights and the friendliness whilst serving you. This positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Once more we want to say how worthy your opinion is to us and thank you again for sharing it on Tripadvisor. We look forward to serving you in the future and send you our best regards,

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Lanarkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in the Iberostar from 7th September to 18th September 2012. This is the second time we stayed at this hotel. However, this time we stayed all inclusive. Apart from a blip with our room when we arrived and not obtaining a sea view when we paid for one, I cannot really fault the staff or hotel in general. The food was amazing even for me as I am a fussy eater and do not like anything too out there!! The bar service was amazing and the staff were so friendly. We have booked for next year and I only wish I could go back sooner than next September. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would always book a higher room as lower rooms do not have the best views. A side sea view room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a lot this hotel. It's more or less 150mt to the beach. It's note very wide on the pool but there's space for everybody. The only bad thing from the pool is that it's always the same size, 1.5 mt deep so if you are small and don't know how to swim you have some difficulty in injoying the pool. Rooms are good and confortable, the restaurant is good too. The workers are amazing, the typical image of the star friends, loved them all. It's not expensive, knowing you are in an Iberostar close to the beach. I had all inclusive but lunch costs 12 eur per person and dinner costs 15 eur per person. The only problem is the dark sand, you get used to it but in the first day it's a problem ,but then you realize it's just like the other sands, so i probably will get here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelderBCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Returned from the Torviscas Playa on the 7th October and would recommend this hotel for its location, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff but mostly being exceptional value for what they offer. Have used a number of other hotels in this area of Tenerife and, although the Torviscas Playa may lack certain qualities of some of its competitors eg the food is ok but not exceptional and its entertainment lounge has uncomfortable seating and poor views of the stage area ( four huge pillars block viewing from both sides!), how this hotel wins is that the attention to personal service and customer satisfaction scores highly and appears genuine.

The pool terrace area is better than adjoining hotels with plenty of loungers (even after the early bookers had completed their dawn raid) and the main swimming pool is large and heated with the pool staff allowing inflatables to be used which was enjoyed by many. Throughout the day pool games and exercises were organised by a very efficient and friendly (but not pushy) team who also organised other activities such as archery, shooting etc. - join in if you wish or just relax and sunbathe ( in the 17 days spent at this hotel the daily temp. reached 30 degrees with no rain or cloud!).

As mentioned the food is perfectly acceptable to most people if just a little bland and repetitive - which when cooking for the masses is perhaps understandable. Fish and some meat is cooked fresh and to order , which is great although the produce was not of the best quality, especially the fish which was of the cheap end of the daily catch. However the dining room is bright and cheerful with good spacing around the tables and friendly and helpful staff. Although buffet style dining you didn't feel uncomfortable and was able to have relaxing meal times without being hustled at the food stations and having people brush against your table and chairs.

Our bedroom would appear to have been recently redecorated and the bathroom had been refitted to a good standard ( need a sturdy back as the mattress is on the hard side !). We did not hear of anybody complaining about the state of their room. The public areas were bright and spotlessly clean with numerous areas for lounging for coffee and drinks - the waiting staff are very efficient. An area is set aside for evening ballroom and modern dancing with a very good organist who seemed to provide the quality of music required for this activity. Not being a dancer I may not be the best person to judge, but the dance floor was well used with people seeming to be really enjoying their evening. The entertainment lounge, as mentioned, was disappointing and rather lets the hotel down. It needs a rethink with considerable work, and cost, to make it an enjoyable place to relax in the evenings to watch the shows. We used the adjoining hotels and bars for evening entertainment where the seating and general ambience was far better.

Taking everything into account this hotel provides real value for money with their staff providing that little bit extra that overcomes some of the obvious shortfalls and keeps the hotel in the 4 star catagory

Room Tip: Higher floors (floor 4 and above) will have better views (obviously!) as adjoining hotels block the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#33 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#23 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,128 reviews
0.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 58 in Costa Adeje
5,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Torviscas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Torviscas Playa

Property: Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Address: Ernesto Sarti 5, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#24 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#25 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#28 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Torviscas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOTE: The hotel will remain closed from 18 April 2017 to 20 January 2018. We will be improving the facilities so that you can enjoy your holiday at IBEROSTAR even more! We apologize for any inconvenience. The IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel is a 4-star All-Inclusive hotel in Costa Adeje, Tenerife situated next to the beach. It’s located on the Costa Adeje, in a beautiful area full with nature. Its spacious rooms designed to meet all the guests' needs; entertainment and leisure programmes, and activities specially designed for the very youngest make this hotel the ideal choice for a family holiday in Costa Adeje. Family sized rooms. The hotel’s range of rooms is quite varied. The construction and design of the rooms is based on the guests’ distinct needs. Those travelling with family can stay in spacious quadruple rooms; couples can stay in double rooms and there is also a room for guests with limited mobility. Children, very well cared for. The hotel offers an interesting array of options for children and teenagers at its Mini Club (4- to 7-year-olds), Maxi Club (8 to 12) and Teenie Club (13 to 17). Run by an efficient team of entertainment pros, they plan lots of activities to keep your little ones busy all day long. Fun for the whole family in our hotels, always. A la carte activities. Since leisure and entertainment are very important when choosing a holiday destination, the IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel strives to offer a superior programme for its guests: a centre with treatments and beauty care, a large variety of sports both inside and outside the hotel, cultural theme nights, various live music performances and shows for day and night time entertainment. Free premium Wi-Fi: Connect to the Internet with Iberostar. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to three devices – to use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Torviscas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Torviscas Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Torviscas Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Torviscas Playa Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing