We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not a 4 star”
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Stayed at Iberostar Toriviscas 2nd Oct to 16th. First time to Tenerife for the four of us, been to other Canary islands before.
Arrived early evening .
Rooms Clean tidy and well looked after by the maids, fresh towels everyday if required. View from balcony disappointing over looking road and other hotels.
Food; We disliked this very much it was bland and very salty, but a good selection you could always find something so you didn't starve.
Enertainment: this was weak, due to the fact that there was only two animators mainly, they did try hard and were very likeable.
The day we left there were new animators starting, so this should improve.!
Pool Area: Us Brits are as bad as the Germans for putting towels on sunbeds and some are even worse by transffering the mattresses from the slatted beds onto their covered beds. Leaving some holiday makers with no beds at all !! (how ignorant is that).
Hotel: Clean and tidy but showing its age,deffinately not a 4 star would say just about a 3. lifts can be unreliable some people did get stuck but not for long.
The time we went most of the guests were retired.
Out and About ; We hired a car for 3 days, went around the island
Visited Lora Park very good 30 euro enterance each. Next Mount Teide. Drove right up to the top to the cable car 20 euros each, very cold on the summit.(don't forget your jacket).
Overall enjoyed the holiday but wouldn't go back in a hurry.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — Small balcony and the view
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank val w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    1,341
    433
    130
    64
See reviews for
1,122
1,503
68
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

I stayed for a week (5 to 12 October 2007) with my partner and her mother, aged 78. Just about everything was perfect. The weather was in the high 20c to low 30c's the food was superb (we are all veggies and had no trouble finding plenty to eat) The entertainment was good. . .don't miss the Chinese Acrobats or the Beatles Tribute, well worth seeing, and there is live music in the upper bar every night suitable for those more 'mature' guests who like to Foxtrot or Cha Cha. The rooms are plenty big enough for 2 and the maid was in every day keeping it spotless, although we did encounter the odd cockroach, which you have to accept in such a climate I think. The biggest downside of the hotel was the depth of both pools (given at 1.4 metres). They varied quite a bit, more like 1.6 which for those English who still like to work in feet and inches is 5'3". My two ladies are only 5'3" tall and are non swimmers, so they had to stick to a paddle on the steps which are quite slippery. There should be a shallow end. There is a childs paddling pool about a foot deep but it has quite a large step down making it difficult for people with a mobility problem to get cool in the pool. There were quite a few people with mobility problems, and apart from the pool issue I could see that they were well catered for. The whole staff were very friendly and would offer assistance whenever they saw it was needed. I have to say that putting towels on sunbeds before breakfast is a problem, but nothing is done to prevent it, so if you want one you have to join the crowd and be ready to do likewise. There was usually one or two available later but three together was a problem. There is however a shortage of umbrellas.
AND. . .Drivers be warned. Don't stop on the motorway. I started to queue to get onto a slip road off the motorway. The queue had developed because of an accident further ahead, and when the Police arrived they pulled me onto the dirt and gave me and several others (all hire cars I noticed) a fixed penalty ticket for stopping on the motorway! I had a 130 Euro fine or if I chose to pay on the spot it was reduced to 84 Euro. I paid without a word.
Apart from that, I would go back tomorrow without hesitation.

  • Liked — Food and service, apart from their tea! Bring some Tetley's!
  • Disliked — Pool too deep for non-swimmers
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank UpTeide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorks england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

although by no means our first trip to this island and resort ,it was the first time at this hotel,we have stayed many times at the sister hotel bouganville playa which we love,the iberostar name is well respected so decided on a change and overall we were not disapointed,the room was clean,, modern ,balcony was fine everything we have come to expect from a iberostar hotel,the public area nice and clean,people point out that the carpets on landings and some stairs look grubby,this isnt a problem the hotel colour scheme is yellow and blue ,and lets face it if you had a bright yellow carpet fitted and then asked thousands of people to continuously tramp over it after a couple of years it would look a touch tired but its nothing ,pool area is great no problems at all getting a sun bed,meals were fine ,plenty of choice,the big plus for this hotel is its staff,dining room staff are very cheerfull,and attentive,never any dirty plates left waiting to be moved from the table,the animation team are very hard working trying their best to get people involved,and mainly the maids are treasures they are allways pleasant ,hard working and polite,so to sum up,as i said at the start we love the sister hotel bouganville,is it as good? would give this hotel 9/10 bouganville 9plus,would we stay here again and recommend it,definately,just book and enjoy

  • Liked — ticks all the boxes,staff are brilliant,youre not treated like just another faceless guest
  • Disliked — hard to criticise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank saus017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de1
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

When we arrived we were welcomed by warm and friendly reception staff and a much-needed cold fruit-juice. As we travelled with our two young children (3 years and 11 months) we were given a family room which unfortunately overlooked the main road. We asked at reception about the availability of another room and were told all of the family rooms were on this side which didn't seem to make much sense due to the increased noise. We were able to change our room to a straight away to a smaller one on the other side of the hotel with a sea-view.

The food was good and there was certainly lots of it with a good selection. After two weeks it became a little repetative but on the whole it was of a good standard. The staff in the restaurant were excellent, having two young children they were always on hand to try and entertain them and pick up the cutlery etc dropped by my little lad. The only down-side of the restaurant was the expensive drinks during the evening meal.

The pool area is very good and there was always a good atmosphere, helped by the excellent entertainment team.

Having two young children we were keen to keep our room after the 12pm checkout time (we were due to leave at 4.30pm) but were unable to, the reception staff stated that there were no rooms available. This seemed to be a standard response as the hotel did not seem to be full at this point as it had earlier in our stay. Dissapointing but this did not detract from an otherwise thoroughly enjoyable stay - I would definitely come back!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank de1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

having never stayed in a hotel on a half board basis before, myself and my husband were very wary that we wouldn't like it and had even budgeted to eat out at least 3 times during our week's stay. We shouldn't have worried. The food was fantastic! Breakfast was a dream for my hubby who had pancakes and chocolate sauce most mornings!! We were so full after the buffet breakfast that we didn't even have lunch most days! There was even sparkling wine at breakfast too - makes it feel even more special!

Dinner was amazing too - with plenty of choice every night and something different every night too - and not just chips!

I know I've gone on about the food but that really was the lasting memory of this holiday as we just sat around the pool and ate and drank! Bliss!!!

I'd recommend this hotel to everyone - old and young. The evenig entertainment was a bit dodgy but some people like that kind of thing - just not our cup of tea - plenty of places to go just down the road if you don't like it! The hotel's in a great location - away from all the rebels in Playa but still enough going on around you and some lovely walks alongthe coast in the evenings as the sun sets. Make sure to visit the beach bar as the sun sets with a cocktail - bliss!!!

  • Liked — The food!
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything great!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitsy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
universal_travel07
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Me and my friend arrived home from this hotel on the 14septemeber and we loved it!!!! Everything about it was brilliant! The food was amazing, loads of choice everynight! The pool was massive and there was always loads of sunbeds even if you went down to the pool late morning! There was always activities going on in the day like water aerobics, bingo, fashion shows, spanish lessons etc. The staff were really nice aswell, always helpful. The weather was beautiful everyday aswel! The hotel itself is about 2minute walk from the beach where you can do water sports, there is also two supermarkets opposite the hotel and other shops about a 5-10minute walk away. There are other places to eat near the hotel like chinese and indian. There is a wikid bar called the Beehive just 2mins from the hotel and we loved it in there! Deffinatly go there if you get the chance! We spent most of our nights in there! The veronicas strip and main night life is about a 20min - half an hour walk away but you can get a taxi for about 5-7euros. All in all I would deffinatly recomend Tenerife and that Hotel to anyone! We want to be there now!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Great pool and food!
  • Disliked — the carpets could be better!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank universal_travel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

anybody who is in dout to book dont it is the best hotel ive ever stayed in.we was in room 626 the room was spotless clean towels and bedding changed daily as for the food it was fantastic plenty of choice if your on a diet not the place to go.all the staff were pleasant and work really hard to make our holiday enjoyable.the animation team work hard to put on a show for all nationalities one word of warning if your booking trips go out hotel turn right and look out for admiral travel lot cheaper than travel rep prices

  • Liked — cleaniness
  • Disliked — bath
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank freddy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
#24 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#22 of 57 in Costa Adeje
1,776 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Torviscas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Torviscas Playa

Property: Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Address: Ernesto Sarti 5, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#24 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#25 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#28 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Torviscas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOTE: The hotel will remain closed from 18 April 2017 to 20 January 2018. We will be improving the facilities so that you can enjoy your holiday at IBEROSTAR even more! We apologize for any inconvenience. The IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel is a 4-star All-Inclusive hotel in Costa Adeje, Tenerife situated next to the beach. It’s located on the Costa Adeje, in a beautiful area full with nature. Its spacious rooms designed to meet all the guests' needs; entertainment and leisure programmes, and activities specially designed for the very youngest make this hotel the ideal choice for a family holiday in Costa Adeje. Family sized rooms. The hotel’s range of rooms is quite varied. The construction and design of the rooms is based on the guests’ distinct needs. Those travelling with family can stay in spacious quadruple rooms; couples can stay in double rooms and there is also a room for guests with limited mobility. Children, very well cared for. The hotel offers an interesting array of options for children and teenagers at its Mini Club (4- to 7-year-olds), Maxi Club (8 to 12) and Teenie Club (13 to 17). Run by an efficient team of entertainment pros, they plan lots of activities to keep your little ones busy all day long. Fun for the whole family in our hotels, always. A la carte activities. Since leisure and entertainment are very important when choosing a holiday destination, the IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel strives to offer a superior programme for its guests: a centre with treatments and beauty care, a large variety of sports both inside and outside the hotel, cultural theme nights, various live music performances and shows for day and night time entertainment. Free premium Wi-Fi: Connect to the Internet with Iberostar. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to three devices – to use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Torviscas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Torviscas Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Torviscas Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Torviscas Playa Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing