We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - shame about the bars.”
Review of H10 Gran Tinerfe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H10 Gran Tinerfe
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel - shame about the bars.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Felt as if I was in a film as the hotel was so beautiful. Lots of lovely areas inside and out to sit and watch the world go by. Food was great - always plenty of choice,fresh flavours and well cooked. Some hot dishes could have been warmer but were perfectly acceptable. Rudeness of guests jostling for position was entertaining. Only negative was non existent bar service. Could not get a drink for love nor money. The 2 Euro red wine from the spar across the road filled the gap , but really - sort this out. One lovely moment was sitting outside on a huge cushioned couch late at night listening to some mellow dance tunes from a wedding on the deck area drinking our illicit wine in the absence of bar service. Simple pleasures.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fatmrsgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10GranTinerfe, Gerente at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Please be assured that we have taken your feedback on board as we strive to improve.
We wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Yours faithfully,
H10 Gran Tinerfe - Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,071
    1,146
    333
    89
    39
See reviews for
240
2,774
95
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The H10 Gran Tinerfe has many good points including a great sea front location, wonderful views, comfortable rooms and staff who are generally very friendly.
However all that was spoiled by the dinning experience. When we arrived we were told we had to book a time for dinner. This apparently was a new system. In most holiday hotels we have been in we have eaten when we wanted to not when the Hotel wanted us to. We went down to book a time only to find a queue and a lot of very grumpy guests. The staff did not seem to know what they were supposed to be doing with this "new" system. After a bit of order, counter order and more disorder they gave up and told us to sit where we could. The management did send a letter of apology the next day saying they had tweaked the "new" system but did not bother to explain how it was to work now. We booked for 1900 hrs that day and from what I could gather that was our time at that table for the rest of our stay. On 3 nights that time did not tie in with what we had been doing during the day so we chose to eat out rather than have any hassle trying to change.

Apart from the time of dining, the layout of the dining room, with the food stations all in the centre meant that there was a lot of congestion as diners crossed over each other looking for their different courses.

I don't expect much of buffet style food and was not disappointed here. I appreciate that food is very much a matter of personal likes and dislikes but I found the offering here limited and repetitive.

Until H10 can engineer a solution to their dysfunctional dining room I will not be back but I don't suppose that will bother them too much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Davl500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10GranTinerfe, Gerente at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for your feedback, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are sorry if the new restaurant system was unclear and that you were here during the change of period. We take on board everyones opinions and point of view as we strive to improve. The dining experience is now running smoother.
We are looking at what we could have done better, and we are constantly improving.
We are also making the information clearer to make everyones holiday experience the best we possibly can.

Thank you again for your feedback, we really appreciate it, and hope to see you again here in the sunshine with us.

Yours faithfully,
Maria Jorge - Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, great location right on the beach front,modern interior,extremely clean, friendly staff BUT one massive let down was the dining room experience.
Our first evening meal was a nightmare. None of the staff explained the routine, the restaurant was packed like a cattle market, the food ran out, people were queue jumping in order to get what was left over. Apparently 80% of the hotel was in the restaurant at the same time!
The next morning we found out only by chance that the hotel had decided to give everyone a time slot and the same table for the duration of your stay, even the Thomson reps knew nothing of this?
We queued for an hour to book our "slot". Now, we didn't really want to be tied to a time but we hoped this may have restored order.
The next 2 nights were a huge improvement, even though the head waiters still tried to seat us on other peoples tables! Maria the manager soon put a stop to that though. The problem was as more new arrivals came then slowly things started to unravel again leading us to eat out as standards slipped again. Maria seemed to be working hard to sort things only for the head waiters to go and do the exactly opposite.
One more tiny thing is that there is hardly any waiter service around the pools or chill out area's day and night, yet one morning we counted 15 staff cleaning the chill out area! Maybe one or two of them would be better employed waiting on?
Such a shame as the rest of the hotel is really very good and we had a great holiday.
The restaurant experience however may stop us returning??

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gazel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10GranTinerfe, Manager at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Firstly let me thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to the restaurant situation, unfortunately during your stay we were in the middle of our changes to improve and we appreciate that during changes, teething problems do occur.

The only reason we make changes is because we really do listen to and care about our customers and we want you to have the best holiday possible.

Please be assured that after week one of the changes, things are looking good.

If you come back again, please let me know personally so I can ensure you have the best stay possible: e-mail rrpp.hgt@h10.es

We look forward to seeing you again and thank you again for your feedback.

Regards

Maria Jorge
H10 Gran Tinerfe Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Revisited the Gran Tinerfe after a gap of about 5 years and what a difference,. We enjoyed it the first time, but it has now been completely revamped, beautiful relaxing areas, with double balinese sun beds, comfy sofas to lounge on. if you upgrade to Priviledge , free bar 9am - 9pm with premium drinks, and snacks, mini bar in room, safe, towels all included. private tv lounge and sitting area, well worth the extra money, if you only have a couple of drinks, a couple of bottles of water. coffee and snacks each day, you have recouped your money. Good food and plenty of choice with a show kitchen, cooking fresh omelette, fried eggs, poached eggs, pancakes etc in the morning fresh fruit smoothies, and champagne/orange and on one day vodka/tomato juice for breakfast if you wanted it.n the evening steak, chops, fish cooked to order and themed evenings, Indian, Chinese, Mexican.
3 nice pools and plenty of sunbeds and space. also free pilates, yoga, body combat in the gym./
Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best but pool/mountain views are fine provided you have a high floor. Just avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livelylady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10GranTinerfe, Gerente at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your holiday experience with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you managed to have a good time at our fitness programms, and enjoyed the food.
We were happy to welcome you back after a few years, and we would love to have you back again in the near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact rrpp.hgt@h10.es for any special requests you may have before your next visit with us. Once again, thank you.

Yours faithfully,
H10 Gran Tinerfe - Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have just enjoyed another two weeks at the hotel and once more we had a great time. We had a Junior Suite on the 6th Floor as usual and we could hardly fault it. A roomy bathroom and modern furnishing - very good. We thought the food this year was better than before and the Mirador Restaurant overlooking the sea is a lovely change if you want one. The friendly staff, many of them long serving, also helped things go well as always.

Add this to the marvellous weather we had and it's no wonder we'll be going back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leen402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Gran Tinerfe for two weeks from 4th January. At check in we didn't have to stand in line at the desk, but were offered a drink immediately and while seated we were checked in. We had booked a junior suite and added "privilege" which entitled us to various benefits including a separate lounge with complimentary drinks, and internet, daily newspaper from the hotel shop, free fridge and safe, and coffee machine in room. This is well worth the extra payment. Our room was spacious and clean and well maintained by Nieves. The white bedding and pillows were spotless and were changed daily. Although the food was not very special and the restaurant was too busy with people queuing at the show cooking station and trying not to bump into one another whilst carrying their plates, we managed to survive though we did eat out on a few occasions. The best feature of the restaurant was the presence of Fernando who was very thoughtful,always found us a good table and even arranged for a cake for my wife's birthday. The hotel has a policy of providing a bottle of Cava in the room for special occasions, but needed four reminders and none arrived until the next day.We appreciated the gesture but felt it was a bit tacky having to ask so many times before it actually arrived. We have to mention a few of the staff who helped make our holiday special. Firstly,Yamilet who runs the hotel shop. It was always a pleasure to collect my newspaper each morning as she was always happy and bright. Cuca the fitness instructor, always smiling and full of energy. All of the reception staff were very helpful especially Marisca. Maria, who is the public relations manager but more or less runs the hotel, is efficient, calm and reliable. Lastly we must once again thank Fernando who made my wife's holiday. The plus sides of the hotel include the cleanliness, the privilege lounge and the location right on the beach. January is a great time to visit Tenerife as the sun shone every day with 22 degrees temperature. The only downside on this occasion was that Bouremouth airport was affected by snow, which resulted in an extra night's stay on the island. This was well managed by Thomson, with as little inconvenience as possible, and thanks go to them for getting us home safely.

Room Tip: Junior suites with the exception of the 11th floor only have sun in late afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our second time to stay at this hotel and we were delighted to find it had improved since we stayed there 3 years ago. 'Couples only' suits us and the atmosphere is more relaxed - even though in January retirees like ourselves predominate.
The variety of spaces around the pools and grounds ensure a sense of privacy and comfort and we must mention the guy who took up the towels off beds not occupied before 10am, other hotels say that they will enforce this but never do.
The renovated rooms are very nice and comfortable and if your balcony overlooks the beach as ours did you could not ask for better. Some evenings on the terrace below the rooms a resident band 'duo Sueno' played chillax tunes whilst the sun set - heaven!
The restaurant was at times very busy but no worries, plenty of nice food for all with a theme each night and microwaves for those wishing to have their food piping hot.
We found reception good on the few occasions we needed their attention. Bike hire is available from reception and was effected with minimum fuss.
The entertainment at night was suited to the clientele and we now know who Andre Riu is they showed a video of him in the bar most nights. The same bar staff day and night were exceptional, friendly and efficient.
Not everything was perfect of course, despite our best efforts the shower leaked on to the bathroom floor and the bath had no non-slip provision, not good in a hotel full of oldies like us,
The wifi only worked in an area outside the bar so if you wanted to Skype family or friends at night the ambient racket had to be endured,also strangely, you had to get a new password every 3 days and sign for same in reception?
But these are small quibbles, this is a very good hotel and a ideal place to spend a couple of weeks soaking up sun whilst watching the snow at home on tv - we will be back!!

Room Tip: Pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kildaremercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10GranTinerfe, Manager at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We take your comments into consideration as we always strive to improve.

We look forward to seeing you again soon so you can enjoy our Tenerife sunshine once again.

Regards

Maria Jorge
H10 Gran Tinerfe Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,491 reviews
1.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,433 reviews
2.0 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#21 of 57 in Costa Adeje
1,850 reviews
1.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.2 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Gran Tinerfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Gran Tinerfe

Property: H10 Gran Tinerfe
Address: Rafael Puig Lluvina, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Gran Tinerfe 4*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Gran Tinerfe hotel is an "only adults", is located in the south of Tenerife on the Costa Adeje, right on the seafront. It has three swimming pools and sports facilities for enjoying your holiday time. Its wide-ranging culinary offering will bring you the best of local and international dishes. Hotel guests receive free admission to the Playa de las Americas Casino, which is located in the same building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, H10 Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Gran Tinerfe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Gran Tinerfe Hotel Costa Adeje
h10 Gran Tinerfe Resort
Gran Tinerfe Tenerife
H10 Gran Tinerfe Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing