We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value and great apartment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel El Duque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aparthotel El Duque
Ranked #40 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Value and great apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Originally booked a Studio with a garden view through First Choice for a week All inclusive. Before we went we were contacted and asked if we wanted to upgrade to a one bed apartment with a pool view, as we were just a couple i wasn't bothered but my husband decided the extra £50 would be worth it and i am glad we did.

We were put in apartment G005 which was on the ground floor at one end of the outside "corridor " and up about 2 x10 steps on the other, you could enter the "corridor" at either end so you didn't need to use the stairs.

The big advantage of this apartment was that we looked right onto the pool and had a verandah the full size of the bedroom and lounge and it was deep enough to more than accomodate two loungers , a table and four chairs and a brolly and we got the sun on the verandah from early in the morning after it came over the mountains to about 4-5 o'clock in the evening, (we were there 20.4 2014 to 27.4.2014, it may be even better in the Summer). This meant we didn't even need to think about whether we could get a sun lounger by the pool although there always appeared to plenty of them about during the day as people generally didn't leave towels on them if they were going out for the day etc. which helps. The apartment was extremely clean although the decor was not ultra modern; the hotel was rated a 3 star but I really thought the breakfast selection including Soya milk which I prefer, was just as good as most 4 stars I've stayed in particularly since there was a diverse range of guest from many countries they had to cater for.

I know we weren't there at a particulary busy period with lots of children about, (it was mostly but not all,) younger children under school age and I know the dynamics can change but I didn't hear anyone with anything but good things to say about the Hotel or the food. The entertainment was OK, there was "Alex n swing" who was pretty good at some Robbie Williams numbers and others, but then i don't think you get the same entertainment you used to in any of the Hotels
anymore. If like us you need all the weight in your case for clothes you can hire beach towels at reception for 15 euros deposit- well worth it i think.
Con
If you like the beach it is a bit of a slope on the roads down and could be a bit of an effort on the way back up if you have mobility problems, there were plenty of older guests there and few complained about it and there are taxis just outside that would'nt cost much to get you to the promenade and beach which is a nice walk.

Room Tip: I think all rooms on level G001-5 are the same as I described we had and have a very good pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BAP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    359
    164
    67
    42
See reviews for
367
259
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fife
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hotel grounds and rooms kept very clean and tidy. Went all inclusive and found the food to be very average. The setting was nice if you could get a table on the outside terrace. The restaurant itself was very dark and dismal and was like a crematorium. Please brighten it up. The alcohol from the bar was very weak and you could drink all day with no effect. The nighttime entertainment was woeful so we went out every evening and saw a number of great acts, but was a long walk or a taxi ride away. No inside bar and was quite cold at the bar in the evening. Biggest gripe was that gents had to wear long trousers for evening meal. Do not know why this was as standard of most were faded jeans that I would not have worn to the potato picking. Could not have been for hygiene reasons as shorts were ok for breakfast and lunch.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room but balcony was not very big, so spent most of time at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed with family and friends. I had an apartment with my eleven year old grandson. I have no complaints regarding the apartment it was clean basic with the usual compliment of microwave, two ring cooker the spanish kettle (saucepan). Linen and towels were changed regularly and room cleaned daily by friendly staff. No air conditioning or English tv channels or wifi. Reception staff bit of mixed bag some helpful and pleasant others not. We stayed kids easter holiday week so place was full and somewhat hectic i had room 111 G block which faces over the dining room entrance so got quite a bit of early morning noise from folk coming and going so if you wanted to lay in was not really possible again there was quite a good amount of noise when they had water aerobics you could hear the thud thud bang bang shout shout all in your face sort of thing not good if your'e just looking to relax, that said there is a smaller pool at the back of the hotel which is less noisy. I have stayed here out of school holidays and it was obviously less noisy and more chilled and for that reason would not recommend to couples wanting a relaxing venue during term time but ok for family's. The rooms are spacious and on three floors and access gained down a long corridor most of these buildings are eggshell construction so you can hear what is going on above you or next door to you i had good neighbours for the first four days and sadly the neighbours from hell moved in above me for the last three days. They were shouting balling furniture being moved all around the room at six in a morning doors slamming the lot it took some loud and strong expletive's from me to get my point over, however i don't blame the hotel for it, who can legislate for these kind of people who show no respect or consideration to anyone. I can't comment on quality of food as i am a devout self caterer and you can eat really well in adeje cheaply, same with drink there are numerous venues where you can get a pint for 2 euro less during the day a good meal around ten to fifteen euro served hot and fresh to your table. Most AI hotels run to fine budgets and don't offer great quality but more should i say quantity. I would not recommend AI to couples or singles in this resort you don't need it you can eat at a different spot each night the same with bars you have variety and you are not tied to an hotel watching a parrot show or an act that thinks he is rod stewart. A tip for family's staying here with kids at the front of the hotel there are two roads with double carriageways and the zebra crossings are barely visible as a result of cut backs by the government, it is not obligatory for drivers to stop to allow you to cross, most will some will not so take care. i was crossing one lane and the car stopped but the car in the other lane carried on at great speed as i say exercise caution.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed in the Aparthotel El Duque all inclusive from the 1st to the 15th of April 2014... Excellent accomodation, the staff are very friendly, great food and entertainment, Our room was cleaned daily,excellent childrens activities, I cant find anything bad to say about our stay at all, we are talking about returning again next year :0)

Room Tip: 1 bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed for 10 nights AI. We thought the food was of a high standard and a lot of choice! Rooms clean and spacious! Staff where all extremely helpful, polite and seemed to really enjoy their work! The only downside is there was not much entertainment in the evening or during the day, but we met some great people and had lots of laughs! I would recommend to stay here for a relaxing nice stay, costa adeje is a lovely resort!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back, from an excellent holiday. The apartments are spacious and well equip for a comfortable stay. All staff are so friendly and welcoming. The bar staff and restaurant work relentlessly to ensure all guests were happy. The hotel has 3 pools, with children's pool a great size and depth for all ages. The restaurant served different food every evening, all an excellent standard. The beach is approx 10min walk away. Up hill on the way back. We also visited aqua land this was a perfect trip for a younger family. Ticket price included a dolphin show!!!! Evening at the hotel for shows was varied, but each night hosted a different act and gave us something to watch whilst enjoying the wide range if drinks available.

Never a rush for a sun lounger, there is plenty!!! As the pool doesn't open until. 10am there was no risk of anyone reserving sunbeds from 5am!!!!

Would recommend this hotel, and would defiantly return again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I want to share my experience on my last day here! Fantastic holiday all round. Can't comment on the food as we were self catering. I was here with my husband for a week and we had a fantastic stay here. It should be more than a 3 star in my opinion. A couple of issues we had were that although we had booked a studio, when we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to an apartment! At first we thought great but when we got into the apartment although it was clean it was very dull and the furniture could do with a upgrade, we asked to be moved to a studio and were told to come back later, which we did only to be told that they had no studios available till 4 days later. When we complained that we should have been given a studio from the start Michael at reception was extremely rude and basically told us to go away and come back in 4 days. When we did move our studio was fantastic. It was bright and airy and spotless. Tv's could be doing with an upgrade as they are very old but overall I would recommend this place to anyone. (Maybe just avoid Michael at reception).

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suzanne_phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#17 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa de Adeje Beach
Hotel Villa de Adeje Beach
#55 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regency Torviscas Apartments and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel El Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel El Duque

Property: Aparthotel El Duque
Address: Av Bruselas 14, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel El Duque 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aparthotel El Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel El Duque Hotel Costa Adeje
El Duque Tenerife
Aparthotel El Duque Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing