We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel and personally would not say that it is a platinum hotel. No kettle in room unless prepared to pay extra i.e 2 euro 50 a day also safety deposit box is 14 euro 70 per week plus 10 euro deposit. Pool/beach towels are available at 15 euro per towel changed every other day. Hotel itself is very nice and staff very pleasant Food could be better meat chewy and tepid in the full week never had one meal that was hot even the soup was tepid . The down side to the bedroom is that hairdryer is in the bath room and their is no chair in the bedroom so you either have to sit on your balcony or on your bed. There is also no mirror in the room but their is a mirror on the wardrobe door but were it is situated is dark. No were to seat to do hair or make up their is also a mirror in the bathroom. European hotels doing all inclusive should take a leaf out of the Caribbean hotels as they are all inclusive were everything is thrown in even down to an iron and ironing board and bath robe. After saying all that would go back because of were the hotel is situated but would take my own kettle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissyh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    1,080
    442
    110
    39
See reviews for
384
1,864
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at The Luabay from 16th-22nd March 2014. As last year, the hotel is spotlessly clean. We stayed in Room 401 and I was a bit apprehensive as it was located next to the lifts and expected it to be quite noisy but this wasn't the case. The staff were really friendly and helpful through out our stay. I would like to mention Ariel, the lifeguard, who went out of his way to help customers, relocate their sun loungers, negotiate parasols and help older customers carry their drinks to their seats. The reception staff were very efficient and the maids had an uncanny knack of servicing our room when we were at breakfast! The hotel was fully booked and the restaurant staff worked efficently to seat customers as soon as possible at the busiest times with only a few minutes wait for a table. My only criticism would be the lack of seating during the evening in the hotel before 9.30.
I am always surprised by the variety of food on offer although one customer was complaining about the breakfast choice and that there was nothing for her! Her choice was the following: scrambled, fried, or boiled eggs,omlette, Sausages, beans and bacon, Toast, variety of bread, muffins, croissants with butter and Jam, Selection of cold meats & cheese, Porrige, yoghurt, fresh fruit, fruit salad, cereal, smoothies or a choice of three fruit juices!
The location is good for getting out and about with a shopping centre and various supermarkets within a few minutes walk. Plenty of bars dotted around. We visited harleys bar a couple of times which have live bands and good food if you fancy a change from all inclusive. Overall a great winter break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louiserew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed there in July 2013 and were a little annoyed that the lifts were often out of order and the service could have been better. However upon visiting a different part of Adeje this year we realised that shouldn't have been so quick to judge!

The Luabay is situated in an excellent location with walking distance to the beach, all the good bars, malls and pick up points for popular excursions. The outdoor area used at night for the entertainment is also very good allowing you to sit out with a few drinks by the pool which was lovely.

It is hard to get a sunlounger in the morning unless you are a very early riser and there's not that many overall. The sunbathing area is situated up high and offers perfect tanning opportunities.

We were on the 7th floor and the lifts were often out of order so you would have queues of people waiting for maybe one lift!

The food was good with a wide variety to suit all.

Room Tip: Excellent location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 20thMarch to 27thMarch 2014, The room was very basic , as mentioned in lots of the reviews there are no draws in the room the bathroom door is glass and
quite revealing it is not fully enclosed either as the door is not flush to the floor, the shower does flood the bathroom floor unless you are very careful.
The bed was quite comfortable and the room was cleaned excellently every day and fresh towels and bedding if needed. could not fault the cleaning of the whole hotel amazing.
The food was also very good and lots to choose from the only down side was that it could be quite cold on occasions but yes there is a microwave .
All the staff where very friendly especially the restaurant staff and the cleaners .
One bar manager seemed very grumpy not only with the guests but with the staff as well.
well you know what they say about a little man!!!!! don't want to be rude.
If you could get your self a sun lounger that was an amazing feat, but after managing that a parasol was very important as they were in short supply, but I did notice that towards the last 2 days of our holiday a lifeguard was trying to assist some guests by locating parasols for them. so may be the problem may be rectified eventually. The hotel is in a very good position for shops and the beach a good view of the mountains, we did not try any of the trips as only there for 1 week.
The entertainment was very good especially the three tenors.
All in all very good break and the weather was lovely and sunny only two overcast days but still warm would definitely go back to this hotel
.

!

Room Tip: We were in room 626 a quiet room overlooking the pools sea view and mountains. No sun on the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Looking at this hotel for holiday in nova this year....can anyone explain what this " splendid service" is and how much is it and is it worth it.... Thanks".....

Splendid service available at a supplement

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Asked for a high room by e-mail request,got a reply and a high room.Good start,found reception staff very helpful and room was very clean and bathroom good.Only problem with room was lack of drawers only three.Flat screen TV but very limited english channels.Had to pay for safe but on the plus side free refridgerator and water.Food good with a very good themed Mexican which had to be pre booked.We had the all incusive package.No problems with 2 outside pool bars and main bar which stayed all inclusive to 12.Pool area kept clean but must sort out sun beds which seems most peoples gripe!.Entertainment dont expect too much but had some good acts.Staff very friendly and efficient,Overall a happy customer and would return[sort the sun beds out] PS best coffees we have had for a long time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdpont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from March 6 to the 16 this year and what a smashing holiday it was! The room was was first class and very comfortable.Food excellent and plenty of variety.
Plenty of pool loungers, enough for everyone.
The entertainment was first class and varied. Now saving up to return to Luabay this year!!
What made it extra special were the staff, nothing was too much trouble from the reception desk personal to our room cleaner who all made us feel so welcome.So thank you Luabay!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davearmitage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
1.6 mi away
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
#1 of 2 in La Caleta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#31 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta
HOVIMA La Pinta
#34 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Property: HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#34 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Despegar.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing