We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No security.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No security.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Before I rate the hotel and holiday I must warn everyone about the pickpockets in Costa Adeje and Tenerife as a whole. We were forced to queue up outside the Luabay Hotel in Costa Adeje before checking in. A man shouting down into his mobile pulled my husbands suitcase away from him and whilst my husband was trying to pull it back his wallet was stolen from his zipped up pocket halfway down his trouser leg. It was reported to police and a report was made so our insurance will step in.

The hotel.

Well, Thomson say it is a Platinum which to my mind should be better than the Gold hotels. We have stayed in Thomson Gold before and they are far superior to the Platinum Luabay.
No CCTV no security at all. There were muggings in the lifts (when they worked) on 3 occasions during our 2 week stay.

There were other men having their wallets taken. Inside and outside hotel.

The food was eatable very repetative but very German orientated .

Rooms are a decent size but only 3 drawers.

You have to be up before dawn to get your towels on the sunbeds.

The Animation team were very good during the day. Sabrina was brilliant at keeping kids and adults busy. All the hotel staff were very helpful and the Thomson reps were superb.

We will not be going back.

We have booked up a Thomson Gold in Lanzarote for later in the year just to get over Costa Adeje.

I rate this hotel as a 3 star only.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 501 to 510 and you will get sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sparkykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    1,050
    436
    109
    39
See reviews for
379
1,820
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dundee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just back from a week all inclusive here. Visited this hotel 2 years ago and that was the reason we returned. Great food & choice, rooms comfortable and very clean. The only down side is the entertainment at night was very poor and they have introduced an animation team which was a waste of time in March. Wouldn't like to stay in this hotel at the hight of the season as there is a distinct lack of sunbeds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We got back from a week at the Luabay on 4th March having chosen this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor.
All the good points we would endorse and agree with, such as the staff who were all friendly and helpful, the food which was well cooked and presented, with plenty of choices, the general cleanliness in the hotel and the bedrooms that was of a very high standard. The evening shows were always very entertaining with something different every night.
Unfortunately we would also endorse and agree with most of the bad points that have appeared in reviews. They are mostly little niggles but they certainly caused a lot of discussion amongst the guests.
Firstly, the sun loungers, there were too few and many of those that were available were broken but not removed. The problem was of course made worse by guests, many of them Brits, going down and placing their towels and then not using the loungers till much later in the day. Watch out for guests who "acquire" your lounger or sun umbrella while you are at lunch.
Secondly, tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Yes I know we should have read the small print more closely, but the guests, like us, were of an age when a cup of tea or coffee first thing in the morning is almost essential and we have come to take for granted that a 4 star hotel generally provides such facilities ( without having to pay for an "upgrade)
Thirdly, the bathroom that became a wet room whenever someone took a shower. The recent (2011?) refurbishment seemed to run out of money when it came to making the shower glass wall fit the shower tray and no matter how careful we were when showering, we always found the bathroom floor under water unless we trapped the overflow with a towel.
Overall, the hotel was pleasant and airy and although we enjoyed our stay I don't think we will be rushing back there soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side facing the pool do not get any sun till after about 11.00am in late February/March...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PotteryPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of Discovery
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We travelled with Thomson's but despite asking for special assistance via our travel agents we were dropped off with our cases and had to struggle with them and our walking sticks up the ramped access, we were allocated a lower floor but still had to trail the length of the long corridor to get to this first room. The room was overcast by a wall outside, below the balcony were covers over either vents or drains and about 20-30 cats outside. This room was definitely not what we would consider a 4star. We complained re this but staff were unable to guarantee an exchange of room till the next day. We were given another room but again no assistance to move rooms, we found the lack of porterage quite a struggle. The second room was much better and had a better outlook, even the bathroom had a larger shelf, and the missing connecting door (which the first room had) also gave this room the dimensions of being larger. We didn't even mind the music from the taverns each night as we drifted off to sleep, we found the beds to be very comfortable. Another fly in the ointment were the stairs to get to the pool bar for a drink or snack during the day so going all-inclusive was not of much of a benefit when you have mobility problems. The infinity pool was like plunging into a huge bucket of ice and could have done with the chill taken off it. We also found the hotel staff to be very hard working this was from chambermaids, kitchen staff, waiters/waitresses and reception - full marks on this. The spa was chargeable but the hydrotherapy pool was out of order. Be aware too that you make sure if booking a massage that the masseur knows what treatment you wanted - I had asked at spa reception if a hot stone massage was done and was advised that they used instead items like big pompom drumsticks with heat and oils. When I got the therapy which I wanted for relaxation I wasn't given this, I finished up with one that left me aching from head to toes for four of our precious holiday days! Elevators too were poor - if you weren't quick enough you could miss it, there was no indication of which lift was coming or of which direction it was going - if you wanted to go down and lift was going up and vice versa it cancelled your request and you had to keep on calling for it. Meals excellent.

Room Tip: Would not recommend for anyone with mobility problems unless porterage was guaranteed. Ask for pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cilgerran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We took my 83 year old mother here in January and being out of season we found it to be very nice. The rooms were adequate if a little sparsely furnished but how long does one spend in one's room anyway? The pool and adjacent area was lovely and the staff friendly and welcoming. We are vegetarians and found the food varied and delicious. We are retired folks so we enjoyed the out of season quietness but I should imagine that for young families it would be an ideal summer holiday base being so close to the wonderful beach and night life. My only complaint would be the lifts which are totally inadequate for the number of rooms in my opinion and seem to work to their own agenda!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Very good indeed. Staff were superb and nothing too much trouble. Food choice and quality very good serves in a big airy dining room . Never waited more than 30 seconds to be seated on arrival. Rooms spotlessly clean. Only one issue which has been brought up by reviewers in the past was the inadequate supply of sun loungers. Still prevails unless you are prepared to get up at 6.30 to reserve one which is supposed to be against hotel policy. Didn't get even close to one for four days. All in all apart for this one glitch a very good holiday and would certainly go back (with my own foldaway chair)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gedw1474525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

My mum has asked to write this review on her behalf. They went 20/2/14 for a week. The hotel was spotlessly clean, very good choice of food and the entertainment was spot on. There was always plenty of sun beds too. My mums partner is disabled and uses a wheel chair the hotel,was disabled friendly and would definitely recommend this hotel for,any disabled person wanting a relaxing holiday.
Would we go back? We have already booked for next year...
She says she is usually ready to come home after a week but this time didn't want to come home.

Room Tip: Can not recommend highly enough..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Heyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
1.7 mi away
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
#1 of 2 in La Caleta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#31 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
#29 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta
HOVIMA La Pinta
#32 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.5 mi away
HOVIMA Panorama
HOVIMA Panorama
#28 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Property: HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#34 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing