We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit & brought 4 members of the family with us this time!”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our second visit & brought 4 members of the family with us this time!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Ok.... We are still here, as per my last review I wrote it on the last day so I did not forget anything...

Booked with First Choice (6 of us in 3 rooms) we paid 575 each and upgraded to sea view / pool side for an extra 35 pounds each = 610 pound each) - very smooth flight and transfer no problems or complaints whatsoever!)

Hotel - Rooms (811,812,813) are a good size with wardrobe, drawers, plenty of hangers this time, fridge, television, complementary kettle & cups, fresh bottle of water and glasses every day, fresh towels every day, beds made & room cleaned every day, hairdryer & a little complimentary bits i.e comb, shoe cleaner, needle & cotton, soap etc.... some bits were on top of the safe in the wardrobe, lovely air conditioning. The safe is 23euro & you get 10euro´s back when you check out.
Cleanliness; found a few hairs plus a broken bits of a bracelet from the last occupier. But the cleaners were really friendly & we were really happy with the way our cleaner cleaned our room each day.... the floors on the balcony could of done with a wash... but over all - really happy.
Food - yeh its repetitative, but I have no complaints, im vegetarian and my family are not, plenty of food and plenty of choice. Its lovely how the waiters / waitresses ensure you are ok & make sure you have bottled water, red or white wine or rose with your dinner. I made sure I tipped as I went along, I never saw any one else tipping so dont feel you have to, but I felt bad last year for leaving it to the last day to tip certain staff, & on the last day all the staff changed! So I made sure we tipped as we went along this year!
Drinks just keep coming and coming.... no complaints.

Its a must to attend your meeting with the Reps they will tell you about all the trips. We paid 100 euros each to go to Loro Parc/Siam Park, if you have never been before I totally recommed this ticket (premium ticket). In Loro Parc you get reserved seating for the whales, dolphins and seal shows, and a 3 course meal in one of the restaurants and the coach fair is included. This ticket also allows you to go through and not have to queue with the big long queues at Siam Park. However there are cheaper ways to visit these parks, be mindful if you go to Loro Parc you can buy a ticket to Siam Park for 23euros which is amazing, the bus for Siam Park is free (unfortunately we had to get a taxi 5euros each way as the bus was totally full, but between 6 of us that was really cheap)...

I read somewhere that this place is for older people... mmm sorry but dont agree, my son and his friend both 24 years old, they did jet skiing (so many activites to choose from) (look around and barter prices dont be afraid to offer 40euros if they say 60, I could not believe it when my son and his friend bartered so low and so many times there lower offer was accepted)..... Lots of clubs and pubs close by (5am I think the boys got home on 2 occassions), shops are everywhere, again barter, I would never have realised until by son and his friend were in and out of shops getting so much off the initial price given. There are so many things you can do if you want to... Me and my husband like the all inclusive and being around by the pool, so you can decide the type of holiday you want, literally on the door step!

The local market only 10 minutes away, on saturdays and thursdays (you must go) my son bartered a man down for a handbag from 45euros to 25euros and it was accepted, so he went back with my sister in law and got 2 more for the same price. I picked up some lovely necklaces and lace table cover, for the table cover I was told 35euros, I plucked up the courage to say 22euros and then pretended to walk away when she said no, she then started stuffing it into a bag saying ok ok ok 22 euros..... so be brave!!!!

Mmm here goes my only complaints! - The little shop in the hotel, my husband brought his daily newpaper for 2.20euros and was short changed 1euro, we straight away took it back with the change, the young girl in the shop refused to accept what we were saying... you know its not the money but the dishonesty, keep an eye on your change, imagine if she is doing it to every one, those euros will soon add up... we didnt use the shop after this we went outside to the local shop!
The little games room with the pool table we loved when we were here last, unfortunately the pool table doesnt work very well - we potted the white and never got it back lol.... this needs fixing!!
Sunbeds are a bit of a joke, if you put a towel on a bed basically you can go shopping all day and staff wont remove them - as a family we think this wrong, if a sun bed is not occupied for more than an hour or two surely the towels should be removed? we sat on the floor on our towels all 6 of us on the first day, we watched 30-40 sunbeds with towels on unoccupied for 3-4 hours and staff refused to move them. So we joined in and one of us ran down every morning to put our towels on the sunbeds!..... happy days lol!!!

Overall we have had a great time & weve checked out prices for next year which are totalling nearly 100 pound more per person - so just goes to prove how good this hotel is.....
We couldnt have a late check out as the hotel is full, but they gave us use of a shower room for 30 minutes. We checked out at 12 midday and our coach is at 8.45pm, but again we are all staying around the hotel all inclusive until then which is great! We were lucky to get a late check out last year but I doubt the way this hotel is going late check outs will be happening! I will definately take this into consideration on our next visit here next year, make sure our flights marry up with the check out times hopefully.....
Have a lovely holiday.....

Room Tip: Higher the better & pool side (even if you are at the back past the pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cranes2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review. We are glad you came back to our hotel and brought your family with you and everyone enjoyed their stay as they wished. It is great to know you were satisfied with our service and the facilities of our hotel. Your complaints about the shop, the pool table not working properly and the problem with people reserving sunbeds will be further investigated and forwarded to the corresponding departments to deal with them in more detail. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests again next year. Thank you very much for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    1,125
    453
    117
    41
See reviews for
399
1,963
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,151)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just got back . Hotel clean . Food good, but evening meal could have more choice, sometimes meat not cooked. Sun beds , as the hotel was full the sunbeds did get taken early. So you have to get up by 8 am.
Staff great and very help full. Would I go back . Yes please how about tomorrow !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank southamptonirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Irene, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and especially our staff’s friendliness. Your comments about the variety of our evening buffet and the sunbeds are very much appreciated and will help us to raise our standards even higher. Thank you very much for being our guest and recommending our hotel. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Nice hotel,but mainly for older people, nice food but a bit repetitive. Rooms very nice but have no kettle or coffee making facilities, my friend too ill and wanted to spend time in room, we asked for a kettle and were charged a daily charge. The pool area was lovely, and the entertainment during the day was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Returned from holiday with my mum and sister on sat 22nd June 2013. Had a lovely week the hotel was very clean rooms were basic but clean & cleaned every day. Most of the staff were very friendly. Restaurant was very clean & variety of food was good. Pool areas were lovely plenty of sun beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having visited this hotel in December as part of a cruise package we thought we would return for our weeks holiday in June. What can I say but it was better than the first time. The food was a vast improvement saying that there was nothing wrong with it last time. Only down side the room did smell a little musty because the extractor fan in the bathroom wasn't working. Would I come back yes

Room Tip: Try and get a room over looking the pool the ones on the back overlook a fence
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for two weeks, enjoyed it, and as others have said, the pool area is clean, the hotel is cleanl. The food is plentiful, with a choice......the only gripe i have is the crockery. it was chipped and cracked, but if you sorted though you found the good ones.........that is the gripe.......i would go back and feel it is good value for money, but do not feel it is a platinuim rating. Staff are wonderful, the reps do sit at the desk but do help if you need it. The entertainment crew are good fun, and no pressure to join in. You must see the Charlie Chaplin show, brilliant and go early to get a good seat!!!!!!! We had room on 8th floor overlooking the pool, view was magic even at night.

Room Tip: Anyone over looking the pool/tennis courts, view as magic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindylou2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Good,clean hotel,great location ,short walk from beach, food was very good and plenty of choices.
Restaurant lacked ambiance but staff were very efficient when dealing with guests,
Pool bar was spotless and plenty of sun beds to go around even though hotel was full ,
Entertainment in the evening was short but generally very good,
Rooms very clean and comfortable, would love to return

Room Tip: High floor with side sea view was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,447 reviews
1.6 mi away
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
#1 of 2 in La Caleta
981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#34 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Property: HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#34 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing