We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Week In The Sun”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Myself and my partner spent a lovely week here November 23rd - November 30th 2012.

2 pool areas were lovely with a choice of 3 different sunbathing areas on 3 different levels. We chose the area next to pool bar which was very quiet and relaxing.

All staff worked very hard throughout our stay and were very friendly. Restaurant staff were lovely. Animation staff worked very hard to get guests involved and there was always games going on.

The evening entertainment was good although I probably sounded more like Robbie Williams than the Robbie Williams tribute act. Charlie Chaplin act was very entertaining.

Our hotel room was nice and had a large balcony space.

It was a relaxing week of eating and drinking too much and most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kazmacmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,372 - 2,378 of 3,170 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Luabay hotel at Costa Adeje and I must say we had a very good weeks holiday. Yes the hotel had faults but which hotel dos'nt the perfect hotel doe's not exist. We found the pro's for the hotel were, location,cleanliness,modern rooms of adequate size with fab modern bathrooms with great showers very nice staff we were checked into our rooms within 5 mins by a very nice pleasant receptionist the pools and thier facilities(no problems getting sun loungers) and very good service at the bar and restraunts. We found the cons as follows noise levels at night were really bad on the first and second floors this is adesign fault in the hotel building the food was plentiful but rather bland and repetative with the side dishes cold this was the main grouse of the week with most of the clients having said that the breakfast were exellant the entertainment at night was very poor not up to platinum standards.The pro's outweighed the cons however and Overall we enjoyed our weeks stay at the Luabay its a 4* star hotel but its debatable if its of Platinum standard people we talked to transfered from a Platinum cruise for a weeks stay did not think so.

Room Tip: make sure you are above level 3 for a good nights sleep below that its rather noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hollywood442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear guest, we would like to thank you for your balanced review and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a relaxing holiday. Your feedback about the food being repetitive and the entertainment at night not being to your taste will be forwarded to the responsible departments so we can find ways how to improve for the future. It is great to know you were satisfied with our service and found our staff friendly; we will also share your positive feedback with them. We would be very delighted to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

It took me a while to write this review as I did not want anger and frustration to cloud my judgement. We stayed in this hotel for a week in October 2012 with 2 small children (aged 5 and 3). This was the first holiday where both my husband and I were counting days until the vacation is over. Multiple reasons for that. Firstly about the hotel itself. It said that it was refurbished in 2011, however it does not really show in the rooms. The rooms are very simple although clean. The hotel is made of very cheap materials and has no sound proof of any kind. If you had a misfortune to buy a room with a view and pay extra for it you will have to pay for it with your sleep. There are at least 2 bars with live music that goes on until 11 at night immediately outside your windows and it actually sounds like they are playing in your room. One may say who goes to bed so early, but after spending a whole day doing things with a 5 and a 3 year old you feel rather exhausted and need your sleep. It proved rather tricky to get the kids to sleep in that noise as well. Earplugs didn’t do the trick either. And as the noises of cars moving about and deliveries being made commenced at around 4.30 am which woke our son, I can say that me and my husband had no proper sleep throughout the whole of our stay.
Staying with 2 children in our room we had to take a room with a view and Splendit service and pay extra for it. So let me enlighten you about the Splendit service. It was written that part of the service is a basket of fruit. What it really meant was that you get a plate of cut up fruit upon your arrival (I realise that I was silly expecting there to be a basket of fruit throughout the stay). Pillow menu. You had a wonderful choice of various pillows except no matter which one you chose you ended up with the same pillow and it was so thick that it hurt my neck to sleep on it and I ended up sleeping (or trying to) on a sofa cushion. This service does however provide you with pool towels, newspapers and a slightly wider variety of drinks.
Buffet was a complete disappointment! The choices provided did not seem to go together so well. Vegetables and fruit were not fresh to say the very least. Cucumbers for example were dry and old, grapes – brown, tomatoes – soggy. I can understand that they would have to pre-cut the veg, but perhaps the consumption should be taken into account when they do it as most of these were not actually edible. In my previous experience it was always hard to decide what to chose at a buffet meal as the choices were so many, here it was hard to decide because the choices were so few.
Kids playroom. It happened to rain a fair bit when we were there and since the life guard told us he doesn’t want to get wet, we were asked to leave the pool. Now that left us with very few choices of what to do with small kids. Hotel does have a room for kids to play in and despite it being the darkest, shabbiest room in the hotel they did actually have things to draw/ colour with, Play-Doh, etc. However whenever one would actually need that room, in the morning or in the evening, it was closed.
Now I will be unfair if I didn’t mention that staff of the hotel was actually extremely helpful, patient and nice. So I cannot say a bad word about that. Also hotel was clean which isn’t a small thing either. It is just sad that people who know how to do their job properly and struggle to do so were dealt such a rotten hand.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, do not take a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lanim2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and help us spot weak points of our hotel. We are glad you were very satisfied with our staff and hope they made up for some of your complaints. Your feedback is very important and much appreciated and we will forward your comments to the respective departments within our company. We are very sorry that you were bothered by noise and did not sleep well and were not satisfied with our food choice and the Splendit Service. With our main goal to offer a perfectly relaxing and enjoyable holiday to all our guests in mind we will look into your review in more detail and thank you for your suggestions. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you and your family at our hotel on another occasion in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I can't understand the negative reviews left about this hotel at all.Travelling as a family of five from 3rd-10th Jan.We all had a great holiday,hotel is very clean,staff are friendly and work extremely hard to ensure you enjoy your stay.jimmy and mariona do a fantastic job throughout the day entertaining the children/adults. Food was great always something new to try.we would certainly return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlisonGez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Alison, we would like to thank you very much for this review and are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and had a great holiday! Your praise will be shared with our staff. We would love to welcome you and your family at our hotel again in the future for yet another perfect holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Went as part of a stay and cruise holiday so only there for a week. This is the old Esmeralda hotel and the holes in the walls are testament to their notices being removed. There is a very long ramp up to the entrance, no problem for us but some might find it a struggle. Reception is clean and bright and staff very helpful. It's really noisy here as the reception, bar, lounge area and stage are all together in one open plan. The floors and walls are marble and whilst it's clean and beautiful, there are no absorbent sufaces apart from a few sofas, so the noise is incredible. There is nowhere quiet. We came back one night to find about 30 people in the bar - sounded like 300! The corridors to the rooms also have the same problem, wide and bright but all marble. No carpet or wall panels to soak up the sound. Luckily we were at a far end so we didn't have people walking past, but the crashing of doors closing echoing along the corridors was very loud.
The room was clean, good size bathroom and the bed, also a good size, was comfortable.
The loo roll holder was falling off the wall and the number of towels we received with great rips in, is not acceptable in any hotel, let alone a supposed four star. Quite a bit of maintenance needed. Electric socket in our room was loose on the wall, every morning there was plaster on the floor in the corridor (swept up every day) having fallen off the walls. Some of the doors had bits of their surround missing.
The food was OK and did improve towards Christmas. The chef's stations were very good,they would cook what you wanted, then the food was really hot. The arrangements for the Christmas meal were absolutely chaotic, both the queueing for an hour to book your table and 45 minutes again on the night to get in, only to find someone had already taken your table. As all the tables were pre-booked, the staff had to rush round and open the themed restaurant to for displaced guests. Mind you, when on the cruise, we met a couple who said 'oh, we didn't have any trouble, we just walked straight in' , there's your answer then.
The farce over the 10 o'clock closure for Christmas eve has been mentioned in other reviews so I won't go over it again.
The Thomson team were so disinterested unless you were booking trips. We felt that we spoiled their day when we asked them to find out something. Not a good impression
I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope that you had a great stay and relaxing holiday even though you were not completely satisfied with our hotels service and installations. Your feedback is very important for us and we appreciate your help to improve things in the future. Your comments about the noise and state of your room will be passed on to the respective departments where our teams will make sure to find solutions for these issues. We would like to apologize that you had to wait to be seated for the Christmas dinner but would also like to let you know that our bar was open until 1 am on Christmas Eve for all our guests. We would be delighted to have you as our guests again in the future and convince you of our hotel’s quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just arrived back from the Luabay hotel after a 10 night stay & as stated by John P from Selby on the 9th January, this is definitely not a 4 star platinum hotel & I agree with his comments a 100%. Thomson need to seriously reconsider advertising this hotel as a 4 star Platinum hotel otherwise they are going to lose a lot of loyal customers including myself. I would rate this hotel as a 3 star due to the quality of the food and the facilities. Having been very disappointed with the hotel I have to say the staff are pleasant but if you are looking to stay in a 4 star Platinum hotel then do not stay here as you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your comment about your stay at our hotel, Darryl. We are glad you were satisfied with the friendliness of our staff and hope you had a relaxing holiday. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will follow up your complaints about the food and the facilities of our hotel within the responsible departments. We would appreciate to have you as our guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had an excellent time at this hotel. Food,entertainment, pool area etc all very suitable for families with small children. The staff were very friendly and did all they could to ensure we had a great stay .

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
753 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,932 reviews
0.5 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#26 of 61 in Costa Adeje
4,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Regency Torviscas Apartments and Suites
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta Beachfront Family Hotel
0.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $166 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing