We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I didnt cancel!”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Booked our holiday October 2011 and seriously considered changing the holiday after reading Trip Advisor reviews. SO glad we didnt - the hotel has been refurbished and may have had some issues, but these are resolved and we had a wonderful time.
The standard of service and cleanliness were excellent throughout our stay - the room was ample size for two with a large wardrobe and plenty of hangers. Mattress incredibly comfy and blackout curtains worked a treat. Dont bother with remote for TV as it can be worked from wall and only has Sky News on Channel 39 in English. The 'flooding' shower mentioned in many reviews - mmmmm.... just remember to shut the bathroom door and put a towel down, otherwise OK if not on full blast.
Outside areas - spotless throughout with plenty of loungers and umbrellas. Pool bar adequate with sandwichs and cakes for lunch as alternative for seated dining.
Inside public areas modern and airy with plenty of seating.
Food.....Breakfast usual with continental or cooked food. Lunch time/Evening meal - plenty of choice but repetitive. TOP TIP - on arrival, book your two replacement a la carte meals - by the time you realise your bored with evening meals, they will be fully booked!
Resort - hotel in nice position but found Costa Adeje untidy.
The sum up - nice hotel, nice staff and would return.

Room Tip: Two sides to hotel - noisy until midnight and sunny all morning OR quiet after 10.30pm and shaded al...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,028)
There are newer reviews for HOVIMA Costa Adeje
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,573 - 2,579 of 3,028 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2012

We spent two weeks in January at this Hotel, we had emailed them in advance that this was a special holiday to celebrate my retirement and had asked for a room overlooking the pool. On arrival we were allocated a room overlooking the volleyball area with a large cactus in front of the balcony. We asked for another room and was told the hotel was full but if we were prepared to pay for an upgrade to a room overlooking the pool, it would cost €15 per day. We agreed to pay €195, the room was just the same as the one we vacated but did have good views. We tried to pay with a credit card but was told it did not go through so I paid with a debit card, got the receipt and enjoyed the rest of our holiday. ON RETURNING HOME WE DISCOVERED THAT WE HAD PAYED TWICE, THE CREDIT CARD HAD GONE THROUGH. I IMMEDIATELY EMAILED THE HOTEL AND AFTER THREE MORE EMAILS THEY HAVE YET TO REPLY. My credit card company has taken up our case.
The hotel in my opinion is a 3star pretending to be a 4star, certainly not a Platinum.

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook a building plot, all balconies are side on to the views.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Hello Eddie, Thank you for taking the time to write this comment. We are glad to know you enjoyed your holidays with us. We apologize about the inconvenience with the credit card, we’ll try to find the best way to solve it. Thank you for choosing us, hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed at the Luabay from 2nd to 9th February.The staff were all very helpful and the Hotel overall was really nice.The rooms were recently refurbished and to a good standard.The beds were comfortable and while the rooms were on the small side were OK for our weeks stay.The common areas were fitted out with adequate seating,sofas and easy chairs as well as little tables.
The food was good and fresh with a reasonable amount of variety,although if you stayed for 2 weeks I would think it could get a bit boring. Breakfast had a good selection of the usual cereals , fruit ,cheese, eggs and bacon etc., quite often the cooked food was cold (you could put it in the microwave provided).It was a help yourself to Tea & coffee,fruit juices etc,
Pasta at lunch and dinner was cooked for you and really good.
Evening meals usually had a choice of fish or meats ( chops ,steaks,chicken )
The location of the Hotel is quite central and easy to get out & about to the beach and Harbour.
While we were there one of the three lifts was out of order and I understand this had been out for a long period( awaiting parts).there were sometimes very extended waiting periods at peak times really bad for the people on the high floors.We waited 15minutes on checkout day for the lift to arrive and to get our cases down to reception. People we spoke to said the lifts have been a problem even from their trip there 6 years ago. It looks like they have invested in rooms and décor but not in something that can annoy people enough to exclude this Hotel from their choices for a return visit.
The Air-con in our room did not work and we had to sleep with the door open to cool the room down.The little fridge has no ventilation and works against itself to keep cool in its cupboard.
If you put the shower on even half power it tends to flood out onto the floor which will be problem for building maintenance in the future.
Overall we had a really good holiday but with a little more thought from the owners it could have been brilliant.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms don't get the sun until late and can be cold. get a room on a lower floor if you...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GravesendPocahontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, is nice to know you liked the renovation and that you enjoyed our food service. Details like cold food are beeing taking care of and we have solved the issue with the lifts. We apologize about the Air-con not working during your stay. We hope you choose us again and the chance to see our changes and improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a very pleasant weeks stay at this hotel. The food was fine although we have had more variety at similar hotels. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff whether in the restaurant, bar or at reception are very helpful.
We very rarely had to queue at the bar or wait very long if using the waiter service. There are sunbeds for everyone around a very nice pool area.
Our room on the 4th non pool side was fine us, our towels were changed and the room cleaned every day.
This is a good value hotel in a very central location

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank der6846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

After reading reviews my husband and I were really worried about having booked this hotel.
We can honestly say that we had a lovely holiday.
This is not up to a Thomson Platinum Hotel but even saying that thiis is a positive report.
The food wasn't exceptional but we ate better than we would have done at home and never came away feeling dissatisfied. They do need to improve tho.
The drinks were fine and we never queued for long and in an evening waiters roamed around to take your order if you preferred to be served.
Although one lift was out of action for 9 out of our 11 day and we were on the 9th floor we never waited for more than 2 minutes for a lift.
Our only criticism would be the noise level in the Evening. There was nowhere to have a quite drink. The bar, liunge and entertainment areas were all open plan.
We would def go back.
Anyone who is worried about a forthcoming holiday here please don't be.
We have only just got back so this is as up-to-date as it gets.

Room Tip: High floors have great views. Non poolside rooms get the sun. Poolside rooms tended to be a bit chil...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BevisLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed at the Luabay 29th Jan to 5th Feb in my opinion this is a great hotel. It has been refurbished to a good standard. We were A/I and we found this a good deal with breakfast,lunch,evening meal and snacks in between no-one need go hungry. The food was above average for Spanish hotels, one downside the food was poorly marked. Personally we found lunch to be a slightly better standard than the evening meal. there was very little waiting for tables in the dining room, once seated the waiters would take your drinks order if you asked for a bottle of wine that's what you got (no scrimping).Pools were kept clean and there were plenty of sunbeds/parasols. Rooms were cleaned daily to a very high standard just leave your towels on the floor and they are changed.Entertainment could have been better but still got 3 good acts out of 6.The entertainment lounge could have been set out better it felt as if you were in a cinema as all the chairs are set out in rows with small tables here and there so some people were having to sit holding their drinks (not ideal). all in all we enjoyed the hotel and for the price yes I would return.

Room Tip: The Higher the better pool side rooms don't get the sun until late afternoon
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Thank you to the wonderful hard working staff from bar to restuarant cleaning, entertainment.just got back from a 3wk holiday sorry all you moaners could'nt fault it, if you want more you need to stay in a 5 star+pay more money!!!!!!!! instead of just sitting moaning get involved with the entertainmet Oscar he's great fun. Holiday is what you make it we met some great people & had some great banter with the waiters. there is some great walks out from the hotel.( beware of people with scratch cards they are time share in disquise)

Room Tip: we were on the 5th floor 529 facing the pool & sea view didn't get a lot of sun this side bu...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank moonlight65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta Beachfront Family Hotel
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#33 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#22 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,710 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA Santa Maria
HOVIMA Santa Maria
#39 of 59 in Costa Adeje
1,525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#34 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $162 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing