We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Thomson Platinum Hotel”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a Thomson Platinum Hotel”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Just arrived back from a 10 night stay at the Luabay. On arrival to the hotel we were greeted with a workman fixing the door to the main entrance and a long queue for the lifts to take our luggage to our room due to only 1 out of the 3 lifts in working order. The working of the lifts was a common problem throughout our stay and often opted for the 6 flights of stairs. In addition, lights were hanging out of the ceiling of the lifts and the sensors on one of the lifts did not allow enough time for people to get in an out.
The room was comfortable and clean, but we did feel that we were in an episode of “changing rooms”. One evening boxes and shopping trolleys appeared in the hallway loaded with pictures and light fittings. The drilling started at 6pm and again at 8:30am, with new light fittings and pictures being erected in the rooms. The dust covered our belongings that had not been removed prior to the workman starting his drilling.
We did not have an issue with our shower, but could see why people did as the shower tray was not very deep and the shower glass was not long enough.
There were minor refurbishments and maintenance work taking place throughout the majority of our holiday, with water leaking from the roof outside the main reception, banging and drilling in an area close to our room, through to finishing touches being made to the pool area (transfers being stuck to the glass)
The pool bar was not open for the first two days, and when the “makeshift pool bar” did eventually open (consisting of a couple of tables and umbrellas) the main hotel bar closed until 5:30pm. This caused long queues at the pool bar which was operated with one member of staff.
For a hotel with 303 bedrooms, there was nowhere near enough sunbeds (around 200) to accommodate all the guests. On a number of occasions all sunbeds were reserved with towels by 8am, and I don't blame guests for reserving them as this was the only way of getting a sunbed. The hotel management erected signs to state that sunbeds should not be reserved and on one occasion removed all towels from the sunbeds, consequently customers lost there towel deposit. I understand that the hotel had put more sunbeds on order, but these did not arrive during our stay. In addition, on the Thomson and Luabay website there are proposed photos of the pool area with four poster outdoor beds; these were nowhere to be seen.
The fire plan on the back of the bedroom door still stated the previous hotel name, which I would imagine is a breach of health and safety.
Customer service was not as I would expect for a 4 star hotel, with cups not being collected from the pool and main areas during the day and lengthy queues at the bar. The management at the hotel did not seem to want to take any complaints on board and rectify the ongoing issues.
Food was ok for all inclusive although the food and lunch and dinner was exactly the same
Entertainment was poor, one night there was a singer reading the words from a laptop
Good things about the hotel was the location. Costa Adeje and Mexican.
This hotel has a long way to go before it could be considered as a Thomson Platinum.
PS do not pay £120 for a seaview room - they all have a sea view.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cowbag_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Your review helps us improve our service, that’s the reason why we want to apologize if we weren’t running a 100% ready. Openings are complicated and all of your suggestions will be taken to our hotel management in order to give you exclusive and superior service. We are glad you like the hotel location and we’ll improve to be as good as our location on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    1,149
    460
    118
    42
See reviews for
409
2,008
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,169)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel (now Luabay Costa Adeje) from 6th to 13 th November. The Hotel is spotlessly clean with the public areas, pools and rooms all completely refurbished. Bedrooms were small but had flat screen HD TVs, new beds and modern bathrooms. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful (even the overworked dining room staff).
Now the Bad Points:-
The lifts were continually breaking down. The Shower was badly designed causing flooding in some of the rooms. Shower tray was less than half an inch deep. The fridge did not chill drinks properly. The hairdryer kept cutting out. The food was eatable but fairly basic and repetitive and certainly nowhere near platinum standards. Wine with food was poor quality.
No safety deposit keys were available to us until our second day.
At dinner, the waiters were grossly overworked. How they remained polite, I do not know.
They were running back and forward in a mad rush trying to set/clear tables and take drinks orders. The head waiters were rushing us to tables where we regularly waited up to 15 minutes to have our drinks order taken. The restaurant is obviously grossly understaffed.
The entertainment was of poor quality so we ended up going out to other pubs for half decent entertainment.
On 2 mornings, all sunbeds were reserved with towels before 8am with nobody near them.
Some people did not get to the pool till lunch time having left their towels all morning. However, the management sorted this out by removing all unattended towels.
Having said all that, we still had a good holiday, but Thomsons are selling this as a Platinum Hotel under false pretences.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view. Rooms on other side look on to pipes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
We appreciate your kind words over our staff members and our cleaning service. Thank you for the good points and also for the bad ones, your comments helps us improve our service. We are pleased to inform you we have solved our elevator problems and at our restaurants buffets now have extensive choice of dishes. We hope to see you soon again to enjoy our improved service and quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed as a family of 3 (with a 14mth old) during 5th Nov and the 12th Nov, I will try and give an honest review on our holiday to help put the minds of those booked up at rest. Simplist ting I can say is the hotel is certainly not as bad as some of the reviews on here. BUT a thomson platinum hotel I would have to disagree with, a lot needs to be improved on in my opinion before this can be classed in that catagory.
I'll start with the negatives and get these out the way.
1) Lifts - there are 3 lifts for this hotel and I must admit i have never experienced such slow lifts in all my life, and thats if all 3 are working which at times was very rare. We were only on the 3rd floor but we ended up carrying the pushchair with our toddler up and the down the stairs the majority of the time as it was by far the quickest thing to do.
2) Pools freezing - this is possibly not the hotels fault and possibly mine for not checking more into it but i assumed (wrongly) that the pools especially the baby one would be heated but it wasnt and the water was freezing. Now I know the saying once you brave it and get in its not as bad but believe me I tried and it wasnt happening, my daughter spent 30 mins max of our holiday in the pool which was a shame.
3) The Bar - for a hotel of this size to only have one bar open during the evening is crazy, especially when they put on entertainment and aim to encourage as many people as possible to come in. There was a que each evening for a drink which can get a bit annoying but again not the end of the world.

Good points
The room was adequate, the food was acceptable if a little repetitive although you can always find something to fill your tummy and thats coming from me one of the worlds fussiest eaters, the staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough for you - so much so that we had a problem with our shower one morning and within a couple of hours this was sorted, evening entertainment was good and helped pass the night away.

Best thing about this hotel is the location. You are a stones throw away from the beach and promenarde, then from here you can walk left all the way round to playa's americas (approx 45mins - 1hr with a buggy) or right and keep going through costa adeje and through a number of other towns. Both walks very nice and you pass all the usual shops, bars etc.

Apologies if Im going on i will try and wrap up, we enjoyed a very nice holiday here at the Luabay costa adeje, not what we were expecting having booked what we thought was a thomson platinum hotel but all the same very nice. The hotel has recently opened so Im sure with time a lot of the niggles will get ironed out, for those already booked I would say you have nothing to worry about, the hotel will meet your expectations (if you dont set them too high), hope you enjoy your hols.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cheesystu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Is nice to know you enjoyed your holidays at Luabay Costa Adeje and we would like to thank you for your kind words for our staff members. In order to solve those bad points you mentioned, your suggestions will be taken to an specific department from our hotel management, although I’m glad to inform you that the elevator issue is now solved and we’ve improved our Bar service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Just arrived back after a week at the Luabay Costa Adeje ( formerly Esmerelda). We stayed between 5th - 12th November - the same time as some of those below and must say we must have been at different hotels. The hotel has had a make-over as can be seen from the slideshow on display in the very clean, and modern, foyer.
We were in room 534 overlooking the tennis courts and had a great view of the sea, as well as the hills behind Adeje. The room itself was nice, clean, the bathroom was fine, and the shower cubicle nothing like the 'problem' described below. It was a 'walk in' continental style shower room so could be prone to getting water on the floor, but a little bit of care made sure it was not a particular problem. The room had a working fridge, plenty of hangers and drawer space for the two of us.
The lifts were, admittedly, very slow and we found it easier to use the stairs. I can see this being a problem for the less mobile who would have to wait a while for a lift. Obviously at busy periods ( breakfast and dinner) you could wait quite a while for a lift.
The restaurant was brilliant. We managed to get a table on the outside veranda almost every night with great views of the sunset. Staff were polite and friendly, bringing your drink order pretty quickly, but could be slow at busy times. The food selection was very good for an all-inclusive hotel - the disparaging remarks below probably reflect the personal tastes of the individuals ( i.e. there was quite a selection of non-standard British food which was not to their tastes). I found that there was a very good selection of meat and fish dishes, salads, tapas, vegetables and desserts and cheeses. There was also a 'Pasta Station' where you could have fresh cooked pasta prepared to order.You also have the opportunity to book into the A La Carte restaurant for a themed Mexican or Spanish menu. We did the Mexican and it was fabulous.
The main bar and stage area got busy on an evening but we always managed to get a table. The bar got busy, but there were nearly always 4 staff at the bar so waiting time was kept quite low. Entertainment was quite good. There was a main show every evening at 10.00pm, sometimes a warm-up act at 9.30pm.
The pool side area is clean, tidy, and we observed constant attention to keeping the area clean. This time of year the sun does not reach the sunbeds till 10.00am and this is what caused the biggest laugh of the week. Inconsiderate Brits ( yes Brits) were setting towels on sunbeds as early as 7.00am yet not using the beds until after 11.00am. Late in our week, after probably receiving numerous complaints, the Head Housekeeper posted a warning note that it was not permitted to 'reserve' sunbeds. Next morning a member of staff and the housekeeper went around all sunbeds with towels on them ( but no guests) and removed the towels. It was hilarious seeing people on their balconies rushing downstairs to catch up and get their towels back. This incident will no doubt receive criticism and complaints on this site, but I applaud the hotel for taking this stance. The next day there were certainly a lot fewer 'reserved' beds!!
Overall I can say that this hotel has done an excellent job and deserves its 4 star rating and i would happily use this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Wilsmaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We've just returned from a week's holiday at the Luabay, and must say PLEASE don't be put off by some of the previous bad reviews because the hotel is EXCELLENT! We arrived on Friday 4 November, all a bit concerned having read the reviews before travelling, but shouldn't have been. The reception, bar and pool area was very modern, clean and bright. Without exception the staff were friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is located in the centre of the resort and our balcony, overlooked the pools and we had spectacular views of the sea and the island of La Gomera. The top pool is an infinity pool and although the water is VERY cold I recommend you try it for the wonderful views! We were all inclusive and the food was always nice with plenty of choice, from pizza, pasta, paella, to roast dinners, anyone not being able to find something nice must be a very picky eater. There were some problems with the lifts the first few days - although there are three, only two seemed to work at any time - and as we were on the 9th floor it was a bit of a nuisance. However, the engineers worked on them and I think it was resolved when we left - and it certainly wasn't enough of a problem to spoil the holiday. All in all, we had a wonderful time, would definitely recommend it and want to go back again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool had the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Myself and wife have just returned from a weeks holiday and I can assure you there is nothing to worry about with this hotel. The hotel its self is nicely decorated and the main reception area and pool area are done very tastefully. The food is good, if not that varied and yes, the lifts are not that good, but if the lifts make or break your holiday, then you will probably not like the hotel.

Overall I think anyone staying here would be happy, the two al a carte evenings in the resteraunt are good too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Partridgeaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

As per the previous review we are currently staying here with Thomson. We arrived on the 5th November and had also contacted Thomson before we arrived and got the same repsonse that the hotel and all facilities would be completed..Since we arrived we have complained about the air conditioning which didn't work in our room, the fridge didn't work(it was an old fridge),the hairdryer keeps cutting out (again an old original one).The shower tray has been badly "bodged" and leaks all over the bathroom.There are bare wires showing in our room and the hotel is clearly not a four star or a platinum standard. We booked on the strength of this reasurance and that it would be totally refurbished.You cannot use the words "luxury" or "league of their own" as Thomson do to describe this hotel.. In fairness the hotel is clean, the food is edible but basic.There is very little choice wether its lunch or dinner. Finally we were the last drop on the coach despite our platinum guarrantee!I will post more on my return.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank goodfaith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Openings need a lot of hard work and we apologize for the inconvenience we might caused you. Thank you for your review, all the things you mentioned are solved or are being solved now, I’m glad to let you know that the refurbish is all done, and at our buffets we serve a large variety of fresh dishes and our lifts are working with no problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#34 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,339 reviews
1.6 mi away
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
#1 of 2 in La Caleta
1,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#25 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta
HOVIMA La Pinta
#35 of 58 in Costa Adeje
789 reviews
0.5 mi away
HOVIMA Panorama
HOVIMA Panorama
#29 of 58 in Costa Adeje
907 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA Santa Maria
HOVIMA Santa Maria
#43 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Property: HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#34 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing