We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night enough!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahia Princess Hotel
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Had a single night dinner, bed and breakfast prior to moving to our original reservation at hotel Los gigantes, which wasn't quite ready post a refurbishment. We were pleased. Dated decor, average meals (flies all over the fruit), broken safe and had a cockroach running around in our bathroom much to my wife's disgust. This a Thomson platinum, we will not be making a reservation and certainly glad we had only 1 night.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,392 - 1,398 of 2,176 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

Good hotel with excellent food and service. Safe hire was E30 (tad expensive). Some nights, were noisy with a front facing room (locals coming home singing!) Didn't spoil our enjoyment though. if you can get a deal stay there

Room Tip: On arrival ask for a room away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank andnevlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Firstly, on arrival to hire a safe and a fridge (both in room) the cost was E90 for 2 weeks - bit of a niggle at 10.30 pm. having been travelling since 6 am that morning! Then we advised that the pool towels would cost E2.25 per towel to change - however we managed to change ours when the guy was not around - bit cheeky but that's what other guests told us to do. Not a good hotel for the less mobile - from reception, there are 30 steps down to the shop area and then another 52 down to the pool and restaurant area. There are lifts but still quite a lot of walking in between lift areas. The rooms are a good size and well furnished, as are the bathrooms although our complimentary toiletries were not replaced, unless we found the Maid and asked her. The food is very good (I note one review about not getting fresh coffee as one would expect in a 5* hotel - although Thomson give it 5T's it is only a 4*) however the coffee in the machine was very good and plenty of choices. Also, no-one seemed to mind if you returned time and time again from the pool area for drinks until they closed at about 11 am. The entertainment team and Thomson reps were very friendly, encouraging but never pushy, always ready for a chat and happily and readily dealt with any problems or niggles. Yes, the hotel needs more than "a touch of paint" in many places outside but the whole of the buildings and pool areas are kept spotless. Some of the entertainment in the evenings was not worth a mention but others, including Comedy Elvis, Anthony Scott and the Bollywood Show was well worth seeing. Also, if you hear that Alberto is ever performing, make a point of staying up to listen to him - he has a superb voice as well as being a lovely guy. Another "downer", the local restaurants drive you mad trying to grab you in, when all you want is a nice walk in the beautiful weather and to see the lovely sunsets over Costa Adeje. Will be remembered as one of the good holidays and will quite possibly return next Spring.

Room Tip: Send email in advance - ask for a room around the lower pool so you don't have to climb those st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel Bahai Princess was a lovely hotel and very impressive to look at. It was surprisingly quiet for August with no queues for the restaurant and no difficulties in finding a sunbed by one of the 3 pools. The rooms were large and the food and variety on menu was excellent. The pools were kept very clean and the music and entertainment was not too loud. The hotel is in a great location for local shops and restaurants and it is not far to a very popular sandy beach.The Thompson reps were helpful and the trips organised were very good. The Teide by night trip was exceptional and well worth the money. The Siam Park and Submarine trips were great and the catamaran trip to see pilot whales and dolphins was only good under certain circumstances. It is best to do that trip when the sea isnt too choppy and after taking a travel sickness tablet. Lots of people who did not take pills and lots of children were sick and did not enjoy the included buffet, seeing the whales or the swim stop. My main complaints about the hotel were that the beds were hard and not very comfortable to sleep on. There was no kettle or tea making facilities in the room. It was annoying to have to pay extra for fridge and safe hire and the air conditioning could make the rooms very cold so often had to be turned off.No holiday is 100% perfect but I would say that this is a great place to stay and that Tenerife was surprisingly lovely :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RivendellLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in August the staff very helpful and the rooms very clean. I did find the entertainment very limited and the mini club for the kids is very limited. Also they advertise it has having wi-fi but this is a lie.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Bodeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. The hotel is lovely the staff can not do enough for you they were very friendly and helpfull. The house keeping was very good (the maid even made a pretty fan shape out of my nighty which i left on the bed). The hotel its self is immaculate and its good that you have a choice of three pool areas, the entertainment was good however we didnt really stay around for alot of it. I have to say the standard of food was BRILLIANT, there was a wide varitety to choose from and it was very tasty, the drinks were alittle pricey from the hotel but worth staying around for a couple as they had a singer at the top bar in the evenings which was very relaxing, good entertainment for adults. The location had alot of shops and it was easy to get from one place to another if you fancied a change. Tenerife is a lovely place, and Mount Teide is worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Bahia Princess looks a great hotel when walking past from outside and I am sure when first built it looked just as good close up but I am afraifd it is starting to show its age and a revamp of the rooms is very much needed along with a coat of paint or 2 for everywhere else.
Thomsons are not doing themselves any favours by marketing this hotel as 5* as it clearly is not, in fact the hotel itself only calls itself a 4* and to be honest I would have some issues with that.
If you want to be at the higher end of the star scale then certain services need to be available.
I have never been to a hotel of any star where they have not had an iron in the room and used the excuse of health and safety. If that was a genuine reason then no hotel would provide irons in the room. Although you can use their laundry service to have clothes ironed (at reasonable cost) you dont always have time for someone to collect and return something if you want to wear it there and then.
There are also no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which seems strange if they want to call themselves 4*. In fact there are no plugs in the room other then the bathroom so if you want to charge phones, laptops etc.. I sugest you take extra adaptors.
There is also the issue of the internet connection. The days of going on holiday and forgetting about the office are, unfortunately, a thing of the past for a lot of people and internet usage should come as standard. There has been other reviews about the cost of the service and I would agree if you want to be called 4* then this service should be free but even if you have to pay for it you should have the service available. The connection is only available in the reception area of the main hotel and it is ridiculous that it is not available in the rooms or pool.
The biggest issue was the connection was not working for the whole time we stayed and the reception simply shrugged their shoulders and said the server is down and told us to use the bar across the road. Why they thought having to get up and go to the bar across the road everytime you needed to check e-mails would be acceptable I do not know. If the problem was the server then the obvious answer would be change servers as other hotels did not have the problem as you could see their connections when checking.
There are some plus points to the hotel. The breakfast was very good with a good selection and also fresh omelettes being prepared. We ate at the hotel once in the evening and the food was fine although I would not want to eat there every evening as buffets tend to become repetative, but this is just my opinion and we knew before going we would be eating out most nights as there are a number of excellent restaurants close by.
I will do seperate reports for restaurants but some recommendations would be Coeur de Filet (just up from the beach), Masia del Mar (overlooking the sea in La Caleta) or Monte Christo (right opposite the hotel).
For convenience we stopped at the Wigan Pier one night for a drink and never again, the only thing missing was Jeremy Kyle !!!
There were always plenty of sunbeds available despite some people getting up at silly times to reserve some of the poolside beds but another drawback of the hotel is the layout. Nearly all sunbeds around the pool are shadowed for parts of the day due to the numerous building of the hotel and the sunbeds that get the sun all day are away from the pool and require to go up or down steps everytime you want to get anywhere.
There is also the issue of room allocation and if you are given a room in the main hotel then you will either overlook the road to the front or the building to the rear, very few rooms have views of the pool like in the brochure pictures because of the layout. If you are housed in the annexxe you will have a small balcony that gets no sun all day and the entrance to your rooms is like that of self catering accomodation and so if you are being given one of these rooms you should be advised before and a cheper rate offered.
If you have already booked this hotel I would not be too worried as none of the problems will ruin your holiday but when added up they make what should be a very relaxing experience less so due to poor layout and service.
If returning to the area I would not stay here again until they addressed the issues as there are far better hotels close by for similar cost.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manxtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#36 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,509 reviews
0.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#13 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,764 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#23 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,223 reviews
0.6 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Princess Hotel

Address: Avenida Bruselas, no 1 | Princess Hotels Resorts, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#20 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $148 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel is located in the Costa Adeje resort. The Fañabe beach, shopping malls, bars and restaurants are all nearby. Located in the south of Tenerife the hotel is ideal for those looking for rest and relaxation, prefer a central location, value a personalized service and wanting to have the beach just around the corner. Built like an ancient palace the Bahía Princess features tall pillars, a gigantic glass dome in the entrance area, light marble and a magnificent staircase that leads down to the main pool. The Bahía Princess has 275 rooms located in a main and annex building, all featuring bathrooms with bathtub-shower-combination, satellite-tv (flat screen) and air conditioning. In addition to the large outdoor pool there is also a children's pool and two swimming pools with further areas to soak up the sun. Two pool bars offer cool drinks and tasty snacks. The main restaurant boasts an art-deco-style interior and a terrace overlooking the pool. The entertainment options include shows and live-music in the evening and fitness activities during the day. Furthermore two theme parks are just a stone's throw away from the Bahía Princess: Siam Park and Aqualand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bahia Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Princess Tenerife
Bahia Princess Costa Adeje
Bahia Hotel Princess Tenerife
Bahia Princess Hotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje
Hotel Bahia Princess Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing