We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with great care to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel with great care to detail”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Took my wife for her birthday last month & the service was fantastic, they catered for all my requirements including flowers on arrival with wine that I had specified, also done a great birthday cake on the day with breakfast in the villa. The Vila itself no 26 was perfect as I wanted to be away from the kids play area which again they obliged me with after reading some other reviews. Do your research, plan ahead & give reasonable requests, you too can have the perfect holiday.
Thanks again to everyone at villa Maria, we are very happy customers & will be back again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª Victoria G, General Manager at Hotel Suite Villa Maria, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your last experience at the Hotel Suite Villa María. We are so happy to read that you and your wife spent a lovely birthday and that our facilities and the Villa that you chose fulfilled your expectations. We strive daily with each guest to ensure that your stay is almost perfect and, during it, to let you have every little detail you may wish.

I would like to let you know that the hotel has a golf course, “Los Lagos”, where you can practice this sport, either initiation or professional, always with a wonderful mountains and sea view. We offer special packs which include stay and golf, you can check them at the hotel web site if you are interested in it for your next visit.

Our team hopes to receive you soon, it will be a pleasure. Please, contact us to let us repeat your great experience lived at our hotel.


Best regards,

Mª Victoria Gómez
General Manager
Hotel Suite Villa María*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    130
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
392
132
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in March with our 1 year old son. We wanted somewhere that was child friendly, and high quality.

There is a great deal the hotel is doing right, and while we would probably recommend it, we would do so with a mention of a few things that need attention. We'd like this review to be useful to people to share a factual summary to help you in making a decision based on the things that are most important to you.

The great bits...

- The hotel / resort is definitely child friendly. Most guests during our stay had children and they catered very well for them.

- The childrens playroom was excellent, the variety of pools will suit every age group, and the outdoor playground was in great condition.

- There are ramps and lifts around so pushing a pram around is ok, but that depends on your Villa location.

- The staff are all friendly, helpful and great with kids too.

- The cleaning staff run the place like clockwork and did an incredible job.

- Overall, everything from the Villa's to the communal areas are in good, clean, working condition.

The disappointing bits...

Worth noting that these points are based on the venue being 5 star. Our expectation will have been different had it been rating as 3 star.

- Its been mentioned by a number of other posts but the food is poor in our opinion. Breakfast is just about ok, there's plenty of choice but the quality is mediocre. I.e. at a true 5 star resort you would expect fresh bread, juices not from concentrate etc. The restaurant is then very disappointing indeed. The menu is limited (absolutely not 'extensive' as described in some responses from the hotel to other reviews) and doesn't change at all, and then almost unbelievably there are no desserts on offer. Worth noting that the lunch and evening menu are the same, with the exception of a few snacks, which are then the same as the room service menu. We would have liked the option to spend the whole week in the resort and relax with our little one but really were forced to go in search of better quality lunches and dinners.

- A further point on the food, given the resort overall is so child friendly, the child menu is limited, and is certainly not a 'healthy' menu e.g. chicken nuggets, chips, spaghetti, omelette.

- The Wifi in the Villa's didn't work for the first 4 days of our stay, and was slow for the remainder of it. We got mixed messages from staff about the issue (some said it was being fixed, and others said it was only available in communal areas). It may be that Wifi is not an issue for you, but for us with a young child, after 8pm we would like to be able to stream movies for example, or do some work and that became difficult / impossible. I note that the hotel has responded to many posts dating back to October indicated the Wifi is to be fixed but we are here at the end of March, and the issues persist.

Overall...

Its important to mention that in writing this review, we are benchmarking the hotel against what our expectations of a 5 star venue would be, and as other reviews have mentioned, it is just not 5 star at this moment.

If you have young children, and are willing to travel outside for food, then its absolutely perfect and you'll have a wonderful time (as long as you haven't paid 5 star prices to stay here!). We will certainly look for 'Villa Hotels' for our next hotel as the convenience of a hotel is matched with the space and privacy of a Villa holiday.

For us, we would be tempted to return if we see that these problems have been addressed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ohmygosh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª Victoria G, General Manager at Hotel Suite Villa Maria, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your last experience at the Hotel Suite Villa María. It was a pleasure having you and your family at our Villas.

Regarding the food offer, all our gastronomy area is managed by the Chef David Moraga, who has more than 15 years of experience working at the best restaurants and hotels of the island. All our dishes are prepared at the moment, with fresh and first quality products including local products, because we look for the best guests satisfaction. However, if we don´t cover your expectations, our restaurant staff is available for any change of food, to cook any special dish for you that is not on the menu or to hear your suggestions at the moment. Our goal is always to fulfill our guest´s expectations and their satisfaction with our service and products, so please, feel free to tell us your gastronomy wishes and we´ll take note for your next stay with us.

On the other hand, we go on doing our best to offer the best Wifi signal for all our guests, something very difficult in the island due to the own resources of the islands.

I´d like to remember that we offer in high season special activities for children with our animation team, so kids can enjoy even more our facilities specially designed for them.

Thanks to our guest’s opinions, we improve everyday with effort and desire, in order to see you soon in Tenerife. Please, do not hesitate in contacting us to prepare your next visit to te island, as I´m sure everything will fulfill your expectations.

Best regards,

Mª Victoria Gómez
General Manager
Hotel Suite Villa María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were looking for a warm winter break in Tenerife, away from the hustle bustle.... Hotel Villa Maria didn't disappoint. Great villas, with tranquility, lovely complex and few people when we were there. Wifi in rooms doesn't work but we followed someone else's advice and bought Apple airport at Gatwick and had our own network. The villas are up the hill a bit from Caleta, no issue and some lovely restaurants in the village. Albeit it's near a golf course playing golf is not required. Breakfast including champagne is great and plentiful, staff very welcoming ... Hotel restaurant a bit expensive if you aren't on half board. Would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToraTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª Victoria G, General Manager at Hotel Suite Villa Maria, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent stay at the Hotel Suite Villa María and for recommending us to your friends & family.

It was a pleasure having you at our Villas, we try hard to avoid overcrowding at common places in order to offer our guests the best relax and comfort and it is nice to read that you felt it.

Regarding Wifi, we are working really hard to cover all hotel areas with a really good connection, we expect to have it fixed in a ver y few days.

Our staff will be happy to welcome you again. please contact us if you want us to organise your next visit to Tenerife.

Best regards,

Mª Victoria Gómez
General Manager
Hotel Suite Villa María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from Hotel Suite Villa Maria and would like to share our findings. The accommodation and cleanliness was first class. Service was very good and waiters very accommodating, friendly and efficient. There was everything you could ask for on offer at breakfast and the standard of the food was excellent. We were able to get a table out on the terrace in the sun which was great. The breakfast times were from 7 - 11 so there was no hustle and bustle or pushing when getting your food. Everyone was polite. We had a one bedroom standard villa which was first class. It had a lounge with dining table, big tv, kitchenette which was very well equipped with what looked like new cookware, a shower room and toilet. Upstairs was the quite large bedroom with walk on balcony and en-suite with double washbasins, bath and separate shower and separate toilet. There was a good size patio with a settee and table and chairs and an area with astro turf and two sun beds.

There were two swimming pools and one childrens' pool which were nicely laid out. There were lots of sunbeds for everyone and no towels laid out on beds!

There is one thing I would suggest and that is if you want a view - request a higher villa. We stayed in 51 and that was ideal overlooking the putting green below, and the sea beyond. I would suggest that the villas at the front are probably not the best and these overlook the road.The villa site is on a slope so for anyone finding walking up or down slopes/steps need to consider this, but it isn't that bad.

The location was a little isolated but within easy reach of a stroll down to La Caleta where there are a few restaurants, but no beach. You need to catch the hotel free bus service and go to Del Duque which has a really nice beach and facilities. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet place to stay but within easy reach of more busy resorts.

Room Tip: Villas 46 - 53
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª Victoria G, General Manager at Hotel Suite Villa Maria, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing with us your last and positive experience at Hotel Suite Villa María, It was a pleasure for us to have you at our facilities. We try everyday to improve to fulfill our guests expectations, and it´s wonderful to read that we have done it with you.

Also, we are happy to know that the Villa where you stayed was comfortable, clean and spacious for your needs, all our Villas have such a beautiful sea views where you can relax, all of them are overlooking the Atlantic and the mountains on the other view.

You can also enjoy our golf course Los Lagos, whare you can enjoy this sport surrounded of nature, mountains in one side and the ocean in the other one.

I would like to invite you to discover in your next visit our restaurant La Torre, where our chef, David Moraga, will be waiting for you to prepare his creative and delicious dishes, you will love it, for sure.

Our staff hope to see you soon in Tenerife.

Best regards,

Mª Victoria Gómez
General Manager
Hotel Suite Villa María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin - Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Having used Trip advisor to select this Hotel I am only to delighted to report back on it.

Where though does one start with an establishment of this quality?!

On arrival we were welcomed, quickly checked in and then taken by Golf cart up to our villa, we selected a 3 bedroom villa even though it was only two of us and our 3yr old daughter.

The villa was not done justice by the images on various websites! but I can confirm they are spacious! very modern! contemporary and immaculately clean! the 3 bedrooms have a pool which is plenty big enough, we swam and entertained our daughter in there for hours.

I would define the villas as to a very high standard.

To provide a little more info this is not really a hotel, it is a reception area which controls 78 villas, all of the villas are easily accessible from reception, we were number 18 which is one of the furthest off villas but none are more than 100-125 metres.

There is a 24hr reception, pool bar which serves food from around mid day to 1800hrs, then you have a restaurant upstairs from reception which serves until 2300hrs.

Also present, are a mini market which is great, gym, hairdressers and internet access.

The wifi is very good in the reception area but is not yet live around the resort, the hotel were telling me they are working on this but really we had internet on our phones (3G) anyway so it was not an issue really, I could pick up the villa Maria wifi from the villa but it did not work! it does work fine from reception or pool, restaurant areas.

We used all facility's including room service on many occasions and we found everything to be of consistent and good quality.

The staff make this place, we did not find one who was not hospitable, friendly, great with kids and helpful, being a large scale employer myself, I can attest that this is no mean feat.. Fantastic people.

We managed fine with no hire car, and spent most days lounging by the pool, playing with our daughter at the various indoor and outdoor play areas provided or just eating and drinking! it is no word of a lie that I had a tear in my eye as I said good bye to the staff at the pool bar on our last day! I can only assume that they will still be there the next time we visit such is the job satisfaction those personnel appear to hold.

I tested every aspect of the food service and NO is not a word I like to hear in the restaurant trade! and the great news is that I did not hear that fateful word once, previous reviews I read suggested that there was little flexibility in the food service. Thankfully, we found that even when requesting items or cooking styles not on the menus,that our requests were met without the slightest hint of protest.

There is a supermarket 1 mile up the road, and it's 15 minutes walk down to la caleta! not that I would recommend la caleta as it's frankly pretty poor.

Plaza duque is more recommended for shopping and there are a few suitable eateries around there between fanabe beach and la caleta.

Villa Maria is not cheap, we paid 3000+ euros for accommodation! them around 150-200 euro per day for food for 3 of us on site there. We were happy with the convenience of that and enjoyed this place so very much indeed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª Victoria G, General Manager at Hotel Suite Villa Maria, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for writing this lines about your last experience at the Hotel Suite Villa María and the wonderful days you spent with your family. Our staff try to improve everyday to make you feel as if you were at home, even better, offering you our services and helping you in what you need at anytime. We apologize about the wifi signal at the Villas and, in fact, we are working on it and we hope to have it solved as soon as possible.

I would like to inform you about our kids areas specially designed for them, where your children will enjoy playing and doing fun activities. Also, if you would like to discover Tenerife, you could find at the reception our excursions booking service.

We hope to receive you soon again at the hotel Suite Villa María, and if you want to enjoy the same comfortable Villa, just let us know, and we would do our best to please you.

Best regards,

Mª Victoria Gómez
General Manager
Hotel Suite Villa María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have just returned from a week at Hotel Suite Villa Maria with my family, children age range 10-20. I cannot fault our stay in this hotel. We have stayed in various other ones, 5* included on the Island before as we come to Tenerife most years but I am pleased to say there will be no more looking! The villa we stayed in is private & spacious & kept beautifully clean daily. The staff were polite and friendly at all times but still remained professional.
We ate out most evenings but enjoyed the incredible buffet breakfast and pool bar lunches most days. I also managed a session in the perfectly well equipped gym every evening.
I heard the hotel was full to capacity when we were there but it never felt like it which is an incredible achievement on their part; many free sun beds round the pool, always a table at breakfast & lunch, & generally a relaxed atmosphere around the place.
The hotel I think caters for all sorts, families with young as well as older children. Couples, even singles. A truly relaxing but family fun week- we will so be back Villa Maria!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª Victoria G, General Manager at Hotel Suite Villa Maria, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing with us your last experience at the Hotel Suite Villa María, we try to improve everyday to turn your days into an unforgettable experience in Tenerife, so it is a pleasure to read your lines.

Our staff will be waiting for you soon and we would like to invite you and your family to visit the hotel’s restaurant, La Torre, where you can enjoy the creative and delicious dishes made at the moment and with fresh and first quality products by our Chef, David Moraga, who will be happy to receive you.

Best regards,
Mª Victoria Gómez
General Manager
Hotel Suite Villa María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I had never been to Tenerife before and we like to be away from the hustle and bustle of big resort centres but not in the middle of nowhere. We were very dubious as to whether this was going to be possible on Tenerife but Villa Maria was just what we needed and more. Whilst there were only two of us we had a two bedroomed villa with a large outdoor area in the form of a patio/garden downstairs, with sun loungers, armchairs and a table and four chairs for outside dining. Upstairs was a lovely large balcony with two more deep-cushioned wicker armchairs. The panoramic views from both outside areas was fantastic panning from the mountain tops over the Costa Adeja and across to La Gomera. Inside the villa there was an excellent kitchenette with a decent sized fridge and indoor eating area, plus a lounge area with 2 x settees and large screen TV. The bedrooms and bathrooms were well equipped and with plenty of room and storage. The pool area is excellent divided into two swimming pools with a separate childrens pool. The staff were very helpful and the team in the restaurant were excellent. The food was excellent and champagne with the very extensive breakfast choices was a lovely start to the day. I like to go scuba diving and the reception team organised my diving with the excellent Aquanautic Club/Barracuda Club dive centre in Playa Paraiso, who provided transport to and from the hotel. The fishing village of La Caleta, just a few minutes downhill walk from the Villas, has excellent seafront fish restaurants and taxis are plentiful so no need to walk back up to the Villas. This Villa Hotel really has wow factor and we will certainly be hoping to return very soon.

Room Tip: I would suggest ask for a room away from the pool area if you want total peace and relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargueriteVNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª Victoria G, General Manager at Hotel Suite Villa Maria, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing with us your last positive experience at the Hotel Suite Villa María, we are really happy to read that it fulfilled your expectations. It was a pleasure for us to turn your stay into a perfect and unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to inform you about our course Golf Costa Adeje, one of the best golf courses on the island with wonderful views, perfect to practice this sport between the scuba diving and pool time. Maybe you like to try it in your next visit to Tenerife.

Our staff will be happy to receive you again soon.

Best regards,

Mª Victoria Gómez
General Manager
Hotel Suite Villa María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
1.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.0 mi away
Baobab Suites
Baobab Suites
#8 of 58 in Costa Adeje
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.4 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 58 in Costa Adeje
729 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#3 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suite Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suite Villa Maria

Property: Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Address: Avenida los Acantilados s/n | La Caleta, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#19 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Suite Villa Maria 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Suite Villa Maria is a 5 star complex located on the southwest side of Tenerife, only 25 minutes from the Tenerife south airport and approximately one kilometer from the beachfront of La Caleta with impressive views over both La Caleta, towards Teide and the mountains of the southern portion of Tenerife. Its particular urban and architectonic design is based upon that of the traditional villages and hamlets of the Canarian Archipelago and comprises a total of 78 duplex villas, in different Canarian architectural styles, with one bedroom, two bedrooms with or without outside Jacuzzi and with three bedrooms with private swimming pool. Perfectly integrated with the Costa Adeje golf course, they are surrounded by two superb swimming pools, beautiful walk-ways and exotic tropical gardens. All villas enjoy an enviable position with magnificent views of the golf course, the mountains, the ocean and La Gomera Island. An unforgettable location with the excellence and quality of service of a five star complex, in a quiet area which is both comfortable, familiar and friendly especially designed for those who are looking for quality, rest and a personalized service, where to relax and unwind during their holidays. All of this together with the exclusive and personalized attention of our staff - motivated by their dedication and passion for work - and characterized by the same spirit which permeates Villa Maria - that of the truly authentic Canaries: its hospitality, kindness, loving and closeness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Suite Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Suite Villa Maria Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing