We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort vs. Abama Hotel Resort vs. Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa”
Review of Bahia del Duque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bahia del Duque
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort vs. Abama Hotel Resort vs. Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My family and I have just got back from a very enjoyable stay at the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora. It is the second time this year we have stayed at this resort. Having now stayed at what are considered to be the three best hotels in Teneriffe, I thought I would compare them based on a range of criteria...

LOCATION
Both the Gran Melia and the Abama are located in the middle of nowhere. You have to take a taxi to reach the nearest decent sized town. Arguably, however, the whole beauty of these resorts is that there is no reason to leave them, so I wouldn't let this put you off. The Gran Melia is located on the coast and you can go for walks along the sea front or to the (small) nearby town. The Bahia del Duque is in a much better location in the middle of Adeje with lots of shops and decent restaurants in easy walking distance. You are also a short taxi drive away from Playa de las Americas which is excellent for shopping, restaurants, and if you fancy it, a 'night out on the town'.

Gran Melia 3 (out of 5)
Bahia del Duque 5
Abama 2


FOOD
The food at the Gran Melia is very good. If you stay on a full board basis you can eat at either the buffet or one of three a la carte restaurants. The buffet is excellent with a great range of options to suit even the fussiest of eaters. The restaurants vary in quality. The Ocean Club Italian restaurant is excellent, the others average. You have to book the restaurants in advance if you want to guarantee a table. I would say that the Bahia del Duque has the edge over the Gran Melia in terms of food, both in terms of quality and choice. The Bahia del Duque has a buffet as well as several a la carte restaurants to choose from including a Japenese, French and Italian option. These are all included as part of the half and full board packages although you pay a supplement for certain menu options which I found quite annoying. The Abama is let down by poor food. The breakfast buffet is excellent but the restaurants are poor unless you pay a supplement to eat in restaurants not included as part of the half and full board packages

Gran Melia 4 (out of 5)
Bahia del Duque 4.5
Abama 2.5


SERVICE
The service at all three of these hotels is as you would expect from a five star hotel, although arguably the Bahia del Duque has the edge in terms of professionalism and attention to detail. The Gran Melia offers 'Red Level' accommodation which has a 'Red Glove Service'. I failed to see any benefit of this over and above the service offered to other hotel guests. The villa guests in the Bahia del Duque have a separate reception area as well as separate breakfast areas and lounge facilities. This is a lovely bonus although obviously at a price premium.

Gran Melia 3.5 (out of 5)
Bahia del Duque 4.5
Abama 3.5


ACCOMMODATION
At the Gran Melia we opted for a Red Level Family Garden Suite. This consisted of two rooms connected by a lounge. Each room had its own private garden complete with cabanas directly leading onto the family pool. The rooms were modern, spacious and difficult to fault in any way. At the Bahia del Duque we stayed in a private villa. This consisted of one bedroom, a lounge and one of the most impressive bathrooms I have ever seen. The bath was big enough to fit an entire football team! The villa had a private garden and pool. One of the main downsides of this resort is the fact it is situated on a hill with loads of steps to get anywhere (which is particularly annoying when you have a child in a buggy). The villa is located at the top of the resort, so to get to the beach or main pool was about a 7-10 minute walk. At the Abama we also stayed in a villa which consisted of a lounge and bedroom. Each villa comes with a private golf buggy to enable you to easily get around the resort. Non-villa guests have access to shared resort buggies which you have to phone and order to your room. The buggies are a great bonus as the resort is fairly big and hilly, plus the kids love them (and the dads love driving them!).

Gran Melia 4.5 (out of 5)
Bahia del Duque 4
Abama 3.5


FACILITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT
For me, the Gran Melia wins hands down in terms of facilities. In particular the kids clubs and the sports hub activities, most of which are free to use. The kids played football in organized tournaments every day, and had the option of a range of other activities throughout the day. there is a huge swimming pool as well as a family pool and a kids pool (complete with pirate ship) to choose from. Unfortunately, the main pool was not heated and was too cold to use in the winter. In the evening there is a kids room with bouncy castles and computer games to keep the kids occupied, as well as shows throughout the evening in the hotel theatre. The Abama has a kids club which you have to pay for. There is little in the way of evening entertainment. They have kids movie nights where they screen films on the beach. The set up is amazing, however, a lot of the time the films are screened in Spanish. The Bahia del Duque has a complimentary kids club which is geared to younger children (3 and under). There is a nightly show in the main area of the hotel which is of varied quality.

Gran Melia 5 (out of 5)
Bahia del Duque 2
Abama 3


SUMMARY
All three of these hotels are excellent and you won't go wrong with any of them. If you are travllening with a young family, then I would say the Gran Melia has the edge over the other two hotels based on the spacious rooms and the excellent resort facilities and entertainment. The Bahia del Duque is a stunning hotel in a great location although perhaps a bit boring for kids. The Abama is a lovely resort in a picturesque setting, however, in my opinion, let down by poor quality of food.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
21 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We kindly wish to thank you for having taken the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We monitor all our online reviews very carefully so we can constantly gather feedback and make changes of improvements where need be.

It is great to see that you consider the Bahía del Duque a stunning Resort with a great location. We wish to inform that we offer free access to our Miniclub where different activities are organized from 10 am to 6 pm by our trained staff. As well, it is offered babysitter services on request, children's menu and others that will help you to enjoy your holidays in family.

It is our hope to welcome you back in the future and have the opportunity to meet all your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,514
    380
    123
    64
    38
See reviews for
828
887
40
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay here and from stepping into the hotel the service was first class. Every single member of staff were so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was amazing and we had so much choice, the hotel was full but it didn't feel too busy and we were never made to feel just like a number. The pools were spectacular and the the sun loungers were extremely comfy. The entertainment was good in the hotel and had something different on every night.
There is not one thing I could fault with this hotel, it was amazing and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your well-considered and extremely thorough assessment of your recent stay at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

We feel proud that you found our service first class and we are so glad to know that you will return. It is our hope to make your next stay with us even more memorable.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited this hotel for a little winter sun. We had a wonderful time. The setting, facilities, service and food were really top class. The staff couldn't do enough for us and on one occasion I ordered a cocktail that they hadn't made before so they gave it to me foc! The only minor negative is I thought the buffet restaurant in the evening was overpriced but we would definitely come and stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We booked a last minute half term holiday at the Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque and were very pleased that we did. We had chosen a suite as we were travelling with our son, but when we arrived at the hotel, we were delighted to be upgraded to a villa which gave us access to the quieter area and pool of Las Villas. The hotel was fully booked, but to its credit, it never felt that busy - the site is very varied and absorbed its occupants extremely well. Our villa was lovely with an upstairs bedroom and a downstairs living room with a patio and plunge pool. Although away from the main hotel it was easy to access the rest of the facilities on the site.

My slight criticism would be reserved for the food side of things, notwithstanding breakfast which was great - we ate at both the large main buffet and also at the Villas site. The buffet is HUGE - in fact there's almost too much choice - you eat far too much! Breakfast at the Villa site is a quieter affair where you can order lots of lovely things from the menu. However, dinner wise we ate at La Trattoria - I enjoyed my pasta but my husband thought his pizza a little average. We also ate at Asia Kan - I loved my sushi starter but was very underwhelmed by the Green Curry - was expecting something Thai with fresh basil and coconut milk and it just was just spicy but without any particular identity and I was somewhat disappointed. That said, my husband enjoyed his dish very much so it does perhaps depend on what you choose.

Overall though we thought the hotel was lovely - exceptionally kind staff - special mention to the Villas reception who worked so hard to find a toy which my son lost - we were immensely grateful as he was terribly upset. In fact, all the staff were lovely and kind and we felt very safe and secure. In short we will definitely return, such a lovely hotel and staff plus warm weather in February are a winning combination!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissNomad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for your holidays.

We really appreciate the moment of your time taken to share your experience with our travelers. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

While we are happy to know that your overall stay was great, it is disappointed to know that your expectations were not meet regarding food and beverage area. However, it is thanks to your comments that we can keep improving in our services and standards.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in our Resort.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel, absolutely stunning! Architecture, gardens, pool areas - simply beautiful. Location is top notch, you have it all in reach here. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is rich, you find all you wish for here. And a glass of Cava! The staff can not do enough for you, everyone is so nice and greets you all day long. Lovely staff! The gym is not a forgotten room in a corner, it is a perfectly well maintained gym with staff around. There is a good menu of aqua gym, spinning, stretching and a lot more. Spa is like a dream, totally beautiful and here too the nicest staff. Finally the hotels restaurants. They are world class. The best ever, because normally hotel restaurants tend to be not so very good. But here they are. Delicious! And, of course, with the nicest staff! We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We traveled with my 80 father to Tenerife and were staying at the Iberostar El Mirador. We booked an excursion and they told us they would pick us up at the Bahia del Duque the next morning. My sisters and I walked up the there the night before to make sure we knew where the pick up point would be without having to make my father walk further than what he had to. We approached the front gate of the hotel where a man with a funny costume was stationed and attempted to ask him about where the pick up spot was. He refused to answer our questions and told us to move behind an imaginary line by the sidewalk. I tried to explain that we just needed directions for the next morning. He was extremely rude and unhelpful and kept dismissing us Not at all the way we expected to be treated in a foreign country that lives for tourism..... I'm glad we spent our money and stayed at a resort whose employees show respect to others.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Last year we were surprised to be told when we arrived for a Feb half term break that to gain access to any but the El Bernegal restaurant for dinner (which was included) we'd have to pay an additional supplement of €33 per person per night - there 5 of us, so we said "no thanks" - and eating for 7night in the same restaurant is enough to put you off for life!

The big "con" this year was the change to charges for restaurants within the hotel. This year the hotel has done away with half-board, as a "special" for the half term week, and to make the €33 look attractive, the charge for the El Bernegal is now + €50 per person per night (therefore + €250 per night for my family.......I can't remember the last time I spent that on a buffet anywhere in the UK....ever! For people coming here for the first time - this probably looks like a good deal - but it is a rip-off, and a very careful manipulation of families at half term.

Finally, room choice - despite very careful and specific request re the rooms - there are 5of us so we have to pay DOUBLE to come here as we need two and interconnecting rooms - we were shoved in a part of the hotel that gets no sine - morning or night. Bearing in mind this is my 4th visit to the hotel.....it shows you what the hotel management think of loyalty. I will not be coming back - and advise anyone who has been here once to think hard before they rebook.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Omg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor.

It is disappointed to read your feedback about your recent stay. However, your comments are highly appreciated as they help us to identify those aspects where we have to pay an special attention.

We wish to apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the options and prices for the half board. On check-in, a special supplement of 33 € per person and per day is offered to enjoy all our restaurants. During the half term, we offered a special promotion of 28 € per person and per day to enjoy our buffet restaurant, El Bernegal.
We are really sorry if this information was not explained clear enough. We kindly invite to check your welcome pack given at check-in, where a detailed information was provided.

On the other hand, we can assure that we feel so proud to have so many loyal clients and we are most concerned to read your impressions about that.
We are sorry if the rooms were not what you expected. We kindly invite you to contact us (gm@bahia-duque.com) and inform about your preferences for future stays. It would be a pleasure to assist you.

Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 58 in Costa Adeje
5,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
1.5 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 58 in Costa Adeje
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#3 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Duque

Property: Bahia del Duque
Address: Avenida de Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bahia del Duque 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bahia del Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing