We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooper Christmas 2013”
Review of Bahia del Duque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia del Duque
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our second visit to this wonderful hotel over the Christmas holiday and once again we were greeted as special guests and welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine and smiling staff.
Our room was excellent with wonderful sea views and sunsets.
Food as usual was perfection with many choices.
We decided to eat at the Es Benergal restaurant .
With blue sky and sunshine we had a fantastic week and will return as soon as possible..
Thank you all at the Gran Bahia Del Duque for such a memorable stay
.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are worth extra supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your confidence choosing again the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort to enjoy your Christmas holiday. The best feedback we could have is your return to our Resort.

Our goal is to deliver the best service to our guests so they can experience a wonderful and unforgettable experience. Reviews like yours let us know we are on the right way.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

981 - 987 of 2,235 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a 5 star hotel. No complaints regarding service, food etc. Staff extremely capable and friendly. However, freezing cold swimming pools and an empty 'heated' pool 3 days before Christmas is completely unacceptable, and ruined the holiday as the children were unable to swim. What is the point? Would not return unless the heated pool is full, and heated. And what a waste of the beautiful bottom pool, freezing cold. This is the one that should be heated, as there are very few sunbeds around the upper 'heated' pool. Management please note?

Room Tip: ask for upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 28rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel to which I have visited many times, in fact it is the only hotel that I have ever revisited. The hotel is spacious, even when full you can find a private spot to be alone in the landscaped gardens. Both the rooms and public spaces are immaculate and you are made to feel very special by the caring staff. I can't recommend too much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VinceC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stunning hotel, beautiful architecture. Got an upgrade to the most amazing room. BUT...

1. Its December so pool water is not warm. Heated pool was EMPTY when we arrived.. took 3 days to fill it up. The pool above was also supposed to be heated, but was too cold to swim in. Only the BABY pool was warm so there must have been over 80 people in 2 rows of sunbeds around the tiniest of pools.. just for kids of ALL ages to be able to swim. Yet the mammoth pool at the bottom of the resort was just sitting there, too cold to swim. The management need to rethink the whole pool situation.. The large pool at the bottom should be the heated pool..its large enough to cope with all the kids and has sunbeds all around so parents can see their kids (the top 2 pools have no seating around the edge of the pool - something very important for parents of kids). Its such an obvious move that I cant believe no-one has thought of it before.
2. Evening entertainment is poor and aimed at very young kids, but nothing for 7+ who dont want a mini disco with 3 year olds.

Food was excellent however, with lots of variety.

Oh and 2 lizards found in my room on 2 separate nights!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reuben111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Client,

First of all, we wish to thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort to enjoy your holidays.

As well, we kindly would like to thank you for having taken the time share your comments on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

We have taken good note of your comments regarding pools. We wish to mention that at the beginning of December, we proceeded to do the maintenance works in La Brasserie pool (the heated one), following the Spanish legislation. Unfortunately, during the second week of this month, the storm in Tenerife, did not allowed us to finish the maintenance works on time. While maintenance works had place in this pool, another pool was heated in order to avoid, as far as possible, any inconvenience to our guests.

In relation to the entertainment, we take good note of your comment which will be taken into account.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future and have the chance to meet all your expectations.

Best,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Hotel looks interesting and unusual. Staff, all dressed in traditional costume added to this. Disappointed with room -not very good view looking out onto other hotels but upgrade to sea view at E80 a night and so was a bit pricey. No tea/coffee making facilities and although a double room booked we did not realise until settled and unpacked, that it had two single beds pushed together covered by a blanket.
Breakfast buffet amazing with huge choice. Staff friendly and helpful.
What really spoilt our stay was that 3 out of the 5 swimming pools were freezing and the one barely heated enough to enjoy swimming in was next to the one being repaired by a noisy angle-grinder. On top of this they were repairing a pathway with loud banging, and on a couple of days, when it was raining we stayed inside the hotel and couldn't even get a peaceful drink in the bar as they were drilling (apparently a new business centre).
Appalling for an expensive 5 star. We complained to the rep but she couldn't really do much as she said the hotel was open all-year round so some guests have to suffer the noise when they repair things.
I did write to the manager upon return but she merely offered us a free upgrade on our next visit. Shall not be returning!

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford to and maybe check to see if there will be any repair or building work bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ganeshEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for your stay in Tenerife.

As well, we kindly thank you for taking the time and the trouble to share your opinion in TripAdvisor.

As we informed you personally by e-mail, I am really sorry about any inconvenience caused in relation to the maintenance work in La Brasserie Pool, which we yearly do according to the Spanish legislation. We give great importance to the preventive maintenance in order to provide our guest the best facilities.
In relation to the works above the Reception, we wish to explain that, following our aim to improve, we are working in a new Business Center, with updated technologies.

We are really sorry that our maintenance works have coincided with your stay. Please, accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. I would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Fantastic hotel. We were in Tenerife when hell broke loose weather wise. It started raining and didn't stop for 48 hours. There was water everywhere. The hotel staff really worked like crazy to keep things dry and/or clean. The staff is certainly a big plus for this hotel - they are extremely friendly and service oriented. We had breakfast and lunch in the hotel and the quality of food is excellent. My room (suite 712) was very good. Great view. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pgi1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Client,

First of all, we kindly would like to thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort to enjoy your holidays.

As well, we wish to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion in TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us.

We sincerely hope we can exceed you expectations even more on your next visit to Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I wanted it to be special.

It certainly was.

The changes were substantial and the improvements impressive. The food was exquisite every night, the staff very friendly and accommodating. On occassion we did think that some of the staff looked like they needed holiday themselves; It seemed a little "end of season" on occasion.

We had a fabulous room and the hotel tried very hard to do give us what they could. The only negative was the miserable german woman who glared at us when we clearly took what was her sun lounger one morning ( even though the hotel was half empty!) then proceeded to continue glaring victoriously throughout the rest of the week even when she "won" them back after we had decided that we wanted to be somewhere else! In the end it became quite amusing!

We were initially concerned that our room was above the children play centre. When we realised that it was open 10-6pm we didn't worry as we would not be in the room at those times. We had a fabulous balcony! For the same price we could have had another room with a garden view which was very dark and had no view at all so we were glad that we were allocated the one we were in the end.

We tried all of the restaurants and we found all of them great, La Hacienda was a little disappointing though. The piano bar was also great to have although the bar man looked exhausted after working 11am-1am without a break - strange when we watched a superviser doing very little behind him and didn't crack a smile!

All in all, great holiday, if a little expensive (e14 for a rum & coke!) but I think you do get what you pay for!

Little tip - if you're a couple, during the day head to the Moet terrace, it sfree, no booking, first come first served and it's adults only. A bit more private and peaceful!

We will definitely be going back again!

Room Tip: Request the garden view room above the childrens nursery - lovely big balcony with partial sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for choosing our Resort for your holidays and for sharing your impressions about your stay.

Your comments are a valuable source of information which help us to improve in our services and standards. With comments of guests like you, we have the opportunity to know what really your expectations are, which we always want to fulfil.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort in a near future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#4 of 61 in Costa Adeje
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#3 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Duque

Address: Avenida de Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $300 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bahia del Duque 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bahia del Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing