We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas 2013”
Review of Bahia del Duque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bahia del Duque
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Xmas 2013”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stunning hotel, beautiful architecture. Got an upgrade to the most amazing room. BUT...

1. Its December so pool water is not warm. Heated pool was EMPTY when we arrived.. took 3 days to fill it up. The pool above was also supposed to be heated, but was too cold to swim in. Only the BABY pool was warm so there must have been over 80 people in 2 rows of sunbeds around the tiniest of pools.. just for kids of ALL ages to be able to swim. Yet the mammoth pool at the bottom of the resort was just sitting there, too cold to swim. The management need to rethink the whole pool situation.. The large pool at the bottom should be the heated pool..its large enough to cope with all the kids and has sunbeds all around so parents can see their kids (the top 2 pools have no seating around the edge of the pool - something very important for parents of kids). Its such an obvious move that I cant believe no-one has thought of it before.
2. Evening entertainment is poor and aimed at very young kids, but nothing for 7+ who dont want a mini disco with 3 year olds.

Food was excellent however, with lots of variety.

Oh and 2 lizards found in my room on 2 separate nights!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reuben111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Client,

First of all, we wish to thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort to enjoy your holidays.

As well, we kindly would like to thank you for having taken the time share your comments on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

We have taken good note of your comments regarding pools. We wish to mention that at the beginning of December, we proceeded to do the maintenance works in La Brasserie pool (the heated one), following the Spanish legislation. Unfortunately, during the second week of this month, the storm in Tenerife, did not allowed us to finish the maintenance works on time. While maintenance works had place in this pool, another pool was heated in order to avoid, as far as possible, any inconvenience to our guests.

In relation to the entertainment, we take good note of your comment which will be taken into account.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future and have the chance to meet all your expectations.

Best,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,514
    380
    123
    64
    38
See reviews for
828
887
40
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Hotel looks interesting and unusual. Staff, all dressed in traditional costume added to this. Disappointed with room -not very good view looking out onto other hotels but upgrade to sea view at E80 a night and so was a bit pricey. No tea/coffee making facilities and although a double room booked we did not realise until settled and unpacked, that it had two single beds pushed together covered by a blanket.
Breakfast buffet amazing with huge choice. Staff friendly and helpful.
What really spoilt our stay was that 3 out of the 5 swimming pools were freezing and the one barely heated enough to enjoy swimming in was next to the one being repaired by a noisy angle-grinder. On top of this they were repairing a pathway with loud banging, and on a couple of days, when it was raining we stayed inside the hotel and couldn't even get a peaceful drink in the bar as they were drilling (apparently a new business centre).
Appalling for an expensive 5 star. We complained to the rep but she couldn't really do much as she said the hotel was open all-year round so some guests have to suffer the noise when they repair things.
I did write to the manager upon return but she merely offered us a free upgrade on our next visit. Shall not be returning!

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford to and maybe check to see if there will be any repair or building work bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ganeshEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for your stay in Tenerife.

As well, we kindly thank you for taking the time and the trouble to share your opinion in TripAdvisor.

As we informed you personally by e-mail, I am really sorry about any inconvenience caused in relation to the maintenance work in La Brasserie Pool, which we yearly do according to the Spanish legislation. We give great importance to the preventive maintenance in order to provide our guest the best facilities.
In relation to the works above the Reception, we wish to explain that, following our aim to improve, we are working in a new Business Center, with updated technologies.

We are really sorry that our maintenance works have coincided with your stay. Please, accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. I would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Fantastic hotel. We were in Tenerife when hell broke loose weather wise. It started raining and didn't stop for 48 hours. There was water everywhere. The hotel staff really worked like crazy to keep things dry and/or clean. The staff is certainly a big plus for this hotel - they are extremely friendly and service oriented. We had breakfast and lunch in the hotel and the quality of food is excellent. My room (suite 712) was very good. Great view. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgi1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Client,

First of all, we kindly would like to thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort to enjoy your holidays.

As well, we wish to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion in TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us.

We sincerely hope we can exceed you expectations even more on your next visit to Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I wanted it to be special.

It certainly was.

The changes were substantial and the improvements impressive. The food was exquisite every night, the staff very friendly and accommodating. On occassion we did think that some of the staff looked like they needed holiday themselves; It seemed a little "end of season" on occasion.

We had a fabulous room and the hotel tried very hard to do give us what they could. The only negative was the miserable german woman who glared at us when we clearly took what was her sun lounger one morning ( even though the hotel was half empty!) then proceeded to continue glaring victoriously throughout the rest of the week even when she "won" them back after we had decided that we wanted to be somewhere else! In the end it became quite amusing!

We were initially concerned that our room was above the children play centre. When we realised that it was open 10-6pm we didn't worry as we would not be in the room at those times. We had a fabulous balcony! For the same price we could have had another room with a garden view which was very dark and had no view at all so we were glad that we were allocated the one we were in the end.

We tried all of the restaurants and we found all of them great, La Hacienda was a little disappointing though. The piano bar was also great to have although the bar man looked exhausted after working 11am-1am without a break - strange when we watched a superviser doing very little behind him and didn't crack a smile!

All in all, great holiday, if a little expensive (e14 for a rum & coke!) but I think you do get what you pay for!

Little tip - if you're a couple, during the day head to the Moet terrace, it sfree, no booking, first come first served and it's adults only. A bit more private and peaceful!

We will definitely be going back again!

Room Tip: Request the garden view room above the childrens nursery - lovely big balcony with partial sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for choosing our Resort for your holidays and for sharing your impressions about your stay.

Your comments are a valuable source of information which help us to improve in our services and standards. With comments of guests like you, we have the opportunity to know what really your expectations are, which we always want to fulfil.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort in a near future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

One of our favourite hotels.
That's why we keep going back.
The staff always remember you.
The customer service is excellent.
The choice is great, so many places to eat and relax.
The Spa is absolutely fantastic.
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort to enjoy your holidays and for taken the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are proud to know that our Resort is one of your favorite hotels!

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at our Resort.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed in October for 10 days with a 4 year old and 18 month old. I emailed the hotel in advance to see if we could check in a little earlier as we started travelling at 3.30am and kindly they emailed me back to say they would do their best. We arrived to a fantastic welcome and we were upgraded to a suite at which point I wanted to kiss the receptionist and after our awful holiday in Mexico at the Paradisus (see previous review) I felt we were going to have a wonderful time.

I wasn't mistaken, the hotel is simply beautiful, the food is superb (never seen a breakfast buffet like it) but what makes it are the exceptional staff. NOTHING is too much trouble and for the first time since we became a family we weren't treated as a burden but instead to enjoy a really special time all together by helping us.

Louis (beach restaurant) was simply wonderful to two very tired children who entertained them and gave Mummy and Daddy a large glass of delicious white wine.

Andrea (lady who cleans at the pool area) was so lovely and helpful every day when we arrived with two children covered head to toe in sand for a shower.

Sylvia our did our daily room service was fantastic as she asked when our little one had her nap so she always made sure our room was done before 1pm.

Sebastian at the Brasserie restaurant was wonderful with the children, our little boy adored the aeroplane he made him.

Ana our babysitter was wonderful too and our two children (who were supposed to be asleep) loved her and allowed us a couple of hours to enjoy dinner on our own.

All of the staff though really deserve a special mention - it is you that get people to return every year.

I cannot fault this hotel, it was truly exceptional in every way and we will be back next year, saving like mad already!

Thank you again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelQueenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and a great five star rating on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us.

Most meaningful to us is your wonderful acknowledgement of our staff. We will certainly share your comments with each of them.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back next year.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned from a very relaxing week at this hotel, as many people report the staff are very helpful and very pleasant. The hotel provides every comfort with water dispensers liberally placed around the grounds, lavish towels in the room and pools, excellent showers and toilets around the grounds, and lots of places to settle down for the day in comfort. The access to the sea is wonderful and you can walk along the sea front path in both directions easily. There are several eating options for day and evening. We were upgraded to a sea view room on arrival and this offered the most spectacular sunset views. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: A sea view is well worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. Great to hear you had a great experience with us. Your compliments on our staff are much appreciated and we will be sure to share them with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 58 in Costa Adeje
5,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
1.5 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 58 in Costa Adeje
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#3 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Duque

Property: Bahia del Duque
Address: Avenida de Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bahia del Duque 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bahia del Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing