We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Jardines del Teide
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fab stay!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have just returned back from a one week stay at the melia jardines tel teide in Tenerife with a friend. We couldn't have been more pleased with the services they offered. The all inclusive was fantastic a wide range of foods to chose from (even the pickiest of eaters like me). There was fresh fruit, bread, fish and meats cooked every day. The pizza was freshly made as well. The snack bar also served throughout the day and could chose from toasties, bagels, burgers, hot dogs chips etc. The room was a decent room for 2 mid twenties girls our view was of the mountains and the sea so was lovely. We had room service every day and they made and cleaned our room. My pjs were even folded nicely on my pillow. I would say there is quite a lot of steps at this hotel as it is situated over 6 floors so wouldn't recommend for elderly people. The staff were friendly and helpful (apart from one he was a bit moody but you can't have them all!) Towels were provided by the pool every day and you could get a clean one if yours got wet or dirty. It was a lovely stay and wasn't busy as it was the end of September start of October so was lovely. Weather was amazing every day apart from one cloudy day but it was still hot enough to cloud bathe. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shah1_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,684
    1,499
    578
    169
    78
See reviews for
1,505
1,856
98
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shotts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Spent the last week in September here with my husband. From the onset the staff presented as polite, well-mannered, smiling and nothing appeared any trouble. They were attentive and hard working throughout. The hotel has the most spectacular views over the area all the way to Los Christianos; you could never tire of the views. The walk to the beach at Del Duque is around 15 mins and the same to Costa Adeje, although there is a hotel bus if needed. We took the service bus to Los Christianos and walked the coast road back, although around 3 hours, with a wee stop here and there for a refreshment but well worth it. The weather for the week was fab and will certainly consider a return at this time next year. The hotel overall is quite impressive, fantastically clean and looked after. It's on different levels and less regimented than many others. However with good first impressions and an easy check in, I was a bit disappointed with the room, in spite of a sea view which we had requested and thought I paid for an upgrade only to find out that most if not all the rooms had sea views. The room was spotless but a bit tired and dated, although huge. Nonetheless it lacked any glamour for the money paid. Additionally there was no mirror or electric socket at the dressing table which appeared to have been replaced with a flat screen tv with three English channels. The air conditionining at best was just manageable. Towels changed every day and toiletries if needed. What looked like a fairly old sofa needs urgent replacement. Pool towels every day is a good touch. The pool is one of the best, not too crowded and always beds available. As was the pool bar where we ate most lunch time. However we did feel that the restaurant, particularly the food let our whole experience down. Whilst I admit that there may have been a good choice, it didn't do it for us. Despite this we managed but I would question a return for this reason. No complaints with drinks or service in respect of this; Cava available from breakfast and bottles of wine served with dinner. Dinner time could be very busy but staff again quick to clear tables and no waiting time. We did enjoy the barbeque at the pool bar Friday and Saturday. Animation staff should be commended for their hard work and exceptional manners towards adults and children, no pressure to join in. Entertainment was surprisingly good. All in all I consider that this hotel deserves it's 4 star rating with the exception of food and dated rooms, but this is purely personal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bute95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel has everything what you could want. Food is great, drinks as well, staff brilliant and hard working, rooms nice and spacious, decoration in rooms of good standard although beds mattresses could benefit from changing as make a lot of noise. Hotel ground just lovely and views breath taking. Beach is 15min walk but its not a problem at all plus there is free shuttle bus if someone need it. Cleaning staff was definitely the best I ever saw and extremely polite and friendly. All in all amazing and already planning one more visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked this hotel for a three day stay as independent travelers and not as part of a package-we are not standard package holiday types. We were a little concerned beforehand that we might be irritated by the other guests and being prescribed when to do what all day long!!

We were really pleased with everything. The other guests were mainly continentals (Spanish, Italian, French) and the buffets catered for their high expectations, the food was really great and was never boring. There was great variety and the staff did their best to make sure that everyone was looked after. The good mix of nationalities meant that there were no large dominating groups and we did not encounter any extreme booziness in spite of all day free alcohol!

The division of the pools works really well as we dislike animation and were left in perfect peace on the adult only terrace, with perfect views. A different lay out of the sun beds or other furniture would provide more privacy though.

We had a late evening flight and were delighted to be offered a courtesy room to shower and change. This more than made up for the ridiculous EUR2 a day charge for using the safe!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeemBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my sister and a friend, we are all in our 20's and were looking for somewhere where we could relax. We flew with monarch and our holiday rep was cosmos.
ROOM
The first room we had was on the ground floor where the smaller pool was. The room was of very good size and we had two single beds and a double sofa one. Unfortunately the bathroom let the room down and we had Polly filler patching up the bath tub, mould on the door frame and a hole in the door. When our rep came to visit we mentioned this to her and she spoke to the hotel we were moved to an upgraded the next day which had a his and her sink and newly refurbished bathroom, this room was on the next floor up so we even got a balcony and sea view. The lovely touch was that we were given a hand written note with a bottle of cava and jellies to apologies which was nice.
FOOD
After reading some negative reviews about the food I was a it apprehensive but in fact the food was great with a good choice. For breakfast you could have cooked, continental, fruit and cakes. We spent all except one lunch at the snack bar by the pool which had hotdogs, chips, salad, burgers etc. for dinner there was a good varied selection of salad, breads, puddings, fish, meat and vegetarian options. The beer was branded as well as branded soft drinks, these were available all day. The bar had cocktails and spirits. You could get water 24hrs a day.
ENTERTAINMENT
The team worked hard and provided 4 games a day for adults as well as children having their own separate activities. Activities for adults included water polo (which was very competitive) mini games, table tennis, dice game, foam party and darts. This was done near the larger pool. At night there was a mixture of entertainment but I felt the children's club was very late at 9.15pm. The main entertainment started at 10:15pm where we saw a parrot show, dancing, illusionist, bird show, gymnasts, Beatles tribute etc. 2 of the nights the entertainment team did productions of Fantasia and Grease.
LOCATION
The walk to the beach was not bad and took 10mins. The beach itself was a blue flag and clear seas. We did banana boating here and many other water sports were on offer. The other side of the hotel the view was of mountains.
EXCURSIONS
We did 3, half day at Teide which I would recommend we saw plenty and was back by 2pm. Siam Park which was great we loved the rides and defiantly worth the visit. Lorro Parque was a 2 1/2hr transfer away due to picking up people from other hotels but had fantastic shows.
FACILITIES
The hotel had 3 swimming pools, 1childrens, table tennis tables, pool tables, lobby bar, beach bar and entertainment bar.
STAFF
The staff were friendly and welcoming. They all worked very hard.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Smantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had read lots of reviews before I went to this holiday which where really useful now it's my time to write a review hoping it will help some one else.

We had a delayed flight and arrived at our hotel at midnight, when we got there the reception staff where really helpful and nice. They had a snack box waiting for us- sandwiches, water, fruit, yoghurt's as we had missed dinner time. We thought this was very nice.

The following day we checked out the hotel, breakfast had every thing you could think of -freshly made omelette's, fruits, different breads, jams/spreads. Yoghurts, there was cooked too - scrambled eggs, CHIPS lol Brussel sprouts lol and lots lots more.
we didn't go to the restaurant at lunch time, we did however go to the snack bar where they had a buffet bar with salads, burgers, kebabs, sandwiches, cake and ice cream good selection.
Dinner time was a good selection too. Lots of different meats/Salads, chips and desserts, fruit again.

The pools and surrounding areas are very clean and the gardens and bridges within the grounds are amazing. Good views from the hotel. Food catered for all tastes. There was lots of daytime entertainment water polo, jenga, table tennis etc and even a foam party on Saturday lunch time. Daytime Entertainment is all at the bottom larger pool. Some one on these reviews had a moan about kids screaming at the bottom pool, yeh there is a children's pool next to it but they where no bother and we went 14th-21st September.

Staff where very friendly and helpful and spoke good English, they worked very hard in the restaurant and bars.

We had some thing break in the room and reported it to reception it was no bother it was fixed by the time we got back to the hotel. We had our transfer note clarification slipped under the door which was good it was faxed to the hotel.

Reception,restaurant and one of the pools are on the 5th floor which is road level. In my opinion the room we had which was 514 was in one of the best locations, you walked out from your room patio doors into your terrace area. Sun beds where no problem to get even though the hotel said don't reserve sunbeds but people where out getting sunbeds at 7.30am lol we went to get a sunbed and they where still available at 11am. There are adult only places to near the top pool.

The only downsides I'd say was a. it was on a steep hill and it was a little too far out from out of the hotel restaurants /Shops etc

Entertainment was good although a little disappointing that it is inside and in a small room. Most of the nights they got someone in from outside the hotel and was really good.

The terrace bar was great to sit outside with the excellent views.I agree with other reviews they could defiantly do with more bar staff AND ice cream in the top bar as if you want ice cream you have to walk down to the bottom pool. Fizzy drinks are available at self serve at all bars but if you want alcohol you have to que at the bar, a good selection of spirits and wines(only available by bottle not glass).

I'm sorry this review is long but I know when I read the long reviews they really helped me.

Trips i'd recommend catmarian, The sound of musicals and Loro Parque.

We had a very relaxing week away and would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Tenerife.

Room Tip: We where in 514 which is right out on the smaller pool level 5, near reception. I wouldn't pay f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kookie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a week in September 2013. Young couple from UK.

Rooms - when we arrived we were given a sea view room. However, it was extremely smoky! We just didn't expect this. Obviously we spoke to reception who were very accommodating and happy to change us. In order to have a room of the same quality we had to wait until the next day. Once changed, the room was great and in line with expectations. Spacious and clean. Air conditioning isn't great, don't expect it to cool you down much in the day. Water is warm, occasionally hot. Make sure you request a non smoking room at check in (coming from the UK it didn't even cross our minds).

Food - great selection, lots of meat and fish. Other reviewers have mentioned about long queues. Yes, you have to queue a little for the grill, but this is all made to order food and perfectly acceptable. Food available at the pool bar is great and means you don't have to go to the restaurant for lunch. Wine and beer offered at dinner and you can bring in cocktails from the bar if desired.

Pools - two big pools quite far apart from each other - you actually feel like they could be in different hotels. We basically stayed in the bigger pool by the pool bar for most of our stay. Is very clean, refreshing and big. Is quite deep so not ideal for kids. (Kids pool next to it though). One of the best hotel pools I've stayed in.

Location - yes, there is a 10minute walk to the beach with a steep hill, but quite frankly this is nice. It is nice to get out of the hotel and do something yourself. It also makes the hotel feel much more exclusive as you're not at the beach with all the other resorts. If you walk along the coast to Playa Las Americas then you'll know what it feels like! You can also get a free bus to the beach at 10 and 11am from outside the hotel. Taxis to airport cost around €28 in total (20mins away).

Staff - generally pleasant and helpful. Receptionists very accommodating to your needs. Never really a queue at reception either. Like other reviews have mentioned, not enough staff at the bar, but we just ordered multiple drinks at a time to circumvent this issue.

Amenities - generally good. There is only free wifi in reception which is actually quite nice as then you can't go on it in your rooms which helps you to switch off. You have to sign up to the Melia Rewards club (just fill in a form) to get access. You then have to pick up a new code each day (slightly annoying). The code can only be used on one device so you have to sign up twice if you want to share with partner. There is also a gym, but don't take this too literally. We're talking one cardio machine and a few weights.

Ultimately, this is a 4* all inclusive resort and so we have given it a 4* review. The hotel is great and if you're expecting a 4* all inclusive, this is what you get. We had a very relaxing week away and would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Tenerife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
1.6 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#14 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,551 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.7 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 58 in Costa Adeje
5,492 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Jardines del Teide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Jardines del Teide

Property: Melia Jardines del Teide
Address: Avd. Agando, s/n | Urbanizacion Mirador del Duque, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#18 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#25 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#27 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Jardines del Teide 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 9 minutes walk from the beach. Melia Jardines del Teide is built around a huge pool complex and 12,000m² of tropical gardens. It has wonderful views of the coast and mountains, including Mount Teide. Rooms at the hotel are bright and spacious. They all have air conditioning and satellite TV. Each room has a balcony or terrace, with views of the pool, sea or mountains. Free WiFi is available throughout. The Level services are available in some rooms, including a private lounge with free coffee and tea, private check-in area and daily cocktail hour, as well as private pool and rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu and designer toiletries. The Meliá Jardines del Teide offers 2 swimming pools, one being exclusive for The Level guests. There is also a children's pool. The hotel has a kids' club, as well as a full family entertainment programme. Dining options includes a buffet restaurant, an a la carte restaurant, the lobby bar and a restaurant serving snacks. The hotel is set just 9 minutes' walk from Playa del Duque beach, in southern Tenerife. Costa Adeje Golf Club is 1.5 km away. There is also a free shuttle service to a nearby shopping centre. There are also several shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Jardines del Teide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Jardines Del Teide Hotel Costa Adeje
Melia Costa Adeje
Melia Hotel Costa Adeje
Melia Jardines Del Teide Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing