We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't stay away”

Torviscas Spice Village
Ranked #19 of 256 Restaurants in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The finest Indian cuisine from the famous Torviscas Spice Village. Exceptional service and the best Indian chefs on the island combine to bring you the best Indian dining experience in Tenerife.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't stay away”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I stopped here a few times in the early evening, drawn in by the view outside and the cheap prices on beer and cocktails. We returned most evenings (even though we were all inclusive) because we enjoyed it so much and the service, although perhaps a tad slow, was good and very friendly, after a day they knew our order as so as we sat down.

We did also eat here one evening,we didn't have high expectations because it was so cheap, we were very surprised by the quality and flavour of the food.

We would defiantly return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sh33n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
only1spicevillage, Manager at Torviscas Spice Village, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for your review please call again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    62
    11
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
265 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Seriously? This is good service?”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The sign says" friendliest Indian restaurant in Tenerife" and the legions of satisfied customers seem to suggest this is so. But what I witnessed is going to seriously dent the good ratings others haven given. I'm sorry to do it, but I hope the owner will take it on the chin and move on.
He served two customers with one arm, while carrying on a conversation on his mobile phone! I've never seen such disrepect in a restaurant. Ever! Had it been our table, I would have got up and left immediately.
That said, he welcomed regulars with handshakes and smiles and what I saw on the menu would have tempted us back for a further visit. The buffet alone was mouthwatering.
What happened was unforgiveable, but I'm sure it was a one-off. I'd probably come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbuddy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
only1spicevillage, Manager at Torviscas Spice Village, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Sorry about your experience. I will speak to the staff to ensure this never happens again. Please re- visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and food!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The most welcoming restaurant manager on the island with lovely food at a great price, never had a bad meal in the 11 years ive been eating here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
only1spicevillage, Manager at Torviscas Spice Village, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your review please call again.

Zia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Although the dining area could be improved they have done the best they can with what they have
Staff and food are excellent
Well worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

As a few people have mentioned without reading reviews of this place we prob wouldn't have tried it, we walked past it a few times and didn't really stand out as a place to have an evening meal, i randomly checked on Trip advisor in the hotel and decided to give it a try based on the great comments it had received.

Well i'm certainly glad we did try it as it was excellent, the food and service were great, it was something like 12 Euros for a drink, starter, choice of any main, and nan bread and any rice, and it was excellent value, i would definately return back there if i was in the area again.

One thing i would say is maybe spend a bit on the decor/outside/advertisment of the place, as the food is top notch and maybe some people will walk past without noticing it.

All in all we had a great curry with good atmosphere and good service.....5 stars from me!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody3684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torviscas Spice Village also viewed

 
Costa Adeje, Adeje
 

Been to Torviscas Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing