We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow the eagle has landed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wow the eagle has landed”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

To date this is 1 of the best hotels ever stayed, it ticks all the boxes well done sovereign. Ready to book next year but a little bit longer as long as they dont change anything.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windy146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    254
    76
    27
    12
See reviews for
129
1,114
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
the north
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

this was our second stay at the Mirador,last time it was part of the Del Duque group,the only difference i noticed was that you could not walk across the bridge to get into the Del Duque hotel grounds.
Our stay at the Mirador was for two weeks,but in the first two days of our holiday we had 3 different rooms.
We booked with jet2 and had a superior junior suite.this was a good size room with a fantastic sea view ,but the room was extremly hot and the air conditionig wasnt working properly.we also found the mini bar wasnt working either.the hotel found us another room straight away and helped to move our luggage.
the second room seemed cooler,but we soon realised the air conditioning wasnt working here either.
after a sleepless night we headed back to reception ,here another receptionist offered us a much larger room and engineers were sent to try and sort out the air con.
This room was beautiful,it had two large patio doors and so air circulated really well.
These doors were open 24/7 during our stay.
Once again we had staff to help us move our luggage.
it wasnt a good start to the holiday but the hotel did everything they could to help.
we just had bed and breakfast.breakfast was very similar most days but always plenty to choose from and never overcrowded.
pool area beautiful,always a sun bed,never had to get up early to reserve one.
Daily maid service was very good,although turn down service sometimes came too early at 5pm,it didnt give you chance to ask for anthing you needed if you were still out ! but from the impression i got , a quick call to reception and your wish would have been granted!nothing seemed to be too much trouble for any member of staff,they were always willing to help.
the hotel itself is in a beautiful position.overlooking the sea.and you can get straight on to the seafront via a little gate at the side of the hotel.
the only downer i can give about this hotel is the fact that there are weddings here on saturdays.
there were weddings both saturdays during our stay.the first was a very large affair,filling the hotel. the guests stayed the night before and some were very noisy talking and shouting into the small hours,i think the bar opened til 6am on these wedding days and on the wedding day we were hearing shouting cheering until at least 5.30am.
that spoilt things because we stay in Costa adeje because it is so quiet and away from all the noisy bars of las americas !
to be fair the second wedding was a smaller afffair and the guests behaved very respectfully and we didnt hear a souns after midnight.
i think a note from the hotel to future wedding guests to respect the paying guests wouldnt come amiss.after all... when you book the hotel they never tell you you are going to be in the middle of some strangers wedding.
would i reccommend you to stay at this hotel?
yes.. if the air con was serviced and maintained properly..and the hotel would ask wedding parties to be more considerate to hotel guests..i am sure the weddings are a good earner for the hotel though so not sure where their priorities would lie on that one........

I understand the weather was exceptionaly hot during our stay but the hotel did admit to having a problem with its air conditioning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernlass52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My wife and I went to the El Mirador for the week of my birthday. It was amazing. The hotel is beautiful and is spotlessly clean. The rooms are fantastic, and we were given a free upgrade to a suite with a four poster bed and a huge balcony and a wonderful sea view. The pool is lovely and clean, and although I was only booked on a B&B basis, the bar staff regularly came with free cocktails and fruit kebabs. There were no children there at all, so the atmosphere was very quiet and relaxing. If you want to spend your days chilling out in peace and quiet, in total luxury, this is the hotel for you !!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KlondikePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This is the best hotel I have stayed in on a foreign holiday. From the moment we arrived the service was outstanding - champagne on arrival! The concierge took time to go through everything in our room. The room beautiful and roomy. The Restaurants, food & service were outstanding. Beautiful sea view & beach (if you want to leave the poolside). No rushing to get to the poolside before it gets full as there were always spaces. Sometimes you could be the only person in the pool (how special is that). Offered complimentary sangria by the poolside. Adults only so really relaxing and comfortable. Faultless! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adnama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

stayed at El Mirador and half board basis, and was not disappointed. Lovely hotel, quiet, not children (bonus). Rooms were lovely, and had a agreat view. I have stayed in some lovely hotels in many different locations and this one will be in my top five.

would recmmend this hotel and would return myself.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendibSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Having visited Tenerife for the last 6 years and staying at the Anthelia and Bahia Del Duque, we were excited about our stay at El Mirador. The main reason for choosing Mirador was the price, which whilst not cheap, we were able to stay here for 10 nights for the price of 7 at Del Duque.

We loved the fact that there were no children, it really gives the hotel a nice, peaceful relaxing vibe and this was a real plus. We had a superior junior suite, which was large and spacious with great views. Definitely beats the Del Duque here, unless you upgrade to SV or Casa Ducales.

The pools were lovely, lots of seats by the pool, very little seats reserved early and there was always plenty of space whatever time you came down. This contributed to the relaxed atmosphere - it was amazing how empty the pools were - we were often the only ones in. Again, better than del Duque, which can feel crowded when busy.

The hotel was very clean, and we found that there were lots of staff in all areas around the hotel. We are early risers however, and whilst breakfast starts at 7.30, the reality is that they often weren't ready until after 8.15. Many of the waiting staff start at 8/8.30, so we often wandered in to breakfast around 7.50-8am to find no coffee, no staff, etc. It did mean we somewhat had the run of the place, and not a big deal, but we did have to clear our own plates from the table a few times and wait a good 5-10mins for coffee.

I personally found the evening meals quite repetitive. Whilst food comes down to personal preference, everything came dripping in oil, especially the salads and eggs, where I literally had to drain the plate first. The buffet starter varied in quality each night - I love fish and seafood, and I just don't understand why, in the middle of the ocean, there wasn't a greater supply each night. The main courses were ok, but all came with the same rice dish every night and no veg. We did have a couple of issues where we had to send back a steak one night, that should have been medium and came blue - the staff were apologietic and quick to resolve but is should never have been served in the first place. We ended up getting some salad from the salad bar to eat with the main course. The desserts also were poor, most nights we ended up with cheese and fruit due to the lack of selection - all desserts were of the minature pastry variety (possibly out of a packet) and tasted the same, regardless of what it was meant to be. Bizarrely, also no ice cream - maybe because it was an adults only hotel and maybe they think that adults don't eat ice-cream!! We ate 3 times in El Cenador, which was nice, but again the desserts were not great. This was also expensive if you weren't on half board.

In summary, the way I judge my holidays is whether I would go back, and whether I was ready to leave at the end. I would go back here, for the location of the hotel and the peaceful atmosphere and no kids, but I would go B&B and eat at the many restaurants in Adeje and at Bahia Del Duque next door. As a result, I was ready to leave at the end (probably by day 7 to be honest) but that was mainly down to the repetitiveness of the food. I would probably rate the hotel overall as 5*, but only 3* for food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScaryMaryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We have stayed in many of the Costa Adeje hotels and I would rate this among the best but with some shortcomings. We weren't met on arrival and had to hump our luggage in through to the reception desk where we were greeted aimiabley by the two receptionists on duty, Ilona and Kathrin, and offered a drink which we accepted. But almost immediately Ilona pointed out that our Half Board package was not resort wide but limited to the buffet restaurant and two a la carte meals. This isn't what we had booked and said so, but she was adamant. The Sovereign rep. sorted it out though since it was sold to us as whole resort HB and was on their website as such. Ilona wanted to see it on the website and was making a big deal of it until the rep. came along. Actually this rep. is brilliant and booked us in to the Brassarie in Del Duque one evening so I can't sing her praises highly enough - well done Sovereign, you've got a gem there!

We had booked a junior suite and weren't disappointed, it was huge with a large sitting area as well as a magnificent balcony overlooking the sea. There was a bowl of fruit and a chilled bottle of Cava waiting for us in the room which was a nice touch and very welcome. The TV was rubbish, small analogue set with only 2 English Channels, so it was World Cup footy in Spanish for us! Still, that didn't last long did it??!!! Turn down comes early at El Mirador and had usually been done by the time we got back from the pool at @ 6. It was consistent and the chocs were good - El Mirador's own. We also had two bottles of water a day free of charge, but went to the local Spar for major supplies.

The pool area is terrific, not crowded, no kids - so quiet and peaceful- it really has a beautiful aspect to it looking out over Del Duque beach and the hotel building itself is elegant looking. The pool toilets are underground and a bit niffy though! There were complimentary drinks mid morning most days which was also welcome. We had a thoroughly relaxing time overall.

The restaurants were good, but not brilliant. Breakfast usually OK, good selection of fruit, Cava, cold meats and fish, and eggs to order if required. The evening buffet was a bit of a lottery with a help yourself starter followed by a limited choice a la carte service (very odd). The steak always came practically raw, the suckling pig had to be replaced as it was all skin and bone and no meat, and everything was served on a bed of wet rice - why? Very few vegetables, so you had to get your five a day from the salad bar. Desserts were not good. The a la carte choice was usually pants - white chocolate, Tangerine and licorice soup! Turned out to be a blob of cream with tangerine gloop on top and thickish dark chocolate on top of that all served in a drinking glass. The dessert table in the buffet itself was very limited and NO ICE CREAM! or Creme Brulee!

Eating at Cenador, the main a la carte restaurant was quite reasonable with some good offerings - the scallops were to die for, the amuse buche, amusing, the mains pretty good especially the lamb. The desserts were again, pants, especially the 'volcanic surprise' which was a plate of multicoloured gloopy splodges of indeterminate taste - not good! And this would have cost 10.50euros if not on HB! Service in the hotel was excellent with nothing too much trouble.

Altogether an enjoyable holiday, but with room for improvement. No water in the gym for instance. Not five star yet. The best part of the stay - the huge room and the pool uncluttered by kids!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,487 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Address: Avda. Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden of Eden comes to life at the Grand Hotel El Mirador in Costa Adeje. We’re sure that if Adam and Eve were around today, they would choose the best 5-star spa hotel in south Tenerife as their holiday destination. Find out why you should give into temptation and choose a hotel for adults just one minute’s walk from the beach: Paradise on earth.Views of the crystal-clear waters of Playa del Duque beach surround this beautiful, charming hotel. Plus, it’s only 5 minutes away, so you can feel the fine sand between your toes in no time at all. 1,000 m² of sensations. Try volcanic hot stone massages, chromotherapy or the sensations shower in our SPA Sensations. Relaxation guaranteed! Luxury cuisine and authentic Canarian flavours go hand in hand at our hotel. You can’t leave Tenerife without trying the spicy mojo sauce or fish fresh from the market with potatoes. Just suites and nothing but suites is what you will find at the Grand Hotel El Mirador. They are all spacious and feature a terrace for you to enjoy the 22ºC temperatures that the Fortunate Isles offer you. Silence, the sound of peace and tranquillity. The waves lapping the shore and the notes from the piano while you sip your drink are the only sounds you will hear during your break. 13 is the lucky number.At least in this hotel it is, because there are 13 rooms with access to La Balconada, the most exclusive area in this resort. It boasts a swimming pool with sea views and a luxury sun terrace where you can soak up the Tenerife sunshine. Improve your swing. Try your technique at the top 5 golf courses in Tenerife, which are all in the vicinity of this luxury hotel in Costa Adeje. Clubs at the ready, it’s the perfect chance to perfect your shot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Adeje
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing