We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tenerife Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 29, 2014

At short notice we booked this first visit to the Canaries, and were not disappointed. Quite a large volcanic island boasts the huge El Teide dormant volcano in its centre, at 3817 metres the biggest mountain in Spain (sic). Well worth a trip (half day by a good coach) and the cable car takes you to a spectacular 3500 metre platform. The tangle of old lava and the huge pine woods circling the mountain inspire awe.

We also enjoyed a 3-hour yachting trip to watch dolphins and pilot whales which are local residents. Choose a small yacht, which is quiet and stands a better chance of finding whales than the bigger boats loaded with passengers. Our skipper knew his trade and found us at least 35 whales in various family groups. In March the sea is still too cool for more than a quick dip, but the hotel pool (though probably unheated) was warm enough for a good swim. Reliable blue skies, a refreshing sea breeze, and a daytime high of some 25 C make this a very suitable winter getaway, only four hours flight from the UK and with no time change.

The Costa Adeje development, on the South Western shore, was started only some 15 years ago, and was deliberately zoned as an up-market resort. Fine beaches linked by a long promenade pass several grand hotels. El Mirador is one of the grandest, though at only 124 suites and no young children it is quiet and attracts a certain type of well-heeled British and German adults, rather than the younger Russians who favour the downtown hotels.

Set in a fine garden below quaint architecture and above the best beach, and just beside an excellent large pool, your sunbathing spot is set up where you want it, and service is immaculate here as throughout the hotel.

In a recent makeover the hotel was converted to all-suite layout, and ours was quiet, comfortably large, and well appointed. Lavish sitting areas, a walk-in Wardrobe/dressing room. a vast bathroom, and a sun balcony with loungers all make for a pleasant stay. One tip is to bring your own kettle and adaptor plugs, since the management seems not to share our need for hot drinks in one's room.

The three restaurants offer attractive menus, though the baneful levelling up of Euro prices has made meals rather costly. It is hard to eat well, with local wine, at less that £40 each. Try some of the local restaurants which are within easy strolling range. The hotel's main restaurant offers a first-class buffet breakfast and themed dinners which at 35 euros are fair value. Half board is available, though our B & B terms gave us freedom to try the local restaurants.

Like the suites, all external parts of the hotel are attractive and have character. Our only reservation is the huge entrance hall, which is gloomy,cluttered, has a style reminiscent of Lord of the Rings castles, and ruins the inside bar which lurks in semi-darkness.

Final mention must be of the charming local people. In 10 days we met unfailingly cheerful and helpful service everywhere we went. They appreciate a word of Spanish but English and German is widely spoken - really nice island folk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreydiverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador for your first visit to the Canaries as well as for reviewing you overall holiday experience at our hotel.

Moreover, we are pleased to read your satisfaction with the comfort of the suite we accommodated you in as well as with the quality of our extensive breakfast buffets.

We also would like to thank you for pointing out the beauty of our grounds and the prime location of our hotel, fronting the ocean and with a wide array of dining and leisure options on the doorstep.

Last but not least, we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

Thank you, once again for making us your choice hotel when visiting Tenerife; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to serving you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide at your earliest convenience.

Kindest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

In fact, we had booked the Iberostar Grand Hotel Salome, but when we arrived at Tenerife Sur airport, travel agency "FTI" decided to accommodate us at Hotel El Mirador and this, of course was shock for us. We came here to celebrate our 30 years wedding anniversary and get surprise like this. That was a very big disappointment for us. We didn't expect that this happening to us.
Besides, we didn’t get any excuses, no sorry from them at all. It’s a little bit strange.
But when we arrived to the hotel El Mirador, we were nicely surprised, because this hotel was very nice. I and my wife stayed in this hotel for one week. I can say that is the best hotel of this type and the most beautiful hotel I had ever stayed.
It so many thank you I want to say to the Manager Assistant Mrs. Irene Mencia.
It is so big like El Teide 
Thanks to her our vacation was just perfect. 
Just because of her our wedding celebration was excellent. We were surrounded by a pleasant attention from her while we were there. She has taken our problem very seriously to make us really out of stress and financial losses. We have superior suites on the 6th floor get with the breathtaking sea views. And on the day of our anniversary we were not forgotten: was very nice decorated room, small gifts, a bottle of cava, and flowers of course, dinner and a cake made special for us with some symbolic. That was very nice.
Thanks again to the Irene Mencia Manager Assistant.
We lived in very nice suites with a large terrace, large bathroom, separate dressing room, toilet and bidet. The bed very comfortable, we slept like children. Very good breakfast buffet, everything was fresh and tasty. The location of the hotel is very quiet and right on the sea. Walking to the Playa de Las Americas takes just 15 minutes. Service is great; all are helpful and very pleasant. The staff was so kind and nice that you always know - you are on vacation.
The interior design is like from a fairy tale and exterior not les attractive. The pool area is nice planted huge and very, very nice.
I strictly recommend this hotel. I don't think that I will find a man who didn't like this hotel.
Unfortunately, I lost the business card which I get from Mrs. Irene Mencia and I can't personally say some words.
(If accidentally Manager Assistant Mrs. Irene Mencia will read this review, please send me yours contact info, please.
My e-mail: leopolis@iti.lt or leonidagipiene@ gmail.com)

Room Tip: Try to get room # 1612
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kongas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we want to express our utmost gratitude for choosing IBEROSTAR to celebrate such a special occasion as your 30th wedding anniversary and are thrilled we were able to make it a memorable one.

We are glad to hear that, as the saying goes, every cloud has a silver lining, and that the stressful start of your holiday has been professionally handled by our Management at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador.

We also would like to take the opportunity to point out that unfortunately, even though we informed your travel agent that we had no availability for the dates requested in our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Salome hotel, apparently you were not informed properly, however we are glad to read that the situation has been taken care of in order to guarantee you a wonderful holiday experience with IBEROSTAR.

Furthermore, we are very pleased to read that you appreciated the beauty of our luxury hotel and the peaceful atmosphere throughout our grounds, ensuring our guests a relaxing holiday experience under the sun of Tenerife.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we accommodated you in; our goal is to provide comfortable and spotless accommodations in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

Please be assured that we passed on your praising comments to our Assistant Manager and congratulated her on your behalf for her contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, thank you for your lovely review and the courtesy of your time; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR holiday among a wide range of beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

An adults only hotel is one thing, but one that is a joy and a pleasure to visit is another. Relax, enjoy and find peace in this hotel. Lovely attentive staff. Teeny complaint is that the poolside bar is a really pleasant place to sit of an evening but too dark. I nearly went back to my room with someone else's wife! Hey ho.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Mike,

We highly appreciate you spending part of your time to review your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador; your feedback is very important to assure the continued improvement of our services.

We took good note of your comments related to the lighting of our pool bar and passed it on to our management for revision and improvement; although it is thought to provide a relaxing and cozy atmosphere we certainly do not want our guests to fall into uncomfortable situations like the one you nearly experienced!

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the genuine kindness and attentiveness of our highly qualified staff and to hear that we were able to meet your expectations of a peaceful and relaxing holiday in an adults only luxury hotel.

Thank you once more for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area, we would be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Spent three weeks here. What a wonderful hotel and staff. The Hotel is in the perfect location. Private but access to the promenade, shops, restaurants and beach, ( 2 mins away) Our sea-view room was of a good size and comfortable. The room was cleaned and replenished every day. Had no need to ask for anything. The pool area was relaxing and the large pool wonderful to swim in. Pool service was very good. Breakfast choice was good and the evening buffet was as good if not better than eating out. The staff were extremely friendly and always willing to please. Victor, Anna, Danielle and Nelson are the names of just a few of the exceptional staff. By the way Nelson (from Cuba) makes wicked Mojitos, even the ones without alcohol!!! Most days we were surprised to receive a free cocktail of the day whilst sunbathing around the pool, which we thought was a lovely gesture. It was also nice to see that the hotel is always maintaining its standards. All new Gym Equipment was put in the Gym whilst we were there. We had no issues at all with this hotel. Its definitely one of the best hotels we have been to and we will definitely be back. This Hotel warrants an award!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Keith,

Thank you so much for sharing this lovely review on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, we feel very proud to read such praising comments on our hotel’s services.

We also would like to thank you for pointing out our great location, fronting the Ocean and with a wide array of dining and leisure options within easy reach, as well as the comfort of our accommodations designed to offer a relaxing stay to all our guests.

Moreover, we are very grateful for your highlight on the continued efforts to keep our installations and grounds to their original standards and are glad that you appreciated the brand new equipment of our fitness room.

Furthermore , we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation; we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them.

Once again, thank you for your preference and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a safe and comfortable journey back home and will be enchanted to welcome you back at your earliest convenience.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We would throughly recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing and peaceful holiday. We had a room in the vip area which was worth every penny. The main swimming pool is massive and easily accessible. Breakfast was excellent, there was everything that you could possibly want. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but went to the very nearby restaurants. I had 2 wonderful treatments in the spa during our stay. As many people have said the wifi was poor but this is the only negative comment that we can provide. We will definitely consider returning again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyPlumGsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador and are very grateful for the time you spent to share your satisfaction here on TripAdvisor; it is wonderful to hear we were able to meet your expectations of a relaxing holiday experience under the sun of Tenerife.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out the beauty of our public areas as well as our prime location with a wide array of dining and leisure option within easy reach.

We also thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, we are grateful for your highlight on the quality of the treatments available at our Spa performed by highly qualified staff.

Thank you again for your visit and very nice recommendation to TripAdvisor’s readers; we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the lovely Costa Adeje.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We wanted a quiet, relaxing, adults only hotel and this one delivered, especially during the day.
Our room on the fifth floor had stunning views and was very clean. Everything you need for your stay is supplied in the well equipped bathroom. The beach towels are in a large hessian bag which is great to carry all your poolside requirements! The bed was harder than we like and we needed more pillows but a mattress topper and spare pillows were quickly brought on request.There are no facilities for making morning tea so we had to pay for room service, which is a shame. Breakfast was provided by a large and varied buffet with tea and coffee brought to the table by the waiter. We booked half board which was once again a varied hot and cold buffet with a choice of main course to order and was served by the waiters. Occasionally there was a problem with poor communication between the waiter who took the order and the kitchen, as we did not all ways receive exactly what we ordered! However this was swiftly put right by the Maître d', Davide. The choice was a little predictable but I suppose you can't complain when there is steak on the menu every night!!
The pool area was fabulous and there was no shortage of comfortable sun beds!
All the staff went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
The reason I have only given 4 stars is because I think more could be done to encourage guests to eat in the hotel in the evening. Perhaps the supplement for half board could be lowered to make it more competitive with nearby restaurants!! As so many people eat out this means the bar area is sometimes lacking ambiance. The hotel's musical entertainment is sufficiently low key, which is unfortunately not the case at the restaurant next door which had live music and singers every night until midnight!!
The Sunday Artisan market in the courtyard is well worth a visit as there are interesting local products for sale.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bigglesbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador; it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We sincerely apologize for the imperfect service at our restaurant and although we are glad to read that our Maître was able to adjust the situation, we will forward your comment to him and our Head Chef in order to improve on this aspect and guarantee an impeccable service to all our future visitors.

We also took good note of your comment on our entertainment offer and commit to revise our program however our hotel being designed to offer the maximum tranquility, we do not offer a full entertainment program like in other hotels of our brand.

On the other hand, as it is our deepest desire to offer comfortable accommodations, we enjoyed reading your description of the rooms that are designed to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible and are glad that you appreciated our personalized touch when providing beach towels in a hessian bag.

Last but not least, we want to express our utmost gratitude for your praising words towards our staff; as you well say their great attitude, genuine helpfulness and full commitment to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay at our hotel is definitely our main asset; we will certainly not miss this opportunity to congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing throughout your stay among us.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Tenerife and for your constructive critics; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination within more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We returned yesterday from a most relaxing week at El Mirador. We booked a superior junior suite and we're not disappointed with the room and it's facilities. I would agree with many comments about poor wifi reception and the lack of English channels on the TV, but this did not spoil our stay. What was a disappointment was the swimming pool which was described as being heated but was, in fact, uncomfortably cold. If swimming is important to you, I would not recommend this hotel in the winter, unless you are extremely hardy! The grounds are beautiful and there was plenty of space for sunbathing, with pool attendants available to move sun loungers and parasols to your chosen position, and waiters to take drink/snack orders. Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice and we would certainly recommend this hotel if what you want is peace and quiet and a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter, as there was loud music coming from a nearby restaurant in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador; we always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused by a short breakdown of our pool’s heating system, as you well say the water’s temperature has been cooler than usual during a few days; however the system has since then been repaired and the water’s temperature is back to normal as we speak.

Related to the selection of English channels, having recently reprogrammed all our TV’s, our room directory still reports the old channels list, we are waiting for the new one to be delivered shortly.

On the other hand, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of our accommodations as well as with the beauty of our grounds and pool area.

Last but not least, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our breakfast buffet and its wide array of fresh products ranging from hot and cold, sweet and salty options to cater for diet requirements and please all palates.

Thank you once more for making us your choice hotel when holidaying in Costa Adeje and for your kind recommendation to TripAdvisor’s readers; we hope that you had a safe and comfortable journey back home and would be delighted to welcome you back at your earliest convenience.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#4 of 61 in Costa Adeje
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#3 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,717 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#2 of 61 in Costa Adeje
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador

Address: Avda. Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#1 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#1 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $294 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An amazing holiday experience in Costa Adeje awaits at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador. Whether it's going shopping at the best shops, practicing your golf swing, or sampling amazing cuisine with the flair of the Canary Islands, this 5-star hotel in Costa Adeje offers you the best. The 124 suites of the Grand Hotel El Mirador offer an excellent opportunity to fall a little more in love with your partner. They're a mixture of a warm ambiance, exclusive services and details such as a canopy bed, dressing room, and living room, while nearly every room has views of Playa del Duque. La Balconada also allows you to enjoy a VIP zone with a pool and solarium for just a select few. Discover a hotel that's only for guests 16 years of age and up and that includes: SPA Sensations, fitness room, free Wi-Fi, water sports, an impressive outdoor pool, meeting rooms, doorman service, three restaurants and two bars, among other select services and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Adeje
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing