We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in the Mirador”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was our first time staying in the El Mirador, although we'd holidayed in Costa Adeje before and always wanted to stay there. We went in mid-June 2013 so it was very warm and the hotel wasn't too crowded. From the off, the service at the hotel was very good. The staff were friendly and attentive which really made a difference to our stay.

The hotel building and the grounds are lovely - very well maintained and luxurious. The heated pool makes for a very refreshing dip and the sun loungers with their cushioned toppers were so comfortable you could literally stay there all day. The grounds by the pool overlook the sea and beach so it was very picturesque. It being an adults-only hotel really made all the difference as it was so quiet and peaceful by the pool every day. Our room was big and spacious with an enormous corner balcony with roof which wasn't overlooked by anyone else. They provide bottled water in your room free of charge every day, which was great, and the room was kept immaculately tidy by the housekeeping staff while we were there.

Breakfast was really good; lots of choice and good quality food. There was an egg station, a smoothie station, meats and cheeses, fruits of all kinds and even Cava for those who wanted it. It is definitely worth going B&B here, if you can, as you won't be disappointed.

A few negatives are the speed and availabilty of the wi-fi, which was frustrating sometimes. They have a strange system with the towels for use by the pool where they are given to you at your room and changed each day in the turn-down service, which happened at about 4.30 each day. Because of this, we hardly ever had our towels changed by the maid as we were still by the pool, so had to ring housekeeping and have them bring new ones in exchange for the old ones. The walls in the room were quite thin and as I'm a light sleeper I had to buy ear plugs as I was being woken up through the night and in the mornings. The noise really reverberates through rooms and down corridors! The hotel hasn't been recently refurbished, so some features in the room were a little worn or tatty and there was no full-length mirror in the bedroom at all, which, although minor, was a little annoying.

All in all we had a great stay in this lovely hotel. I'd really recommend it for a peaceful and relaxing break in a lovely area of Tenerife.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 878 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned from a week at the El Mirador, perfectly situated on El Duque Beach (Best in Tenerife) and next door to the larger Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque where we stayed last year. Me and my partner visit Tenerife 2-3 times a year and had yet to stay at this hotel, so decided to give it a try - and we're very glad we did!

Upon arrival (via crazy taxi from the airport which costs just under 30 euros) at the underground lobby we were greeted by the bell boys and checked in efficiently whilst enjoying a complimentary glass of Cava. We were shown to our room, a Junior Suite, on the 3rd floor and were very impressed by the Moroccon inspired design, colours and elegance of the room. Bathrooms with twin sinks and separate walk in shower and toilet are superb and finished in natural stone. Beds are large and comfortable although not as good as the Bahia Del Duque's or Sir Anthonys at Mare Nostrum Resort. There is a turn down service each night and the usual chocolates left on the pillow. A nice touch BUT for us happened too early around 7pm - We only go out to eat at 8 so had the maids in the room whilst getting ready - this did not really bother us but some guests may not want this disturbance!

The ambience of this hotel is very good and all the guests (ranging from 20's to 70's) were courteous, well groomed and added to the overall experience of staying in a 5 star hotel, without being pretentious. The NO CHILDREN under 14 policy is really what sets this hotel apart from it's next door neighbour the Bahia Del Duque. There is a quality calm and tranquillity throughout the hotel and around the Pool area that we haven't experienced before.

Pool and Pool Bar Areas - Tranquil. Never to busy to get a sunbed from the excellent pool attendants and no matter where you placed your beds a wonderful view and peace and quiet! No screamers, lilos, bombing, plastic buckets or armbands at the side of the pool at the El Mirador! The layout of the pool and landscaping is the best we have experienced at any hotel we have ever stayed in. Being heated makes it even better! Very Romantic setting and just perfect for couples of any age!

Low key evening entertainment is actually very good and during our stay was quite busy up until it finishes at around 11.30pm. Although we enjoy the luxuries of a 5 star hotel we do like to let our hair down on the odd occasion and venture into the lively Las Americas. Should you wish to do this at any time it is very easy to get a taxi from the Hotel Lobby (2 mins and it's there) - a 10 minutes and 10-12 euros taxi ride later and you are a world away from the Mirador and can party until dawn, Must try The Dubliner at Gaelic Corner and go and seek Comedy Elvis at The Moonlight, Fanabe on a Saturday Evening!

Must mention the restaurant El Cenador which opens ONLY Friday - Sunday. A truly fantastic dining experience with food and views to match! A very reasonable 89 euros which included water and bottle of wine - Best meal/experience of the Holiday!!

Breakfasts are excellent with as much choice as you could wish for.

What's Bad? The gym is not a gym! Equipment is old and faulty so don't bother packing your trainers. Hotel recognise this and say new equipment is on order - Not before time! If the gym was brought upto standard you could excercise with the most fantastic views! Our only disappointment of the hotel (apart from La Pergola restaurant being closed for improvements but suppose this has to be done at some time of the year!)

What's Not Great? The Wi-fi, although did work OK in the room. Any YES, there is an occasional light sewerage smell although this is not the fault of the hotel but affects the whole area. It is not constant and did not spoil any aspect of our stay.

Would we return? Like a shot! And we would choose this hotel over the Bahia De Duque.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This Hotel was absolutely fantastic. We had one week of just lazing by the pool. It was so quiet and peaceful, just what the Doctor ordered. We stayed in a Junior Suite with Ocean View, on Bed & Breakfast, and it didn't disappoint. The room was a good size, and had everything we needed, and was very tastefully decorated (as was the whole Hotel). The Breakfast was amazing. We didn't really need to eat until Dinner after that. The staff were brilliant, extremely happy & very helpful, although some days a little slow to respond, although that's the Spanish way I suppose. We weren't in any rush to get anywhere or do anything!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank KimBarber2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Went with my partner 2 nd week of December . Totally beautiful hotel. Excellant service and would highly recommend La Nona resteraunt. Quite pricey but worth it . No kids or louts attention to detail , nice grounds and a fantastic breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mljz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just returned from our second visit and I can truly say this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Staff are excellent and so friendly whilst remaining professional, service is second to none - nothing seems too much trouble!! Food is out of this world (you must try El Cenedor restaurant open Fri-Sun). I would definitely recommend this to couples everywhere!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank acrewdson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great Great Great!
We loved it. Big thanks to Paola, Sole, Juan and all the team (sorry for those I forget the name and can't mentioned) who made our stay be just as Fantastic as possible.
Amazing service, people are just nice and human! a proper 5* hotel.
We had a junior suite sea view - it was just amazing!
Very clean, spacious, quiet, close to attractions ( restaurants, shopping center...).
The 3 restaurants in the hotel are great, breakfast it's amazing, as is lunch and dinner.
Will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We loved our stay in this hotel ....very beautifully built ,
staff are very courteous ,, ,the roooms are very spacious ,cleaned and sorted in morning an evening . poolside relaxation is just perfect .pools are kept clean and beautiful .
gym is a bit of disappointment ,of being quite small , but that didn't matter so much as we had the best of evrything else . Breakfast is a treat.Located short walk from beach side
Also the provided us with a courtesy room , after we checked out at 12 noon , for few hours waiting before our departure flight times !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugandh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 61 in Costa Adeje
704 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador

Address: Avda. Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $283 - $941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An amazing holiday experience in Costa Adeje awaits at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador. Whether it's going shopping at the best shops, practicing your golf swing, or sampling amazing cuisine with the flair of the Canary Islands, this 5-star hotel in Costa Adeje offers you the best. The 124 suites of the Grand Hotel El Mirador offer an excellent opportunity to fall a little more in love with your partner. They're a mixture of a warm ambiance, exclusive services and details such as a canopy bed, dressing room, and living room, while nearly every room has views of Playa del Duque. La Balconada also allows you to enjoy a VIP zone with a pool and solarium for just a select few. Discover a hotel that's only for guests 16 years of age and up and that includes: SPA Sensations, fitness room, free Wi-Fi, water sports, an impressive outdoor pool, meeting rooms, doorman service, three restaurants and two bars, among other select services and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Adeje
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing