We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Bliss"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Bliss"”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our first time in this hotel but certainly wont be our last, We were on a "bed and breakfast" basis but did eat in a couple of nights sampling the buffet but we like to get out and about and try local restaurants. Breakfast was great, chef on hand to personally cook your egg from a poached to a fried. All staff were friendly and really helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We chose this hotel because of its "adult only" policy so it was bliss with no screaming kids and the usual child parent little chats! Absolute BEST of all (for me) the bed was really comfortable so shame on other hotels!

Last point, we never felt rushed or crowded (plenty of sun-loungers with ample seating in bar and lounge areas) and this helped make it a relaxing holiday. Will we be returning - a definite YES!

Room Tip: If you want a sea-view book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaspar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    256
    76
    27
    12
See reviews for
129
1,119
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

In general our stay at this hotel was very good. We would return, though I would very much hope by the time we come back they have resolved the few niggles.

Room:
Room was good- the decor and cleanliness were great, very spacious and great view.
Criticisms - we had a junior suite which in the main was great but the shower was rubbish. The shower head was tiny and static. Put some decent shower heads in please :-)
The Internet never worked in our room for the whole holiday, more annoying I had full signal for the Internet from the hotel next door (but no password). The Internet was patchy in the rest of the hotel, though for you IT geeks out there i think this was a dns issue but there seemed little appetite to reboot the router. the staff just acknowledged the internet was rubbish. As I have to be online for work it meant I ended up spending a lot on 3G! Please upgrade your Internet!!!
As others mentioned tv was rubbish but not a big issue.

SPA
Positives - none :-(
We do love the odd visit to the spa when on a relaxing holiday but here we were disappointed. Firstly we were never offered a tour, neither when booking or arriving for our treatments. My wife was disappointed with her facial. After our treatments I went to use the shower... It was dirty and when I turned it on produced brown water (little used no doubt but could be run/cleaned daily).
Look up in the spa pool and you will see a ceiling covered in dust/mould. Not very nice. Also black mould in the large Jacuzzi... A deep clean and bit of staff retraining could easily sort the spa out.
We would normally have 3-4 treatments on a holiday but as a result of the above we didn't rebook..

OK now the best bits-
Staff were great (spa aside) very friendly, helpful and attentive. Ultimately one thing stood out was they were led very well. The hotel manager had a regular presence at breakfast and dinner and not a day went by when we didn't see her. She very much took guest services seriously so I very much hope she is able to address the above mentioned issues.

Food - probably the best overall eating experience we have had. We booked half board and for the first time on a trip to Tenerife we were not disappointed by the food. Choice was good. Food was fresh and although it was buffet led the main course was served from a daily menu choice. The chef Pascal also produced a fresh special starter each day.

In summary this hotel came very close to being rated a 5, we will be returning and hopefully if they have addressed the issues we will be able to rate it that 1 mark higher!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We last visited the El Mirador in January 2011 and chose to come again for a week of Winter sun in November 2012. We were really blessed with fabulous weather - just great to wear shorts at this time of year.

We were lucky to be upgraded at check-in to a 'Balconnade' room. Situated on the 2nd floor (we had room 1219) these rooms have the same facilities as most of the other suites, but with a huge terrace with sun loungers and a private swimming pool shared only by these rooms. This was blissful - really quiet, really private and a real help to achieving some much needed R&R. This floor also offers a free bar by the pool and fruit and pastries throughout the day. We would certainly book this when coming next time.

The hotel is just as we remembered, but has certainly improved on food quality. For the sake of ease we had decided to book for the half board option. This allows you to have 5 meals in the buffet and 2 in the al a carte restaurants. We really enjoyed our meals both the buffet and the Pergola Restaurant, the latter providing the best meal we had during our stay - fantastic pear and gorganzola pasta to start and a mouth watering chateaubrian as our main course. The only meal we didn't really enjoy was in the La Celador Restaurant - a little bit 'try to hard' and poncy for me, a lot of food oversalted and tiny portions. Not the best and I wouldn't try next time.
Service, as before, was excellent and special shout-outs go to Josefa, Ana Clara and Jesus, all of whom are an absolute credit to the hotel.

Room cleaning standards are excellent, and the evening turn down service is very good. Perhaps the rooms are beginning to look a little dated, but they do take some wear and tear so I suppose this can be expected.

Wifi internet connection was much improved this trip - we were able to access Wifi from our balcony and everywhere in the bar area.

Just some niggly points - would be great to have a better DVD library. Great to have a DVD in the room, but would have loved some better films to chose from. Reception service can be a bit hit and miss - depends on who you get.

We will rebook for next year. I love that there are no children allowed, so a wonderful peaceful atmosphere pervades the hotel and also that the hotel never feels crowded.

A wonderful break at a lovely hotel and worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandMlondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

What a delight to read your extensive review full of wonderful comments on our Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador. We always strive to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and it is very motivating and pleasant to see that on this occasion we reached our goal.

We took good note of your remarks regarding the offered selection of movies and we will do our best to amplify the choices.

Further, we are grateful for your description of our Iberostar Grand Hotel el Mirador as a wonderful peaceful and clean hotel as this is what we want to be. The gastronomy is also an important facet of our company and we do our utmost to please all palates. It is enjoyable to read that we could conquest yours. The fact you highlighted our close and personalized service is a source of motivation as well. We will certainly congratulate our staff especially Josefa, Ana Clara and Jesus for making you feel so welcome and attended.

Before saying goodbye, we thank you once more for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay so much you rebooked for next year. We are enchanted that you visit us again soon. This is the best possible reward for our daily labors and it makes our work worthwhile.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the El Mirador on the 4th October for 10 nights. We were welcomed by an efficient check-in. The staff were extremely polite throughout and were always on hand to help. Service in the bar area was sometimes a bit slow and a couple of meals were not up to par, but all the other facilities and extras made up for that. The youg man who was in charge of the pool area needs a special mention as he was on hand to arrange your sunbed, towels and umbrella everyday. We had a really relaxing stay which is why we went away and look forward to returning again next year. This was our first visit to Tenerife and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Esther,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We took good note of your comments regarding the service in the bar area and some of the dishes which weren´t of your liking. We shared your feedback with the concerning departments and commit to revise and if possible improve the procedures we established to achieve complete satisfaction in all the related to food and beverage.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff, especially regarding the pool attender. As all of them work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, we will definitely pass them your satisfaction with their services. They will surely celebrate that you wrote that they are extremely polite and always on hand to help.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We originally had booked for a different hotel, but because of a problem in our 1st choice hotel, we were offered El Mirador ,with compensation offered for the change, ie free evening dinner, as we were only booked for bed and breakfast originally.
Well! All I can say is that the hotel is amazing! Truly 5 stars. From the time of arrival, when we were offer drinks as we booked in at reception the staff could not have been more helpful. We were shown to our suite on the 5th floor, which was beautiful. Had a terrace which contained two thick loungers, sofa with two lovely comfortable chairs, and glass drinks table.
All overlooking lovely grounds with meandering swimming pool, all with perfect vista of the sea. The suite had four poster king size bed, lovely deep bath, separate toilet.and beautiful tiled walk in shower. Door led into the lounge ,with sofa and two easy chairs. Mini bar, and coffee table. Desk and chair. And flat screen tv, and also there was same tv in bedroom.
The restaurant was a revelation! Service all the way, food was just the best we have ever experienced, waiters and waitresses were always smiling, just a joy to be part of it .
I think the area where El Mirador is situated, is the best place on Tenerife, lovely walkways along the coast path overlooking a lovely beach. We used to go strolling every day. Plenty of lovely shops and restaurants if you are not having dinner in the hotel. Only small thing I did not like, was that the Internet Wi-Fi was nearly always not working , but you could use the hotels wired Internet free of charge in the room near reception. When I queried about the Wi Fi, I was told most apologetically that they were in the middle of an upgrade to a faster speed.
My wife and myself, would come back next week if I had plenty of money, ha ha . It was a sheer delight to stay at El Mirador, and my thanks go to all the hardworking staff , and managers, who made our stay so so memorable


Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Len A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Iberostar Grand Hotel el Mirador was such an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

Regarding the incidence with the internet connections, we want to apologies once more for the inconvenience during the update of the software to make it faster. This uncomfortable situation is now largely solved and we are happy to be able to offer a smooth and quick connection.

On the other hand, we are very satisfied that you are so enthusiastic about all of our prime pillars to offer a splendid stay to our guests. Service orientation and helpfulness of our staff, cleanliness of the in- and outside installations, gastronomical delights and a perfect location are the most important elements of our company and reading that you find them all marvelous, fills us with joy and proud. We thank you for highlighting these aspects of your holiday as this motivates and stimulates us to keep meeting our outstanding quality standards.

On behalf of the staff and myself, I must say we were all delighted to have you at the Iberostar Grand Hotel el Mirador. We trust it will not be long before you will be back with us for another visit. We assure you in advance of our utmost care and attention and, in the meantime, remain at your entire disposal for any further enquiry you may have.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here at the end of October hoping for a week of sunshine in a quality hotel.
We weren't disappointed, and although the hotel is adults only we did take our 15 year old son. (Who was a bit bored!)
There were a couple of teenagers in the hotel, but essentially it caters unashamedly for adults, which was great for us and what we wanted. Total relaxation.
The hotel is well situated on this part of the coast and there are lots of restaurants within walking distance, along with shops etc.
I think all the rooms have some sort of sea view and tick all the usual 5* boxes.
Minor quibbles - I felt the toiletries could have been better quality (which they might well be in the VIP part of the hotel, at extra cost), and the wardrobe area is tiny.
The TV doesn't carry many Brtitish channels, apart from BBC world news.

Would I visit again? Possibly, as the pool and gardens are really lovely, and, without any little ones, beautifully relaxing!

But I must add - the smell of drains in parts of the hotel is appalling and the mangement really do need to do something about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeverleyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed end of Oct and early November. This hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. The standards were excellent I just cannot think of anything to pick fault.

A 10 min walk on the prom in the evening soon found usamongst the many bars and restaurants that were near by. Unusually for a resort there was little loud music just a peaceful pleasant atmosphere it was such a relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: They are all good, 4th floor probably better veiws along the coast line but that's it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingBillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Address: Avda. Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden of Eden comes to life at the Grand Hotel El Mirador in Costa Adeje. We’re sure that if Adam and Eve were around today, they would choose the best 5-star spa hotel in south Tenerife as their holiday destination. Find out why you should give into temptation and choose a hotel for adults just one minute’s walk from the beach: Paradise on earth.Views of the crystal-clear waters of Playa del Duque beach surround this beautiful, charming hotel. Plus, it’s only 5 minutes away, so you can feel the fine sand between your toes in no time at all. 1,000 m² of sensations. Try volcanic hot stone massages, chromotherapy or the sensations shower in our SPA Sensations. Relaxation guaranteed! Luxury cuisine and authentic Canarian flavours go hand in hand at our hotel. You can’t leave Tenerife without trying the spicy mojo sauce or fish fresh from the market with potatoes. Just suites and nothing but suites is what you will find at the Grand Hotel El Mirador. They are all spacious and feature a terrace for you to enjoy the 22ºC temperatures that the Fortunate Isles offer you. Silence, the sound of peace and tranquillity. The waves lapping the shore and the notes from the piano while you sip your drink are the only sounds you will hear during your break. 13 is the lucky number.At least in this hotel it is, because there are 13 rooms with access to La Balconada, the most exclusive area in this resort. It boasts a swimming pool with sea views and a luxury sun terrace where you can soak up the Tenerife sunshine. Improve your swing. Try your technique at the top 5 golf courses in Tenerife, which are all in the vicinity of this luxury hotel in Costa Adeje. Clubs at the ready, it’s the perfect chance to perfect your shot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Adeje
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing