We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for Society Golfers but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitchurch
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Room, plenty of space, just as would have expected. Shower v good but lots of limescale on walls. Otherwise room pretty good. Dinner, slightly better than expected for the price and well served. ( two exceptions roast pots undercooked and some people got some form of steak instead of lamb, seems they prob ran out. ) Breakfast was a disaster area, dirty glasses for orange juice (lots not a few) had to wait for ages for self service buffet to have any food topped up, self service toaster required 4 cycles to even get toast luke warm. Spent most of breakfast pinching bits from other tables as non on ours ie butter. Sausages only half cooked. Waited until breakfast nearly over before we got offered any tea or coffee. Probably the worst breakfast ever, anywhere.
One thing in their favour, we where lead into a different room from the other guests, presumably they do this with larger parties in order to give other residents some peace. A very good move, but please give us the service we deserve.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

A very modern clean and welcoming hotel.Rooms are superb,with all the facillities you would expect,walk-in shower,flat screen TV and great views even if you don't get a golf view every room has a view of well tended gardens and trees.The greeting on arrival could have been a little warmer but was OK later. Personally I dislike plated breakfasts,however it was hot,freshly prepared and very tasty.The restaurant is small and a little dark but the tables in the conservatory area are a better bet and provide excellent views of the golf course.Dinner menu was varied and a different Chefs Special changed each evening.Small points; the TV channels don't correspond to the list displayed on the screen,and if you arrive for breakfast on the 1st day of your stay (when it is not part of your package) and you need to pay,the menu says £13.50.but at the till it comes up as £13.95. All round,a first class stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thecameraman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Having been married the day before, we chose to stay at this hotel for a one night spa break to relax and enjoy the start of married life. We had booked a king size room - and even spoke to the receptionist about this being our first day of married life (with a bunch of long stemmed red roses in hand) to walk in to a twin room.... The response - oh - didnt know it was set up as a twin; but we'll sort it! Next room was a double (not king) disabled, politely refused as he was looking forward to a big shower and me a big spacious bath! Next room was offered as a king, and definately not disabled. It turned out to be a 3/4 double disabled.... Was then told another room would be cleaned in 10 minutes (cleaned in 10 mins - really?); 20 mins later still no room. So after 50 mins we left.
Reception service was not customer service; not willing to resolve the problem; no determination; no initiative - oh - also we were told they were very quiet - so why was it so hard to give us the room we booked!
(Called a local competitor with availability, who delivered incredibly well!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Very good value one night break that included unlimited golf. Buggy included but it was an inferior buggy. This was the only sign of it being a cheap break. Rooms are spacious ,modern and pleasant with a view over the golf course but with a creaky "comedy" bed as one previous reviewer mentioned. Service was helpful and professional and breakfast was good. The swimming pool and gym are also pretty decent. A bit Crosssroads motel but I would definitely recommend. Had a good meal in the Combermere Arms about 15 minutes drive away but would suggest booking a table as it was busy. really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veryfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Went with my mum for a relaxing weekend break (online offer of spa treatment, dinner, bed & breakfast) and could not have asked for more. Hotel was set in beautiful surroundings and we had a beautifully appointed room overlooking one of the hotel's two golf courses. The service throughout the hotel was excellent, from our warm welcome at reception, to the service at dinner and breakfast and we left feeling fully "recharged" having had a good night's sleep and a relax in the spa. The hotel is well suietd for anyone just looking to get away from things, be it a girls' weekend (some spa packages on offer), golf, or just enjoying the countryside and nearby town - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stopped at this hotel for a 1 night get away (we dont get many oppertunities due to work commitments so any cahnce to spend time togeather is special) The booking process was smooth, i called the hotel directly and booked with a very helpfull gentleman (even though i called at 10.30pm) We arrived and drove up the drive through the golfcourse which looked green and well kept. We checked in with James who seemed to be very busy running the front of house but was very cheery and polite and insisted on carrying my bags to our room which was a great help. The room was lovely and clean with a nice view out over the course! we had a small issue with the power in our room (it turned out a trip switch had gone) but a quick call to reception and James re-appeared and sorted it out. We choose to eat out and can highly recommend Willemoor lock and returned to the hotel for a drink in the sports bar which was full of golfers but the service wasnt suffering at all and the spanish lady behind the bar made a special effort to talk to us which was lovely. We weturned to our rooms to find the keys wouldnt work,so we reported this to the elderly female receptionist who seemed un interested, luckily the conversation was overheared by James who was walking past and soon re cut our keys and accompanied us to our room to ensure the keys worked. Breakfast was lovely and we checked out with James who was smiling and cheerey even at 9am (we had see him at 10pm the previous night) I cannot recomend this hotel highly enough and we hope to return to use the spa very soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beans31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I have just come back from a night's break to this hotel for my fella's 30th & thoroughly enjoyed it. I'd arranged for us both to have a massage & the spa replied to my initial email to book this within less that 24hours& were very helpful as it was a surprise for my fella. The pool is great & the spa is fabulous - especially the relaxation room after the treatment, this is by fat the best spa I have been to!
The room was large, clean,warm with an ample sized bathroom. The service of all staff was impeccable especially those in the restaurant. The food was lovely with a wide selection& reasonably priced.
I don't know anything about golf but the club was busy with the 2 courses & it was very pretty. All in all a lovely break at a great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panther79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
15.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
8.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
439 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
23.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Tarporley Road, Whitchurch SY13 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitchurch
Price Range: $92 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa in the heart of Shropshire, a golfer's paradise with two challenging courses to get your teeth into and a wonderful Spa with Rasul, rock sauna and eight treatment rooms for those who just want to lounge around and relax. Surrounded by peaceful grounds, it's amazing how accessible this hotel is in Whitchurch on the A49 and close to the major motorways; M53, M56, M6 and M54. Be inspired with plenty of local attractions on your doorstep including nearby Chester Zoo and the Ironbridge Museums and after a busy day, retire back to the hotel for a delicious meal produced using only the finest, quality ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Whitchurch
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel Country
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Whitchurch, Shropshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing