We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitchurch
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

I went to stay here with my wife for a couple of nights and were sorely disappointed.

The hotel itself is in the middle of an attractive golf course, but the buildings bear more resemblance to student halls of residence than a hotel. Most of the other guests where either there for the golf or an event on site, so beware that you will probably not feel that welcome unless you are in one of these categories.

On the first night we were unable to eat in the restaurant because they had overbooked themselves with events. The restaurant was actually empty but they were refusing to let anyone in. The "sports bar" is actually a now a function room and there is a dirty room that smells of beer that replaces it.

On the second night we went out for a friend's Wedding, but then couldn't sleep once we got back because of music from a function room below us.

Although good value for money, I would avoid this hotel at weekends as they obviously take on too many functions. Very disappointing.

Note that there is no Wi-Fi here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    438
    256
    143
    70
See reviews for
217
528
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Friendly staff, quite location.
Cozy rooms & comfortable beds.
Good Food & lovely breakfast.

A big screen for the football games & promotional pitcher offers is always an advantage. I was sorted.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captjackBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

What impressed me most about this hotel were the attendtive staff. In particular the staff on reception and in the health spa and a special mention to the lady cleaning the rooms who showed me and my mum to our room when we got lost and even carried my mums bag for her. The room was clean with lovely bathroom and a nice view. The food was well cooked and tasty. I really appreciated having breakfast served at our table which is unusual for a large hotel as it usually involves a rugby scrum at the breakfast buffet. We had two treatments in the spa and were dealt with politely and professionally. The swimming pool was divided into two lanes for adult swimmers and others which was great as I get rather annoyed if i am trying to swim and there are children splashing around in my way. The hotel seemed really peaceful and quiet even though there were golfers and a wedding on and it was the best hotel I have stayed in for some time. All in all a perfect weekend and I would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfiieneo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

I booked this hotel as the location suited a bike ride I was organising for 50 cyclists. The hotel staff were super friendly and efficient and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay.
The rooms are beautiful - very clean and tidy - speakers in the bathroom gave me a shock - great being able to hear the news in the shower!
We'd stupidly left our window open so come bed time our room was cold - in a diva type style we called reception and were brought blankets - great service and a great nights sleep.
Stunning location - if you want a weekend away, are getting married, love golf, whatever the occasion, I can thoroughly recommend the Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apples80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

This is a nice hotel in nice grounds but service was patchy (and non-existent in the lounge area). Rooms are big and comfortable but I wouldn't go there again unless it was essential.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

I have just returned from my hen weekend at this resort and can give nothing but positive feedback. The hotel itself was beautiful and well looked after. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a great time in the spa and the facilities are brilliant.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing weekend break.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

Stayed at this hotel last Friday and Saturday and can highly recommend.The golf course setting is extremely pleasant and the hotel smart,modern and very well appointed.We were on a weekend deal DBB for £180 per couple which was really good value.The service at Reception and in the Restaurant was first class and both breakfast and dinner were excellent.Our ground floor room was very smart and spacious and overlooked one of the golf courses. The Spa complex was well equipped and of high quality.Notice that most other reviews seemed similarly complementary which are well deserved.Will certainly stay here again when visiting this area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
15.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
24.7 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
23.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
17.8 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Tarporley Road, Whitchurch SY13 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa in the heart of Shropshire, a golfer's paradise with two challenging courses to get your teeth into and a wonderful Spa with Rasul, rock sauna and eight treatment rooms for those who just want to lounge around and relax. Surrounded by peaceful grounds, it's amazing how accessible this hotel is in Whitchurch on the A49 and close to the major motorways; M53, M56, M6 and M54. Be inspired with plenty of local attractions on your doorstep including nearby Chester Zoo and the Ironbridge Museums and after a busy day, retire back to the hotel for a delicious meal produced using only the finest, quality ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Whitchurch
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel Country
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Whitchurch, Shropshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing