We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel & facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitchurch
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just stayed for a 2 night mini break and have thoroughly enjoyed every minute. This was our second stay here and we had a spa treatment and afternoon tea on the first day followed by 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast. The spa treatments are excellent with wonderful staff. The whole place is very welcoming and relaxed with very friendly staff. The rooms are very well appointed with large bed, flat screen TV etc but the star was without doubt the shower which was so powerful and relaxing. Only gripe we had with the room was the lack of air conditioning which would have been good in the recent hot weather. Evening meals and breakfast in the restaurant were very good quality with a massive choice of breakfast items. Drinks in the bar VERY pricey. Bottle of beer an glass of wine £11 which is a rip off and £4 for a bottle of water in the room. That was the only let down really. Overall a great trip and would not hesitate in booking again.

Room Tip: Room 202 has great views over the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan_wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I went here with a couple of work friends for a spa weekend. We started our day of with a very expensive drink & dinner, I do understand that a hotel cost more but £11.30 for a double vodka & diet coke is a little extreme ! Hence we didn't have another one. The sandwiches were good but again a little over priced.
We went to the spa & I have to say the lady that did my massage was fantastic it was probably the best hot stones I've ever had. The spa staff are very nice.
Our room was lovely clean & with everything you would expect. With our package it included a 3 coarse evening meal which was very nice although if we wanted any bread it would of cost us £1.75??
I always look forward to my breakfast when away but this breakfast didn't do it for me the bacon was very fatty & only just cooked & either cheap or starting to go off it was very grey looking, you also get a choice of beans black pudding or fried bread hello is this not part of a breakfast why should you have to choose one of them ? All the hotel staff are very nice & helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Myself, my mother and my husband attended a wedding here the past weekend. What eles can i say but perfect. On arrival to the hotel its in a beautiful location. The sun was shinning and the whole experience was fantastic!! The food at the wedding breakfast was to die for and the room looked stunning! All staff were very helpful but one lady in particular on reception with blonde hair went out of her way to ensure ourselves and all other guests were at their happiest. I never caught this young ladys name but being front of house is most certainaly where she should be. We will not hesitate to book and stay at this hotel again. Thanks to all for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I had a two night decleor spa break. The room was huge it was for a wheelchair user I think. The bathroom was huge too. We had access to the back garden, it was really hot so got to sit outside and drink some ciders. That hotel is nice and clean. The food is not that great and i wouldn't rate the massages as great. I think with massages i'm used to getting them from somewhere else so know what they should feel like.this wasnt really great, not relaxing, ache relief etc. Bless the girls they did try. bed was rubbish!

Room Tip: we stayed in 107 ground floor - good for wheelchairs defo and in the summer so you can sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is ok, but not more than that. Best is the breakfast; enormous. Rooms are big and the bathroom is ok. Negative: the beds; very hard and uncomfortable. It was not only me, but a colleague in an other room had the same experience.
No, not a hotel to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a wedding nearby. Staff could not do enough to help. We had well behaved youing children. All of the staff we came into contact with went above and beyond in order to assist with our needs.They were polite and couteous not the same can be said of some 5 star London hotels. The room and facilties were of a good standard. Also the breakfast was excellent. When visiting Shropshire again we would not hesitate in staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie_the_forehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

It was my birthday and decided to try out a spa day. I found a really cheap deal £60 each with two treatments and lunch. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lunch was just right had chicken and cus cus with fruit salad and carrot cake yum :).
Had a facil and back massage was so relaxing I could have fallen asleep
Overall a very good experiance and would defenetly go again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank topTravellerFfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
15.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
8.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
15.6 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,321 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Tarporley Road, Whitchurch SY13 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitchurch
Price Range: $89 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa in the heart of Shropshire, a golfer's paradise with two challenging courses to get your teeth into and a wonderful Spa with Rasul, rock sauna and eight treatment rooms for those who just want to lounge around and relax. Surrounded by peaceful grounds, it's amazing how accessible this hotel is in Whitchurch on the A49 and close to the major motorways; M53, M56, M6 and M54. Be inspired with plenty of local attractions on your doorstep including nearby Chester Zoo and the Ironbridge Museums and after a busy day, retire back to the hotel for a delicious meal produced using only the finest, quality ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Whitchurch
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel Country
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Whitchurch, Shropshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing