We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitchurch
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I had a two night decleor spa break. The room was huge it was for a wheelchair user I think. The bathroom was huge too. We had access to the back garden, it was really hot so got to sit outside and drink some ciders. That hotel is nice and clean. The food is not that great and i wouldn't rate the massages as great. I think with massages i'm used to getting them from somewhere else so know what they should feel like.this wasnt really great, not relaxing, ache relief etc. Bless the girls they did try. bed was rubbish!

Room Tip: we stayed in 107 ground floor - good for wheelchairs defo and in the summer so you can sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,236 - 1,242 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is ok, but not more than that. Best is the breakfast; enormous. Rooms are big and the bathroom is ok. Negative: the beds; very hard and uncomfortable. It was not only me, but a colleague in an other room had the same experience.
No, not a hotel to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a wedding nearby. Staff could not do enough to help. We had well behaved youing children. All of the staff we came into contact with went above and beyond in order to assist with our needs.They were polite and couteous not the same can be said of some 5 star London hotels. The room and facilties were of a good standard. Also the breakfast was excellent. When visiting Shropshire again we would not hesitate in staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie_the_forehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

It was my birthday and decided to try out a spa day. I found a really cheap deal £60 each with two treatments and lunch. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lunch was just right had chicken and cus cus with fruit salad and carrot cake yum :).
Had a facil and back massage was so relaxing I could have fallen asleep
Overall a very good experiance and would defenetly go again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank topTravellerFfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Me and my gran went to stay at hill valley hotel for one night and had spa treatments the next day for her 70th birthday present. The spa was lovely and the staff did a good job except for the constant sniffing of one member of staff! The room was also nice but the food was awful especially the beef which was unbelievablely over cooked. Would probably not go again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tbbdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

On the basis that things can go wrong but the way it's handled is the key then the staff here turned what could have been a bad review into a good one. The wife and I are fond of taking weekend breaks around the UK and had high expectations of this place. First disappointment was that the hotel was a modern and characterless building, albeit set in beautiful surroundings. Second was that whilst we might be considered to be knocking on a bit we are not quite ready for disabled facilities yet. At first glance was impressed by the size of the bathroom but quickly realised it was for wheelchair access. The six grab rails and lowered basin etc proving to be awkward for able bodied use. However when raising it at the desk we were immediately transferred to a better room. Perhaps a little more care at check-in is needed.
Also noticed that the able bodied room was of a higher standard than the disabled one.
Restaurant food was good if a little sparse in quantity for the price.
Were not there for golf but facilities certainly looked good, no doubt why it is popular for that. Staff were friendly and helpful in advising about local places to visit. Seems popular with weddings as well and the one that laid on the firework display certainly added a nice end to the day.
Would agree with the other reviewers that golf has to be your priority to get the most from the venue.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have patio doors with an outside table and chairs. Those overlooking the golf cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me, my friend and our daughters recently had an 'overnight spa stay' here. This was a 'try-out' prior to her daughter's marriage due to be held at Hill Valley in July.
The staff were extremey helpful and nothing was too much trouble.In fact I had left a gold ring in my gown pocket by mistake and they went out of their way trawling through a day's useage to fnd it.
My daughter and my room was on the ground floor and had french windows leading tp a lovely patio area overlooking one of the two golf courses. My friend's room was on the fhe first floor and they had a lovely balcony with a small table and seating.
There were the usual amenities you would expect in the room, i.e. coffee/tea making facilities. TV, radio and excellent room service.
Overall a good trip

Room Tip: Thw ground floor rooms with their patio area was a lovely touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisrox_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
15.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
8.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
439 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
23.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Tarporley Road, Whitchurch SY13 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitchurch
Price Range: $91 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa in the heart of Shropshire, a golfer's paradise with two challenging courses to get your teeth into and a wonderful Spa with Rasul, rock sauna and eight treatment rooms for those who just want to lounge around and relax. Surrounded by peaceful grounds, it's amazing how accessible this hotel is in Whitchurch on the A49 and close to the major motorways; M53, M56, M6 and M54. Be inspired with plenty of local attractions on your doorstep including nearby Chester Zoo and the Ironbridge Museums and after a busy day, retire back to the hotel for a delicious meal produced using only the finest, quality ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Whitchurch
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel Country
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Whitchurch, Shropshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing