We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$283
$274
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Nantwich)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,513)
Filter reviews
1,513 results
Traveler rating
512
484
279
161
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
484
279
161
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelaxation roommacdonald hill valleypro shoppatio doorsset menuafternoon teasauna and steam roomchanging roomslovely hotelblack puddingcooked breakfastbreakfast and dinnerrestaurant staffbirthday treatlovely settingrelaxing breakfollowing morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,374 - 1,379 of 1,513 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Decided to go on a new years eve package for the first time and sure we chose an excellent hotel. From the welcome on reception, even managment around to help with a friendly checkin and to make sure all our requirements for the evening were checked. One slight issue hotel runs out of hot water when everyone trying to shower but cant be helped. Champagne on arrival at the party night. loved the canapes and the room looked stunning. Dinner was excellent best party meal weve had. Band a little loud for our taste but everyone dancing and seemed to have a great night. Excellent value for money at little more than some hotels were charging for dinner bed and breakfast will be looking to come back again thanks

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be the same size but some have views over the golf course not really much of a sell at this time of year
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytripagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHV, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

A very big thank you for posting your wonderful comments in relation to your new year experience here at Macdonald Hill Valley. We have received some excellent feedback in relation to our new year’s party and we will be planning to make further improvements to the event this year, so we would be delighted if you could join us again in our celebrations. I do pass on my apologies about the issue with the showers, and I currently have a company carrying out investigations to see if we have any faults with our boiler system. Once again, many thanks for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you again this year. Kind regards, Terence P Southward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The title of the review says it all really, we stayed here whilst attending a wedding recently. The check in was friendly and the room was spacious and clean. We had a room on the ground floor which overlooked the golf course, this was pure luck but if we returned i would definately request this. The rooms on the upper floors all had juliet balconies but as we were on the ground floor we had patio doors that opened to a grass terrace with table and chairs set up overlooking the 18th green.

The price of the room itself was fairly reasonable, we did however find that bar prices were steep. My fiance was drinking wine and a small glass of white house wine was around £6 (luckily we weren't drinking too heavily!!).

A few people have mentioned that the spa isn't directly linked to the hotel, this means that you have to go out of the hotel and go back into the spa through a seperate entrance. A bit strange that they didn't design this differently but no big deal really. We used the pool and sauna and were happy with the quality of these facilities.

We'll definately be rebooking either with this hotel or with another within the Macdonald chain at some point in the near future

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the golf course.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHV, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Many thanks for sharing your recent experience here at Hill Valley. It is very pleasing that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay with us, and like yourself many of our guests have made comments of how wonderful the views are from our executive bedrooms. I take your comments on board about the prices of our drinks; however we have carried out a great deal of research into bar prices and the majority of our stock items are priced in line with similar four star hotels. We do insist on providing our guests with superior service in the food & beverage areas in order to justify our prices, i.e. Table service in the bar & lounge area, the finest bread cut and served with oil and balsamic vinegar at your table, nibbles served in the lounge from 5-11pm. You will be delighted to hear that following feedback from our guests the company are investing a further £400,000 into the hotel this year to create a link between the hotel and the spa. This investment will also upgrade our leisure & spa facilities. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. Kind regards, Terence P Southward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Enjoy staying at this hotel. This time the room overlooked the golf course so the view was of the golf greens and surrounding woodland superb. We think the food had improved although there had been nothing wrong on our previous visits. One minor complaint the reception area was very cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor overlooking the golf course, they have a small seating area outside.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHV, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

I would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent experience here are Macdonald Hill Valley. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would urge you to visit us again in the summer were the views from our bedrooms are breathtaking. You will be pleased to hear that we have invested in installing a heat curtain and some additional radiators in the reception area, because as you rightly pointed out this area of the hotel can get very cold at this time of the year. The additional heating has made an incredible difference to the temperature of the reception area. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Terence P Southward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

More of an add on to the golf course, but could have been done with better design and character. Rooms are basic, bar and restaurant suprisingly good. The pool/gym are a long walk via the outdoors (with a separate car park), no idea why they did not connect this to the hotel. Beware there is another Macdonald hotel near Crewe, dont get confused ! Whitchurch is 10 minutes down the road and has some good pubs eg the Black Bear and a great Indian near the police station.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baidun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Positives: Relaxation room was lovely food well presented. Treatments were relaxing.
Negatives: Robe was XL looked ridiculous was hard as was towel. Embarrasing going outside into main stream bar for lunch, not told you could dress. Not given head massage which was in package. Pedicure nail polish peeling of after few hours, bit of a mess. ten minutes late in starting prep for massage treatment lasted 40mis was suposed to be an hour. Very disapionting, Raw carrot served with lunch was dirty not scraped.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHV, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to feedback to us on your recent visit to Hill Valley. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the sub standard service you received during your experience here at Hill Valley. What should have been a relaxing afternoon has turned into a stressful day, and I would like to assure you that my Spa Manager, Lisa Griffin and I will be addressing the issues you have raised personally. I would like to add that Lisa is very new to the hotel and only recently took up her position less than two weeks ago. This is by no means an excuse but an explanation into the shortfall in standards. Lisa has highlighted certain areas of the business which need improving and is currently working towards achieving this. One of the actions she has already implemented is that all therapists undergo re-training for both treatments and nails. I have also spoken at length with my Head Chef to ensure the carrots are peeled, washed and prepared at all times to ensure we do not have a repeat of this in the future. I do hope that this experience will not deter you from using the facilities here at the hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Terence P Southward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews