We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star B and B for not just us but for our horse.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willington Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willington Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“5 Star B and B for not just us but for our horse.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have stayed twice, both times when my daughter qualified for the Pony Club Championships in nearby Cheshire. Both times we have bought her horse. This time we were welcome with a very well deserved G & T after a 7 hour drive from home due to the V Festival, both times we have stayed in the Grooms Suite. Nothing was too much trouble for Pam and Richard, even down to mucking out my daughters horse while we had to shoot off to compete. Beautiful location, very restful, after a stressfull few weeks, you must try the Willington Lodge specials breakfast as well.

We will be returning next year with both my own horse and my daughters horse for a chilled out horsey weekend and do to some fun rides.. I would highly recommend if taking a horsey break as well as normal break, as the stables are very big, clean and quaint, plus there is turnout available if you need it. Our horse was happy, and I am sure she would give a 5* review if she could talk.

Room Tip: Grooms Suite was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Owner at Willington Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review on Willington Lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed having you back to stay once again and also Bonnie too, she's gorgeous. I think our male horses were quite taken with her, If only they could talk !! You deserved your G & T after that harrowing journey, hope it helped. It was lovely to meet Guy and Mitch too this time. As you know we are in the middle of some fabulous countryside and it's perfect for riding and out door activities. We have been doing the fun rides over the last few weekends and I know if we could organise a weekend for you to come up next year you would absolutely love them. Send our regards to Lizzie and a pat for Bonnie.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Pam x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
125
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here staying with our son and his family in the Grooms suite. Welcomed by Richard and Pam with a very welcome cup of tea and scones after our long drive from Kent! The rooms were beautifully decorated and the bathroom was fit for a ball! Very comfortable and as for the breakfast - porridge to die for and beautiful scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - yum! Made to feel very welcome with good advice for evening meal out and daytime activities. Many thanks to you both and hopefully we will be back one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just come home from staying at this absolutely fantastic place. From the minute we arrived after a long journey we were made to feel totally at home and nothing was too much trouble. We were going to a wedding locally and a taxi was arranged - just one example of Pam and Richard going out of their way to make everything perfect. We stayed in the walled garden room - stunning does not do it justice! The attention to detail was amazing and when we found the home made cakes - well!! Sadly we could only stay one night - this time! We will certainly try to get back soon to enjoy again the excellent hospitality and friendship and to explore the local area. The breakfast was lovely (didn't eat for the rest of the day) - there simply is nothing to fault here! Thank you Pam and Richard

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen504216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Owner at Willington Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Oh thank you so much, really pleased you had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. We too enjoyed chatting and making recommendations to you. Glad you liked the Walled Garden Suite, its great, especially when the sun is shining.to sit out on the terrace and enjoy the tranquillity.

As we discovered you are interested in walking, Richard and I would be more than happy to recommend some circular walks in our region, most with breath-taking views to enjoy the scenery. There's always a good pub on route if we recommend the walk !!

Hope to see you again in your retirement.

Many thanks once again.

Pam x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

What can I say this B&B is the the best. Pamela and Richard are the perfect hosts. They meet us on arrival in their beautiful home with a warm welcome and made us feel as we had known them for years. They took time to direct us to different places where we could eat of a night and even recommended a taxi to take us to the wedding we were attending at Combimere Abbey. The room we had in the Walled Garden was beautifully presented, so clean comfortable and everything you needed was available. Pamela even put cushions on the chairs outside our the room for us to sit on and watch the peacocks roam around the grounds (the Peacocks have expensive tastes as they liked to sit on Richards lovely car!!!!) The breakfast was first class. I would certainly recommend this beautiful place to anyone who is staying in the area. Thanks once again to Pamela and Richard for our very pleasant stay. Hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Walled garden room was excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HugowirralUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Owner at Willington Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello from Willington Lodge

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. We really did enjoy having you and John to stay. We just want everyone to have a pleasant and memorable time with us so anything we can do to assist such as restaurant recommendations, a driver to the wedding venue is all part of the service.

We have a lovely family room so would be great to see you again, maybe with your daughter next time.

The peacocks make us laugh, a ready made perch hey !! they are part of the family here.

Thank you so much once again and so pleased you both enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards



Pam x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for one night this weekend with our 2 teenage children. Pamela & Richard were lovely! The house has been restored beautifully to an amazing standard. Our room was spotlessly clean with delicious home made carrot cakes for us when we arrived! We stayed in the Grooms Suite, which was a perfect size for the four of us. The bathroom was huge and wonderfully fitted with an amzing Jacuzzi bath & huge shower! The grounds were beautiful too, with horses in the field behind and peacocks roaming the gardens! Cant wait to return, but hopefuly for a longer stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Owner at Willington Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor. It was truly a pleasure to have you all to stay, albeit a shame for only one night as you were a lovely family. If you had more time I could have taken you to see the horses as I know your daughter is a keen rider.

Hope you enjoyed your day out at Car Fest, I bet you were all pleased Neil had come prepared with the waterproofs !!

Hope you see you again with your family and friends at Willington.

Many thanks once again.

Pam x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark ,Notts, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Absolutely FANTASTIC ! Nothing to fault. Unfortunately we only stayed one night, as we came up to visit friends in nearby Malpas for the weekend. Nothing was too much trouble, a very warm welcome into a lovely house, impeccably furnished. We stayed in the "Groom's Suite" which was beautiful, perfect for 2 adults and 2 children (our 3 year old son thought the idea of climbing a ladder to a bedroom wonderful entertainment!) its the little things that sets this place apart from the other guest houses near-by, - homemade cakes, chocolates for all! , attention to detail and a fantastic cooked breakfast. Our sons were presented with peacock feathers and chocolate buttons on our departure which was a lovely gesture!. Than you Pam and Richard - We will be back.

Room Tip: The Grooms Suite is ideal for family's
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMorris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Owner at Willington Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review on Willington Lodge. It was great to have such a lovely family to stay, you arrived as guests and left as friends. Your boys were adorable and very well behaved indeed.

It would be great to have you to stay when you are next visiting your friends in the area.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently stayed at Willington Lodge for the night, for a wedding at Iscoyd Park. our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. First impressions were of a beautiful old farm house, set in large lush gardens, with peacocks roaming amongst the shrubs! We were given such a warm welcome by Pam, and shown to our lovely room. Everything felt luxurious, the bed linen, the decor, the home made cake, the huge bathroom, the Molton Brown toiletries...

We felt like we were staying with friends, Pam & Richard are a very warm and easy going couple, who made us feel very much at home. In the morning we were treated to a breakfast fit for royalty, fruit and yogurt, pots of tea and coffee, fresh juices, thick cut toast, full english, croissants. Enjoyed in a gorgeous dining room, at a large round table so that we could chat to the other guests in the morning about the wedding the day before! They also gave us a lift back to Iscoyd to collect our cars!

It's clear that they have put a huge amount of love into their B&B, as well as some hard graft (this can be seen from a photo book they have showing the renovation process of their house from the time they bought it) We cannot recommend Willington Lodge highly enough. If you get the chance, you must stay here!

Room Tip: We saw a few of the other rooms at the Lodge and they were all incredibly comfortable, and finished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kicw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Owner at Willington Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. As you gathered Richard and I absolutely love being hosts at Willington and our job is certainly made much easier when we have such friendly guests who really appreciate the surroundings and the quality of the accommodation we provide here at Willington Lodge.

I sincerely hope we see you again in the future if you fancy a weekend break away, it would be lovely to meet your daughter next time, we have a lovely family room so, plenty of space for everyone.

Thank you once again for your very kind review.

Kind Regards

Pam x

Pamela Morris
Willington Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.1 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
11.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
15.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
19.9 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willington Lodge

Property: Willington Lodge
Address: Horsemans Green | Nr Whitchurch, Whitchurch SY13 3BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Willington Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willington Lodge is an award winning Travellers Choice 2015 AND 2016 Country House Bed and Breakfast and home to the Morris family. It has been carefully restored in the spirit of the Georgian architecture, retaining original features, creating a luxurious and special place to stay for our Bed and Breakfast guests. To make your stay as comfortable as possible - a home from home experience, we offer the following:-Welcome Tray offering a selection of teas, coffee, water and other goodies, Luxurious pure down duvets and pillows, fluffy towels and bath robes,Spacious En suite with Jacuzzi bath, Molton Brown toiletries, Iron/ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, tea and coffee making facilitiesDelicious choice of breakfast menu using the finest local ingredients, our free-range eggs and homemade preserves/continental breakfast tray if preferred.Business Travelers - quick checkouts, work station in each room with complimentary internet access - quiet and peaceful setting. Everybody has a very warm welcome and is considered to be part of the family during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Willington Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willington Lodge Whitchurch, Shropshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing