We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pie heaven ”

Old Town Hall Vaults
Ranked #11 of 65 Restaurants in Whitchurch
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: British
Description: Great warm & friendly pub, with great joules ales, fine wines & a large selection of gins. Home cooked food served daily. real roaring fires (winter) dig friendly.
Restaurant details
Description: Great warm & friendly pub, with great joules ales, fine wines & a large selection of gins. Home cooked food served daily. real roaring fires (winter) dig friendly.
Reviewed August 2, 2019 via mobile

On a cross country, avoid the M6 north on a Friday journey. my wife and I popped in to whitchurch for lunch. We found this pub just off the high street. Ordered a couple of the slumbering monk steak and ale pies. The pie was very hot and the first thing I noticed was the fragrance of properly cooked off ale in the gravy. This pie was crammed full of melt in the mouth brisket and came with a properly cooked puff pastry topping. It was without question the best homemade pie I have ever eaten in a pub. It was fantastic. Staff are lovely too. I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank johnmF1861DZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 87 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

Called in on a damp cold Saturday afternoon and immediately felt comfortable in the surroundings, what you could call a real pub , Joules beers are some of the best around but I must admit the Hawaii Five -Joe was not for me , the Pale Ale was superb, Gill had a bottle of dry white and found it very impressive for a pub white, the food as you expect in a Joules pub did not disappoint, the chicken and leek pie was superb and the curry did not disappoint, and all excellent value , friendly staff and a knowledgeable landlord, would recommend this to anyone

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank C3889VHpaulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

The title says it all ! It is a wonderful hidden gem off the high street - small inviting place, it was like walking into a big cuddle from a very old friend in a way ?! It is what everyone really wants- a proper pub! As they used to be! You can sit and chat, eat fab food ( we only had sandwiches and chips- but they were freshly made and very good & given option if wanted salad and crisps with them - if you don't you pay less! How good is that! Excellent idea!) the menu is good and looking sneakily at others food , that looked scrummy as well ! I loved the selection of beers - being a Black Country wench in my past life , I was slightly overcome with emotion when I noticed they had a mild on! What joy! also the slumbering monk beer was like nectar - very easy drink!
The staff are very welcoming and friendly, - and ladies - the loo is clean and looked after (it's important you know!)
We love it - if you r in whitchurch you have to try it and sure you will love it as well!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pudandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

I often visit Whitchurch and always call in to this classic pub just off the High street. Always the full range of Joules beers plus guest ale. Conversation and friendly locals are the rule here.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019

In the town whilst other friends shopping and decided to visit the Vaults, having pleasant comments own the venue. Superb selection of beers and dark rums. Can't wait to visit Friday afternoon for the free sausage rolls

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MoonLanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Hall Vaults also viewed

 
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Whitchurch, Shropshire
 
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Whitchurch, Shropshire
 

Been to Old Town Hall Vaults? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing