We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub grub”
Review of Dog and Bull

Dog and Bull
Ranked #8 of 54 Restaurants in Whitchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Dog and Bull, you will find us situated on the B5476 halfway between Whitchurch and Wem in a little village called Coton. This hidden gem is country dining at its best, with wooden floors and open fires this timeless classic will never fail to impress.We offer fabulous food using the finest of fresh locally sourced produce, a great selection of wines and real ales and a friendly relaxed atmosphere with excellent service. What more could a person want.Our specials menu changes daily so here at the Dog and Bull we believe in capturing seasonal produce at its best with a restaurant seating 85 guests and stunning alfresco dining for 32. The Dog and Bull is a haven waiting for you to arrive.
Whitchurch, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Visited on 5th jan 2013 with my wife and parents having never been before. Brilliant food. Everyone had a different meal from the menu and all the meals were superb. Lovely welcoming restaurant with roaring fire and candle lit. Lovely place to dine for couples, friends and family. Our waitress Abby was very friendly and helpful and actually cared about the quality of our meal and wanted to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. Well worth a visit. Only slight problem was th menu we had was different tom the one currently online but there was still something for everyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    56
    27
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Back again.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

New Year's Day lunch this time; seven of us plus baby (who slept mostly). Prompt service, and, following a successful request for the music to be turned down, the atmosphere was exactly what was required. Not everyone was on the pop but Dad enjoyed his Three Tuns; wine was taken with the main courses and garnered universal approval. The 5 starters, 7 mains and 3 desserts were up to the usual high standard; the puddings merit special mention, not only for taste but exceptional presentation, (if my mother passes positive comment you just know they were top-drawer!). As a family we will be "repeat offenders".

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garyhickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely experience; would recommend to anyone.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Visited 28.12.12 - party of 5. Really pleased we did: Excellent surroundings, good local beers and every meal a hit with our group. The service was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble - our comfort and enjoyment obviously paramount to the staff. Rarely can one say this...but...I could not fault this establishment. Only one problem: We live too far away to frequent it! You lucky people of Whitchurch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Rachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great service and comfortable surroundings”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Met family here for lunch on Boxing Day as it's halfway between Liverpool and Brum. Easy to find with lots of parking.
Inside it's warm and comfortable, plus it's clean and bright. Just the right mix of olde worlde charm and modern finish.
A highchair was provided for our baby daughter without asking.
The food was really lovely. My elder daughter, who is hard to please, asked if I could cook the chicken dish every night! Quite an accolade.
The turkey dinner was very generous with great gravy and properly cooked vegetables. My son had the beef with chilli sauce which he said was gorgeous.
Puddings were stylish and delicious.
Overall, a great find and we wouldn't hesitate to return when we next need to meet halfway!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christabelle04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best Christmas lunches ever”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Xmas lunch at the dog 2012 A very warm welcome from all the staff a lovely atmosphere,As expected a very busy day for everyone but you weren't just a number we had a large table and the food was of excellent standard everyone was served prompt with fresh mouth watering food , I could not fault anything the meal was such good value, I'm ready to book for 2013.Pam and Mandy are a breath of fresh air to the dog n bull and they should be congratulated on what they did on the 25th and they should be very proud of their chefs and staff well done. Merry Xmas you deserve it.
Ps The Dog and Bull is not just for Xmas their food is fab all year round.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greenmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog and Bull also viewed

Welshampton, Shropshire
 
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Whitchurch, Shropshire
 
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Whitchurch, Shropshire
 

Been to Dog and Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing