We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Country Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
A 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreat - Finalist in Guest Accommodationof The Year 2017
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreat - Finalist in Guest Accommodationof The Year 2017
Stunning 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreats. Voted best place to stay in Cheshire 2013 Award winning romantic boutique suite with mezzanine bedroom,real fire and huge roll top copper bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
A 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreat - Finalist in Guest Accommodationof The Year 2017
Stunning 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreats. Voted best place to stay in Cheshire 2013
Award winning romantic boutique suite with mezzanine bedroom,real fire and huge roll top copper bath
Perfect for honeymoons, anniversaries and romantic weekends. Private dining, champagne on ice ..
Real fire, beautiful views, a secret celeb retreat! Cheshire's best kept secret!
Put your feet up by the fire and admire the views
View from the kingize mezzanine looking onto Garden Room sitting area with feather sofas
A collection of DVD's to enjoy infront of the fire whilst relaxing into the squashy feather sof
Music system with ipod docking station
Stunning interior decor, view from your private dining area through to the open plan sitting room
Enjoy a romantic candlelit meal for two cooked by your host, best selling cookery book author.
'The Nest' Boutique Barn also avalable to book from just £129 per night!
Romantic Kingsize mezzanine bed underneath two huge skylights perfect for star gazing
White Company bedding, goose feather mattress toppers and pillows, Robes, towels and tolieries
STUNNING HUGE COPPER BATH FOR TWO WITH SKYLIGHT ABOVE FOR VIEW OF THE STARS
Interior designed fired earth bathroom, copper bath, granite hand carved sink, walk in lge shower
A smaller boutique barn also available to book now from £129 per night! The Nest!
The Old parlour and The Nest Barns also available from just £129! See our site
The Garden Room Retreat at Heald Country House - The perfect location, walking distance to great pub
The Garden Room Retreat (on the right) at Heald Country House - Beautiful walks from your doorstep
The view from your private garden looking back into the Garden Room. Mezzanine bedroom above.
A continental breakfast of local, delicious, fresh foods can be ordered for just £12 p/p/p/n
Enjoy a bit of stargazing in your private garden area whilst relaxing by the fire pit.
Complimentary toiletries, fluffy robes and towels, White Company bedding,tea and coffee all included
A review from founder of internationally renowed 'Chic Retreats' - high praise indeed!
4 individual unique boutique retreats - all 5*
stunning 'Homefires' national trust countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Malpas, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
charlotte...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Country Retreat”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Myself and my partner recently stayed in the Garden Room for one night (we wish it could have been longer). The accommodation is beautiful and has been completed to the highest standard and each detail has been thought of very carefully. The roll top bath was definitely a highlight for us!

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner, Rachael who was extremely welcoming and made sure we were happy with everything - Rachael is very passionate about what she does and this was apparent with the finishing touches such as the fresh mint leaves left for us to enjoy in our G&Ts.

I booked the stargazer package, which I would definitely recommend. We returned from the pub to this set up with candles in the garden, loungers, hot water bottles, a bottle of champagne and the fire pit lit.

We will definitely be returning again, hopefully for longer next time and would recommend this place to anyone.

Thank you Rachael x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you Charlotte - it was a total pleasure to meet you both!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gazzatron...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed in The Nest, part of Heald Country House Retreats as daughter was competing at the Pony Club Championships at Cholmondley Castle in Cheshire. Came across this beautiful boutique Cottage as wanted to stay close to the Championships and we don't do camping. At the time of enquiring I actually noticed a friend had also stayed here and posted some really nice pics of her stay so when I enquired with Rachael as to availability I was even more keen to stay as it looked perfect for us. The accommodation is about five miles away from the championships. We were able to park our horsebox easily as this was a a concern of ours of we had to park far away from our accommodation.

All communication with Rachael was very clear and she provided a wealth of information about our stay and what we could expect or indeed plan for our arrival. Sadly we didn't take up the luxuries of candles lit on our arrival or arrange for the beautician to come as our two night stay was jam packed back at the championships. This was a perfect base for us. The Nest was very small and cosy it was great having the kitchen as I could prepare a picnic each day.

The kitchen had everything you could think of as I did a cooked breakfast and found everything I needed. Had I have forgotten my cling film for the picnic even this was available. The stay was quiet and peaceful we didn't even hear anyone else who was staying in the other accommodation.

On our first evening we are at the Cholmondley Arms this was a lovely pub next to the canal a few miles down the road excellent food. Our only one criticism of our stay was the poor wifi/phone signal we struggled altogether in that area so be prepared to have limited coverage.

Would definitely recommend to stay here and should my daughter qualify next year we would likely book a larger cottage X thank You Rachael

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We have just installed 3 brand new wifi connections so each cottage has a faster stronger connection now. Sadly we still cannot get fibre here but I understand it wont be long. Phone coverage is great with some networks but not so great with others so I am sorry you had difficulty with that. For some people who are coming to totally unwind that can also be a blessing but I can see that could have been tricky whilst at the championships! WE look forward to welcoming you back next year!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauramart...
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
“gorgeous country retreat”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We recently stayed at Heald Cottages in the Garden room for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding nearby.
We couldn’t have been happier with the accommodation. A stunning setting, with views of the rolling hills and the ultimate country chic interior, including a large roll top bath and a large lounging area with huge comfy sofas.
We were welcomed by the owner and shown around who was extremely warm and friendly which was a great start to the stay.
The finishing touches and little details added to the stay - fresh mint for our water or G&Ts was left out as well as cute labels showing you were everything was. Every amenity was thought of from glasses to bathroom essentials, topped off by gorgeous White Company linen and toiletries.
We will definitely back for another visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the roll top bath
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. I hope we can welcome you back again soon maybe to try out one of the other retreats which are all 5* but all very unique and individual in their interiors and style. It was great to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlstaffor...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cowshed Beauty ”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is the third time I've stayed at one of the Heald Country Cottages and I can honestly say they are all as beautiful as eachother! Everything you could possibly need has been thought of and provided in its own uniquely beautiful way! The properties are cosy and warm, totally individual, full of loving homely touches and are the perfect romantic getaway. We will definitely be returning...again and again! The ever accommodating and thoughtful Rachael always makes you feel welcome and nothing is ever too much trouble. I could not recommend the cottages enough, we never want to leave and our stays seem to be for longer and longer each time we book!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaclynS21...
1 review
“So peaceful! If you want a place to stay to really get away from it all and recharge your batteries look no further!”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

So peaceful! If you want a place to stay to really get away from it all and recharge your batteries look no further! Everything about the cottage was comfy and cosy and although feeling like your in the middle of know where (which was a lovely feeling) there is loads to do close by so really good location too! Every detail has been thought out and it is all just lovely! Will definitely be going back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Thank you for choosing the Garden Room Barn as the location for your honeymoon. We are extremely honoured!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichJ70
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“"The Cowshed" wow wow wow!!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a great short break at the newly-converted "Cowshed", which is right in the heart of Cheshire, and within walking distance of the Dusty Miller pub - a great eatery close to the nearby canal. We both loved the quirky decor in the Cowshed, a characterful mix of rustic and modern, and would definitely book in here again - all very welcoming, cosy, and a great escape from the hustle and bustle of our usual days!!!!!

Highly recommended (can we move in????? :) )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly atmosphere & welcome
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelleym6...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Every little detail covered to the highest and most beautiful standard.”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in the 'Cowshed' which sleeps 4. It was amazing, Rachael and her whole family made us feel so welcome. The barns are amazing, every little detail is beautiful with all areas covered from providing mod cons to essentials. We spent our 2 night stay eating good food at the local pubs and having spa treatments and generally relaxing, chatting and enjoying the surroundings. You definitely leave feeling better! We have already told everyone we know about it and booked it for a relatives birthday treat! Loved everything and every moment spent there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2016
Thank you for your review. It was a total pleasure meeting you and your lovely family and I am so glad you all managed to enjoy some chilled out 'Hen weekend' R&R in the form of some in house beauty treatments and massages followed by some of those renowned CHolmondeley Arms G&T's! Really hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing