We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mulsford Cottage B & B
Ranked #3 of 7 Malpas B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here overnight to do a bit of local family research and to break the journey to Manchester. Lovely warm welcome from Kate with drinks and shortbread, log fire burning made the sitting room lovely and cosy after a long drive. We hadn't booked supper as our ETA was a bit sketchy but Kate rustled us up a light supper that just hit the spot. Comfy bed in double room with family bathroom, original roll top Victorian bath from which you could languish and look out across the fields. Wonderful Breakfast of fruit, cereals, yogurts, cooked breakfast and toast including home made preserves. Book lovers paradise if one only had a bit more time! Definitely a place we plan to re-visit, so peaceful too. :) Kate runs her B&B single handedly but seemed to make time to stop and chat, help us with our research and generally ensure our stay was both comfortable and relaxed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozzymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your lovely review, it was so nice to meet you and the very best of luck tracing your family from this area. I hope the research brings you this way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here with 2 friends returning from a motorbike tour of Scotland. Were greeted by Kate with drinks and cake and she sat with us and chatted like an old friend - one of the nicest people we met on our travels. The old cottage is in a beautiful rural location and in itself is a fantastic place to stay. Two absolutely beautiful rooms, very clean and well appointed with large comfortable beds - there is even a lounge just for guests with comfortable sofa, TV etc (even some very old Dickens books!)

Kate was kind enough to give us a lift to the local pub for the evening meal and we walked back through the fields to the cottage - managing not to get lost. Breakfast was perfect and it was almost a little sad to leave as we rode off down the country lanes with a cheery wave from Kate as she saw us off.

Can't fault it - would recommend to anybody wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wapscallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
It was so nice meeting you all - loved the bikes!! Thank you for the great review and I hope you get up this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slimbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a lovely find Mulsford Cottage was. The welcome was so friendly, we felt more as if we were visiting friends than staying at a B&B. The evening meal was superb, not to be missed! Our room was spacious, with the bathroom adjacent (which perhaps could do with a wee bit of an update).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevernBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thak you so much for your review, it was so nice meeting you, and thank you for pointing out the shortcomings of the bathroom. It sometimes needs a fresh pair of eyes and I booked a decorator last night, and am going this morning to look for a new basin and taps. I hope this addresses the issue. I would be most grateful for any other suggestions. Thanks again. Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamstreet, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed at Mulsford Cottage in July with two other mums on an "get-away-from-the family" weekend. Kate could not have been more helpful and welcoming, and we were delighted to have charming accommodation in her country cottage. We had a suite of twin room with en-suite shower, double room and a family bathroom as well as our own sitting room with dining table, sofas and TV. All of the rooms had lovely views across the fields. The beds were comfortable with nice quality linens, and the rooms were fully equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits, hair dryer, and so on.
Knowing we would arrive too late after a long journey to want to go hunting for a pub dinner, we asked Kate to cook for us the first night, and her dinner ( three courses, including salmon and a pavlova) was so delicious we asked her again the next evening too, and had were treated to Parma ham, Mediterranean roast chicken, followed by damson fool. Dinner was served in the conservatory, looking out onto the courtyard garden. And all excellent value; dinner, with wine, bed and breakfast worked out at less than £75 per person per night.
Kate was good company, interested in our trips to visit houses and gardens, and made us feel as though we were old friends coming to stay. We will look forward to going back, many thanks Kate!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzyPacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I really enjoyed your visit and it was a pleasure having you all to stay. Thank you for the very kind review and I do hope to see you up this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just experienced a memorable evening meal and extremely comfortable night at Mulsford Cottage. Kate is an excellent hostess and a fabulous cook. We enjoyed a sumptuous meal with wine, with the pea and mint soup an absolute delight. It was wonderful to sit and relax by a roaring fire and watch the sunset, followed by a most peaceful and comfortable night's sleep. Breakfast was served in the conservatory at a time of our choice, following a soak in the roll top bath overlooking the fabulous English/Welsh countryside. We were treated like members of Kate's family, rather than paying guests and would certainly recommend Mulsford Cottage to anyone visiting this area. Thank you very much Kate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97Chris_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Really enjoyed meeting you both and thank you, not only for the lovely review but also for being such good fun and great with the other guests. I'm so glad you didn't mention that I forgot to put the tea in the tea pot! Hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here in early 2012 with our large dog; booked with the owner directly by e-mail; arrived by car; stayed one night (dinner, bed and breakfast).

PLEASE NOTE:
the reason for this review appearing with such delay is that we have only now (May 2013) been able to finally fight our laziness in reviewing the more than 60 hotels and B&Bs we stayed at in 2012 and, so far, in 2013.
As everyday (!) users of this site, we feel we must make the effort of contributing - we also think that there aren't enough real reviews by real people (even on this site).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam-Travel-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
It is very kind of you to remember us and thank you for the review, Hope your traveling is still going well and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed with Kate at Mulsford Cottage overnight whilst attending a wedding in the local area. Having booked online we were not disappointed with the result of our search. The place is as described - a lovely cottage in rural England with fantastic countryside views from every aspect.
The owner, Kate, is a terrific hostess and makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Breakfast is also very welcoming and substantial.
All in all a lovely place to stay.....thanks Kate we will definitely stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBTenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, sadly we can't compete with your wonderful sun in Tenerife but sincerely hope to see you again if you are ever back in the area. Have a great Summer. Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malpas
7.3 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.5 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,600 reviews
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Wrexham
Travelodge Wrexham
#5 of 10 in Wrexham
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Willington Lodge
Willington Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whitchurch
277 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton House Farm
Hampton House Farm
#2 of 7 in Malpas
78 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Hough B&B
The Hough B&B
#5 of 7 in Malpas
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulsford Cottage B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulsford Cottage B & B

Property: Mulsford Cottage B & B
Address: Mulsford Cottage Mulsford, Malpas SY14 7LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Malpas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Malpas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mulsford Cottage B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive bed and breakfast in beautiful rural location only five miles from the Wrexham Industrial Estate. Airports of Liverpool, Manchester and Birmingham all approx one hour by road. We welcome visitors to historic Chester, Shrewsbury and the market towns of Wrexham and Whitchurch. Perfect for cyclists, walkers and race-goers to Bangor on Dee (3 miles). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your Mulsford Cottage B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulsford Cottage B & B Malpas, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing